ANP voted against declaring URDU as an official language

(150 posts)
  1. syedhussain

ANP voted against urdu as an official language of pakistan in Senate. ANP leader Iliyas Bloor said only 6 % of population speaks urdu.

Full news
    http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2011-daily/05-05-2011/u69906.htm

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 17:55 #
  2. "ANP leader Iliyas Bloor said only 6 % of population speaks urdu"

Is he right? Probably!

So then what's wrong with it??

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 17:57 #
  3. syedhussain

who said its wrong. ANP may be right on this. However, only 6 % speaks urdu may be wrong, it will be more suitable if he said only 6% writes urdu.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 18:15 #
  4. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Where is he pulling up the facts? Seems like a cumulative effect of gasoline and heroine! According to following article:
    http://ezinearticles.com/?Urdu---The-National-Language-of-Pakistan&id=959211

The estimated number of native Urdu speakers in Pakistan is 10.5 million and all over the world the figure is 50 million approximately. In Pakistan alone the people who understand and speak Urdu as the first or second language is 104 million approximately.

Where the total population of Pakistan is 180 million. That makes the above claim that Urdu is spoken or understood by 60% of the population much larger than any other spoken languages of Pakistan. He must have forgotten 0 'intentionally'.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 18:19 #
  5. @RQ
    "Where is he pulling up the facts?"

From you I think. I am sure Bilour nmeant "native" speakers and your own figures give me "Only 5.8% people have Urdu as their native tongue" (10.5/180=5.8333%)

So rounded up, we get 6%. Bilour will be grateful :)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 18:33 #
  6. spruce

7% of Pakistanis who are north Indian Muslim migrants or their descendents, also known as Muhajirs, whose mother-tongue is Urdu, none of the other Pakistanis have anything to do with Urdu. In fact, imposition of Urdu is resented among many peoples of Pakistan.

Urdu and Hindi languages are extremely similar to each other, mostly composed of native north Indian linguistic elements. Having a common origin, both languages are intelligible to each other, and overwhelmingly share the same syntax, vowels, vocabulary, etc. It would be safe to say that both Hindi and Urdu are almost the same language.

Instead of Urdu, why was not Arabic or Persian made the national language of Pakistan? At least, Arabic is the language of Islam (of Quran), thus naturally it would had been more accepted among Pakistanis. Also, Persian was another logical option, because of its historical role of being the official language in the region (Muslim and other periods), and would have made us closer to the Muslim brothers on our western borders.

National language is suppose to unite a country, but in Pakistan, Urdu as the national language has caused division and resentment among most Pakistanis. But the worse part is that Urdu being a north Indian language and foreign to Pakistan is slowly destroying the local languages/cultures, and “Indianizing” the native Pakistanis. This is cultural and linguistic genocide of Pakistanis. It is Indian imperialism, wearing the mask of falsehoods about Urdu language. Many of the native languages of Pakistan are already in danger of being extinct, mostly due to Urdu imposition. And when a language dies, so does its people’s identity and heritage. Pakistan was created mostly based on our cultural distinctiveness; unfortunately, Urdu-imposition is only forcefully making us artificially closer to India. And with this linguistic imperialism, also comes other aspects of cultural invasion. For example, north Indian music/TV/film dominates in Pakistan, whereas native Pakistani music/film/TV is largely ignored by the Urdu dominated media. Indian culture is widely spreading in Pakistan and it is visible with more women wearing the Indian dress sari, people adopting many Indian words/phrases in their native Pakistani languages, many Indian customs and ceremonies followed by Pakistanis, Pakistanis being brainwashed with biased Indian socio-political views, and much more.

We Pakistanis are grateful to Quaid-e-Azam for his efforts in the creation of Pakistan; however, as a human being he was not perfect. Jinnah’s choice of Urdu as the national language of Pakistan was his biggest mistake with long-term negative consequences. Criticizing Urdu as the national language of Pakistan might be very painful to many Pakistanis. But ignoring this issue with falsehoods and illusions will only worsen the problem. Let us be open-minded and cease Urdu as the national language of Pakistan. At the same time, Urdu language should be respected, and people given the freedom to learn or speak it. Promoting native languages to become the official languages of their respective provinces or districts is the best solution to the problem. All native languages of Pakistan should be declared as the national languages of Pakistan. This will ensure the preservation of our language/culture, unity and respect between the various ethnicities, and pride and distinctiveness in our Pakistani nationhood. If a multi-lingual country like Switzerland can have a successful multi-linguistic system, then so can we. Let us make change for our betterment before it's too late!

i shall perfer to have a national language arabic.

http://www.oocities.org/paklanguage/

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 18:55 #
  7. ANP has brought up this issue before.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:00 #
  8. spruce

Instead of Urdu, why was not Arabic or Persian made the national language of Pakistan? At least, Arabic is the language of Islam (of Quran), thus naturally it would had been more accepted among Pakistanis. Also, Persian was another logical option, because of its historical role of being the official language in the region (Muslim and other periods), and would have made us closer to the Muslim brothers on our western borders.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:21 #
  9. Still, Arabic and Persian are foreign to us and not spoken by the locals.

I propose Sindhi.

Sindhi is close to Arabic in certain cases. In speech it is close to Punjabi which is spoken the most, has own alphabets and Sindhi can be written unlike Punjabi.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:44 #
  10. liv_2_die

lo jee .. population ke hisaab se hi jana hai toh phir punjabi ko bana lo official language ... ooopppppsssss ... ye toh dum pe paon aaney wali baat ho gaye ... laanat aise 'aqalmundon' pe .. ANP is a bunch of *****ye siyasatdaan ... i dont expect anything good from them .. leave our country alone as it is and STFU

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:44 #
  11. syedhussain

yaar arabic is not spoken in pakistan. people are even arguing about urdu being a foreign language.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:45 #
  12. salaudin

@RQ
    "Where is he pulling up the facts?"

From you I think. I am sure Bilour nmeant "native" speakers and your own figures give me "Only 5.8% people have Urdu as their native tongue" (10.5/180=5.8333%)

So rounded up, we get 6%. Bilour will be grateful :)

No offence to anyone but RQ's post has to be the dumbest post I have ever come across. lolzzzz

Anyways, back to the topic. Bloor is either mistaken or doing it on purpose as most of the ANP senior leadership is not very Pakistani anyways. Urdu is the most understood language in Pakistan, more than English or Punjabi (correct me if I am wrong). Punjabi would perhaps come close but it is limited to a province pretty much.
    Since not even 6% population speaks English, why is it the official language of the Senate ??? What a **** this guy is ...

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:45 #
  13. Just_one

I support Urdu as a national language. It is so different from Hindi. The script is Persian/Arabic, while many words are derived from Arabic and Persian.

Though an effort should be made to separate Urdu from migrants. There I oppose referring to Mujahirs as "Urdu speakers", because it makes people like me wonder, what am I as I can also speak Urdu in addition to my local language. Urdu is a more appropriate national language than any other. It evolved as a result of the assimilation of the cultures of the invading Muslims and the local non-Muslims. It combines the traits of all the local languages.

We have to have one national language. I am against English as as state language. We are not Arabs and Persians either. Urdu is the best compromise. It gives us our unique identity. But of course, all the languages should be preserved and promulgated through education in their respective provinces.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:52 #
  14. liv_2_die

why are we even discussing this ... chawals like blor dont deserve this much attention .. the thread is closed (moderator) :P

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 20:56 #
  15. spruce

i think he is right in his way.....what he analized that there should be a one language which every pakistani should speak with no ethnic link with that language. for me i shall advise all that we have to choose arabic language to have good competition with arab countries like egypt is african country but thier language is arabic and they have big benifit in middle east and most of thier people have a benifit of language and their salaries are more then asians.

choosing arabic language will solove ethincs problem in our country and no one will feel supperior then other one as by speaking urdu because most of our urdu brothers are feeling supperior over other ethnics and creating division in country.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 21:00 #
  16. As the two Bilors pointed out no one has problem with Urdu as a language of communication or connection but their point was Urdu as a national language needs to be re-evaluated. E.g. in India many Indians speak Hindi but it is still not a national language. That is the point. Urdu in fact is a foreign language to domestic people of four Pakistani provinces. It is a language of certain Indian areas viz. parts of Andhara, Bihar and UP. Therefore, if some folks of four provinces do not feel comfortable about Urdu as a national language that is only natural. Having said that, no one is denying the power of Urdu or English as a medium of speech exchange. So technically, if article 251-(1) is eliminated, people would still use Urdu at large and many people would be happy that the constitution does not favor no one community on the basis of language.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 21:04 #
  17. liv_2_die

i hav even a better idea ... since Pakistan mein kuch log arbi bhi boltey aur samajhtey hain ... toh aise zuban ho jis se lasaaniat ke boo na aaye ... how abt russian .. or polish ... lekun unke sifarat khaney hain ... hmmm wot to do ... ohh yeah got it ... Inuit language ... i can bet no one is Pakistan knows/speaks this language ... wot an absurd behas ....

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 21:06 #
  18. @Irshad

I feel your pain. At work you have to use two languages and at home you use a third language. Incidentally, neither three are yours and then there is superiority complex of those who speak those languages at you!

But seems like you have come on terms with Arabic. So .. tahki lughatul arabiyya?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 21:10 #
  19. Abdul Rahman

We are still talking about Urdu as medium of instruction after 60 years of independance?

None of Engineering or Medical colleges in Pakistan as well as India has tried any local language as medium of instruction since 1948.

Urdu was official language of Nizam of Hyderabad and it was medium of instruction for Engineering as well as Medical colleges at Osmania University. Once Indian Government pounced on Hyderabad, the starting Urdu letter "ain" is what remains of Osmania University as I am told.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 21:15 #
  20. Manra_Pardasi

Urdu is not the language of Pakistan and has nothing to do with Pakistanis. Its a language that has been imposed on our people by the economically motivated migrants from India. Its not a language of Indus region, neither will you hear this language in the plains of punjab or the mountains of KPK or the valleys of Kashmire and Northern Areas. You wont hear this language in the stereets of Balochistan either.

As an official language English is more suitable than Urdu. In fact I support some of the other posters who have said to make persian or Arabic as the National/official language. If you study history you will know that before Britishers imposed Urdu on us, it was Persian which was used as the official/lingus franca.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 22:33 #
  21. secularists

Urdu should be the official language. There was a time when we could have built on english like India did as all the teachers were well versed in english at the time of partition. All good schools and universities were in english.

Today however, the english staff is no more there. The level of english is poor and teachers expensive.

Urdu is the lingua franc or the language of common communication of Pakistan. Also Urdu is the official language so there is no question of ANP voting for or against it.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 22:37 #
  22. secularists

As to people questioning why was urdu made the national language at partition, it wasn't.

Hindi was removed as natinal language and urdu was already the national language of India under Indian Act of 1935.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 22:39 #
  23. @secularists

I have gone thru all of Govt. of India Act 1935 and no where I found Urdu as national language of preparition India.

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/1935/2/pdfs/ukpga_19350002_en.pdf

My take is that the Govt. of India Act 1935 had no provision of any national language yet alone Urdu and the same sense was carried by the architects of the Indian constitution.

I think Urdu was carried over as an alternate by the Brits
    after the demise of Moghul Empire in situations when people do not know English for official work. I think you are wrong in claiming that provision of Urdu was in Govt. of India Act 1935. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 22:58 #
  24. spruce

urdo is 500 year old language.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 23:24 #
  25. Less, more like 200-250 years and Sindhi is more than 1400 years old!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 May 2011 23:30 #
  26. Dusky

He is right, once they get their "independent paktoonkawa" they can ditch Urdu and declare Pashtoo as their national language. Till then this is another can of worms to devide the Pakistanis further.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 0:29 #
  27. Abdul Rahman

The ultimate goal should be Arabic as official language. Remember it is language of Jannah. How many of you know that Arabic was the language of Science until 19th century? If you did not know Arabic you could not do research.

I am not talking about pre-Islamic Jahiliyyah history . Historically after the advent of Islam, anyone who knew Arabic was an "Arab". Whether a Morroccon or a Sudanese or a Yemeni or a Iraqi. Technology industry would not exist today if it was not for Arabic numerals. Computer uses the word zero from Arabic cipher. The introduction of Arabic numerals revolutionized Science. We can all be "Arabs" but remember Prophet of Islam never called himself an Arab as the present Arabs do. Even leaders of Hamas and Muslim Brotherhood were mentioning "Arab and Muslim world" recently. Prophet PBUH always mentioned Ummah-One community of Muslims all over the world with no place for Arab or Ajam.

Russia became super power and Japan became economic power without English. So stop parroting colonial mentality.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 1:00 #
  28. Abdul Rahman

The so called Pakhtoons should know that Persian was official language of Mughals and also it is official language in Afghanistan. Please correct me if it is wrong.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 1:02 #
  29. sipahi

It looks like Pakistanis are moving to pre-Islamic tribal regimes.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 1:40 #
  30. Abdul Rahman

Sipahi, They are not "moving to" but are part and parcel of pre-Islamic jahiliyah systems today unless they follow Islam in totality.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 1:45 #
  31. zenith

Speaking arabic has nothing to do with Islam. Islam is a liberal religion and for all cultures and all times to come.

This is the reason that Prophet of Islam ( SAW) mentioned the words ajmi and arbi. Urdu should remain our national language as it is understood by many, but it no way implies that we forgoe our own local languages and arabic and even english. Even arabic is spoken with many dialects.

Romans learnt greek and arabs learnt both to understand the world better, but kept their identity.

As far as accusing urdu for being a disintegrating force is concerned, urdu was a tool used by an arrogant leader who wished to change the language spoken by people a thousand miles away.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 1:56 #
  32. Abdul Rahman

Zenith, Arabic has very much to do with Islam. You don't have a clue about the relationship of Arabic with Islam. All linguistics scholars in the world today accept the fact that Prophet SAS came at a time in history when Arabic was considered a very rich and powerful language and ability to penetrate the masses. Why did the Creator did not use Aramaic, Greek or Sanscrit to reveal His final message?

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 2:22 #
  33. Hussain Farooqui

The history of Urdu is very strange. Urdu emerged as a language of communication among the soldiers of different linguistic groups in the armies of the Muslim sultans. Wherever the conquests of the Muslim sultans spread thereupon cantonments were established and Urdu was spread as the language of cantonments. When the British abolished the local educational system, Arabic and Persian ceased to exist. The only surviving common language among the Muslims was Urdu.

During the independence movement, all the Muslims of the subcontinent jointly declared Urdu as their own language. It was the matter of deciding which language was commonly acceptable and workable for all the Muslims of the subcontinent.

Naturally, Arabic is the most important language for all the Muslims. We must try to quit all our local and national language and move towards Arabic.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 7:01 #
  34. @Hussain Farooqi

Naturally, Arabic is the most important language for all the Muslims. We must try to quit all our local and national language and move towards Arabic.

Arabic remain the most important language for all Muslims till the final day of Judgement. As Muslims it is our religious obligation to learn/study Arabic language.

However Urdu should stay as a 'common medium of communication' among all provinces of Pakistan.

On the other hand provincial languages should not be side lined at all and be considered as compulsory subjects of academic studies. Students may be provided a choice to select one from Sindhi, Pushtu, Punjabi, Baluchi, Kashmiri...etc as a compulsory subject.

Languages should not be considers as barriers of division rather effective channels to promote unity among us Pakistanis.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 7:31 #
  35. Hussain Farooqui

Some non-Arab peoples like Sudanese and Egyptians adopted Arabic as their language and then mastered themselves even above the Arabs. Similarly, Indonesia is also a multi-lingual society like us. The people belonging to some clusters of islands also learnt Arabic and then adopted it as their first language.

If we follow the same trend of Egyptians, Sudanese and Indonesians, we can develop not only a linguistic unity in Pakistan but the Muslim world as well.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 7:43 #
  36. @Hussain Farooqui
    Therefore, you agree that having knowledge of languages other than your own is in fact a positive step towards unity.
    If Arabic unites Muslims from all over the world then how can we drop promoting local (provincial) languages spoken in Pakistan crucial for our unity as Pakistanis?

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 7:49 #
  37. secularists

@ barackosama:

Urdu, Hindi and English were the central official languages of India, if it's not government of India Act it must be governed by some other law. All sign boards throughout India (except maybe South)were in Urdu, official currency of all princely states even Bhawalpur had Urdu on it and so on. It had the status of language of courts and uptil 1947 throughout Punjab and UP FIR was recorded in Urdu not hindi.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 8:04 #
  38. Hussain Farooqui

There are more than 40 dialects and languages spoken in Pakistan. Urdu is a unifying element among the linguistic groups.

However, as discussed in the earlier postings, Arabic is the real language to adopt.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 8:17 #
  39. secularists

haha.. no thank you,, arabic is not the language of south asia.. urdu is, so is POunjabi, Pashto and the rest. Give them the status of national language as well

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 8:37 #
  40. spruce

@S.E Mirza

We Should Have To Take An Example Of IRAN, China, Saudi Arab And Other Gulf Countries. There Is One Language Spoken/Written. And English Is Optional For Those Who Communicate With Globe, So That People Who Have Less Education They Just Being Promoted And Developed Themselves Inside Country And Made Themselves Stable Among Other Communities Of Thier Country, Their Dress Is Same And Thier Language Is One And Thier Tradition Is One This Is What Such Countries Got Good Development Around The Globe.this is other thing that God has granted them natural resources.

When We Visit To Those Countries We Feel Inferior Due To Language Problem, Because We Are Mostly Dependant On Middle East, There Are Lot Of Overseas Jobs Opportunities For Pakistanis But They Are Offered Low Salaries As Compare To Local, Other Arab Countries Due To Lack Of Communication, Because Most Of The Companies Are Not Multinational Except Large Organization Who Have Approach Hooked On Global Market And They Need Professionals, For That English Is Accessible And Have Some Benefits. But What About Those Who Have Less Education Such As Labor Class People Are Also Bone Of Our Country When They Seek Job In Arab Countries They Are Offered Low Package Due To Communication Problem.
    Mostly Proportion Of Our Country Living In Rural Pakistan With Low Skills And Less Education If Arabic Was Our Language We Might Be Not In This Position Where We Are Standing In Now. 10 To 15 Million Pakistanis Has Been Working In Saudi Arabia If Language Was Not Issue Our People Benefited Equally Like Local And Economy Raise To Dual.

Same As Our Religious People Who Are Teaching In Arabic Schools They Have Same And Little Different Of Package As The Local People But They Have Priority And Benefit Of Communication.

Therefore Geography Of Pakistan Suggests Us That We Oblige To Focus On One Language Arabic Which Will Not Only Provide Best Job Opportunities In Gulf Countries But Also Good Respect And Good Source Of Income As Well And The Most Advantage Is That Understanding Of Quran Kareem Will Benefit To Our Society And Will Minimize The Illiteracy By This People Will Follow The Proper Teachings Of Islam And Will Avoid The Unnecessary Habits Of Following Wrong People With Different Sects And Evil Acts Of Worshiping Shrines , Avoid Wrong Path Of Extremist Activities Which We Are Facing Due Lack Of Islamic Education.

when you communicate islam debat with any one most of people will refer that oh some one said like that but less people will quote you quran verses.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 8:48 #
  41. Hussain Farooqui

What statuses can we award to more than 40 local languages of Pakistan? All are no doubt lovely languages of our beautiful country.

Urdu provides a common mode of communication among all the linguistic groups. Repeatedly again, Arabic can provide us the best of solution to our linguistic problems.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 8:51 #
  42. zenith

@ abdul rahman

No one disputes the importance of arabic, however, it in no way implies that we sideline all our local languages. arabic shall remain a religious language for non arab muslims forever.

Replacing arabic as our national language is not a prerequisite to be a muslim.

Islam realizes this distinction when Prophet of Islam (SAW) mentioned arbi and ajmi. Do not transform a liberal religion into a coercive religious doctrine.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 9:34 #
  43. spruce

@zenith

Geography Of Pakistan Suggests Us That We Oblige To Focus On One Language Arabic Which Will Not Only Provide Best Job Opportunities In Gulf Countries But Also Good Respect And Good Source Of Income As Well And The Most Advantage Is That Understanding Of Quran Kareem Will Benefit To Our Society And Will Minimize The Illiteracy By This People Will Follow The Proper Teachings Of Islam And Will Avoid The Unnecessary Habits Of Following Wrong People With Different Sects And Evil Acts Of Worshiping Shrines , Avoid Wrong Path Of Extremist Activities Which We Are Facing Due Lack Of Islamic Education.

when you communicate islam debat with any one most of people will refer that oh some one said like that but less people will quote you quran verses.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 9:39 #
  44. Hussain Farooqui

We love our national language Urdu and other more than 40 local languages. However, considering the advantages of Arabic in terms of understanding the Holy Quran and Aha Diths directly, we must seriously think about adopting Arabic as the first language.

A lot of fashionable families in Pakistan adopt English as their first language to gain materialistic goals with added efficiency, then why can't be Arabic considered for the goals which are higher than materialistic goals.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 10:28 #
  45. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

urdu is the national language of pakistan alone!!! it is something unique about us.... but just look what we have done to it.... the young generation often feels embarrassed to speak it.... a lot of upper and upper middle class youth consider talking in english and speaking tooti-phooti urdu cool!

countries try to preserve their languages and promote them globaly... and if we finish urdu ourselves, people will laugh at us even more!

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 10:53 #
  46. iqbaladnan

This discussion will go on and on without any solid output because (Creation/Modification/Destruction of) languages is a sign from Allah. No body can stop this evolution and change of language. Pushto speakers are most resistant to spread of any other language yet I find dozens of them daily, speaking in languages other than Pushto (Punjabi/Hindko/Urdu etc). Urdu has not survived this evolution either. Arabic has survived only because of Quran but there also, if you have had chances to meet and discuss with Arab people from different countries, the dialects differe greatly from country to country.

I am a native Urdu speaker and I am proud of writings available to me in Urdu. I do not think any other language has given birth to classic like Raja Gidh etc. At the same time, I feel pity when it comes to not being able to extract knowledge present in other languages (local as well as foreign).

As far as Bilours are concerned, there mind works perfectly only when thay have to confiscate lands or do some corruption. They should not be taken seriously in any matter that has even an iota of imporatnce.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 11:27 #
  47. علی بھائی اردو اکثریت کی مادری زبان نہیں ہے پھر وہ اردو کو قومی زبان کیسے سوئی کار کر لیں؟

ایک حل امریکہ والا ہے جہاں لوگوں نے جرمن ، فرنچ ، اسپینش وغیرہ کو ترک کر کہ انگریزی کو قبول کر لیا جب ایک بار انگریزی رائج ہو گی تو اب دوبارہ اسپینش آ رہی ہے مگر انگریزی کی مسلمیّت چیلینج نہیں ہوگی ... آج امریکہ میں کوئی بھی اٹالین ، جرمن ، فرنچ ، گریک ، رشئن نہیں بولتا .. تو کیا صوبے اپنی علاقائی زبانیں ترک کرنے کے لیے تیّار ہونگیں ؟

ہمارا ایک المیہ یہ ہی ہے کے ہمیں کیی چیزوں کو ساتھ لے کر چلنا پڑتا ہے جو ترقی کی رہ میں رکاوٹ بن جاتا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 11:29 #
  48. Hussain Farooqui

The way Arabic is important for Muslims, Hebrew is the important language for the Jews. They preserved it always despite being displaced from their homes nos. of time in the history. After the creation of the Israeli State, they implemented Hebrew in their state.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 12:24 #
  49. hypocrite

How about making sign language our national language. No one can claim any bias in favouror against it and they way we gesture by signs, it could be very effective

Now I do admit it is a dumb comment so jokes apart, we need to have a common language that all pakistanis can understand and can use to communicate with each other.

In my opinion, Unless and until people can converese with each other, it is difficult to understand each other and without understanding each other it is bit difficult to establish unity or a common cause amongst the nation.

In many parts of the world, people living in the same country or region resent each other becuase they speak different languages and dont use a common language. In many cases even the same religion or same nationality doesnt help the citziens forge a common bond unless they speak the same langauge.

I read all the valuable comments above and I think that the same arguments that are being made in favour or against Urdu can be used in favour or against English, Persian and Arabic.

I guess one cause of resentment could be the elevation of Urdu to the status of national language which could make people speaking Pushto, Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi etc feel bit inferior. Shall we make all languages as official or shall we call Urdu only as language of coordination but not an official language.

I am also wondering as to why this and other such issues of resentment always originate from smaller (by pouplation) provinces.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 13:02 #
  50. Hussain Farooqui

In my opinion, languages evolve as per the need of place and time. Urdu evolved as a language in the cantonments of the Muslim armies. It spread far and wide as the armies spread far and wide after conquests. Urdu was the need of the soldiers of the subcontinent armies. As the cantonments were established everywhere in the subcontinent so Urdu became a popular language of communication.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 May 2011 13:18 #