Benazir - a critical assessment

(23 posts)
  1. Benazir is held up to be a perfect and selfless leader. The PPP propaganda machine is promoting her as "shaheed" and idealizing as well as idolising her. We seem to have forgotten that she was equally involved in looting from this poor nation whilst she was prime minister. she gave zardari cover to carry on his corruption on a spectacular level. She was also guilty of nepotisism and croynism at every level. She was the co-author of the notorious NRO which was to give cover to her and her husband and friends for their loot/mar in pakistan. Yet the media in Pakistan is ever so shy of criticising her. Their is a major level of intimidation by PPP fanatics (jiyalas) and therefore no one questions her performance and integrity.

It is time to shatter this myth and speak the truth regarding Benazir that she was extremely corrupt, incompetent and power hungry. The media, especially the anchors of political shows need to shed their timidity and speak in a more open and forthright manner so that a cult of Benazir is not created.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Jan 2010 20:37 #
  2. Adonis

We all know the reality of Benazir. It is laughable the way she is being "turned" into a saint.

It is the "in" thing to overlook the character flaws and invent nonexistant qualities in a dead person especially when her family is ruling the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 12:47 #
  3. Raza76

@ New Dawn!

It is unfortunate in the politics of sub-continent, that after death we start people treating as super human beings. And it is not only limited to Benazir, What about Quaid e Azam, Zulfiqar ali bhutto. These people were not prophets, we should treat them as great political leaders with chrasmatic properties. They are as liable to be wrong, and full of humanly errors.

No matter what we say about corruption of Benazir or criminal activites of Altaf Hussain, or plundering of Nawaz Sharif, they have backing of people. However, treating them infallable, what to say but we have nation who does little with reason and logic.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:01 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I agree. Mass media is completely quiet about it.

I don't have firsthand info. However I believe, we'll uncover a lot of what Benazir bibi plus Zardari sb. and 'their' 'tola' has done as the cases get processed through the court of LAW.

@Raza76: I don't agree with you. Our number one problem for decades! now has been lack of leadership and at the same time, having a large number of non-deserving wanna-be-leaders within our borders. Justice system, mass media were constantly manipulated by them.

Nawaz Sharif PML-N/Zardari (PPP) have backing because they are 'jageerdar'. Perhaps because the British left their families with huge ammounts of land. The British did this to safeguard their own interests in this region.

There is no other significant reason for these people to claim they have been good for Pakistan. But their is ample reason to criticize them, their actions, their corruption, their dishonesty, their treachery, their oppertunist ways etc etc.

Pakistani nation has the right to criticize their leadership as much as they want to. Leadership alone has proved devastating to Pakistan in the last 6+ decades. Pakistanis' have been trying to repair every damage their leader has inflicted on them as the entire nation.

It was the wrong or criminal decisions of these 'so called leaders' which have brought us to the edge of destruction today.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Jan 2010 13:04 #
  5. shriq

Benazir might have been more intelligent than Nawaz Sharif, but for Pakistan she was equally bad or probably more. We used to say that Benazir loots and takes Pak money out. NS loots and makes a sugar mill in Pakistan!!!

PPP has been taking revenge from Pakitan people on the death of ZAB.

I personally can not forget the moment when I hear our pm (of that time) announcing on TV (proudly) that she helped Rajiv Gandhi in Sikh matter so that he would help in Kashmir matter. I was dumbstuck at that moment. How stupid she thought was Rajiv that when we close one war front for India he would simply concentrate on other and defeat us easily. Did Rajiv help her in Kashmir? Did we get it? Is it free today? No. Thanks Benazir, due to your act of stupidity our eastern border is unsafe as ever! and we have lost faith of sikhs!

It is a known fact that in sixties our nation was anyhow progressing much better and North Korea copied our plan. Then came ZAB who:

Destroyed industry by nationalizing it hence discouraging the investment and industrialist. Also he promoted trade unions. It was like giving knife to a child. When Our illiterate labor got this power they misused it against themselves only. Where is our industry now? You can see it. This was done in the name of giving power to poor, but not a single acre of land from JAGEERDARS, WADERAS, KHANS, SARDARS was nationalized and given to POOR harees and mazaaras. Double standards.

Schools were nationalized, students unions made, teachers respect gone, see the state of education. Schools were nationalized but for elite some schools were left as it is so that they could attend them without having poor children around them example in Lahore is famous Aitchison College.

Benazir was the person who said my grand father was pm, my father was pm so I have the right to become pm. This is "jageerdarana soch" and you can judge with this statement how much democratic PPP is or Benazir was.

PPP jialas are so stupid that they want our constitution to change so that 20 years old Bilawal can be our pm. Probably Raja Riaz who gave this statement is thinking about his future benefits when Bilawal sahib will be our pm.

I hate the day when he would become our PM. Good luck to all of us!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 0:01 #
  6. We all agree that Benazir was an out and out thief and had little interest in the plight of the ordinary people of pakistan.
    The question is why is the press and media so timid about her record. why is she lauded as some some sort of saint. why do they keep referring to her as Mohtrima-which she is not. This kind of historical amnesia is dangerous for our society.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 9:12 #
  7. ased

@new dawm
    Most of the people know what Benezir has done in her "career", me too, but to say someone mohtarma is not crediting herself but yourself and your seriousness, i guess.

The problem in pakistan is, that everyone just think about him self, the "naray" like Pakistan Zindabad or Pakistan Khapay or Sab se pehle Pakistan are just because we learned that from our parents and don't know why we use them, and which value these really have. The media anchors lives also from politician, i always see the programm HasbeHaal, maybe you guys know Hasbehaal, always if Sohail Ahmad "azizi" wants to say something about zardari or nawaz sharif Aftab Iqbal stopped him, but they all talk freely without sensoring anything bad about Musharraf, Tomorrow will Nawaz Sharif rule in the country ( i hope not) everyone will be freelly talk about PPP, yaar... hum aik dusre ke kane hain. Or ghaerat to humare paas se nahi guzri, SUM SE PEHLE MEIN OR BAD MEIN BHI MEIN.... this is practiclly the case.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 10:33 #
  8. zingaro

People bring their sons to sell in market because of Hunger and PPP wants to construct monument of Benazir on public expenditure. When she is killed the terrorists destroy the assets built by public money. Her husband said he knows the killers but yet public money is paid to UN for worthless report. I think our money could be saved if there was no PPP government. But now if they are in power against their unconditional prostration in front of US, hence, they are doing what they want. They can even go beyond and declare Benazir as lady saint.

We have to bear it until this government goes home. Then someone might come to break the walls of so called sanctity. Insha Allah

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 12:44 #
  9. Anonymous

The king is dead. Long live the King.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 12:46 #
  10. shriq

@zingaro,

"Her husband said he knows the killers but yet public money is paid to UN for worthless report."

Good point!

Hey Mr. Zardari tell the damn killer names so that our money is spent on us!!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 14:24 #
  11. jaypk

on a positive note...she was atleast better thn zardari sub pay bhaari...she sound like a leader..though she looted and plundered as well..but its nt sane and ethical to discuss how bad sumone was after his her death.specially in our culture and society which is murdah parast....hence media and most of us do give her some sort of credit..had she been alive today...we had a different pic..!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 16:42 #
  12. munna

Pinky was a queen of corruption. She belongs to feudal back ground with no morality; Bhutto family got what they have sowed. BTW they deserved that. Bhutto didn’t have any respect for religion let alone county.
    ‘most corrupt person in Pakistan's history who bled the country dry, and was dismissed both time she was in power for being corrupt’ cnn on her assassination.
    All she wanted was power and didn't matter how she got it. That’s why she was in bed with the dictator Musharraf and even supported his moves of firing the judiciary and his illegal move into the President’s chair. In exile she opposed him but as soon as he dangled the carrot of certain leadership she got in talks with the dictator who then gave her amnesty from the scores of corruption cases against her filed by civilian governments.
    Let me take the opportunity and comment on our masses, which in a nutshell is shameful, we want democracy but vote for feudal, masses consider Bhutto as innocent and blame Zardari for corruption. Elected government is dying for Zionist dollars and masses believe that future lies in that sham democracy.
    Nature doesn’t do any mercy and course of history is not going to be different in our case.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 18:32 #
  13. munna

@New Dawn

Don’t blame media that’s what commercial media suppose to do.
    You might have heard supply and demand rule but in our case its hunger and greed which leads social fabric.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 18:40 #
  14. munna

@shriq

Painful thing is our masses still consider these political elite as Nijad-e-hinda

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 18:51 #
  15. ased

@munna
    why pinky? :)

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 21:45 #
  16. munna

pinky, it’s a nice nick name, chosen by her father :)

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Jan 2010 22:30 #
  17. Qasim ali

@New Dawn.
    I fully agree with you that BB was equally responsible for pushing pakistan and its people to the bottom of misery equally to zerdari. It is we fool "BEWAKOOF AWAM" who have made her Shaheed and idoling her going on her grave,prostrating and wreathing .! I have seen fools wandering out side her grave yard with naked footed, dirty torn peace of cloths,and miserable face pale with hunger,and they are not allowed to go inside the graveyard by the security ppp spoons.After the 35 years of ppp slogans of Roti Kepera and Makan,people of pakistan are suicing and vending their kids, due to hunger and starvation while zerdari and his croonies,have BILLIONS OF DOLLARS DEPOSITED IN FOREING BANK LOOTED FROM NATIONAL WEALTH. Her son and daughters are living a luxurious lavish life in europe,while It is pakistani public foolish and nonsense whome ppp is useing and Bhuto dynasty wlll continue to mock -say truth

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 19:09 #
  18. aachen

Friends! we should keep in mind that she was the great daughter of a great man "FATHER of BANGLADESH"Zulfiqar Bhutto.
    JEEEEEE Bhutto.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Jan 2010 23:16 #
  19. shriq

Father of Bangladesh!!

Interesting but has some weight!

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jan 2010 14:35 #
  20. zingaro

I suggest that public must come out of all personality phobias like Sharif, Bhuttos, Fazlu, Walis, Tafus, etc....

We need only clean and clear people ...

Adding to discussion .. ppp leaders claim that Bhutto family sacrificed their lives for country .. how amazing that every one absorbs this known lie. Will any body tell me how Shahnawaz was killed.. how Murtaza was killed ... For what cause Benazir was killed?

I will give points only to Mr. ZA Bhutto and not to anyone else of his family.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jan 2010 16:25 #
  21. shriq

For what they were killed, over family fortunes, and for saving family fortunes.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jan 2010 16:32 #
  22. zingaro

Brother Shariq .. ask any ppp member that why Zardari is always kind to Shoaib Siddle ... First he was appointed in Sindh and then given him the post of Federal Tax Ombudsman ...

If you check the record you will find that Shoaib Siddle has been in the good books of Zardari from a very long time ... I hope you got my point ....

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Jan 2010 16:40 #
  23. like every human being , she was a mixture of positives and negatives ...

positives :
    1. she was well educated and know how to talk to different levels and different forums ...

2. she got a good personality

3. she was brave

4.she was wise (clever )

negatives :

1. she was corrupt

2. she was power hungry

3. she was selfish ,and her love for the ppl was only a gimmick

4. she married to a wrong person

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Jan 2010 6:15 #