ADGKS: Parvez Hoodbhouy

(267 posts)
  1. Shock

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 4:16 #
  2. Parvez YaHoodboy: Fifth-Columnist

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 4:26 #
  3. Wahid Doyum

Being a fifth columnist against the morally corrupt state of Pakistan should be ground for an award.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 4:52 #
  4. LalBichoo

nota,

""Parvez YaHoodboy: Fifth-Columnist ""

"Fifth-Columnist " ??, Could you please tell us how ?
    You are calling him 'YaHoodboy, do you mean Pervez Hoodbhouy is Jewish agent ? If yes, then Could you please tell us why ?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 5:05 #
  5. khanseena1

Parvez Hoodboy is a well known respected Professor with international degree and credentials. He has chosen to stay in Pakistan and educate our people at a Public University.

His having a different view about our nuclear program does not make him or anybody like him a fifth columnist. He has been consistently against all nuclear bombs - this is not aniti-Pakistan by any respects.

If you have any specific reasons to label him as such, then please provide it so that I and others can be educated.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 5:10 #
  6. yahya

aaah..my uni QAU

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 5:22 #
  7. wantinsaf

Pervez Hooddbhoy is publically accused of having links with CIA and he has never denied that.What he has always maintained in response to the accusation is he starts talking about something else.
    His comments regrading observing 'perdah' clealry show that he either doesn't know anything avout Islam or he is against Islam.So far in Islamabad no one has ever seen him any mosque and students at QU feel that he is against both Pakistan and Islam.He dislikes all those who want to follow religion and has always been seen giving American version to Pakistan's problems.
    He reminds me of an IT specialist who once termed goats as dogs.he is good at physics,but very very illiterate on Islam and Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 6:44 #
  8. An interesting conversation with Parvez Hoodbhouy on USA's National Public Radio on 14 April 2010.

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=125997184

Or

http://public.npr.org/anon.npr-mp3/npr/atc/2010/04/20100414_atc_08.mp3

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 7:10 #
  9. LalBichoo

wantinsaf,

"""Pervez Hooddbhoy is publically accused of having links with CIA and he has never denied that."""

lolzzzz
    "publically accused " ---- At PkPol ?????

"""His comments regrading observing 'perdah' clealry show that he either doesn't know anything avout Islam or he is against Islam."""

As per my understanding of him from his writings, he is a non-religious person (could be agnostic or atheist) !
    How can we expect a non-religious person to support religious teachings ? He may or may not accept Islamic teachings, what's wrong in it ?

"""So far in Islamabad no one has ever seen him any mosque and students at QU feel that he is against both Pakistan and Islam."""

hmmmm
    Are you implying that those Pakistanis who don't go to mosques are actually against Pakistan ???
    As per my information Mr. Jinnah was also a non-religious person and didn't use to go to mosques !

"""he is good at physics,but very very illiterate on Islam and Pakistan. """

Yes he's a scientist and he also has good knowledge of history and politics !
    BTW he never declared himself as an Islamic scholor, did he ???

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 7:13 #
  10. mujh ko bhi in oe shak hay .
    kuch dodgy se hain...

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 7:19 #
  11. @khanseena1
    Some old comments of my for now:
    My prediction on what he will tell Time:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/16/visitors-views-news-week-3-may-2009/#comment-210212
    My Prediction coming true:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/16/visitors-views-news-week-3-may-2009/#comment-210213

If interested, see my comment on Aitzaz and Ahmed Rashid in the same piece too:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/16/visitors-views-news-week-3-may-2009/#comment-210216

Some more comments:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/04/capital-talk-4-may-2009/#comment-205201

Another Yahoodboy Article from Dawn and related comments (none mine):
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/is-it-really-india

What? Am I accusing three deities of "civil society" (Aitzaz, Ahmed Rashid, Yahoodboy) at the same time? Blasphemy!!!

BTW: I would add Irfan Hussain, Ayesha Siddiqa, Samar Minallah, Asma Jehangir, and many others among them...

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 8:11 #
  12. rashidsaleem

Such intolerance prevails in this nation. Think about it rationally, this is one man who decided to live in Pakistan in all hardships and educate his own people in a local public university. Shouldn’t that be appreciated? Just because he said I am against Pakistani nukes or any other nukes didn’t mean he said Pakistan should be disarmed of its nuclear arsenal. He is one man who promotes using science for the benefit of humans not destroy them which I think is in line with Islamic teachings also. Why do you label him as a “fifth columnist”? We are a free country and everyone is entitled to his/her opinion.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 8:54 #
  13. LalBichoo

Teray Jany kay baad mbo ko teri yaad aii thee :)))

http://pkpolitics.com/2009/05/16/visitors-views-news-week-3-may-2009/#comment-212061

BTW instead of being nostaligic, you'd better answer my questions !

You are calling him 'YaHoodboy, do you mean Pervez Hoodbhouy is Jewish agent ? If yes, then Could you please tell us why ?

UNQUOTE

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 9:03 #
  14. @LalBichooo
    The answer is there but you are not looking for an answer, you idol-worshipper you! I know where you are coming from and I can understand why he is your hero, for like you he screams:
    "To hell with Taliban and their supporters !"
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/10/15/terrorists-strike-again-in-lahore/#comment-260966

Now you truly exposed yourself with your VERY FIRST yelp.

Nice attempt at trying to bait me, baboo :-P

No surprise to know then that mbo and you are bl.... each other. ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 10:51 #
  15. nota
    I am interested in what you have to say about p hoodboy so spare us the personal attacks and if you have any substance than produce it. Show me the money.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 10:57 #
  16. @lota6177
    Oh come on lota. Like bichoo, you too will stick with your belief even if I gave a 1000-page thesis right here.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 11:19 #
  17. nota
    It all depends on how good your 1000 page thesis is. If you make certain claims than you should be able to back them up.
    @shock
    thanx for the video, watching it right now. Hoodboy speaks on the decline of muslim sceince at 6:13 and gives the reason.A+++
    Great Man hats off.
    Pervez Hoodbhoy: The Kashmir Conflict -1/5

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 11:28 #
  18. wantinsaf

@RashiSaleem
    What hardship has Hoodbhoy been facing?You did not mention anyone.
    Hoodbhoy must be thankful of Pakistanis who despite his anti pakistan and anti Islam agenda has been getting good salary coming on media regularly.
    On media he doesn't talk about education,he rather is busy in talking about how good we as nation can make servant to US.
    His comments show man is not proud of being Pakistani and with little or no self respect and patriotism.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:21 #
  19. wantinsaf
    can you plz provide a link where pervaiz hoodboy is talking about
    he "rather is busy in talking about how good we as nation can make servant to US".

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:26 #
  20. wantinsaf

The problems with Hoodbhoy
    -------------------------------
    Hoodbhoy despite being illiterate to religion and history appears on TV and talks about how we can help in serving US's interest in region.
    He very often passes comments and judgement about our culture and religion without having any understanding about either of them.
    If he speaks for Pakistan,where was he during juidiciary movement?He has nowhere been seen on any important issues except Pakistan's atomic weapons and US's war aginst terror.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:27 #
  21. wantinsaf
    care to provide a link to backup your claims?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:30 #
  22. wantinsaf

@Lota6177
    1-You had better read his articles and watch talk shows where he is suggesting us to cooperate with Americans in their war.
    2-once he appeared in Express TV's Frotline where he is denying any presence of Blackwater in islamabad.Now it stands proven that Blackwater is operating in pakistan.But the question is for what?
    Any opinion like his about Blackwater clearly shows what kind of pakistan they want to see.
    Read this one:
    http://www.pakistanpatriot.com/?p=202

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:34 #
  23. I have read most if not all of his articles. Can you point out which ones are objectionable? maybe you can find a video clip on youtube and post when you can.
    http://www.chowk.com/writers/495
    @want insaf
    the link you posted is not an article by pervaiz hoodboy. Can you post someting objectionable by hoodboy if you can?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:37 #
  24. aftab arif

Hoodboy should know very well what happens if you are weak militarily, i have said this many times before on paper it sounds good to have no nuclear weapons but in reality your enemies will eat you alive. Hoodboy also know's this but still carries on with this rubbish.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:38 #
  25. wantinsaf

@Lota6177
    Read this one:
    http://teeth.com.pk/blog/2010/03/20/pervaiz-hoodbhoy-against-burqas-in-universities
    And let me know if there is any objection or not?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:42 #
  26. The Holy Prophet (pbuh) advised not to refrain, even going to China for getting knowledge and also advised that pick up a piece of wisdom without bothering about its source.

(Ilm-o-hikmat Moomin ki gumshada miras hai, jahan se mille utha lo)

The Western countries acted upon his advice and achieved progress and prosperity.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:43 #
  27. wantinsaf

@Aftab
    Because he is being paid for such rubbish.
    His masters have assigned him for such things.
    At the end he makes a nice servant...

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:44 #
  28. want insaf
    every link you provide is from a propaganda web site? Can you provide any article or video link by hoodboy?

Why didn’t the Scientific Revolution happen in Islam?
    http://www.chowk.com/articles/4091

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 12:48 #
  29. wantinsaf

@Lota6177
    How can you term them a propaganda site?
    You did not support your assertion.
    The blog which appeared at teeth.com.pk is based on what The news quoted Hoodhbhoy during a seminar at Islamic University.
    Check this out:
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=229669
    I find it quite amazing about liberals they criticize Zaid Hamid for being conspiracy theorist and when someone speaks ill of them they themselves see conspiracy in that.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:01 #
  30. @want insaf from your link
    http://thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=229669
    ISLAMABAD: Renowned scholar Dr Pervez Hoodbhoy said on Tuesday that the culture of effective communication was diminishing in universities as the number of female students hiding their faces with Burqa (veil) were rapidly increasing compared to the trends that prevailed during the decade of 60s and 70s.
    Dr Pervez Hoodbhoy replied that exceptions could be there but he was worried of this growing trend as he knew some teachers at the university level who were openly advising that those female students were not allowed to enter their classrooms who did not observe Burqa.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:15 #
  31. SufiSoul

Their are many Ill-developed people available in each society..
    The westren NGO's,Media are their to search and give importance to such people..
    Than its not a problem to turn/brainwash him according to their wishes..
    Westren agents in Pakistan would work under many covers..
    Such brain washed are used and the basic factor is money which is the weakness of human,specially Ill-Developed human...

WHO IS ILL-DEVELOPED.????

The one who is not aware of his basics(local culture,local religion,local political situation etc)..

Such a half mentality is always easy target for the others to motivate them again own people's interests.......very efficiently......

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:19 #
  32. wantinsaf

@Lota6177
    can you please let me know when any incident of forcing students wear burqa has occured at QU?
    I live in Isd and know lots of students at QU.No one has ever mentioned such incident.Even Hoodhbhoy himself fails to mention about even a single incident.He just uses a lie for his agenda.
    And secondly you need to look at the sentence he uses 'Burqa a hurdle in effective communication'.If he had been right he would have said 'It is not good to force students to wear burqa'.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:22 #
  33. acsher

@wantinsaf

What the hell are you talking about?

Hoodbhoi is just a secularist pakistani as quaid-e-azam was and his only grievance with today's punjabistan is that quaid's pakistan was hijacked by mullah/military alliance soon after the death of Quaid

Stop calling him a U.S agent and anti-pakistan just because he raises his voice against forcing a non-living entity like a state recite kalima (as if it was somne human being) by hypocrite and paindo punjabis in the name of religion!

Its funny how some of the most profane and sick activities are regularly carried out in punjab in the dark e.g whatever is happening in punjabi stage dramas and weddings (which btw is even sicker then porn movies), however when it comes to daylight, these hypocrite punjabis and their leaders (which btw even include an athiest & playboy like Imran khan) keep starting singing anthems of religion!

No wonder the hypocrite punjab couldn't even had the guts to give us a single mainstream secular party in all these years when even the conservative province like pakhtoonkhuwa came up with secular A.N.P!

and btw your point about hoodbhoi not knowing anything about islam is ridiculous because guess what he was born as a muslim-Ismaili and has lived most of his life in pakistan ..In case you are confusing ismailis with mirzais so let me tell you that Ismailis are just another sect in shia islam which means that they are almost as much aware of sunni-deobandi islam as we are about shiaites!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:23 #
  34. want insaf
    'Burqa a hurdle in effective communication'
    do you disagree? You think it is effective for communication in a classrom?
    sufi ji
    nice hawii firing and bishman bishman tabligi lecture.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:24 #
  35. LalBichoo

nota,

"""you idol-worshipper you!"""

Wow, now you're showing your dirty/true colours old nota !!!
    BTW I'm an atheist and unlike you I'm a free soul :)))

++++++++++++

"""No surprise to know then that mbo and you are bl.... each other. ;-) """

lolzzzz
    I'm sure you're missing mbo, aren't you ? :)))

++++++++++++

Now instead of hurling abuses, please come up with answers to my very simple questions !!!

UNQUOTE

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:34 #
  36. lalbichoo
    is mbo still around? did he closed his blog?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:36 #
  37. wantinsaf

@Acsher
    You just wasted your precious time by coming with rubbish based on ethno nationalism and so-called secularism.
    Why are you imposing secularism on us?
    Did our Prohpet Muhammed impose secularism on us?
    Muhammed impressed us with his character and set examples and made society the way he wanted.He has left something for all the human beings.Should it go waste?
    If we don't want to follow Islam,what are we Muslims for?
    Your comments only show your little education as you blaim Punjab for all the issues.Why blame Punjab for Zaradri corruption?
    Why blame Punjab for monster Musharaf's 10 years cruel governance?

Quran says 'goods and bads are everywhere' so what's wrong if Punjab has some bads.Don't you see bads in Sind,NWFP,Balochistan?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:40 #
  38. LalBichoo

lota6177,

I don't have any idea about his whereabouts !
    I've also noticed his blog's closure, may be admin can advise why his blog has been closed down ?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:41 #
  39. wantinsaf

@lota6177
    Dear,there has always been communication and intercation in the world so has been Burqa throughout Islamic history.
    If it is a hurdle then Why Prohpet Muhammed failed to notice this?
    You now need to realize who Hoodhbhoy is.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:43 #
  40. gv

@watninsaf

there was no burqa in the prophet's era - no islamic burqa that is..

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:44 #
  41. @wantinsaf
    http://www.alarabiya.net/articles/2009/10/08/87407.html
    Egypt's top cleric says no "niqab" in al-Azhar classes
    Al-Azhar bans "niqab" in classrooms, dormitories

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:46 #
  42. LalBichoo

wantinsaf,

""You now need to realize who Hoodhbhoy is.""

Why don't you tell us ?? :)

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:48 #
  43. wantinsaf

@gv
    You failed to support your assertion that there was no burqa in Prophet's era.
    You had better study Surah tauba and Surah Imran.
    What Islam asks us to observe perdah as it shows 'haya and sharam'.Burqa is just an extreme way of observing perdah.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:51 #
  44. wantinsaf

@lota6177
    Islam doesn't come from Egypt.It has come from Muhammed and Quran.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:53 #
  45. acsher

@wantinsaf

well since our topic was religion and secularism so I had to mention punjab, since living here, I can ver well make out as to how much of a conflict there is in punjab when it comes to talking about islam and then when it comes to actually acting on it!
    Punjab has just used the religion card to keep its chaudrahat on pakistan and that's why I mentioned it!

secondly, its funny that you used the word "impose" and secularism along side each other, the irony is that secularism in its very nature is against imposing and forcing anything on an individual which basically means that its none of your business if I go to a pub, indulge in a willing realtionship with a girl etc and its none of mine if you keep a 10 meters long beard or smash t.vs in your house as a hobby!

and btw that is what even quaid wanted Pakistan to be, as he was very clear about the fact that it was muslims and not islam in united india which was in danger, hence just because an overwhelming majority of our country was going to be muslims it didn't mean that we would keep putting a tag of religion in every thing we do, the main danger was the overwhelming majority of hindus in india which was taken care of even if pakistan was a secular state!
    But I guess some people with that typical "muhallay ke chuhadry" mentality had to have some thing like a religion card through which they could yank the others in the way they want to!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 13:54 #
  46. LalBichoo

Science and the Islamic world—The quest for rapprochement

By Pervez Amirali Hoodbhoy

Internal causes led to the decline of Islam's scientific greatness long before the era of mercantile imperialism. To contribute once again, Muslims must be introspective and ask what went wrong.....

http://ptonline.aip.org/journals/doc/PHTOAD-ft/vol_60/iss_8/49_1.shtml?bypassSSO=1

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 14:01 #
  47. LalBichoo

Pervez Amirali Hoodbhoy: “Islam and Science Have Parted Ways”

http://secularpakistan.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/pervez-amirali-hoodbhoy-islam-and-science-have-parted-ways/

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 14:09 #
  48. wantinsaf

@acsher
    First seculairsm is not solution to Pakistan's problems.
    Pakistan's solution lie in ending corruption,nepotism,injustice,inequality and incomtency etc.
    And this all can be ended with following Islam with will and dignity as Muhammed and his companions practically showed us by setting examples.
    As far as Quaid e Azam is concerned he never used the term 'secularism' despite it was popular at that time.Pakistan came into being for Muslims.If Quaid wanted secularism he would have struggled for it in the sub continent.
    I must add Quaid did not want a Khilafat state,the only model avaialable for establishing Sharia.But at the same time he did not want a secular state.
    We want pakistan based on following:
    We believe in Pakistan as expressed by Jinnah frequently and in his speech of Aug 11, and Islam as understood by Iqbal in his well enunciated ‘Reconstruction of Religious Thought in Islam’. Pakistan should be a non theocratic country, though seeped in its muslim tradition of humanity, emanicipation, equal opportunities, welfare and freedom for all to practice their faiths. Muslims should also fall back upon a historic Covenant signed and given by Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) to the Christians which is preserved in St. Catherine’s Monastery in the Sinai, the translation of which was published in your editorial page and can be accessed through http://www.dawn.com/2006/10/24/ed.htm."

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 14:09 #
  49. LalBichoo

The Saudi-isation of Pakistan

By Pervez Hoodbhoy

A stern, unyielding version of Islam is replacing the kinder, gentler Islam of the Sufis in Pakistan.....

http://www.newsline.com.pk/NewsJan2009/cover2jan2009.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 14:10 #
  50. he is one of them....who has been given the task to deface and defame Islam on a wider spectrum.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Apr 2010 14:13 #