Bangladeshi Govt bans Modoudi (JI) books
(73 posts)-
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 9:16 #
Bangladesh has been following with action, political event happenings in Pakistan to an extent that a pattern could be observed when comparing the two countries. This cannot be reversed without consequences.
In addition Bangladesh is a declared secular state. They are able to while Pakistan as an Islamic Republic is not in such a position right now. Similar action at this time in Pakistan is beyond the wildest dreams of secular parties like PPP, MQM and ANP who may end up losing popular support while all the gains would be for Religious parties claiming victimization.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 9:40 # -
Bangladesh was established on ethnic basis. Their ethincity helped them to become a nation. Their economy is now stronger than ours. Law and order situation is also better in their country. We established our country on the basis of Islamic ideology which is indeed a great ideology. There are no two opinions about that. The problem which really damanged us was that we never followed our ideology. Now we are more proud to be Sindhis, Baluchis, Pathans and Punjabis. This deviation from our ideology has been too damanging to us.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 9:56 # -
Salaam. Alhamdullilah this is an excellent step. Maududi was someone who was very misguided, may allah have mercy on him, he believed that the dajjaal was a fairytale and made up by Rasool Allah Sallaho Alayhi Wa Aala Alayhi Wa Sallam. he was refuted by many scholars from the sub continent.
Its a great step indeed.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 11:10 # -
@NNL
Are you sure Maududi said this about Dajjal issue?
any reference available?Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 11:21 # -
It doesn't surprise me if Maudoodi's books get banned in Bangladesh.JI fought along with Pak Army in 1971 war so it is quite natural for Bangladesh to show hatred towards JI and its founder.
I don't think his books were banned because of the contents.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 11:31 # -
@NNL: You need to produce evidence of what you 'claim'. I see no such thing from Maulana Maududi.
If anything what Maulana Maududi said would happen inside Pakistan has come true. ALL of it is happening inside Pakistan. Minus a few good things that have become as a result of our struggle.
@wantinsaf: I believe, all of that 1971 stuff about JI is propaganda. Propaganda that hasn't been answered or countered in Pakistan, yet.
Do you understand or can you visualize how bloody it will get in Bangladesh when the will of the people makes them return to being 'Islamic' again ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:24 # -
Only ignorant people believe in banning books.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:28 # -
Guys, I don't' think books have been banned only official patronage has been taken away which is only fair. Everyone should be able to forward their views on the merit of their argument instead of by establishment's support.
Also taking away official patronage from JI in a similar way will not create a reaction as JI hardly gets any votes.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:42 # -
Al Shams and Al Badar organizations tried to offer toughest possible reistance to the Indian army. However, it was out of the scope of these militant organizations to fight against a mighty army. The sacrifices of the peoples of these organiations can't be ignored.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:52 # -
@Hussain Farooqui: Actually they did commit atrocities which is hardly sacrifice. Such "sacrifices" caused Bengalis to move further away from us. Read this from Maududi's own son's account;
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:56 # -
Step in the right direction indeed. It will help Bangladesh limit religion based politics. I wish we can do the same in Pakistan. Even though JI gets 1-2% votes but has deep penetration in our media, establishment and academia. As a result of that we have become a jihadi nation. Even 90% of us who try to stay away from militancy are reluctant to condemn these barbarians as JI and other religious parties paint them as holy warriors.
It's interesting JI opposed both Pakistan and Bangladesh but now want to define ideologies of these nations.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 12:59 # -
yahaya sb.
There were a lot of Bengalis also among the volunteers of Al Shams and Al Badar. The attrocities were mostly committed by the army. As Gen. Tikka Khan said,"we want land not exactly people. If we get land,we can bring people from anywhere". Gen. Tikka Khan was responsible for mass massacres.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 13:08 # -
Hussain Farooqui, history can not change by just you saying so. I have provided one reference above, there are other references too provided by the Bangladeshis.
JI was committed all along in these atrocities but JI guys always try to pass the blame on the dictator alone. JI has supported every dictator since Yahya Khan and taken benefits in return but once the dictator is gone JI guys pretend they had nothing to do with it. Give up on this old trick, been used too often.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 13:09 # -
@yahya: What you'v put up is interview of Maulana Maududi's son. This stuff has already been rejected as illegitimate/nonsense multiple times. Yet, you still put it up over and over again.
Books have been written by both Bengalis as well as Indians, who took part in that nonsense in 1971. Both Bengalis' and Indians not only exonerate, but also salute what JI did at that time, for the people of Bangladesh.
You MQM propagandists. You never stop your campaigns of mass scale deception. You always put up unconfirmed, cut/paste stuff, quote stuff out of context, use it as a weapon against people's intellect, especially against those who are least aware, who are least interested in investigating matters before accepting your word.
Stop putting up propaganda.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:02 # -
@shirazi: O, I see it now. You want 'secularism'. You subscribe to 'secularism'.
I cannot go into details to show you how 'secularism' has destroyed the world, as well as the billions of people living in it in the last 2-4 centuries. For, I have to 'balance' my life, right now.
You can watch videos I post on the;
Thread: Programs in Western Mass Media of Interest to Muslims
to educate yourself, to make yourself aware of what I'm saying, while I'm busy.
I implore you to re-evaluate your beliefs. 'Secularism' is the belief of Zionists/Unjust Jews i.e., those who follow the Anti-Christ (Dajjal). It is a path of self annihilation for the benefit of the most unjust entity in mankind's history i.e., Anti-Christ (Dajjal).
I implore you to heed my words.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:10 # -
JI itself does the same cut/paste job every time; support dictator, get benifits, dictator gone, pretend JI was never with dictator.
Next dictator, same again.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:11 # -
@yahya: How the heck does that co-related to cut/paste stuff ?
Did it ever occur to you, did you ever think/realize, it was under dictators, that elections might have been conducted without 'influence' of 'feudal politicians' i.e., relatively fairer elections ?
When one doesn't have any points left to put up, one starts engaging in mud-slinging. In other words, you'r BS!ing again.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:13 # -
I hope you know what is secularism? It's not no religion, it's no discrimination on the basis of religion. What's wrong with that?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:19 # -
@shirazi: I understand secularism. I understand its impact on human beings.
Secularism is the path that leads one to 'be' 'loyal' to Anti-Christ (Dajjal).
Islam is the path that leads one to be loyal to ALLAH ALMIGHTY.
I can't go into details right now.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 14:21 # -
look first of all Understand that Maududi wasnt a scholar or to be very specific an Islamic Scholar, like other scholars as we see today he wasnt all that great. Bottomline he was a human who had little experience to make claims and write an entire tafsir of the Quran.
As for evidences.
Here we go.
1. He(Mawdudi) said in his book Rasaa'il wa Masaa'il (pg. 57, 1351H Edition): 'The Messenger of Allaah used to think that the Dajjaal would appear during his time or close to his time. However, 1350 years have passed on this speculation (from the Prophet), many long centuries, and still the Dajjaal has not appeared. So this proves that his (sallAllaahu 'alayhi wa sallam) speculation was not correct!!' In the 1362H edition of the book, he added to this, saying: 'However, 1350 years have passed 'and still the Dajjaal has not appeared. So this is the reality.'
2. He also said (pg. 55): 'It is confirmed that everything that has been reported in his ahaadeeth concerning the Dajjaal was just the opinion and estimation of the Prophet (sallAllaahu 'alayhi wa sallam), and that he had doubts over this issue.'
3. He also says in his book Arba'atu Mustalahaat-ul-Qur'aan al-Asaasiyah (pg. 156): 'Allaah commanded the Prophet (sallAllaahu 'alayhi wa sallam) in Surah An-Nasr to ask his Lord's forgiveness for what occurred from him from deficiencies and shortcomings with regard to fulfilling the obligations ' i.e. the obligations of prophethood.'
The above statements arent taken heretical by the Majority of the Ulema as Maududi wasnt a scholar of Islam he was more an active member of a cursed community. An Ignorant man rarely emanates intelligence.
Plus read what Maududi's son wrote regarding the relationship of his father with Al Khomeini the ****. Its an interesting read.
A lot of Scholars of Muslims and Islam dont consider Maududi a scholar of the religion. His most work was done in political aspect of how to bring in a revolt and thats about it.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:01 # -
@NNL: From where are you copy/pasting this stuff ?
The way you put references, its not readable. I'm mixing them up. Give me references in readable form. For example as they are usually put at the end of the page, like on articles on Wikipedia.
As far as I'v read Maulana Maududi, he deserves far more credit than you give him. You have proven to be a person who hasn't read any books, articles from Maulana Maududi. You have shown, that what you know is dependent on unconfirmed stuff put up by others.
Perhaps you have some grievance with him, that's why you portray hatred towards him ?
I find your attempt at under-rating him to be biased as well as hate filled rather than based on facts. Also, I find the hatred you project towards him to be equally biased, as well as irrational. Why ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:14 # -
Bangladesh made the right decision. They have also banned religious punishments by making their constitution secular. This is a bold government. It is easy to talk trash against the west and America, but standing up against the ignorant in your own country require guts. And the important thing is, a women is leading this effort, wonder why these people are so anti-women.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:21 # -
@Shock: You'r making 'idle' statements. Its worthless as usual.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:22 # -
@NNL: Engaging in plagiarism, eh ? You copy pasted this stuff from the following link;
- http://ghatok-dalal.tripod.com/moududi.html
I wish you had done your own independent research, rather than copy/paste unconfirmed nonsense from someone else. You have killed your credibility in my eyes. You have lost my trust.
Did you forget the Sunnah of Muhammad (SAW) to 'confirm' what comes before you, before accepting it, before spreading it ?
If you can't do your own independent research, then you have no right to put up someone else's 'unconfirmed' stuff in discussions. When you do that, you become agent of those who spread wrong information. You become one of them.
If I ever find you engaged in plagiarism, in spreading wrong information again, I will kill your credibility/reputation.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:33 # -
Yo Kiddo. A retarded & arrogant one at that.
You wanted evidences i have given you the titles of his books and page numbers. I havent copy pasted the site as you say i have.
You will destroy my crediblity ? lol
Have some credibility of your own before you can make such a statement.
But i think its too much to ask of a Jamati.
My bad!!!
You want a list of Ulema who have issued edicts Maududi make sure you really want to know the answer cos you may not like it.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 20:59 # -
@NNL: (1) As I see it, what you posted above is exactly what is mentioned on that link, letter by letter, word by word.
If you haven't copy/pasted, then you won't mind if I ask where you got this stuff from ?
(2) Give me names of 'Ulamaa' who hated Maulana Maududi. Attempting more plagiarism, eh ? I thought you had some 'shame' left
Stop beating about the bush. Come to the point. Give me something that he's done wrong which you have found, that you have confirmed.
Otherwise .. bug off .. with your plagiarism skills.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:06 # -
It is a great step in the right direction and will help contain rise of extremism/radicalism in Bangladesh as they know how badly we are experiencing radicalism in Pakistan. I wish this could be done in Pakistan too.
Jamat's ideology is very divisive and promotes sectarianism and since Afghan Fasad JI has become too powerful in their jihadist agenda. Munawwar Hasan never ever criticizes suicide killers and their terrorist organisations. Jamat lacks public support mainly due to their extremist policies which are hated by moderate majority of Pakistani voters.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:11 # -
@ HK: Not my cup of tea, but hack curiosity kill the cat....
How many times you follow through original source when you reference something from Wikipedia (which anyone can edit so not so credible in academic references) or when you post a web/video link from any website over web? Shouldn't you be going through the same process of verification you suggested for others?
After all, What's good for the goose is good for the gander"
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:23 # -
@SugarMint: Brother, why don't you find me something that I posted, which turned out to be incorrect, propaganda or something that is not an established fact ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:25 # -
HK: So you suggesting all the links you have posted in your "Western media" thread and other discussions on this board are all credible and you have done research about all of them, means you have cross referenced the material? And you are sure about the sources and the quotes referenced in those videos?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:30 # -
@SugarMint: Yes.
Again, prove any link that I posted, to be wrong ?
The question I want to ask you is, are you asking me these questions because what I posted is wrong information or because of your own irrational bias/attitude ?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:39 # -
@ HK: You did not prove NNL content wrong, but you yet question his credibility and accuse him of engaging in plagiarism. Can we accuse you for same for same reasons?
Why it is so difficult for you to understand the concept of equal playing field?
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:45 # -
@ HK: I am a life long learner, and the day i start using bias-ism in learning, I will limit myself to a very narrow understanding of issues. So no, I do not have any bias against you or anyone.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:48 # -
@SugarMint: I have accused him with 'credible' reason. He has clearly copy/pasted stuff that is not correct, that he did not research. I'v put up facts above to prove my point.
If you aren't satisfied, you are welcome to do your own research. Prove me wrong. If I'm wrong I will apologize. But not, otherwise.
I'v read books, articles from Maulana Maududi. What NNL posted clearly contradicts that which Maulana Maududi stood for. Even then, you can be sure, I will confirm and re-confirm what he posted above as well.
I will never support that which is wrong. I will reject that which wrong with vigor, with fervor.
I repeat: I haven't accused him without 'credible' reason. He has clearly copy/pasted stuff that is not correct, that he hans't researched. I'v put up facts above to prove my point.
Your point about 'level playing field' is utter crap/nonsense. There's 'right' and there's 'wrong'. You are projecting your irrational bias/attitude onto me in this instance. I also have good reason to make this point.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 21:50 # -
@ HK: "Your point about 'level playing field' is utter crap/nonsense. There's 'right' and there's 'wrong'. You are projecting your irrational bias/attitude onto me in this instance."
Yes, when people run out of rational arguments, this is what they come-up with.
There's 'right' and there's 'wrong'. --- In any political discussion, "right" and "wrong" are perspective/subjective based on what color glasses you wearing. To grasp the concept, you have a long way to go my friend, and with a attitude of yours, its a lonnnnggggg journey:)
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 22:08 # -
@SugarMint: *sigh*. Have you conducted an independent research, your own independent research ? Something tells me you haven't.
You can't point fingers at me, for that which you don't practice yourself. You yourself have no credibility in this instance.
Brother, don't put your hypocr|sy on display in-front of me.
I implore you to do your own independent research. When you find me to be wrong, come back to me. Untill that time, you have no credibility to even talk in this regard.
P.S. You'r pointing fingers at me because of your attitude problem. Not because you think I'm doing or saying something wrong.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Jul 2010 23:45 # -
Yahaya
Facts need to be realized in full contexts. Till the last moment, the majority of Bengalis did not want seperation from Pakistan. The attrocities committed by our army made the seperatists' position very strong. The remaining majority had to be silent spectators finding no justification for unity with Pakistan.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 4:17 # -
Can we do the same in Pakistan?
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 6:29 # -
HK: "P.S. You'r pointing fingers at me because of your attitude problem. Not because you think I'm doing or saying something wrong."
Dude, that's a very lame reply, comeup with some "rational argument", if you have one!
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 7:11 # -
@SugarMint: I'v already given you a rational argument.
Your still arguing with me because I'v dealt a blow to your ego. Because I'v defeated your ego with a rational argument.
Stop whining, before you destroy your own credibility.
..and stop this worthless word brawl you'v started up with me. Focus on the topic at hand.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 10:12 # -
@SugarMint: (1) I confirm that which I post on this forum before I post it
You, as with any other person, are free to challenge anything I'v posted, at any given time.
(2) Yes, I did prove NNL copy/pasted stuff. That he did not conduct his own independent research. I did prove his hate towards Maulana Maududi was 'irrational'
(a) He hasn't read books, articles, etc etc of Maulana Maududi
(a2) he hasn't met the man
(a3) he doesn't know how Maulana Maududi conducted himself
(a4) yet he's passing judgment(s) on him as if he knows Maududi sb. in and out(b) You can go to that link. See it for yourself. The content was copy/pasted word by word, letter by letter.
Yes, that confirms NNL cheated.
(c) You can also be sure of his cheating because Mr. NNL has not put up the source, from where he got the info he posted. If he didn't copy/paste this info, then why hasn't he posted his source of info uptill now ?
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 14:24 # -
(3) If you want to have a level playing field, then you yourself need to have some level of credibility to demand the same. Do you have it ?
Your point about 'level playing field' is crap, because you yourself haven't conducted your own independent research. Untill you have, you have no credibility in this regard. You can't point fingers at me.
From looking at how you conducted yourself on this thread, it is evident to me, you came after me not because;
(a) you conducted your own independent research and found the info NNL posted to have been correct
(b) you think I'm doing something wrongbut because you have a severe attitude problem.
You came after me, because of your jealousy towards me. Why ? Because I crashed and burned NNL for his wrong-doing.
You don't even care about 'level playing field'. Why ? How do I know this ? I can 'claim' this, because you engaged me in a word brawl, rather than confirming what I or NNL posted.
My dear brother, learn from this incident, learn to accept your mistakes, your crimes, learn to improve yourself. You can improve yourself when you find problems with yourself.
If you don't improve yourself, then you'll end up getting burned over and over again. You will never be able to get constructive output from anything, as a result.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 14:37 # -
@ HK: "Your still arguing with me because I'v dealt a blow to your ego. Because I'v defeated your ego with a rational argument.
Stop whining, before you destroy your own credibility.
..and stop this worthless word brawl you'v started up with me. Focus on the topic at hand."
OK I have tried my best in English, let me try this time in Urdu, might go through this time, who knows?? Pawasta rah shajar sa umeed-bahar rakh.. so in words of great Ghalib....
Har Ek Baat Pe Kahte Ho Tum Ki Tu Kya Hai
Tumhi Kaho Ki Yeh Andaz-E-Guftagu Kya HaiMe and ego??? dude you even don't know me and you think I have some ego issues?? Can I land your crystal ball??
And burden of proving NNL wrong is on your shoulder, since you refute his claims. For me what he posted vs what you posted stands same as both of you copy pasted either some material or web links.... so is 'level playing field'
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 20:15 # -
Sun from the East- by Ali Irtiza
The government of Bangladesh recently started cleansing Mosque-Libraries off Maulana Maududi’s books. While on one the hand this step shows the secular purpose of the government, it also raises the issue of negation of freedom of expression, and a possible counter-productivity of the step as Hegelian dialectics would suggest.
While I am an advocate of freedom of expression myself, I think one should not forget the fact that Maududi’s thought and personality were both bloated and artificially pumped up by various regimes in some Muslim countries. It was a part of the larger agenda of creating, in US President Truman’s words, ‘an Islamic bulwark against the communist threat’. Therefore, when we see libraries and publishing houses abound with Maududi’s works, the situation reflects the state’s co-option of his thought and an engineering of public opinion on desired grounds using his works – the typical Orwellian explanation of state operations, and an anathema to freedom of expression and intellectual honesty.
Now, if a state retracts on its old follies, not only does it require to ensure a proper future course of action, it also needs to undo the past damage without which moving ahead isn’t possible. Deconstruction of the old myths is as important as the construction of new avenues.
An important point most of the people miss while approaching the issue of ban on Maududi’s books in Bangladesh is that fact that the government has removed Maududi’s books only from MOSQUE Libraries. One should know that most of Maududi’s works are political in nature and serve as the foundations of the crappy lore of Political Islam. Can anyone justify the pervasive presence of Maududi’s political books in Mosque-Libraries to me in first place? How did they reach there and what was the intent behind viciously spreading them? No one should give us this crap that a library is supposed to keep all sorts of books, because the person will have to first answer the question that how many mosque-libraries keep liberal political books? There was a clear intent behind keeping such books, and the state was complicit in the crime.
Let me present a clear example: It is quite a fact (for the sane ones) that the school/college curriculum books have been co-authored in GHQ and Mansura (a joint Army-Jamaat Islami venture). Let us hope against hope (or at least assume) that one fine day, the same ruling class, or an alternate one, realizes that the idiotic school/college literature has done enough damage and the narrative needs to be changed. It then amends the narrative and draws out the poison (it is so replete with) from the books. Should the effort not be supported then? Will such an effort be a negation of freedom of expression just because it is drawing out the poison that was once instilled into those books? I, for one, will support any such more but will want more to be done. I will want an alternate narrative, deconstruction of the old narrative and the realization of the past mistakes and its popularization among the masses. A multi-pronged approach.
Maududi, anyway, was an American stooge and served his imperial masters to his best. He owes his popularity as well as his stature to his masters. And it was his US-sponsored works that served as fertilizer (read cow-dung) for the crop of extremists that was bred and raised all across the world.
At a point of time when Political Islam has already shown its colors to the world, we, as those most affected by it, need a proper alternate narrative to it. And we also need to undo our past wrongs – albeit in a proper manner. The extremist narratives need to be deconstructed to the DNA, and this probably begins by dislocating its lynch-pin, something which should have been done long ago, and more importantly, in Pakistan.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 21:32 # -
Bangladesh is following India,big time .
more than any other country .though ,i dont have any liking for Mr.Moudodi ...
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 7:45 # -
Bangladsh and Iran, both have establish deep relation with India and are openly showing aggresion(if Im not using a mush harsh word) towards Pakistan,Iran has accused Pakistan in recent bomb blast in Zahidan.
As for Maulana Moudodi, I think like any other human beaing he too has hos shot comming. But as a whole he was a scholer of great repute not only in Pakistan but in a muslim world.
But this is also a fact that different sects in Pakistan(Specially Deobandi School of thought) are not ready to give then a credit of being a true Islamic party.Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 8:52 # -
As for his Tafseer,although its written in a very simple way so that a common pakistani can red and undertsnad it, I think he should;ve avoided this since he was not an Alim or Mufti(as per defination of acdamia).And may bs e very reason most of the islamic sect dislike him.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 8:57 # -
@ajhons: I don't understand. What's wrong in writing another 'Tafseer' (in urdu) ?
Why would an 'aalim' (in urdu) not alike another 'aalim' (in urdu) on writing a 'tafseer' (in urdu) ?
Sounds like 'jealousy' or 'competition' to me.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 9:58 # -
Bangladeshi Govt is sincere with their awam and wants to keep their them away from Jamat Islami literature that is why theu have banned JI literature. We need to do the same in Pakistan to keep apni awam safe from extremist literature of JI.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 13:18 #