Bhatta Collectors of Karachi

(66 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

Bhatta collection has become a part of Karachi culture now. The tragic incident of Shershah Market is an outcome of the tensions among the Bhatta collecting organizations. Bhatta collection has become a business of political parties, police, law enforcing agencies, administrative govt. organizations, religious parties,journalists, media people,,etc. However, methods are highly variable from uncivilized to civilized looking forms.

The latest method is telephoning with the reference of some top level political leader of interior Sindh and then demanding donations. Callers of this method telephone businessmen with grumbling and threatening voice and demand donations. If the staff members of an office refuse to connect the callers with their bosses, then they are hurled call names and threats.

Can our media dare exposing these bhatta mafias?

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 9:48 #
  2. Karachi needs a Proper Operation Clean up..... These Bhatta Khoars are mainly from MQM, ANP, PPP and JA-Sindh... I don't think any other party is involved at karachi level...

Karachi should be handed over to Army for a year... All Gates/routes Sealed.... Give one week to surrender all weapons in your local Police Station or Edhi centers and then door to door search should be carried out. Businesses should be encourage to provide the names of people who are asking for Bhatta. People involved in Ransom, abduction should have capital punishment in speedy army kindda trials and all chalking, party flags should be banned completely.
    It's do able but you need sincere admin to do this...

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 10:43 #
  3. Police is the biggest bhatta khor. They stop doodhwala to get 1/4 L of milk early in morning after finishing their night shift. Of course free of cost.

They pull over a mobile at new quetta chai hotel and all personnel need to served doodh patti, not to mention free of cost.

Police stops couples, asks their marriage certificates, and therefore need to be paid for relief.

They made me pay right after taraweeh prayer when I had to obtain a police certificate. The SHO was reading Quran in the office and the man who wrote me the certificate confirmed he himself came from taraweeh. The SHO stopped reading and began giving reasons for 'chat pani.' Then to appease me further, gave me few bananas which I could guess were obtained from some poor hawker without pay.

Unless the instrument of corruption is fixed at the fundamental level, the whole nation is to remain an ostrich.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 11:09 #
  4. Hussain Farooqui

KS

I agree with your views about an indispensable operation in Karachi. The biggest hurdle in carrying out such an operation is our politics. All the political parties whether in opposition or govt. have their interests in this present status quo. They will never allow any such operation. A revolutionary govt. can do this job only.

barackosama

Yes, Police is the mother of most of the evils in the city.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 12:19 #
  5. ajhons

Liyari Gangs are also involved in Bhatta Khori.I don't know if this Bhatta thing is also in other big cities like Lahore Faisalabad Pindi Peshawer etc.but here in Karachi its very much In thing

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 12:27 #
  6. Hussain Farooqui

ajhons

Bhatta Khori is existent in other cities also, but not of such a high degree as that of Karachi. The tragic incident of Shershah is the evidence of that degree.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 12:33 #
  7. ajhons

HF yes as for killing I haven't heard or read these incidents in oher cities.Karachi, I think, is the only city which such high ratio of killing.And sad thing is most of times its innocent poor people no matter its urdu, punjabi, pukhtoon , its always a poor man.

I wonder if there was any thing about these poor people in Charter of Democracy.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 12:46 #
  8. I don't know if this Bhatta thing is also in other big cities like Lahore Faisalabad Pindi Peshawer

Call it ransom, bhatta khori, blackmailing or jagga tax it is alhumdulillah a national disease.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 13:11 #
  9. Police is the biggest bhatta khor in Karachi. Full stop.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 14:59 #
  10. shriq

Incompetency, KHABASAT, greed, corruption of police is one of the major cause in deteriorating conditions in Karachi. I have not heard this bhatta thing in Lahore.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 15:05 #
  11. Geez, you need to get out of your enclave a little more.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Nov 2010 15:09 #
  12. rbkeys

Police, ranger and army is the biggest bhatta khor in Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 8:15 #
  13. sadaekashmir

Police, ranger and army is the biggest bhatta khor in Karkachi.

MQM are crowned bhatta khors of Karachi not police, ranger and army who are known rishwatkhor every where...lolz

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 8:27 #
  14. SK:
    I know about Police and may be to an extent rangers could be also involved in bribery though not bhattakhoree but I refuse to accept that army jawaans are involved in bhattakhoree or Bribery. It's a ridiculous attempt to malign Pakistan army in bribery or bhattakhoree and no one but MQM lovers can do this. I have no reservation about the top brass Generals to be involved in corruption (not every one though) but to blame/involve any lower cadre officers or Jawaans is condemnable.

In Karachi, the people who are involved in Bhattakhoree are MQM, ANP, PPP, JA Sindh in that order. As regards to Police ... they have been historically taking bribes (not Bhattakhoree which is a totally different concept) and currently all police officers working in karachi have been posted according to the will of these 3 political parties. There are Police officers who have been recruited/posted by PPP and MQM high command and obviously the will continue to work for their masters! Surprised? Don't be ... cuz even for this ailment, our govt and these political parties are responsible. Did it ever occurred to your mind that why the motor-way police don't take bribes? Think again!

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/police-reforms-needed/page/2

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 8:47 #
  15. sadaekashmir

I am sorry Sir for not removing army as rishwatkhors from my post.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 8:52 #
  16. all Karachties knows very well ,who are the Bhatta Collectors and they does not wanna vote them any more.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 9:27 #
  17. Brother S.K
    You don't have to be sorry to me cuz we all are brothers and there are no sorry' or thanks between brothers but do take notice of the motives before following any one's lead (including me or any Aalim, Mulla or Politician) as one may simply have an sinister agenda.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 9:30 #
  18. ajhons

{Beenai
    all Karachties knows very well ,who are the Bhatta Collectors and they does not wanna vote them any more. }

Well As for the vote, unfourtunatly people forget everything about anyone when it comes to vote.All they beleive is baradri,language, etc.
    In the next elections, write it down, same people will be selected once again the same voters.Minor ups and downs are obvious

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 9:46 #
  19. ajhons

Help me anyone
    1. How can I upload a video and urdu text.
    2. In my previous post I simply copied and past beenai's post for reference while I've seen many other do the same but the text appears in a doted line box with inverted comas.How can I do this.

Forgive my ignorance

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 9:50 #
  20. How to post a picture or a link:
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/read-this-before-posting-in-discuss
    To post a video e.g from youtube, right click on the video of your choice and select copy shortcut then paste that shortcut in your post.
    You can type Urdu directly, or copy and past Urdu text in you posts.
    In addition there are many sites available like http://www.photobucket.com where when registered you are able to upload pictures of your choice. A link is available for a selected photo that you can copy and paste in your post here.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 10:56 #
  21. ajhons

Thanks SEMirza Bhai, You are always a great support

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 12:06 #
  22. shriq

"all Karachties knows very well ,who are the Bhatta Collectors and they does not wanna vote them any more. "

I have heardthat votes are stamped in the unit offices a night before the election. That is why in all the contituencies an astouding number of votes emerge from ballot boxes for one party in Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 18:07 #
  23. truths

every power owner , gun owner , need bhatta in city every street area having groups of bhatta mafia with many names and powers

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Nov 2010 18:34 #
  24. d0ct0r

Sunni Tehreek,the beralvi terror gang mainly involved in forcefully encroaching and taking over masjid and mazars in some areas have even outdone MQM Altaf when it comes to collecting Bhatta(extortion money) from poor public and businesses. If a MQM terrorist will issue a Rs500 Bhatta slip to shopkeeper,these sunni tehreek pests won't be shy and would issue the same shopkeeper Rs5000 Bhatta slips. MQM's militants lately during the stint in city govt have discovered other lucrative avenues as well to supplement their bhatta collection whereas these Sunni Tehreek leeches solely rely on sucking poor public's money in their areas of influence.

Sunni tehreek too imitating (Militant Qatil Movement Mafia) MQM Altaf's successful bhatta collection structure(Units and Sector terror cells) have formed units and sectors in various areas to threaten and intimidate public and businesses.

Regularly Sunni Tehreek and MQM Altaf's bhathakhors(extortionists) are involved in turf war and do gun down each others unit terrorists on the issue of bhatha collection .

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Nov 2010 2:01 #
  25. spruce

@D0Ct0R

both sunni and MQM should go to hell fire who are sucking blood of innocense citizens.

even i my self recievd some guys from MQM came to my home once time and asking money when i told them the reason to give money to you people? they replied that security of appartment and isaid we already pay for this monthly then why we pay twice for this." they got annoyed that in which party do you u belong with? i replied i do'nt belong with any one. then they siad to eachother" dada then this guy is easy to pay us..finally they said we will visit tomarrow better to arrange 500 for us.other wise we will be not responsible if any thing happened in you absence?

i understood that sure they are thief and thwill provide security?

next day they came with his unit incharge ,he was very serious to take money...when i said it does not mean i do'nt belong with any party and you ppl forcefully take money for nothing..

finally i took the name of one person whose link direct with thier god father altaf ,since that they they make me salam and asking bahi sahab koi kaam ho tu zaroor batana...

what we do finally relation with terror people is need of time..

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Nov 2010 2:20 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

sweettruth and BO got it right... spot on.

you can cry, "bhatta bhatta" all your life.
    but when police itself is biggest bhattakhor,
    forget about the rest!

massive overhaul/change of police is need of time to correct all Karachi specific problems. believe you me.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Nov 2010 5:28 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

A friend of mine is running a small business. He pays Bhattas over a list of political organizations, religious organizations and govt. departments. MQM is just one of them, not the only one.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Nov 2010 5:34 #
  28. olive branch

How many times i have to remind Nothing can be changed unless we all rise together against the EIVIL.We must unite and act together as a force ,we must ssay NO to all this nonesense.No one will help us but ourselves.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Nov 2010 15:57 #
  29. khansa

sada-e-Kashmir you must get correct information about karachi Bhatta Mafia those people who are living in karachi are biggest supporter or you can say part of MQM so its not possible to do this action with their supporters. its mean those party who lost their sympathis among karachi's citizens who are actualy involve in this crime such as PPP,Jamat-e-Islami,Lyari Gangster,Jihadi's Parties.ect ect

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Nov 2010 12:11 #
  30. Hussain Farooqui

khansa

MQM is not the sole Bhatta collector of Karachi. I have a friend who runs a business. He has a list of Bhatta payees. He has to pay Bhatta to a lot of govt. agencies too. Although, his business is fair. He runs a travel agency.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Nov 2010 12:58 #
  31. Sikandar Riza

This bhatta collecting is illegal, and is backed by some parties especially mqm who claims to be jageerdars of karachi. And I have lot of family members and friends who have to pay bhatta to these mqm slaves. These people collect bhatta because otherwise they will be killed. THere are other parties involved in this like ANP, but they are far behind mqm in this roshan khyali.
    Last eide kurbani three men came to my uncles house and said (hame bakre ki khal do), my uncle said I dont want to give you these khals. They blackmailed him and my uncle said you can take one. They said this is ok because without khal the secetary incharge will kill us. So this bakra eid Im really looking forward to see mqm ghundas or slaves, who will collect khal's and give to altaf husseins personal ayyashi fund.
    regarding police bhatta khori, Ive never seen police bhatta khori so widespread in other cities like it is in karachi. I think the sindh government especially zulfikar mirza should resign. The sindh police isnt in their control at all. And sayyed qaim ali shah seriously should get some ikhtiar, because otherwise karachi and the rest of sindh will collapse (god forbid). The power is in zardaris hand and he who claims to be from sindh dharti should wake up from his dollar briefcase dreams.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Nov 2010 14:23 #
  32. d0ct0r

Hussain Farooqui

If your comment was meant to down play MQM's role as Bhathakhors then don't even try..

As I said earlier,its true that in some areas pests from Sunni Tehreek or others desperately issue larger denomination slips but the fact on ground remains that nobody even comes close to the number of people affected(who suffer from MQM's bhathakhori) and the amount of Bhatha collected and the amount of khals(sacrificial animal's hides) snatched and collected using threats and pressure and intimidation during Eid-ul-Azha.Rest of the gangs chunk in Bhathkhori pie is peanuts as compared to criminal mafia gang MQM Altaf which has infested entire Karachi.

Even Abdul Sattar Edhi since last few years had been complaining that amount of qurbani khal collected have drastically dropped as people are threatened by mafias(MQM),he even mentioned in his ad in dawn that only 596 khals were collected by his trust last year. Pathetic isn't it? Mafia which has to feed an absconding grand terrorist hiding in London extorting everything and those who deserve it left with nothing..

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 11:34 #
  33. I like to know what is source of funding in MQM-H?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 11:54 #
  34. Hussain Farooqui

doctor

All the elements holding any type of political or administrative powers are collecting bhattas. MQM being the strongest the largest sums of bhattas. All others collecting smaller sums of bhattas are not gentlemen or less criminal.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 14:52 #
  35. d0ct0r

Those guys sell pan to make their ends meet..

Anyways on serious note i can say that during last govt's term they had an mpa in assembly,unlike MQM Altaf's law makers who have now embezzled billions through Bhattha and corruption and use SUVs costing between Rs5 million to 15 million, that mpa from Haqiqi used to commute to attend assembly session from his home using public transport (2D bus).

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 15:00 #
  36. Hussain Farooqui

doctor

All the political organizations have illegitimate sources of income. Some like MQM are collectors of bhatta and most of the others are receiving funds from abroad and working on the agendas of funding masters.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 15:04 #
  37. d0ct0r

HF
    All others collecting smaller sums of bhattas are not gentlemen or less criminal.

I totally agree with what you say here,its encouraging to note that you agree that MQM is the biggest ill that has infested Karachi's Bhathakhori scene.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 15:14 #
  38. Hussain Farooqui

doctor

Our beloved country is really headed towards catastrophic conditions because of extremely dirty politics. We really don't have any reliable and honest leadership. We just vote 'andhoon mein kana raja' (one we find comparatively suitable). The whole nation is extremely tired of the chaos.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 15:18 #
  39. spruce

there is no defference between TALBAN and MQM thier nature of job is same. one is extremist terrorist other is fundamentalist terrorist both were encouraged by Zia ul haque, the one agaisnt saoviet union and another one agaisnt pppp other words aghaisnt sindh or if say pakistan not bad because they accept bangalees,biharees,indians,because they are easy to vote them by force with no choice so for as other population will not vote them so they are all pakistanes population. they have maintained list of all ethincs residents which on time they will use to threat purpose in future any time if government pressed them to quit wrong actions covered behined thier innocense face.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 15:23 #
  40. Aamir Khan quit and went to Dubai in 90s on account of issues with Afaq bhai similar to what Afaq Bhai had with Altaf Bhai, but later came to re-join. Politics is not religion. Try to reconcile Baitul Hamza with Nine Zero.

Anyway, on April 7 the leading vehicle was a sleaky black SUV.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Nov 2010 16:30 #
  41. Sikandar Riza

MQM bhatta khori is well known in Karachi, MQM mafia has disabled karachi's real potential. Karachi could be a Dubai, but after mqm bhatta khori illegal tax collection + bakre ki khal mafia karachi is lamed by their terrorism. But the point is Sindh government is as gonegar as mqm, because they are allowing this all to happen. So Zulfikar Mirza and the gang shouldnt be in the government. Peoples party has failed to give people of karachi and sindh the protection which they promised.
    This reconsliation between altaf's terrorist gang and ppp is destroyng karachi, sindh and pakistan from their roots.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 10:55 #
  42. ajhons

Currently MQM is sidelined by Lyari Gangs (backed by Zullfi Bhai,) in Bhatta collection.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 11:12 #
  43. Sachi! agar khaalain illegally collect na ke jain tu Karachi Dubai ban jai.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 11:13 #
  44. ajhons

For some people Karachi is more then Dubai.Atleast no law can harm them in any way.Jitni marzi khalain lotoo jitnay marzi banday maro koi poochnay wala nahi.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 11:33 #
  45. Sikandar Riza

Mr barckosama You can collect as many khals you want, but when you start to threten people and blackmail them then its a problem.
    There are other issues not just bakre ki khal which you like so much. Targetkillig, terrorism, right to vote freely. Karachi isnt a mqm jageer which some people think. Krachi need political harmony. We have religious harmony in some extend, but not political.
    Mqm with its terrorism and killing has divided and depressed the real potential of karachi. Karachi had the highest money pr capita in whole of south asia in eightees. Before the facist mqm jageer captured karachi and ruined the business. Many invsters moved to dubai after mqm blackmail roshan khyali.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 11:38 #
  46. ajhons

Why MQM is so powerfull that even a sitting govt cann't do anythin against them.Everyone knows that MQM is involve in all kind of illegal activities, killing above all,Then why everytime they get away with it.

Point to Ponder

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 12:07 #
  47. @Sikandar Riza

I'm completely with you. I support khal collection but not of bakras, of MQM Mohajirs who made Pakistan and particularly Karachi their jageer. Pakistan is a jageer of sons of the soil, I mean four provinces. I'd fully support Karachi as capital of Khyber Pakhtoonwah since 5 Million live there.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 12:17 #
  48. ajhons

barackosama
    Out of this 5 Millions half of then are afghanis then why not make it part of Afghanistan.

What a wise word from you.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 12:29 #
  49. @ajhons

You mean they own property, run businesses, proliferate colleges/universities with Pakhtoon Student Fed. and yet they are Afghanis? How in the world all that would have been possible without Pakistani citizenship?

We live in democracy which is about majority. There are more Pashtuns in Karachi than Kabul and Peshawer, they have a right to a capital in a different province, and this a good way of breaking MQM back.

Incidentally, if UP or Bihar had borders with us, the same immigration could have been considered, but thank God, it ain't!!

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 12:38 #
  50. ajhons

My friend Barackosama I told you earlier its not urdu speaking community which impowers MQM.Its estamlishmnet.If You want to brake MQM then you have to brake Establishmnet.A sizeable majority of Urdu speaking are with Jamat e Islami while another with other religious parties.Then their are Ismalies, Bohris, they don't support MQM.Once you control establishmnet you can control MQM.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Nov 2010 12:47 #