AoA All
A fantastic article on absurdity of race, motherland and mother tongue.
http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100925125&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20100428
AoA All
A fantastic article on absurdity of race, motherland and mother tongue.
http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100925125&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20100428
good to have you back fj. Did you went on vacation togather with two other members? Good to have all 3 of you back.
Dear Lota
yes I was on vacation and then got stuck in europe due to air travel ban :(
how was paris? Did you fly PIA? My aunt was stuck on pia.
A man can change his political affiliation and can even change his religion but can a man change his race or nationality ?
Can a Pashtoon become Balochi ???
All of us are Homoo sapiens but why should a person deny their heredity/ ancestry?
Lota
No one is asking anyone to deny their ancestry. The question is the absurdity of these things and how people make it so important to divide the human being. I firmly believe that we are the children of one man and women and there should not be any superiority complex between the children as they have the same father and mother.
Fj
I firmly believe that we are the children of one man and women and there should not be any superiority complex between the children as they have the same father and mother.
I completely agree with you on the brotherhood of human beings.
The question is the absurdity of these things and how people make it so important to divide the human being.
I also agree with you that everything that divides people is totally absurd.
Dear Lota
"I also agree with you that everything that divides people is totally absurd."
Not so clever sunshine. I can see the hidden venom in your comments.
oriya busts a common myth in our culture, well written and nicely explained with good examples!
Fj
make up your mind about division. Is it good or bad?
Religion also divides people, what FJ thinks about it ?????
anything can divide people, but the question is what unites people together on the strongest bond :)
ethnicity is a different thing than race or cast .
my father told me that when they had migrated from India ,many of his neighbours has changed their sir name and cast ,while becoming a Pakistani National.
he said 70% are of a "Siddiquis " are just made off at immigration time .
they were not Siddiqui in India .
my father said every one after coming here ,has changed his cast and sir name suddenly and it was convenient too at that point in time .
most of the Siddiquis ,Farooquis ,Alavis ,Usmanis are not what they have became ..........
Fact of the matter is that as a pukhtun I share language, history, culture, tradition with other pukhtuns. I share none of this with punjabis, sindhis and others of indic stock.
I can go to the farthest place on earth and a person from kandahar will be like my brother, but I can go to lahore or karachi and the punjabi and hindustani culture will be near alien to me.
but it is also a proven fact from history that when it comes survival you would find punjabi or hindustani as your best friends, would migrate and live happily with them :)
Yes, funny thing what economics and the power of colonialism does to a people. Pukthuns have had their resources stolen by big brother and once proud people have to become the chaukidars and drivers of the brown sahibs.
Slowly we are winning back our freedom. Too slowly for my sake.
you mean freedom in afghanistan?
Afghanistan = Pukhtunistan.
Freedom from those who use Islam to further their colonial agenda is first priority.
@ Lota and LB
I dont know which religions you have in mind BUT one thing is absolutely sure and proven throughout the history since the arrival of first Wahi to Muhammad saw that ISLAM is the biggest and Only unifying factor/element in human history.
There isnt a single nation in the world who after accepting islam ever wanted to leave it or did not care about it's other brethren even they had different race, ethnicity, area and language.
Denying the universality of islam and unifying effect it has on the human beings is denying that one is human him/her self.
On that I rest my case Me Lord!!
fj
Good tablegi lecture about universality of Islam by a bigot like you who is on a qadiyani witch hunt.
acha laga bohat acha laga.
WoW man,
Yahya considering HT, Tablighis, sufis and salafis MUSLIMS. Thats a first for a qadiani to consider any non-qadiani a Muslim
on the discussion related to Dr Slaam, the way you defended the qadianis, I thought you were one. My sincere apologies if I mistook you as qadiani
http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/how-many-muslims-does-it-take-to-change-a-light-bulb
Denying the universality of islam and unifying effect it has on the human beings is denying that one is human him/her self.
Are you human fj?
@waheed Doyum
as a Pushtoon- I would have to take issue with what you have said above.
Oh I am not a Tableeghee or a Talib- so I do not have a personal or political reason to say that.
From a practical REAL POLITIK stand point-
- what you are hoping for is unlikely in my and your life time -
-as there is a very large Pushtoon population which belongs( politically) to the Islamic groups.
And I think you know that too.
On an intellectual level-
Race and Language might be absurd - but
identity is very important to human beings and most use language as a unifying factor.
The very fact that today after 1400 years of coming of Islam- we still are of our own language and racial groups tells something.
And that is that these things ARE important whether we like it or not and we should learn to deal with them in a positive manner.
The politicians have and will continue to use anything and everything to keep themselves in power- case in point ANP in NWFP and PPP in Sindh and MQM in Karachi.
Very good article. Biologically speaking, we are pretty much the same. Arguably, the idea of a race and ethnicity seems to be quite a primitive concept (on an intellectual level), since none of us had any choice about what family, religion, race we would be born in. Why be proud of something you had no choice over? Should we be proud of the day or month we were born in? The inferences do not follow naturally.
The fact remains, these intangible things seem to be as real and a part of us as our physical self - perhaps quite like emotions.
@shimatoree
"The politicians have and will continue to use anything and everything to keep themselves in power- case in point ANP in NWFP and PPP in Sindh and MQM in Karachi. "
There does not seem to be a thread that does not mention MQM somewhere lol. Why name MQM, PPP, ANP? Why not PML-N? They also had the slogan 'jaag punjab jaag', why should that be OK? At least, PPP is spread to all 4 provinces, PML-N is stuck in central punjab and non-pakhtoon parts of KP, like hazara.
liberalkarachi-
The word POLITICIANS includes all politicians not just of ANP. MQM and PPP- anyway the word "ETC" was missed and that would include PML-N and others.
All human beings are equal. It all started from Adam and Eve. So no one is special or has better cast or ancestry than others!!!
The only thing that distincts a person is his integrity, politeness, his attitude towards others!
And in islamic way"
إن أكرمكم عندالله أتقاكم
@Lota and Firgh Jazbaati ,
exchange of posts based on personal attacks has been removed .
stay away from personal attacks .
Dear Beenai
I did not start this personal attack as I always stay away from this kind of stupidness.
It is Mr Lota who started it and I only defended my self. Although you claimed to remove the personal attack post but Lota's original post is still there, what about that
http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/absurdity-of-race-motherland-and-mother-tongue#post-143897
lota6177
fj
Good tablegi lecture about universality of Islam by a bigot like you who is on a qadiyani witch hunt.
acha laga bohat acha laga.
WoW man,
Yahya considering HT, Tablighis, sufis and salafis MUSLIMS. Thats a first for a qadiani to consider any non-qadiani a Muslim
on the discussion related to Dr Slaam, the way you defended the qadianis, I thought you were one. My sincere apologies if I mistook you as qadiani
http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/how-many-muslims-does-it-take-to-change-a-light-bulb
Are you human fj?
Posted 16 hours ago on 29 Apr 2010 19:03 #
Why this is not removed
Kia yeh Khula Tazaad nahin hai
We are a pluralistic society. It is the beauty of our society that it has so many cultures. One can take this pluralistic society to his advantage also. For example, a man fond of eating foods can have bihari kabab, hyderabadi biryani, peshawari chapli kabab, dehli wali kheer, punjabi saaj, sindhi tahdal, christmas cake, hindu spicy chart,madrasi dosa, etc. Ah my mouth is getting watered! I love my pluralistic society. I have good friends in all the communities. Our pluralristic society zindabad!
True :)
All the minorities including Qadianis are our own citizens. We are obliged to treat them nicely. It is also our Islamic tradtition to treat all the non-Muslims humanely.
again, true!