PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Beat this CV

(36 posts)
  1. I found this CV in my mailbox and thought is is definitely something worth sharing. Here goes

EDUCATION /Qualification:
    1950: Stood first in BA (Hons), Economics, Punjab University Chandigarh
    1952: Stood first in MA (Economics), Punjab University Chandigarh
    1954: Wright's Prize for distinguished performance at St John's College Cambridge
    1955 and 1957: Wrenbury scholar, University of Cambridge
    1957: DPhil (Oxford), DLitt (Honoris Causa); PhD thesis on India's Exports Competitiveness

OCCUPATION /Teaching Experience:
    1957-59: Reader Economics
    1959-63: Professor, Economics, Panjab University, Chandigarh,
    1963-65; Professor, International Trade, Delhi School of Economics,University of Delhi
    1969-71; Honorary professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi
    1976 and Delhi School of Economics, University of Delhi, 1996 and Civil Servant

Working Experience/ POSITIONS:
    1971-72: Economic advisor, ministry of foreign trade
    1972-76: Chief economic advisor, ministry of finance
    1976-80: Director, Reserve Bank of India; Director Industrial Development, Bank of India
    Alternate governor for India, Board of governors, Asian Development Bank
    Alternate governor for India, Board of governors, IBRD
    November 1976 - April 1980: Secretary, ministry of finance, Department of Economic Affairs
    Member, finance, Atomic Energy Commission; Member,finance, Space Commission
    April 1980 - September 15, 1982: Member-secretary, Planning Commission
    1980-83: Chairman, India Committee of the Indo-Japan joint study Committee
    September 16, 1982 - January 14, 1985: Governor, Reserve Bank of India
    1982-85: Alternate Governor for India, Board of governors, IMF
    1983-84: Member, economic advisory council to the Prime Minister
    1985: President, Indian Economic Association
    January 15, 1985 - July 31, 1987: Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
    August 1, 1987 - November 10, 1990: Secretary-general and Commissioner, South Commission, Geneva
    December 10, 1990 - March 14, 1991: Advisor to the Prime Minister on Economic Affairs
    March 15, 1991 - June 20, 1991: Chairman, UGC
    June 21, 1991 - May 15, 1996: Union finance minister
    October 1991: Elected to Rajya Sabha from Assam on Congress ticket
    June 1995: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha
    1996 onwards: Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of finance
    August 1, 1996 - December 4, 1997: Chairman, Parliamentary Standing Committe on Commerce
    March 21, 1998 onwards: Leader of the Opposition, Rajya Sabha
    June 5, 1998 onwards: Member, committee on finance
    August 13, 1998 onwards: Member, committee on rules
    Aug 1998-2001: Member, committee of privileges 2000 onwards: Member executive committee, Indian Parliamentary group
    June 2001: Re-elected to Rajya Sabha
    Aug 2001 onwards: Member, general purposes committee

PUBLICATIONS:
    India's Export Trends and Prospects for Self-Sustained Growth - Clarendon Press, Oxford University, 1964; also published a large
    Number of articles in various economic journals
    OTHER ACCOMPLISHMENTS:
    Adam Smith Prize, University of Cambridge, 1956
    Padma Vibhushan, 1987
    Euro money Award, Finance Minister of the Year, 1993;
    Asia money Award, Finance Minister of the Year for Asia, 1993 and 1994

INTERNATIONAL ASSIGNMENTS:
    1966: Economic Affairs Officer
    1966-69: Chief, financing for trade section, UNCTAD
    1972-74: Deputy for India in IMF Committee of Twenty on International Monetary Reform
    1977-79: Indian delegation to Aid-India Consortium Meetings
    1980-82: Indo-Soviet joint planning group meeting
    1982: Indo-Soviet monitoring group meeting
    1993: Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting Cyprus 1993:
    Human Rights World Conference Vienna

RECREATION:
    Gymkhana Club, New Delhi; Life Member, India International Centre New Delhi

Name: Dr Manmohan Singh
    DOB: September 26, 1932
    Place of Birth: Gah (West Punjab)
    Father: S. Gurmukh Singh
    Mother: Mrs Amrit Kaur
    Married on: September 14, 1958
    Wife: Mrs Gursharan Kaur
    Children: Three daughters

The indian Prime Minister is possibly the most qualified PM in the whole world
    Pass this to every one........ and Think to have such a PM for our
    Islamic Republic of Pakistan.... ......!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 9:16 #
  2. sasherwani

Aah.. The day we get a leader even half as educated as Manmohan, I'd be the happiest man in the world!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:44 #
  3. Adonis

"The indian Prime Minister is possibly the most qualified PM in the whole world"

I can see him qualified to be a finance minister. But how does all his experience and education qualify him to be a PM? His performance as PM has not been particularly extraordinary.

BTW, if it the qualification for a PM is so called "impressive" CV, then Shaukat Aziz also had an extremely impressive CV.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:51 #
  4. sasherwani

@ Adonis,

True but Shaukat wasnt leading the country, Musarraf was.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:55 #
  5. nizaam-ki-tabdeeli
    DupOfJaypak

@adonis...agreed..shaukat sahab kahan gaye ya unhon nay kiya kia..thts a diff story but yes he has an impressive CV.

its not that we dont have educated people as Manmohan singh is...bu the problem is that either they dont want to come into politics..or if they come somehow...they cant survive.....anyways....BA ki shart laga dee yahee kaafi hay humaray liye...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:55 #
  6. @Adonis
    It was Manmohan who opened Indian economy to outside world in 1990s. So basically he is the founding father of economic powerhouse of India. Short-cut Aziz not so much.
    @niazzm-ki-tabdeeli
    BA ki shart waapis khatam ho gayee.. bhai mian soye hooway ho kia.. jo log apna daily kam ke liyay doosron ke muhtaaj hain woh again hamaray MNAs ban jayen ge

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:00 #
  7. Adonis

Actually, indian economy started opening up when Rajiv Gandhi was PM in late 80s. Manmohan singh was not even in the government at the time.

But again, no technical experience is a pre-requisite for being a Prime Minister. It is a leadership position and a successful PM must have good leadership and management skills as well as impeccable political acumen. He does not need to have a Doctorate from MIT.

This is why successful PMs or presidents all over the world are generally politicians, not technocrats like manmohan singh.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:21 #
  8. linkwheel

We Should Hire Him and Kick All Other **** Bag's.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:23 #
  9. nizaam-ki-tabdeeli
    DupOfJaypak

@jalali...jaag raha hoon bhai...sir kehnay ka maqsad thaa k humari approach BA tak hay....humaray liye kaafi hay ki bajaye kaafi THAA likhna thaa...shart dubara aa jaye ge..dn worry.!! public ko khush bhee to karna hay na sir....bill paas karany ki niyyat honee chahiye bus...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 11:28 #
  10. Anonymous

Why cant he be a good politician or PM??? Yes, he has ridiculously impressive finance background but also look at his parliamentary record. He led parliamentary committees and has been a senior member of congress party.

@Jalali, you can credit Manmohan for opening up Indian economy but the real credit goes to Narsihma Rao, who was Indian PM at that time.

aur bhaiyyoo, khuda kay liyay, shaukat aziz jaisay jaahil aadmi ko Manmohan se compare matt karo.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:09 #
  11. zingaro

Obaid bhai .. good comments... but i think the difference between Shaukat Aziz and Manmohan is of patriotism...

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:15 #
  12. toamin

Nothing will change if IBA graduate or PMA graduate or even undergraduate sits on top chair, as long as they tow the line coming through telephone wire.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:17 #
  13. runaway

Sir we have a winner...

Manmohan may have all accomplishments in economics but can he beat this :

During Nawaz Sharif's ten year in power, his industrial empire has grown by <b>4000</b> per cent, according to the International Herald Tribune.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:19 #
  14. Anonymous

LOL @ runaway

that was hillarious!!!

Pakistan's former PM Moeen Qureshi could beat his CV as far as professional career is concerned, but he was no politician.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:24 #
  15. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

That kind of materialistic degrees are not to be sought after. Right under his nose in New Delhi there are gang rapes. Major Indian cities are controlled by mafia linked politicians. Bride burning due to lack of dowry is still rampant. Untouchable lower caste are burnt alive and treated like animals.

Our role model should never be West goras or East banyas. Our role model is Prophet SAS.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 15:55 #
  16. runaway

on a serious note, you dont need a CV like this to be effective PM.

1. Sincere to the country and the people.
    2. Intelligent enough to recognize problems and delegate those to right people.
    3. Be a strong leader
    4. Should not have dirty laundry hiding in his own closet.
    5. Is in touch with what a common man goes through everyday
    6. And he feels accountable.. We can call it Khauf-e-Khuda or conscience. He should realize he has the opportunity and responsibility not to blow this.

Geeelanis, Zardaris, Shareefs, Chaudrys, etc etc have no idea how to spend a night without electricity, what it takes to get 1 kilo aata and sugar. What's it like to travel in public transport or go to a government hospital. INhon nae kabhi zindagi mae uth k pani nahi piya ya apnay jotay khud polish nahi kiay , inko kia pata what's real life.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 16:19 #
  17. nizaam-ki-tabdeeli
    DupOfJaypak

@ghareeb..wakai??...humaray role model SAS PBUH nay to kaha thaa k aaj k baad kisi arabi ko ajami par koi fokiyat naee hay or na he kisi kaalay ko kisi goray par... humaray role model nay to us aurat ki khairiat daryaft kee thee jo k kafir thee or un par koora phainktee thee..humaray role model nay to kaha hay k "humanity is the family of Allah and the best human is one who is kind to his (allahs) family'. ..........kindly dont spoil islams image before someone reads your post and has the opportunity to point at muslim being racists.

this is our dilemma my friend...we only pick up those points from our religion which suits our needs better and drop those which we dont like. i think anyone who has achived something needs appreciation and we have to copy the good deeds no matter who is doing that and discourage the bad deeds no matter he is our brother.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 16:30 #
  18. toamin

Nizaam,

There is no racism in Ghareeb's post? I think you misunderstood the meaning of 'west' and 'east'. He is referring to the way or system of life.

Not any race.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 16:36 #
  19. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

Nizam ki Tabdeeli, Chalo aap ne sahih farmaya.

Why don't we take example of Gandhi who lived very simple life. He remained shirtless and bared his shoulders all his life and refused to wear any thing except Khadi until every Indian could afford that. Look at our politicians with suit, tie, expensive shalwar Kameez, properties, cars etc etc. Have you ever heard about Mullah Umar who refused to eat in presence of foreign dignitories that were offered good dishes. He ate stale bread with soup in presense of those foreigners. When asked he replied: I will eat when every citizen can eat that. Now who is following Prophet SAS?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 16:46 #
  20. nizaam-ki-tabdeeli
    DupOfJaypak

@ghareeb...main sirf yeh keh raha hoon k sahee ko sahee kehnay k liye TAPPAR chahiye hota hay jo k khair say humari qaum main to naee hay...hum movies daikh lain gay gaanay sun lain gay or ARY k end main movie release bhee daikh lain gay....par manmohan singh ki taref naee kar saktay kyun k woh indian hay....khatam baat...or shuro ho jain gay k humaray paas bhe leaders hain or bla bla...

jahan tak baat hay k "Our role model should never be West goras or East banyas. Our role model is Prophet SAS"..shayd ap ki approach kuch or ho...per lagta naee hay...agar ap k role model Holy prophe PBUH hain to east gora ya west banya k baat ap ko zaib naee daytee..still sorry if i misinterpreted you but the statement sounds racist....gandhee jee ki example achee hay..main nay kab mana kia...or main mulla umer k baaray main ziyada naee jaanta..specially jub yeh sub kuch hua...per aap keh rahay ho to sahee keh rahay hogay...main to is kaam ki bhee tareef karoon ga..chahe woh Mulla sahab he kyun na hon..kaam to acha kia na..to he deserves appreciation..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 17:10 #
  21. You Don't need an impressive CV to lead your country into new era of Progression. You just need an "Honest" "Brave" (not an agent or a poodle of some agency or foreign country) and "Loyal" (To Pakistan and not himself or his bank accounts) Person.

Though, I am in favour of educated people in our Parliment. I think, we should abolish the Senate (Pakistani version of house of Lords) and just have a Central and Provincial Govt.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:09 #
  22. Anonymous

No Sir, honesty, bravery and loyalty carry no meanings if the person is not intelligent and clever. Sirf Ghairat-o-hummiat se kaam nahi chaltaa balkay aisee ghairat-o-hummiat baywaqoofi hoti hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:14 #
  23. You need a brave person... A Leader with "B A L L S" who is not scared to say "NO" to Americans or Agencies when it’s wrong and against Pakistan.

Shair kee aik din kee zindagee...
    Geedar kee soe saal kee zindagee say behtar hay!

I know that these days, people think the opposite but unfortunately; I am from the old breed of Men who would rather die then be slave.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:25 #
  24. Anonymous

Lala sher Khan!!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:39 #
  25. @ghareeb
    I am not looking for an ideal in this particular instance. Just a comparison for the sake of discussion and thinking. Short-cut Aziz had an impressive CV too however during his time billions have no audit trail. Try to be sensible.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 21:45 #
  26. yahya

@Jalali: What is more, Manmohan Singh is a minority and if he were in Pakistan then, unlike India, he would not have been allowed as PM. Quaid-e-Azam did offer Sikhs to join Pakistan. Lucky for them they did not accept.

Shaukat Aziz stayed for most part in blood sucking city bank. Not much of a record in my opinion.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 23:15 #
  27. Ok.
    Good discussion, ie some good points raised. But if I may say:

We desperately need sincere, brave and self-proud (ie, those that have no inner-complexes regarding their Pakistaniyat) along with mentally intelligent MNAs/leaders/syaasi karkun... political workers.

Simply put, brain as well as the (characteristically) braun.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 23:22 #
  28. expakistani

@Oriel
    very well said... Shukat Aziz and Moin Qureshi was very well educated but missing sincerity... we need defiantly need sincere and educated person on top of leadership with vision and willingness to change thing...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 3:16 #
  29. toamin

Those world bank employees were chosen to run affairs of the state to ensure that IMF/WB policies are implemented SINCERELY.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 5:08 #
  30. indian PM CV
    Pakistani President BV

both are enough to get them there, where they two are .

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 9:21 #
  31. nizaam-ki-tabdeeli
    DupOfJaypak

@expak..i think moeen qureshi was far better then shortcut aziz...in terms of everything..may be shortcut aziz was more educated but moeen qureshi was a down to earth person as far as i know....not a runaway...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 9:35 #
  32. toamin

moeen qureshi the interim prime minister caught in the controversy when it was known that he was a foreign citizen -not even Pakistani.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 11:10 #
  33. jaypk

sir ...are you telling me that our shaandar parliament comprises of people who are only pakistani nationals and no one is dual national?....may be he wasnt a pk national since you are saying its a controversy which i doubt but i was talking about his lifestyle at that time which was very simple and decent and you can confirm that in his very short tenure he didnt live a prime minister type life...! that is all i m saying..!!...even ardeshir cowasjee acknowledged his personality.....!!...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 11:25 #
  34. Moeen Qureshi's term managed to disappear 7 billions in no time. He was down to earth no question about that.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 15:15 #
  35. toamin

jaypk,

Yes, there are few MNAs who hold dual citizenship. Dual citizenship is allowed, but Moeen was only American Citizen -not sure, but that was the controversy in his interim term.

What can we judge in his little interim period, I don't think any policy, plan or project was envisaged or implemented.

What one may wonder is how was he chosen? From vice president of world bank to PM of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 15:25 #
  36. jaypk

guys...i am only asking about his personal character...whd happened in his term or whd much he could have done in 3 months is nt my concern...as far as i remember in only a short term of 3 months he or someone else leaked out the tax reports of our leaders showing nill and literally nill figures..there were some other credentials as well but since he was an american it would be a never ending debate.. Also how come someone born in pakistan had an american citizenship...lately he settled there permanently doesnt mean he was all american and wheneva we talk about him we would say he was an amercian ciztizen so what...atleat he was educated enough.!!

@jalali.....any proof of 7 billion or just an accusation..i m nt trying to defend him or something.. and i take my words bak tht he was down to earth..may b i was trying to say that he started reforms and stole less thts all..but i think we should come up with proof and not just accusations based on personal biases like american citizens....a guy who was the senior vice president of world bank doesnt neccessarily need 7 billion and that also in 3 months..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 16:26 #