Are We Protesting Against Shariat Law of Blood Money

(60 posts)
  1. The Raymond drama is over and has left behind many questions about our sovereignty, begharti and now street protest by some political opportunists is unjustified and uncalled for. This matter has been resolved using a Shriat Law of paying blood money to victim’s families. Raymond is now a free man. All concerned Governments US, Pakistan and Punjab are taking sigh of relief.

What I am wondering is what this protest is all about? Some hypocrites on this forum demand Shariat in this country and when now this matter has been resolved peacefully using a Shriat law they are jumping up and down. This is height of hypocrisy.

This protest call is illegal and unjustified and must be called off by these leaders of different parties.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 10:08 #
  2. toamin

یار آپ کو مسلہ سمجھنے میں اتنی دقت کیوں پیش آ رہی ہے؟

لوگ اس بات پر نہیں احتجاج کر رہے کہ مقتولین نے خون بہا لے کر معاف کیوں کیا، بلکہ کیانی، گیلانی، پاشا، شریف اور تمام ٹولے کی حرکتوں پر غصے میں ہیں

نا جانے کب ہمارے امریکی غلاموں کو سمجھ آئی گی نا

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 10:10 #
  3. @Salam Sahib..

No need to talk to people who are trying to divert the attention of people on this issue. Actually these people are more dangerous then our corrupt leaders as they try to "justify" them on every level with no actual arguments but diversion....

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 10:17 #
  4. msohail83

The Davis affair was particularly thorny for the relationship between the two spy services, since Mr. Davis’s covert group in Lahore had been assigned to gather intelligence about the militant group Lashkar-e-Taiba, which for years has been nurtured by the ISI to carry out attacks inside India.

LINK

He committed a crime against the state, dude! The bereaved families have every right to forgive him for the murder, but the state doesn't! Ohh our spineless state didn't even move the court against him for espionage charges... Bummer!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 10:46 #
  5. @msohail83
    This bit is even more telling:

But a Pakistani official disagreed, saying that the C.I.A. had agreed to scale back the number of Pakistan operations it conducted without the ISI’s consent. “Our demand also included to treat us as allies, with trust and respect and not operate behind our backs,” the official said.

In other words:
    1. ISI has consented to letting C.I.A. continue operations inside Pakistan without letting ISI know anything about them.
    2. In light of the above, the bayghairat ISI still expects us to believe they asked ("demand"? Ha! They haven't the b@lls) "to treat us as allies, with trust and respect and not operate behind our backs" (the very opposite of what they agreed to)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 10:54 #
  6. Anonymous

It wasnt about faheem and faizan only. Just that their bit was more highlighted and hyped. Lucky or unlucky, Obaids family missed out on the hype and the subsequent dollars.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:04 #
  7. msohail83

We should officially call our military a 'mercenary force,' available to the highest bidder. They eat up so much resources and give back nothing in return. What a shame!

Wonder why Bahrain didn't ring up GHQ?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:08 #
  8. No one is answering why are we protesting /today/tomorrow?

Is it about Shariat law? or about something else?

Who is scoring political points on this issue?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:19 #
  9. @bitterlies
    We are protesting MoFus like you -- thought that was clear and the question thus redundant. ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:26 #
  10. yar hamari quom begharat hey and Kiani Gillani, Pasha and Sharif are just pawns in this game. We have already sold our sovereignty to Americans long time ago, I wonder why everyone was ignoring US/CIA activities during Afghan fasad and this begharat traitor Hameed Gul was recipient of a piece of Berlin Wall from an American General. US Dollars were flowing in large number during Afghan fasad of the 80’s and now US have stopped their flow of dollars.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:26 #
  11. Yasser6

I think I will answer your question. The protest is against an incopetent and corrupt government which has very conveniently accepted/applied sharia in this particular case. Why not apply sharia for the corrupt people including Zardari, Gilani, Nawaz Sharif who have stolen nation's wealth. And what the punishment for theft in Sharia??

your threead title is chosen either very naively or as a mischief.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:28 #
  12. @lota

Welcome back! I thought you were attending protest of Jamat Islami today.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:28 #
  13. toamin

people are protesting because zardari, gilani, shareef, pasha, kiani all collaborated in release of devis

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 11:34 #
  14. oneUp

RD was spying in our country he was our criminal . People are protesting against the sell outs kiyani pasha zardari gilani nawaz who have ditched the whole country for their masters.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:00 #
  15. All our rulers current or past have been slave to US. No one can become a leader without US and GHQ approval. Do we have a leader who could say No to USA or GHQ?

@oneUp

Govt of Pakistan have pardoned his spying activities so as victim's families after accepring blood money. He is now free to go home.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:28 #
  16. student123

He was not only responsible for killing two guys but He was guilty of spying in Pakistan. He had illegal weapon and sensitive places's photos. He might have involved in target killing and bomb blasts... who knows?
    You people are using Islam to release him?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:32 #
  17. shirazi

@ST

There are no protests, nota may have just burnt couple of tires with IJT & ISF activists :)

Dr. Alvi suggested Imran Khan that Raymond Davis issue can provide them much needed impetus. But they forget SMQ received same advice.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:35 #
  18. d0ct0r

For killing 2 men he paid Rs 200 million to famlies,he was off the hook in that case.

For carrying illegal weapons he paid Rs 20000 as fine,again he was off the hook in that case too.

For spying, govt of Pakistan never filed an espionage case against him!

THATS WHAT EVERYONE WILL BE PROTESTING ABOUT!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:36 #
  19. Enjoy the fruits of letting Davis go...
    US missiles kill over 30 "militants" in NW Pakistan

No need for any compensation to the families...

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 12:48 #
  20. oneUp

@Sweettruth
    "Govt of Pakistan have pardoned his spying activities ..."

that's why the protests.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 13:19 #
  21. shirazi

So the actual protest is against Gen. Pasha. Why he did not pursue spying charges against RD. I expect his effigies 'd be burnt in JI/PTI protests.

Why JI and PTI lawyers didn't file any petitions on those when RD was in Pakistan?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 13:25 #
  22. @Shirazi

These so-called protests are nothing but topi drama of failed politicians especially Imran Khan and JI. They are scoring cheap political points. Your question is valid; why JI/PTI did not file petitions for his spying activities? No one knows who they are protesting against? Shariat Law was used to settle this matter. Everyone is happy except few failed politicians I mentioned names above.

Some part time politicians like Imran Khan have no direction and no vision of politics; all they want is to protest and remain as a pressure group to stay in the News.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:08 #
  23. Abdul Rahman

Shariah cannot be applied in one domain and secular laws in another. In order for Shariah to be implemented 100% it has to be total and not piece meal approach or pick and choose. Who are they trying to fool?

It is imperative by Shariah Law to go to the rescue of brtheren under ocupation next door. That is paramount importance than the trivial issue of blood money. But who cares? This is just like Saudis that make mockery of Shariah law.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:18 #
  24. wantinsaf

The Govt makes the mistake and the opposition takes the advantage.This is the basic principle of Politics.But it requires education,mind and rationality to understand this.

Govt has made a serious mistake,why were Americans allowed to make a deal on such a serious crime?Families too need to be blaimed for this.They too are like PPP,PML,ANP and MQM.

Pitty on American slaves......Pakistan is changing and the nation has got woke up now.American slaves would meet the fate of Shah of Iran.One day we would listen Altaf Hussain's faimly was not allowed to be burry him in Pakistan.And that day is not far away.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:22 #
  25. People use Shariat laws for their own benefits; Americans know that too that we have such a law which can be used to avoid jail or execution. Our leaders/Establishment are begharat and slaves of USA, they have already sold us. We got independence in 1947 from Britishers and soon joined slavery of USA which is still going on. We do not have real leadership in our country.

Now victim's families have also forgiven blood of their loved ones by accepting blood money.

Street protests are now underway and in my view they are incalled for and should be called off.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:26 #
  26. toamin

@We got independence in 1947 from Britishers..

that is the best joke i've read today :)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:31 #
  27. wantinsaf

In politics protests are the only way to get your voice registered and let the people know what the party and leader thinks of the issue.
    Protests give the leaders opportunity to get the party motivated and see how public has reacted to the issue.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:35 #
  28. @wantinsaf

I think this is last opportunity for Imran to gather public support. Imran lacks public support and voters do not believe him. How Imran will motivate 170 million people?
    Is Imran protesting against Shariat Law?
    Do not tell Mumtaz Qadri about this; he won't be happy over this protest.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:42 #
  29. oneUp

Parties like pml-n ppp and mqm stand badly exposed. their workers are also supporting their sell-out leaders instead of taking a stand for Pakistan. if they were loyal to their country atleast they would have registered their protest but they're all hiding behind their sell-out leaders.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:43 #
  30. wantinsaf

@sweettruth

This is just another oppurtunity for Imran Khan.So not the last one.
    It takes decades for awakening 170 millions,so I hope he gets that done in coming few years

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:47 #
  31. Shariat Law is part of our legal system and cannot be challenged; those who are protesting tomorrow are protesting against a Shariat Law.

Cheap political point scoring at its best!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:49 #
  32. shirazi

Article 295-C ought to be applied on all those who are protesting against Sharia Law :)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:50 #
  33. shirazi

How did Hameed Gul and family's protest go? Any updates? links? Did anyone show up beside General Sahib and Abdullah Gul?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:57 #
  34. @shirazi

Ansar Abbasi and Hamid Mir must have joined protest of traitor Hameed Gul.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 14:59 #
  35. Mumtaz Qadri should be released for few days; no one knows better than him on how to stop violators of Shariat Law.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:01 #
  36. Dusky

@wantinsaf: "One day we would listen Altaf Hussain's faimly was not allowed to be burry him in Pakistan.And that day is not far away."

Why Altah Hussain only? Is hamam ma to sab hi nangay hain.
    Or you think he is the the only culprit, where as Nawaz, Zardari, Fazulrahman, Isfandar, Chaudhries, Imran are angels??
    Our biggest issue is this bigotry where we judge different people with different set of rules.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:05 #
  37. Hussain Farooqui

Hillary and Obama have denied the payment of diyat, so we can't be sure whether any payment was made by the US govt. or not. It can be suspected that the payment was made by the Pakistan Govt. from the Pakistani public money. There is also a possibility that Raymond was released just free of cost. The people of Pakistan are being fooled probably.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:20 #
  38. toamin

Just a couple of millions of dollar, no big deal for kiani or pasha-

They can arrange bigger sum if required, after all they are getting extensions for 'solid' reasons :)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:29 #
  39. Hussain Farooqui

Salam

The Americans found it against their honour to pay any money for the release of Raymond Davis. There is a probability that the payments were made from the Pakistan public money.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:39 #
  40. oneUp

@hillary and obama would deny it to save their face. they've been lying about diplomatic immunity.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:41 #
  41. Dusky

As a policy USA does not pay ransom money for any of it's citizen, and they don't see "deeat" any different. So even if they paid, they will never accept this as this can set a precedence for any future captives.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:57 #
  42. thelosthistory

yes
    we are protesting against shariat law for blood money.
    actually
    people think their families were pressurize
    that is why they take money
    this could be a reason.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 15:57 #
  43. @thelosthistory

You could be history if you told to Mumtaz Qadri or someone like him that you are protesting against Shariat Law.

Stay quiet!!!!!!!!SSsssssssssssssssssssss!!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:03 #
  44. Hussain Farooqui

Dusky

The US govt. has proper audit system, so if there is anything against their policy, then they may not be able to do. Thus the probability lies that the deeat was paid from the Pakistani public money. RD was freed without any payment of compensation.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:05 #
  45. kulla

@ all.. does it matter who paid?

The CIA can find ways to pay as they have secret accounts and funding such initiatives isnt a problem...

secondly we forget that the US PAYS PAKISTAN HUGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY IN LOANS/AID

It could just flow through that channel unnoticed. At the end, it doesnt matter now.

RD matter is over, he is in the US and is not coming back. The families have been or will be paid. The deals have been exposed so either we can learn from this or continue just debating for a lost cause.

There are many more issues that face us and we need to focus on them.

to answer the question. We should atleast stop debating the deal from an integrity/legal perspective. We cant be two faced.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:11 #
  46. Where are the Shariat lovers tonight?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:13 #
  47. toamin

but why do you hate shariat?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:15 #
  48. Hussain Farooqui

kulla

You are right that we need to focus on the more important issues. RD case was just like a pinch. Let us see what slaps and kicks we are getting from the USA.

49. kulla

@st i think the deal is legal and should be accepted by us from a shariah perspective.

50. @kulla

You are right

Looks like someone is gonna start a new thread about how the blood money was paid.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 16:16 #