http://www.thenews.com.pk/blog/default.asp
Anti Punjabism is apparent from this "GEO Blog", which makes me skeptical about the role of jang group. Could this group be really up-to something?
http://www.thenews.com.pk/blog/default.asp
Anti Punjabism is apparent from this "GEO Blog", which makes me skeptical about the role of jang group. Could this group be really up-to something?
Geo is a money maker so never mind it but ask my punjabi brothers to finish their dirty plays now.
In all honesty what do you think is the percentage of Punjabi population in the establishment?
@ zia m 75% maybe
I second Anwer Kamal's opinion and will add here that Geo is business group and they can sell any product which brings them benefit.Anti Punjabism is fav in smaller provinces,so they keep it selling but at the same time Punjabi brothers also need to review the role of Mighty Establishment who plunders the nation in the name of Punjabism.
@linkwheel
Are you saying 75% of Punjabi population is in establishment?
You have any statistics to back your statement?
@ zia m no i was talking abt Establishment :D wht % of People in Establishment are Punjabi's.
That was not my question.I asked about the % of Punjabi population in establishment before we start to crucify the whole of punjab.
Still would be nice to know if you have any stats to support your view.
Punjabis must be the most stupid people to allow others to rule them for majority of the past 60 years.
You ever think about the Sardars and Waderas who oppose educating their people or it is just too convenientt to blame Punjabis.
Like we blame Americans for all our problems.
Punjab is just an administrative unit of Pakistan with people of several linguistic and ethnic backgrounds living in it. It is not a land of any particular ethnic group.
Those who tend to blame everyone except themselves for their social or economic backwardness need a convenient bogeyman and thats where Punjab comes handy.
I asked a pakhtoon and a muhajir friend of mine about the role of Punjab in the bad condtions in their parts of Pakistan (BTW, even this part of Pakistan called Punjab is not in good condition either). Both had the same answer "It is issue on which our politicians do their politics".
Well this is it! Nothing more nothing less! Punjab is not culprit, it is also the victim of same group that is exploiting all ethnicities in Pakistan.
@Adonis. You are quite right but it is thouands years tradition of G T Road area (Only) to do the same. I am ashamed that I belong to same area (Pindi to Lahore) but I think that we should be a little true when matter points us.
Isn't it ironic that the same Gt road area is also where most of our establishment come from (since a big majority of soldiers including our present Chief of the Army staff belong to that particular area !)
1-After having Lived in punjab myself I think one of the biggest shortcoming of punjabis is that most of them are highly hypocritical when it comes to using the religion card for their own hidden agendas!
I mean although the general punjabi public is very khuli-duli when it comes to the practice of the religion (I mean they never try to go in to the nitty gritty of religion like pakhtoons and a big part of urdu-speakings do) yet when it comes to use the religion card in the public domain(whether it is to get the "strategic depth" in the form of taliban , to take a hawkish stand against India, or to dish out that typical jazbati rhetoric on the issues like, changing the name of the state, calling pakistan a secular state, blasphemy laws etc) they suddenly pretend as if there is no bigger champion of religion than them!...
To put it in a nutshell they are the kinds of street smart people
1-who would keeping watching those profane "punjabi mujra videos" but at the same time would also see to it that the video is paused when there is a call of Azan and once the azan would end they would again start playing the video as if nothing happened!
2-They won't mind drinking with you but they would definitely mind if you start discussing with them highly intellectual issues like secularism vs theocracy etc and would mostly try to stop you by saying "toba kar, kufr na bhonk etc etc)
In other words, they just hate to be controversial and emphasize on going with the flow overtly while doing whatever they like covertly !
They just prefer to be street smart rather than being purists & intellectuals!
and i am afraid when you look at all the muslim leagues (which mostly come from punjab), or for that matter any other major political party that emerged from punjab..you would see this hyporcisy at work!
just a few examples
1-ch. shujat dont mind marathon with half naked chicks running in his backyard but suddenly become jazbati on an irrelevant "religion box" in the passport!
2-Sharif brother try to be ameer-ul-momineens, make it mandatory for every actress to wear duppata on t.v even if its a sleeping scene (something that is just ridiculously unnatural and which even the most parsa ladies wont do), ban pop stars with long hairs ..yet when it comes to their own personal matters they (shahbaz) wont mind marrying one of the most infamous adulterer of pakistan i.e Tahmeena Durrani (ex wife of khar , who in her biography "my feudal lord" wrote each and every thing about the adultery that she committed with khar at a point in time when she was a;ready married to some one else, later she also told as to how her 17 year sister used to get molested by mr khar in front of her eyes) ...Btw Tahmeena is still the 2nd or 3rd wife of mian shahbaz shareef!
3-Imran khan who at one point was even atheist (and he said this himself in an interview) suddenly starts using religion card when he enters in to politics!
4- Despite having the biggest population in the whole of pakistan we are yet to see a single mainstream party from punjab that has the guts to call itself secular..is punjab so parallel (society) that you won't find a bunch of people there who are secularists?..and btw isn't it interesting that when even a conservative province like nwfp can have a secular anp yet punjab couldt have a single mainstream secular party in all these years!
So I think the only drawback of punjabi society which is hurting us both on the national and international front is this unclear, hybrid, "adha teetar/adha batair", and hypocritical ideology! ..because at the end of the day & whether you accept it or not, its actually punjab which runs Pakistan!
As for the other accusation by the smaller provinces (except balochistan), so i think its just convenient for them to make punjab the escape goat for their each and every shortcomings!!
@usher
absolutely correct
@ucsher:
Good analysis. The term I use is "Punjabi Islam"; does not apply to oneself but prepared to cut other’s throat for it.
Apparently member is frustrated because he thinks that these Muslims commit sin but still stick to Islam while they should be jumping to secular camp.
If the member is so frustrated in a land that was acquired for Muslims in the name of Islam why not he go to some place where his philosophies are in practice?
It will not only help ease his 'heart burning', but also bring calm in his frustrated life :)
Pakistan ka matlab kia Lailaha Illalah!
ucsher wonderful post. There is a lot to think about in your post. Loved the examples you cited. You need to write more.
This thread topic has managed to collect responses that look like racial in nature by targeting a specific race.
Or are you doing some sort of analysis? If it is so than let us look forward to a rational discussion that may bring forward some realities in this regard.
@semriza
This is just my general analysis of Punjabi politics and the kind of confused ideology that they have been implementing in pakistan which, as a result, has unleashed monsters like Talibans & extremism in our society and has hence provoked a lot of anti-punjabism in the non-punjabi as well punjabi areas of Pakistan!
Hasn't got anything to do with racism!
I would love it if some one wants to convince me otherwise on this issue!
Uscher,
Obviously you have seen only one part of Punjabis. Probably you wanted to see only the negative part!!
You conveniently forgot all the positive things!
Unfortunately all I saw is the hatred in your post!
@jjkhan
I am just saying that be clear in whatever you preach & teach, If you want it to be a theocracy then make it a cent percent theocracy though if you want it to be a western styled democracy then have enough guts to say that its a secular state!
But don't just label it "Islamic" with the intentions that are "Satanic!".. or otherwise you would keep your nation confused on issues like "whether to support or oppose Talibans" at a point in time when they are putting a gun on your head!
@shriq
Since the topic is about anti-pujabism so i am afraid I had to talk about the angle of Punjab which in my opinion has produced anti-punjabism in our Country!
Though its not that I am saying that punjab is all about negativism and ignoring its positive traits!
Just come up with a thread about something positive about Punjab and watch me taking part in as enthusiastically as I took in this one ;)
and Trust me, I know all kinds of Punjabis inside out ;)
@semirza
It is ok.Punjabis have a big heart they can handle abuse.
All the movements against dictators usually start in Punjab.
The greatest movement in the history of Pakistan for restoration of judiciary started from Punjab.
The biggest secular party in Pakistan first came in power because of overwhelming support from Punjab(ZAB could have never come to power without the help of Punjab).
Bigots are found in every ethnicity.
@zia-m
All the movements against dictators usually start in Punjab
and what about all those muslim leagues from punjab and the chathas, pathas, chaudhries, maggos, mushaids, ranas, jats, sheikhs who in their love for military dictatorships have made as many muslim leagues as there are alphabets in english language ;)?
The biggest secular party in Pakistan first came in power because of overwhelming support from Punjab
When Punjabis support seculars you call it charta suraj,but when they get fedup with corrupt politicians and start tolerating Ayub Khan,Zia and Mush,you hold them resposible.
Where were the Sindhis and Pathans during the dictatorships? I don't want to dwell upon negatives in other ethnicities in Pakistan.
A common Punjabi has same aspirations as other Pakistanis.
My 2 cents
The protest started when Mushrraf ka shurta soraj ghroob ho raha tha
Mush's Suraj got eclipsed by CJ.
@zia m
Trust me there was a whole world of reasons (other than ppp just being a secular party) that made it popular in Punjab and some one like Dr. Babar Aiwaan is a typical example!
and i guess "tolerating Dictators" would be a rather soft term for what these establishment-boot-lickers actually do, they actually just support dictatorships, there whole political carriers depend on it and they thrive in dictatorial environments.
@ucsher
Your argument is similar to the bigots in US.Who declare all Muslims terrorist based on the acts of a few Muslims.
"The biggest secular party in Pakistan first came in power because of overwhelming support from Punjab"
It wasn't a question of supporting secular party but resentment of Ayub Khan in those days that helped PPP come to power. When has PPP been secular in reality? I don’t need to mention all the appeasement that Bhutto did of molvis. His successors followed suit.
The point is Punjabis support any leader irrespective of religion,secularism or ethnicity.They look for any ray of hope like other Pakistanis.
A Common Punjabi is as sincere and loyal to Pakistan as any other Pakistani. Unfortunately the way Punjabi Speaking Politicians have overcastted the Pakistani political canvas and didn't produce any positive results have frustrated every Pakistani.
These Politicians have no remorse for their actions and are not even sincere to Punjabis, let alone any Pakistani. The Water and other resources distribution pact/agreement is a prime example. On the other hand, other ethnicities like Sindhis and Urdu speakers have failed to serve in armed force and have blamed Punjabi mafia for that. I totally detest this. How can you don’t want to fight on the border but want to reap all the fruits of the season. It’s just an utter BS that Punjabi per sae has caused damage to Pakistan. It’s our combined responsibilities and just like a Punjabi Politician, Muhajir, Sindhi, Pashtun or Baluchi Politicians are not loyal, sincere to their respective ethnic groups or to Pakistan as an entity. Shame on all of these Vultures who have used and abused this race card over the years.
Sums it up perfectly.Thank you!
Almost all of the invaders from Alexander to Babar crossing through the Khyber Pass smoothly, were welcomed and tolerated by Punjab, due to liberal and realistic attitude of Punjabis.
Punjab, might be, due to its climatic and geographical situation and big on population, is a fertile land in many respects.
In addition to Poets, philosophers, sportsmen, Literary figures, Artists, two religions, Sikh and Qadyyani, also emerged and flourished in Punjab.
Religious Organizations, such as JI, Tablighi Jammat, also depend on Punjab to achieve popularity.
Other federating units of Pakistan also carry their significance on other specialties as each flower in Bouquets has its own fragrance.
Anti Punjabism is the topic.JI and Tablighi Jammat are not confined to Punjab.Other federating units are not being discussed, but anti Punjabism if it is coming from them, certainly is part of the discussion.
I partially agree with ucsher on Punjab from historical perspective.
Historically Punjab has produced fighters, but they lack ambitious attitude and submit to the rising power.
Comparatively, Pushtoon, Baloch, Sindhi are ambitious 'nations' with history and will to dominate.
@zia m
The logic you have expressed is hard to be defied. Very much appreciated.
@Khan_Sahib
Shall I say that we do miss your wise presence. When ever you bless us with your presence, just once in a blue moon, like a cool breeze while on its way, changes the whole climate!
@ucsher
Wasn't PPP founded in Lahore at Dr. Mubbashir Hassan's residence? Now you might argue that he was a 'sindhi' to which I'd say Punjabis rose above ethnicity differnce to fully support Bhutto whereas Sindhis vote for him cuz of his RACE and that race card is used to this day (ref:Zardari's speech).
Khan_Sahib,
You have put it very nicely. Ordinary punjabi is exploited the same way as all other Pakistanis.
Just try to understand Punjab is not the cause of all the problems we (all Pakis) have! But when educated people write things like this pointing to Punjab only, then it has to be accepted that the politicians with their heinous agenda have succeeded in blinding even the educated class!!
Just to test give me name of a good leader/ Ruler /Politician in last 1000 years or even before that from Punjab with a good personal charector. Example from others Jennah, Sardar Abdul Rab Nashter and many
The most prominent leader of the All India Muslim league.
The Thinker of Pakistan.
Sir Allama Muhammad Iqbal.
Who inspired the creation of Pakistan.
"Sir Allama Muhammad Iqbal."
A lot can be said about Iqbal including that he seemed to oppose "Frangis" on one hand in front of ordinary Muslims where it suited him but still accepting knighthood from frangis. His poem on praise of British Queen is on record. Kind of double standard that is a hallmark of Punjabi mindset that is under discussion. I think you'll see in Iqbal a typical Punjabi politician, knowing full well how to exploit the religious sentiments of ordinary poeple, at the same time keeping the establishment happy. Thus getting the gains from both sides.
Can you name some other Punjabis of good personal character in the last 60 years? Remember there are 90 million or so Punjabis. Can't be too difficult to name a few hundred.
"Who inspired the creation of Pakistan. "
That’s' another point that is debatable. A lot of people had ideas like Ch Rehmat Ali who coined the word ‘Pakistan’, plus a few more people.
What if Punjabis are themselves anti Punjabi:
The most aggressive anti-Punjabi-ists come from the educated and semi-educated classes. As soon as they acquire the most minimal academic advancement, the first thing they do is jettison their natural language. I have never seen or heard of an educated, or even semi-educated, Punjabi parent who is willing to communicate with his or her own child in their native tongue. Rather, they strongly discourage and often rebuke their children if they even suspect that they might be talking to other children in Punjabi, because speaking Punjabi is considered a mark of crudeness and bad manners.
A young child speaking Punjabi is at best an amusing curiosity for adult Punjabis. In a posh social or academic gathering anyone speaking that language is either trying to be funny or himself soon becomes the butt of jokes. A poet who writes in Punjabi finds an audience predisposed only to ribald entertainment.
Pakistani Punjabis' negative attitude towards their language can be demonstrated by the fact that there is not a single newspaper or magazine published in Punjabi for the 60 million-plus Punjabi speakers. Historically, every Punjabi journalistic venture has died soon after its launching. The latest venture was a daily newspaper, Sajjan ("Friend"), edited and published by Hussain Naqi, an Urdu-speaking Indian emigrant. It only lasted a few months. Yet, all the regional and provincial languages like Sindhi and Pushto have a proud history of publication. Sindhi, a minor language compared with Punjabi, can boast scores of daily newspapers and periodicals. Yet, while Pakistani Punjabis can certainly speak their language, they can neither read nor write it. I estimate that not more than two percent of Punjabis can read or write Punjabi. Add to this the fact that, after Urdu speakers, Punjabis on average are the most literate group in Pakistan and you see what irony there is.
http://www.gowanusbooks.com/punjabi.htm
Note: Gurmukhi or Gurumukhi is written from right to left and is similar to sanskrit in script except that it contains 35 alphabets.
The same when written using Nastaleeq script is called Shahmukhi. Heer Waris Shah is written using Shahmukhi.
@ semirza
Awesome post man! very eloquently put.
At last some sanity on the thread. Although it is off topic, but since this thread has provided opportunity to some opportunists to spew hate against Punjab, your post is a silver lining in the thread.
Really! it is sad to see People of Pakistan, hating their language and their culture. Punjabi's want to speak Urdu, Urdu speakers want to speak English, and those who can speak English want to eat/sleep/talk/act and do everything like the west.
It is really sad to see hate mongers, blaming everything on Punjab. What have the chief ministers or the politicians of other provinces done for their people? You've a Sindhi president now, with his party in majority in Sindh, and yet Sindh tops the chart of corruption, while the people cry. Then you've ANP, champion of Pashtun rights, what has it done for it's people till now, instead of whining that the name of the province be changed? Regarding Baluchistan, I accept that a lot of wrong has been done to it, and everyone have played their part to make Baluchistan, what it is now.
And how sad, that hypocrites now a days have a gall to label Allama Iqbal a hypocrite. Only if they had read' about him in detail, and only if they knew that knowledge and opinions do not remain stagnant. Allama Iqbal praised mirza qadiani, but when he was told about the reality, he became one of the strongest voices against mirzait.
@zia m
perhaps you did not read mty test
I asked for a good personal charecter too.
Some more on anti Punjabis:
Most Punjabis trace their ancestry to pre-Islamic Jat and Rajput castes. However, as they intermarried with other ethnic groups who came to the area, certain qaums (clan or tribal groups) came to predominate, especially Gujjars, Awans, Arains, Khokkars and Abbasis in northern Punjab, and Gilanis, Gardezis, Qureshis, in the south. Other Punjabis trace their heritage to Arabia, Persia, Balochistan, Afghanistan, and Kashmir. Thus, in contrast with many other areas, where people often remained isolated, Punjabis had very diverse origins. The extent of this diversity facilitated their coalescence into a coherent ethnic community that has historically placed great emphasis both on farming and on fighting.
In censuses taken in British India, Punjabis were typically divided into "functional castes" or "agricultural tribes." The word caste, however, is grounded in the Hindu notions of reincarnation and karma; Muslims totally reject these religious connotations and use the term qaum instead. Tribal affiliation, based on descent and occupational specialization, tends to merge in Punjab into a qaum identity. An occupational group typically claims descent from a single ancestor, and many tribes traditionally followed a single occupation. The traditional occupation gives the group its name as well as its general position in the social hierarchy.
An important aspect of Punjabi ethnicity is reciprocity at the village level. A man's brother is his friend, his friend is his brother, and both enjoy equal access to his resources. Traditionally, a person has virtually free access to a kinsman's resources without foreseeable payback. This situation results in social networks founded on local (kinship-based) group needs as opposed to individual wants. These networks in turn perpetuate not only friendly relations but also the structure of the community itself. There is great social pressure on an individual to share and pool such resources as income, political influence, and personal connections. Kinship obligations continue to be central to a Punjabi's identity and concerns. Distinctions based on qaum remain significant social markers, particularly in rural areas.
Punjabis predominate in the upper echelons of the military and civil service and in large part run the central government. This situation is resented by many Pakhtuns, Baloch, and, particularly by Sindhis, whose numbers and wealth are comparatively small and who are proportionately underrepresented in public positions. Particularly galling to Sindhis is the fact that the muhajirs, who live mainly in their province, are the only overrepresented group in public positions, which is generally traceable to better education in India prior to migrating in 1947. In the early 1980s, tensions mounted between Punjabis and Sindhis because the latter group was feeling alienated from the state. The capital had been moved from Karachi (in Sindh) to Islamabad (in northern Punjab) and Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (from Sindh) was not only ousted but hanged. Of the three most prominent national politicians in the 1980s and early 1990s, two were Punjabis: President Zia ul-Haq and Prime Minister Mian Nawaz Sharif. Only Benazir Bhutto, Pakistan People's Party leader and prime minister was a Sindhi. General/President Musharraf, a Mohajir was also a Punjabi.
http://countrystudies.us/pakistan/32.htm
@yahya
I bet that what you wrote about Iqbal in your post are the kind of things every sane person finds a bit odd about Iqbal! (though not every one has the audacity to raise such questions since the way he has been portrayed in our society is similar to some "prophet" and sometime some people even try to hype-up his importance more than Jinnah)
Lastly, I think Iqbal's grandson "Yousuf Salli" is leading that exemplary "Hypocritical Punjabi Life" that I talked about in my first post!...I mean he drinks, he sleeps with a new girl evry day , he does every thing that is contrary to Islam yet when it comes to talk about ideology of Pakistan he has the audacity to become the Thaikaydaar of "Religion" as if No one knows how islamic he himself is!
@semriza
General/President Musharraf, a Mohajir was also a Punjabi.
I'd say Punjabis rose above ethnicity differnce
You just talked about Bhutto, well I would like to remind you as to how the same pujabis embraced Musharraf in the beginning and how now he is next to the devil in the same province (so much so that his own boot lickers like chaudhries and co have turned against him)
As for the ground realities, so I wonder how can you say that about a ethnic group which perhaps is most obsessed about their sub-casts let alone their race in the whole of pakistan !!!
Didn't you get sick and tired of hearing those annoying words like ..mian sahab, sheikh sahab, jat sahab, maggo sahab, rana sahab, chohan sahab, rai sahab etc etc..used unnecessarily in place of one's name?
I mean you can even witness it on television as to how most of the punjabi politicians prefer to call a person with his cast rather than his name !(meer shab for hamid meer, shah sahab for talat hussain, chaudhry for chaudhry, abbasi sahab for kashif and the list goes on and on and on!
and I think in the case of Hamid meer, the mqm guys and Imran khan are perhaps the only ones who reminds meer sahab that his parents named him Hamid as well ;)
Gen Musharraf's family migrated from Delhi. After getting inducted in to PMA he adopted punjabi accent, but he is not a punjabi though he tries to act like them.
Watch him talk and onserve his body language, he shakes his head and hands like an eunich :)
@jjkhan
Watch him talk and onserve his body language, he shakes his head and hands like an eunich :)
ucsher wrote:
haha..Another childish stereo-type of racist punjabi society i.e Only Pujabis are real men and all others (especially those who came from india) are transvestites or trans-sexuals)
What? My comment was specifically about one person -Mushy.
ucsher wrote:
1-One of the most famous trans-sexual of pakistan,Ali Saleem a.k.a Begum Nawazish Ali is a punjabi as well ;)
Who cares?
ucsher wrote:
2-punjab has the biggest number of transvestites and trans-sexuals in the whole of pakistan..
Irrelevent comment.