PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Abusive Language on Media

(27 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

Ghulma Mustafa Khar and Faisal Reza Abidi made an exchange of abusive language with each other in a programme of ARY which aimed at the investigations of BB's murder.

This is not the first time that a channel allowed the usage of abusive language on TV screen. Previously, Imran Khan hurled abusive words on Pervaiz Musharaff on a TV channel. Similarly, Iftikhar Chaudahry also gave an encouraging smile to a lawyer who was hurling call names over Pervaiz Musharaff in a laywers' convention.

I wonder why are TV channels allowing irresponsible people to distort the image of our nation. You can't hear the use of any abusive language on the foreign TV channels like CNN, FOX or BBC. The foreign channels show their politicians criticizing or accusing each other in adequate and civilized language. Are we transforming ourselves into an uncivilized nation? or our media is so lenient to let anybody use any vulgar language on TV channels.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 17:46 #
  2. shriq

"Iftikhar Chaudahry also gave an encouraging smile to a lawyer who was hurling call names over Pervaiz Musharaff in a laywers' convention"

This reminded me of a review that I read about film "Gandhi", the critic wrote that MA Jinnah raised an eyebrow of interest when Viceroy mentioned that he (Jinnah) would be made viceroy of united India! Successfully forcing readers to believe that Jinnah was so....

HF, are you trying to do the same for IMC? That he is so....

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 18:16 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

Shariq

Interesting quotation! you have presented. The language used by educated politicians is called 'parliamentarian language'. I realize after listening to the dialogues of Khar and Faisal Reza that they are not acquainted even with the parliamentary language, let alone the praliamentary discipline. How tragic it is that our politicians are so uncultivated, uncouthed and uncultured.

Despite hot debates between Muslim Leaguers and Congressmen during the indipendence movement, you can hardly find any incident of the usage of non-parliamentary language by the top leaders.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 6:36 #
  4. Kashif Abbasi ka program tha wohh jiski Shariq bhai baat kar rahay hain.kal mein ne bhi dekha tha .
    Fisal Raza Abidi was getting hyper ,trying to be Shah se barh kay Shah ka wafadar ...
    and using very very wrong lingu against Khar .

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/04/21/off-the-record-21-april-2010/

Faisal Raza aj kal apanay number barhwaany kay chukkar mein hain ,aur Zardrai kay samnay number sirf abusive language se hi barhaye ja saktay hain .
    jaisse Fouzia Wahab karti hain .
    Laraka Murghay ....

Kashif bechara phnase gaya ,kuch bol nahin paya .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 6:49 #
  5. Hussain Farooqui

Anchors of TV channels need to act as effective moderators to control abusive and valgur language. The parliamentarians of the Pakistani politics are obliged to use parliamentary language. We are a cultured nation.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 6:55 #
  6. agree with Hussain Farooqui.
    anchors needs to play a very important role ,in order to make sure all the civilized talkie goes on air .
    but unfortunately ,the trend has become otherwise .
    most of the anchors enjoys the word fights and abusive talkie .
    they take it as a popularity boost to their show .
    that that particular episode of their show will become the talk of the town now ...
    thats why they sit aside while giving a smile and never tries to control the situation .

i have marked Luqman ,Javed Chdhri ,Hamid Mir and Kashif doing so .
    only anchor ,discourages that kinda lingu is Talat Hussian.
    he has stopped Fouzia Baji in one of his show to not to use abusive language .
    some of the Dawn anchors of Urdu service are also good in keeping the talkie civilzed .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 7:02 #
  7. LalBichoo

HF,

You have rightly highlighted a very bad aspect of our electronic media !

Beenai, you are right Talat Hussain and anchors of Dawn News like Wusatullah Khan, Matiullah Jan and Kamran Yousaf are the ones who conduct their programs in a civilised manner !

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 7:18 #
  8. Hussain Farooqui

Once a call name was slipped out of the tongue of ZA Bhutoo also in a public address at Nishter Park. He immediately instructed the media to edit the recording. ZA Bhuto was a perfect parliamentarian, so he realized the unwanted slippery of his language and instructed the media to edit the recordings.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 7:18 #
  9. Anonymous

This is all because of frustration from attitude of anchors as Kashif Abbasi kept interrupting his guest didnt even give them chance to answer and some times he also asked many question which he looks like he have no experience of journalism and he is just brought to TV without evaluation...so this is why it happens especially in his program....if you watch his programs then most of them ended up without conclusion or even his programs are breakdown by ARY in between so this is so unprofessional about him...while if you go through programs of Hamid Mir and Talat Hussain their programs doesnt have fights or speaking with high tone voices involves so they are perfect host in controlling their guest thats why they are able to give good programs...

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 11:39 #
  10. @Yahya ,
    i agree that Kashif is in his learning process .
    it will take him a long way to do programs as perfect as Talat does .
    but ending program abruptly is definately from ARY news part not from Kashif himself .
    sometimes ,in between the conversation ,program has been chopped down and last slide starts running .
    its definitely not Kashif's fault .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 11:47 #
  11. Anonymous

they had to end their program abruptly as kashif couldnt able to get their guest to conclusion and they also have deadlines to meet so this is partly Kashif's fault as well because he is the host and he should be able to windup the discussion in time just like Hamid Mir and talat Hussain....Kashif need to learn journalism first in order to understand the ground reality of the situation so that he is well informed about the issue and he could able to get his guest on objective instead on keep moving from one issue to another...

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 12:00 #
  12. Kashif has to go a long way .
    he needs 10 more years to work like as perfect as Talat does.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 12:37 #
  13. jaypk

@beenai...10 more years??...i think its a bit too much fr kashif...he is no way less then talat...still this shudnt have happened..!!

i think kashif has done it deliberatley...if you guys remember these 2 faisal and khar sahab were amongst each other in his same program b4....so i think he did it deliberatley i guess...otherwise...there was no need to call khar sahab...with regards to BBs death..!! as afterwards he only smiled and said please keep it to a minimum....!!tths it..! i mean i liek kashif and his program..but i think calling these 2 was unnneccesary..!

besides if you watch closely the program...abidi sahab keeps on referin to the paper in his hand frm where he keeps on quoting words for khar sahab which means he was prepared well enough on khar but not on the actual issue..which he tactfully diluted and only says one thing in the whole program that dnt put us into it and keeps on blaming govt for tht..and the rest of the time he was involved in that snetimental taqreer in which he proves that he is the only jiyala and called khar sahab a kutta...infact khar never started anything abusive if you watch closely...it was abidi who thinks he is the only jiyala...by sittin in the lap of zardari..!

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 13:24 #
  14. i see a clear difference in Kashif and talat...

talat is more experienced,sober,talks well,carries his show very wisely...brings different issues to discuss...

while kashif seems impatient,cant control the show when the guests start misbehaving,often incites fights,sticks to same old issues for weeks nd weeks...

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 13:36 #
  15. aristotle

in which program TH had stopped Madam Fouzia' s abusive coversation? i must view it.......:)

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 13:47 #
  16. mujahy Kashif acha lagta hay .
    kabhi tou Talat jiasa hoga .
    Kashif funny sa hay ,Talat khushsk hay .
    Kashif show ko light rakhta hay .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 14:39 #
  17. After watching most of the Talk shows at Pakistan Media, sometimes it is felt, if we are sitting in a Barber's Shop.

There are some stable, sober and impressive participants like, Gen. Talaat Masood, Dr, Hasan Askari, Justice Tariq Mahmood, Aitzaz Ahsan, Ahmad Raza Kasuri... who help to make a talk show tolerable and informative.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 15:04 #
  18. @Jaypak,
    maybe not 10 but 5 years are definitely there in between Talat and Kashif ...
    why Kashif called two of them simultaneously ????
    that can be answered by him only ..
    @RhyMe,
    agreed .
    @Aristotle ,
    it has been a long time ,almost 6 month back in a show .
    he stopped Madam Fouzia and made her kept quite for a quarter show .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 15:18 #
  19. jaypk

@beenai...but the thing is...its nt up to the anchor only ...to an extent yes.but..its the producer or director or whoeva you may call him the owner...he is also to be blamed...nt just the anchor..!

i think they are both best at thr places and no one else can take place of another..! regardless of this program.!

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 15:58 #
  20. aftab arif

@ Javedsheikh

How did Ahmed Raza Kasuri come into the list? I remember him using very bad language against Justice Tariq and Munir A Malik in the Great Debate and Hamid Mir had to step in but to no avail and then Geo very rightly censored his foul language.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 17:04 #
  21. herat hay Qasori sahib ne Bhutto ko saza dilwaye thi ,aur wohh JS ko itnay pasand hain ? jabkay JS PPP kay fan hain.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 17:08 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

Our TV channels are under the obligations of the nation to promote the bright aspects of our culture. They need to select anchors and participants prudently. It was not the first time when Khar used an abusive language on the media. He used an abusive language against Brig. Atif in a programme of Dr. Danish. This time he came across a man (Faisal Reza) who was more uncultured an more uncivilized.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 6:31 #
  23. We Love Faisal Raza.

We Support Faisal Raza.

Jiye Sher-e-Karachi Syed Faisal Raza Abidi

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 10:12 #
  24. siddiqi73

@Cupid,

Faisal Raza Abidi Sher-e-Karachi....hahahahahahahahahahaha.....Maybe you are not aware that MQM has banned his entry into Karachi. They guy can't come to his own hometown. Some Sher he is!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 10:15 #
  25. Hussain Farooqui

siddiqui73

Brig. Imtiaz was abused by Khar in a TV program. Being an educate man, Brig. could match the abusive words of Khar. However, Khar was badly beaten by Faisal Reza in the competition of hurling abuses.

The exchange of abusive words is the reflection of our dirty national politics.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 11:53 #
  26. SufiSoul

People of Pakistan yet dont know the real faces of the politicians and their true worth..
    This is cuz media is new here.
    Let the media first disclose each and every politician after that they should take car about such matters...

Another point is that Political Class is totally opposite to the character of a normal person..
    LOOTERS,QABZA GROUPS,KASHMALA TYPE OF WOMENS etc are common in Political class....

So let the media BIZZATH these stupids LIVE in front of AWAM..

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 14:54 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

Politicians like Khar and Faisal Reza sometimes expose the real faces of our politics. However,they are open dirty faces. There are lot many dirty political faces which are hidden under very good looking masks.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2010 14:22 #