Asif & Salman Butt Culpable For Spot Fixing

(64 posts)
  1. Excellent decision made by British court and they pronounced that ASIF,SALAM BUTT culpable of spot fixing as Pakistani I will humble request to the British court that pls give them life sentences and life time banned for the cricket not specifically play but all categories for the cricket .Asif try to spoof British court that I am innocent pauper & all the happen done by Salman butt by his own wish but I think he forget that they show their innocence in front of British court not a BANANA'S courts like Pakistan had and suffixes I again congratulate to British courts for his decision.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:11 #
  2. sultanalikhan

This was expected as guilt was written all over their faces and money back trailed to their door steps.....

I hope they will stop spinning those "CONSPIRACY THEORIES" now and take whatever the sentences handed down to them on Thursday-Friday with some samblance of diginity....

Pakistan have given them name, fame, money, fan club following and look what they did in return??? I wish three of them (including that other so-called teenager) rot in jail for stigmatizing Pakistan and lying to their fans day in day out.....

They got what they deserved, I feel no sympathy for them at all!!!!

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:28 #
  3. خس کم جہاں پاک

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:34 #
  4. scandinavian

Good that this case can be closed. Asif and Salman should NEVER be back in the team again. It looks like the mastermind is Salman, but Asif has so many cases against him that he should also be kept out.

And, yes. They should accept the verdict and take the punishment as men!

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:36 #
  5. scandinavian

Butt found guilty on both charges
    Richard Sydenham at Southwark Crown Court
    November 1, 2011

Salman Butt: guilty

A jury found former Pakistan captain Salman Butt guilty of both charges in the spot-fixing trial, while fast bowler Mohammad Asif was found guilty on one charge, after they took 16 hours and 56 minutes to debate the verdicts.

The judge, Justice Cooke, then retired the jury to deliberate further on the second count against Asif. Both players will remain on bail until sentencing on Thursday and Friday.

Butt and Asif were unanimously found guilty on the charge of 'conspiracy to cheat' and Butt was guilty by a 10-2 majority on the charge of 'conspiracy to obtain and accept corrupt payments' following the Lord's Test in August last year when they allegedly conspired with agent Mazhar Majeed, teenage fast bowler Mohammad Amir and other people unknown to bowl pre-determined no-balls.

Butt, wearing a velvet jacket and shirt without a tie, showed no emotion as the verdicts were read out. He just stared at the jury stony-faced. Asif, wearing a grey winter coat in the dock, was equally unmoved as neither player said a word or made any obvious facial expression.

The jury were unable to reach a verdict on the "accepting corrupt payments' charge in relation to Asif, and Justice Cooke immediately retired them to deliberate some more in case they could reach a verdict on that fourth charge.

Butt and Asif denied the charges. The maximum prison sentence for the acceptance of corrupt payments is seven years in jail, while 'conspiracy to cheat' carries a maximum two-year sentence. Butt's wife is due to have a caesarean section on Tuesday, as they expect a second son.

Link: http://www.espncricinfo.com/pakistan/content/current/story/538829.html

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:38 #
  6. bsobaid

laanti kirdaar.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 12:40 #
  7. runaway

This is called justice.

Case done in 18 days.

If it were Pakistani Courts, it would have gone on on for years with no end.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:01 #
  8. @ runaway
    This is called justice.

We need this type of justice system, speed and transperant.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:03 #
  9. expakistani

Good work.... now once they are free from luxurious jail in England... I wish our Ch Iftekhar will send them to jail in Sakkhar or daddu

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:04 #
  10. Sakhar or Dadu jail? How do you know they are worst of all?

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:07 #
  11. bsobaid

waisay Justice Qayyum also handed a comprehensive report about laanti kirdaars of Pakistani Cricket in a reasonable time.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:09 #
  12. siddiqi73

Not a jail in Sukkur or Dadu but they should be dropped amongst the perpetrators who committed that heinous crime in Sialkot.

On an encouraging note, its a blessing in disguise they this sorry episode has wiped off the scum of corruption which has infected our cricket. Asif, Aamer, Butt will be sent into a slammer and the ugly Akmal Brothers will be sidelined for good..that's almost half a team of match fixers right there who have been nipped in the bud....I feel sorry for Wahab Riaz as he is a beast of cricketer with a lot of passion but unfortunately there is smoke around him as well.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:10 #
  13. Mazhar Majeed said Australians are biggest match fixers. so what about them??

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:15 #
  14. siddiqi73

@Pakistani47,

Brother, we cannot condone such acts of corruption just cause Aussies are also involved in it. Its the responsibility of their board to sanction such acts, just like our boards of the past should have acted decisively when it mattered the most.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:30 #
  15. bsobaid

Aussies and Indians are involved, no doubt about that but these boys were trapped pretty badly.

I wish PCB or some other local agency set a trap for Indian Cricketers. ICC cant put their hands on Indians.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:52 #
  16. I am not supporting them Obaid sahib but I am saying why selective justice.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:54 #
  17. scandinavian

@S73

Long time no agreement, but on your last post I fully agree. Let's not focus on other countries. Let's focus on Pakistan and bring our own house in order and let's make our own standards!

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 13:56 #
  18. expakistani

@pakistani47
    Bhai choor woh hey jo pakra jaey with enough proves... ager esa na hota to Zardari aap ka president hota?

i dont know if there is jail in sakhar or dadu... but those two plus waseem akram, saleem maliks and other need to go to jail for corruption

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 14:28 #
  19. bsobaid

both pakistani and XP have points...

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 14:44 #
  20. runaway

If W Akram, S Malik, I Butt had been sent to jail, corruption in Pakistan Cricket would have stopped.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 14:51 #
  21. scandinavian

As long as the head of states are corrupt then PCB will also continue to be corrupt.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 14:59 #
  22. outspokenloud

they should be put behind bars & banned for life thats minimum

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 17:18 #
  23. scandinavian

Everybody is cursing the corrupt cricketers from all party affiliations. I wonder why it is so difficult to curse the corrupt politicians too? IMO they are much worse than these part time criminals like Salman and Asif.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 17:42 #
  24. stingingnettle

A great day for cricket, I look forward to hearing tough jail sentences tomorrow.

The earnings that have come to light of Salman and Asif during the trial, now the attention of Pakistan tax authorities of Pakistan.

Sadly, I do believe what we see is a very tiny tip of the ice-berg. This has been going on for a long time and some of the people who have been submerged in this filth have not been brought to justice.

I thank God, that these three were caught in England and no chance of escape from justice. I do feel sorry for Amir who I think was badly advised from the very beginning.

At least Pakistani cricketers will now at least play the game properly in England.

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 17:47 #
  25. expakistani

@stingingnettle
    At least Pakistani cricketers will now at least play the game properly in England.

I had same feeling when they banned Saleem Malik. Zamana badal gia lekin hum nhi badley

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 20:23 #
  26. stingingnettle

expakistani

I can now give up my boycott of all of Pakistani Cricket which started on the day when the scandal broke. Yes I remember the b-----d Saleem Malick, I wish he had been implicated in England.

Watching Pakistan play is never going to be the same again because I just can't be sure if they are playing properly.

The biggest scandal is not their conviction but the fact that millions of children and youngsters are thoroughly let down by the behaviour of these criminals.

So what is going to play on your mind when Ikmal drops a catch again?

Posted 6 months ago on 01 Nov 2011 23:17 #
  27. expakistani

@stingingnettle

I had same feeling back in 83 when pakistan lost against west indies in world cup semi final but in 85 Javed Minadad's famous 6 brought me back to cricket...86-87 after Indo-pak test series i was in madly love with cricket.

was really p i s s ed off at Saleem Jaffer after 87 world cup, 92 world cup started same way but then Inzi and Waseem revived my love. In 96, was going to kill Amir Sohail and in 99 was blaming waseem and co for corruption...

Well this love story still going on... Remember T20 world cup when we kicked Soth Africans butt???

So bhai love meain up and downs atey rhatey hain....Salman and Asif were not first and not last in list.

Enjoy the game, not every dropped catch is fixed. lets hope for good, once in a while we get in to situation like 2007 world cup....Cricket gona be really boring if we are not taking chances...

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 2:22 #
  28. Minimum imprisonment is 7 years for match fixing, Pakistani players are international criminals...i told you already "chalakies" are leading us to dark age.
    our "national players" fixed matches for money .. ... . hang em high. Do you see anything in common between Hamza sharief and Salman butt's eyes?

عدالت نے دونوں کھلاڑیوں کو دھوکہ دہی اور بدعنوانی کے الزامات میں مجرم قرار دیا ہے۔ سپاٹ فکسنگ میں ملوث تینوں کھلاڑیوں کو بدھ کو سزا سنائی جائے گی اور دھوکہ دہی اور بدعنوانی کے جرم میں انہیں سات سال تک قید کی سزا ہو سکتی ہے۔
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/sport/2011/11/111101_spot_fixing_verdict_rh.shtml

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 5:26 #
  29. from Ministers to Bureaucrats, from Political leaders to Cricketers...everybody is corrupt.
    and we have to not to only face the reality.
    but
    has to change it.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 5:31 #
  30. siddiqi73

@iamsowise,

Yeah, and the same can be seen in the eyes of Naraz Khan as well; guilty at not acknowledging his own daughter and being responsible for her mother's death.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 8:55 #
  31. mangoman

^ Irony is that we don't see any such guilt in Nawaz $harif's eyes for "using" his daughter Maryam Nawaz for his personal guarantee and using her as a "bargain" in brokering the notorious Saudi deal...absolute pathetic loser.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:02 #
  32. mangoman

...and I also don't see any such guilt in her lil' brother73 eyes. ;)

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:03 #
  33. siddiqi73

Dunno about eyes but I can really feel your pain at the conduct of your sister Maryam...may you get over her transgressions and gain strength from this phsychological trauma.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:32 #
  34. siddiqi73

Lol at pathetic loser! This coming from the cheetah of the cyber world who has only managed to win ONE since 1996.....hahahahahahahaha....**** of the day chum.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:33 #
  35. mangoman

There is no escape from what happened,...your and that of your sister Maryam Nawaz wounds will heal with time...you both can also get some medical help from Ittefaq hospital or $harif medical complex...you know what I mean, ghar ki baat ghar main hi reh jaye gi, aur baadnami bi nahi ho gi. ;)

Denying is no solution to anything...accept the reality and move on with your lives...difficult but doable...just keep trying.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:46 #
  36. siddiqi73

And I'll take you along with me to Sharif Medical Complex Neurosurgery department for a major brain transplant...come to think of it, there job will be a lot easier with your procedure as they simply have to put a mass inside your upper deck and clean the cobwebs ;)

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 9:54 #
  37. mangoman

^ This is exactly what you need...a brian transplant, after seeing what happened to your sister Maryam Nawaz infront of your eyes, and considering how badly it is affected after that...that you still keep on denying Maryam Nawaz as you sister.

Wishing you a successful brain transplant operation...and most importantly...a gutter-free mind after that. ;)

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 10:17 #
  38. siddiqi73

Don't be a copy cat son, come up with something original.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 10:24 #
  39. mangoman

What have I copied my lil' toddy?

It is there for all to see that your mind is pretty much always in the gutter...

...اور کچھ پہچ بی ڈھلیں ہیں تمھارے دماغ کے

So it is you who needs a brain transplant here than anyone else...go and get it done before you return back here again.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 10:48 #
  40. siddiqi73

ارے یار گتر کو چھوڑو .......گتر کو تو تم نے اپنا مستقل آماجگاہ بنایا ہوا ہے .......میں تمھارے گھر پ مستقل قبضہ نہیں کرنا چاہتا

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 11:10 #
  41. Now these 3 corrupt players can play mini cricket inside their jail cell.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 14:10 #
  42. siddiqi73

And they can take even our legendary ex-KAPTAAN with them to play a jail cell match referee ;)

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 14:18 #
  43. bsobaid

My My...

Wish our justice system was like theirs.

All 3 of these laanti kirdaar had gone wet pants after looking at all the evidences and the breadth of investigation.

itna tou shaid cricketers ko khud nahi pata hogaa jitna scotland waloo kee investigation ne pata chala layaa..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/sport/2011/11/111102_spot_fixing_trial_amir_zs.shtml

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 18:09 #
  44. osakaboy

Bhai Why r u that low on arguments?
    Can u explain ur above comments?

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 18:20 #
  45. bsobaid

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-15556531

Investigations have found another Pakistani player involved in the fixing scandal but court did not name him.

Akmal brothers?????????

Is it possible that the insider was a planted mole who got them arrested?

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 19:47 #
  46. scandinavian

Once again we are cursing the cricketers and rightly so, but this trend of loot, plunder, lies and deception is started by our rulers including the army and corrupt to the core politicians from all ruling parties - especially PML-AtoZ and PPP. They are the BIGGEST culprits. Turn you big guns towards them since they did show this DIRTY path to the cricketers!

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 20:47 #
  47. mangoman

@ osakaboy,

Why expect something better from a lowlife, and who pretty much keeps his head in the gutter most of the time, if not all the time.

Posted 6 months ago on 02 Nov 2011 22:47 #
  48. expakistani

Cricketers, Amy waley, politicians all are Pakistani, as nation we never developed system at home, Mohala, city or at national level to discourage corruption.

Remember sharif woh hey jes ko Muka nhi mela!!!

Posted 6 months ago on 03 Nov 2011 1:18 #
  49. sochopakistani

One suggestion, should we outsource all corruption cases to Scotland Yard for investigation and london court for justice. As from Patari of CJ nothing concrete is coming out.

Posted 6 months ago on 03 Nov 2011 1:27 #
  50. sochopakistani

On a lighter note, asif should be praised for his skills, He even managed to take money out of Veena malik ....Likes of Veena manage to robbed "halal ki kamai" of others

Posted 6 months ago on 03 Nov 2011 1:33 #