PKPolitics Discuss » Political Parties

Big Political Gap- Can Imran Fill It?

(84 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

The seats of the elections of 1971 were swept away mostly from 'West Pakistan' by newly established PPP of Z.A. Bhutto. He was a charismatic and intelligent political leader. He realized that most of the people in Pakistan were tired of the past performance of the political parties of that time. He established a new party with an enthusiasm and attracted public masses in his vote banks.

After taking the reins of the government after the East Pakistan tragedy, his regime of five years demonstrated a lots of merits and demerits. His policies regarding the nationalization of industries caused heavy destruction to the industrial system. However, his foreign policy and the mega projects of nuclear technology and & Steel Mills were very commendable.

Again, the people are really tired of old politicians and political parties. They are looking for a new leadership. Imran Khan is a new leader with a new political party. However, his step to support a corrupt judge has raised question marks about his sincerity.

He must disassociate himself from the corrupt judges and prove his sincerity with the public. Moreover, his political party still appears to be 'one man show'. He must develop and proper political structure of his party.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:02 #
  2. intelligentpakistani

No he cant. Only Lahore is a city of over 1 crore people. IK just managed to get 100,000 from all over Pak, which also is doubted whether they were all PRO-IK or some anti- PMLN (PPP,PMLQ) attendees. How many of the 100,000 will vote, that also is questionable. In order to win 1 seat from Lahore, he needs to have more than 70,000 votes each seat. Lahore has 11 seats, that makes it 770,000. Can he achieve it only in Lahore. Forget the rural areas.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:09 #
  3. scandinavian

@HF
    As such a good thread, but still with the usual pessimistic view.

Which corrupt judge he has supported?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:10 #
  4. scandinavian

@IP

And PMl-N could only gather app. 30.000 from all over Punjab in spite of the help from the patwari gang. It's not even a Punjab party any longer. It's MAYBE a bhattio gate party ;)

Any vote for PML-N is a vote for Zardari!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:12 #
  5. khanamer

Nor does he have vision and because he lacks vision, he have not gathered any resources to fill it..

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:15 #
  6. he can be definitely seen as an option
    when people are sick and tired with tried and tested parties.
    Imran has never been tested in power.

we gave him the captancy of Pak Cricket team
    he gave us World Cup1992.

we gave him donations for Shukat Khanum Hospital.
    he gave us a cancer hospital in our own country.
    which is accessible for the poor ,who does not afford to go abroad for cancer treatment.

now why not we should give him power and test him?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:15 #
  7. khanamer

@Beenai,

Have me as a captian of Pakistan's cricket team for 12+ years, hell i can win two world cups if that is your criteria for the leadership...

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:17 #
  8. scandinavian

It is exactly because of IK's vision that he has been outside the power circles in Pakistan for 15 years. Now the time has come for the idea/the vision. He had offers from NS and Mush, but refused exactly because of his vision. he doesn't want to become a part of the dirty Pakistani politics. You people will continue to lie in spite of having lost other Punjabi and now Lahore to PTI. It's better if you finally see the writing on the wall and start supporting PTI, because any vote for PMl-N will be seen a vote for Zardari the madari!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:20 #
  9. my criteria is;
    Who has been given power and delivered?

MQM has been in power for the past 23 years.
    since 1988 to date.
    it has been given massive votes and has been a part of each and every Govt but never done anything great for the country.

on contrary; we have given him Imran two chances.
    one as a cricket captain , he did it.
    one as a Philanthropist, he again did it.
    so he deserve to be given a third chance as a politician too.
    that's my take.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:23 #
  10. scandinavian

Well said, on contrary the madari and the two brothers have also had numerous chances, but FAILED to deliver each and every time.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:25 #
  11. gv

@khanamer

that's why our cricket team has had racked up so many world cup wins in the past 19 years. People with ego's like yours.

Give the man his due. I am no fan but he has definitely come very far from when he set up the party 15 years ago. PTI is now a proven contender in the next elections.

The beauty of Pakistan is that we don't need Superman to come and fix our woes. We just need someone average with consistent goals and aims who is not out to rape and pillage.

We are bursting at the seams with potential. Its just our leadership is so sub average so short sighted and so pathetically self serving that it fails to cultivate even a tenth of our nation's potential.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:29 #
  12. intelligentpakistani

If Winning Cricket World Cup is the criteria for choosing PM, then make Younis Khan CM as he also got a world cup for us without famous names like Miandad,Wasim,Amir Sohail, Rmiaz Raja etc

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:32 #
  13. intelligentpakistani

@Beenai: We are not deciding whether to send Shahid Afridi as an opener, ke bas Try ker ke dekh lete han, Chal gya to chal gya werna Khair ha. But PM has the destiny of 18 crore people in his hand

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:34 #
  14. scandinavian

@IP

" But PM has the destiny of 18 crore people in his hand"

And that is exactly why we don't want to hand Pakistan over to butchers like Zardari or his brother NS and SS!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:36 #
  15. khanamer

@ Beenai

Do you think Javaid Miandad was given same powers as IK enjoyed as a captain, does waseem have those powers? does Inzimam had those, does Younis Khan had those? does Afridi had those??? for that matter we should bring Misbah as PM because with no power whatsoever, he have delivered alot on the test side...

Do you think Sharifs are given fair chance? were they allowed to rule for their complete 5 years? yes or no will do...

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:36 #
  16. scandinavian

@IP

"Do you think Sharifs are given fair chance? were they allowed to rule for their complete 5 years? yes or no will do..."

Why all these complains? Why did they NEVER resign IF they had not the powers? Why they did not do like Erdogan i.e. No power then ask for another and maybe heavier mandate from the people of Pakistan. Why you always cry foul after your tenures? Why not while you have power?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:38 #
  17. intelligentpakistani

Are you sure of IK's administrative capabilities? Being a good player does not mean a good coach, leave alone, a good administrator.My advice to Imran Khan is to first win a consular seat. Let the Union Council people decide if he did a good job, then people can decide if he can be elevated to a naib nazim or not. Mere Speeches does not signify persons capabilities,18 yr olds in debates do better speeches as well

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:40 #
  18. intelligentpakistani

IK should not even talk of Erdogon. You know how he brought revolution and stable democracy in Turkey. He tried the Generals also. Did you ever hear from IKs tongue, doing Accountability of the Generals who ruled Pak for more than 33 yrs?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:42 #
  19. gv

@IP

yep just like every other politician in Pakistan who carefully builds up his career from the bottom up.

get a life!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:43 #
  20. @Intelligentpakistani,
    destiny of 18 carore is already been taken granted and Zardari is the head of the state.
    what can be worst than the present situation?

no2. winning world cup is not the only criteria.
    he has been delivering
    as a captain of cricket team and as a philanthropist.
    others are not delievering
    whether,its Nooners, Piplers or MQMers.
    though,given chances again and again.
    so Imran deserves at least one fair chance.
    that's all i wanna say.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:46 #
  21. intelligentpakistani

Abdul Sattar and that Dr of SUIT in KHI, are bigger Philanthropist should they be given a chance as well?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:47 #
  22. scandinavian

@IP

Don't play dumb. This question was why did NS not tell the people of Pakistan that he is not allowed to rule by the generals while he had the powers? Why he did not do like Erdogan i.e. RESIGNED asked the people for a heavier mandate to put the army in their rightful place? BEFORE he was ousted after failure after failure and after corruption scandal after corruption scandal. The fact is that you and your leadership always go after money rather than changing the life for people to the better.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:52 #
  23. asif65

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:57 #
  24. @intelligentpakistani,
    yah sure.
    if Dr.Adeebul Hassan Rizvi of SIUT or Abdus Sattar Edhi are going to take part in the elections, i would be the first one to vote them.
    but right now,they are not contesting and not opting to be a politician.
    that's why we should keep our discussion restricted to Imran Khan who is a philanthropist and has decided to ask for votes.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 9:58 #
  25. Hussain Farooqui

Imran supported Iftikahr Chaudhary who made grandiose claims of structural changes after his restoration. He vividly turned to be a big liar. Imran must dissociate himself from him.

In the current political gap for a good leadership, opportunities are very bright for new politicians to present themselves as the sincere and capable leaders and attract votes. This existing opportunity is my optimism, but finding no one to avail this opportunity can be termed by you as my pessimism.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:04 #
  26. asif65

@intelligentpakistani,

Please make an intelligent step and change name of your account! It is very long and its make difficult to read your post.

What ist about:
    intelligent
    pakistani
    Hussain
    Farooqui

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:12 #
  27. outspokenloud

PML-N top leadership should clear itself from all the pending cases in the court of law, appologize to the nation for supporting dictators like gen Zia, accepting power from the back door, for their lies, deals, immoral use of power, return all the money looted from corruption, default on bank loans, SROs, money laundering, foreign assets, &

should dissolve Munafiq league & start fresh,

if it is not too much demanding

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:14 #
  28. scandinavian

@HF

"Imran supported Iftikahr Chaudhary who made grandiose claims of structural changes after his restoration. He vividly turned to be a big liar. Imran must dissociate himself from him."

Maybe you are right that CJP is not delivering and/or is a liar. I cannot answer this question 100%, but it is also a fact that he has taken certain steps, but unfortunately he does not have the powers to enforce the decision of the courts against the rulers. In a democracy you have separation of powers and he does not have the powers to enforce the verdicts.

In a debate program I heard rumors about that not even the army was ready to enforce the court verdicts. I don't know whether it is according to the law or not. That's maybe why the piplyas are playing games with the judicial system. What do yo then want the CJP to do in this situation?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:33 #
  29. khanamer

@Scandi

Why they never resign is irrelevant and shows what you knows about the politics, their govt have been dissolved either by the army chief ( search of Gen Kakar Formula) or was outset by Mushy... the Motorways and Gawadar Sea Port Project and Telecommunication lines which we use to internet was few of the projects by Sharif govt... and that is their two tenures which never even lasted for 3 years...

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:36 #
  30. The title of this thread is correct; however, I doubt very much if Imran can fill it. Our political system has its Qibla which is Army GHQ and all orders come from generals to run political shows. Those who disobey orders of army generals are excluded from political process or power sharing (with limited rights) and those who toe the line of GHQ are rewarded with power and positions provided with full compliance of army guidelines.

In my view, as long as army's strong presence is there in our political system, no political leader will emerge neither powerful nor effective. Army does not like popular/strong leaders; and all national popular leaders have received rough treatment from army in the past from Mujeeb to ZAB to Nawaz Sharif to Benazir. Now army wants to try Imran Khan as a new leader. Only time can tell how effective Imran will be in the future.

Long Live Pakistan

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 10:44 #
  31. scandinavian

@ST

I think you are right if we only consider the past. I think the army has realized that creating puppets is not the way forward. IMO they are willing to let go provided there is a genuine leadership who is NOT a sell out. I am afraid a large portion of the current rulers are SELL OUTS!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 11:08 #
  32. aftab arif

@ Sweettruth

It's a fair point, that's why the first 3-6 months will be very important, if PTI want to make significant changes, then it must be done within this time frame. He should step carefully when dealing with the Military, they will use under hand tactics to undermine PTI, but it's all hypothetical at the moment, my own view is that he won't win a large number of seats too form a government.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 11:11 #
  33. siddiqi73

The only shoes Deewana Khan can fill are those belonging to Asghar Khan, Tahir-ul-Qadri or perhaps Qazi Hussain Ahmed.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 11:16 #
  34. scandinavian

@Khanamer

No, it's NOT irrelevant. If the nooner point is that they are not allowed to make independent decisions, then they should resign and inform the awam and also ask for a new and stronger mandate to cope with the military....just like Erdogan. BUT nooner and piplyas will not, because they are busy making BIG money instead of serving the nation!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 11:22 #
  35. Hussain Farooqui

Scandinavian

I agree with your point of view

" If the nooner point is that they are not allowed to make independent decisions, then they should resign and inform the awam and also ask for a new and stronger mandate to cope with the military....just like Erdogan."

The Turkish leadership of Hizb Ur Rafah sacrificed their sovereignty on their principles and did not compromise with the army just for the sake of ruling by hook or crook. Their principled stance gained them respect in the Turkish society. They are the politicians of strong character and calibre. Their leaders like Lutfi Dogan and Najamuddin Arbakan are the men of character and calibre. The political leadership is not dependent on few personalities but it is institutionalized.

The intervention of our army in our political affairs is because of the weak character and weak calibre of our politicians. Most of our politicians are incompetent.

I reckon Iftikahr Chaudhary as a culprit because of the reason that he raised the hopes the public on grandiose claims and caused killing of hundreds of people and loses billion of rupees. If he is sincere and being suppressed, then he must take the streets again and protest.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:08 #
  36. scandinavian

@HF

Thanks for your POSITIVE response :)

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:10 #
  37. Imran khan possession was conciliate with ISI blessing because imran has not so prodigy guy to fetch people on his oratory I just focus his speech last words that if present leader’s doesn’t submitted their accounts detail whether in a local banks or offshore accounts and if they didn’t follow this then we are able to prevent all cities of Pakistan and protest against them with very drastic mode these kind of stagger words & allure We expected only imran khan because he has not living in reality they still living in a fantasy world.

To check & scrutinized these accounts need six to 12 months time that’s means the present government to complete their tenure that’s why I called him reckless man and its possession was skeptical because our agencies wants do the same that zardari complete his tenure and the impute at our ARMY that they coup democrat government would remove these blemish to the ARMY for this act

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:21 #
  38. scandinavian

@sara.m.khan

Are you also one of them who is worried about having the leadership exposed?

And what do you call those who gave their BROTHER Zardari 42 months in spite of knowing that he is known crook?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:24 #
  39. fact of the matter is that:
    giving tenure is not the thing for the politician.
    in our system, army and America sets the tenure for a ruling Pakistani leader.
    when the tenure gets ended?
    they will decide.
    not Imran neither Nooners or MQMers or Jamatis for that matter.
    so dont worry.
    it seems like Army and America has decided to give the devil full chance.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:30 #
  40. scandinavian

Maybe you are right, but I think they really don't have any choices left.

- PPP has axed themselves
    - PML-Q is in tatters and so is every other party which has worked with PPP
    - PML-N has also axed themselves by staying silent for 42 months. US cannot count on them any longer.

So the sleepless nights are spreading to the Yankees too. They had calculated with a new tenure with PMl-N. They are in the wilderness now. Who will follow Washingtons dictations? NOT Imran!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:36 #
  41. agreed. US does not have many choices left.
    thats why it wants the most corrupt Govt of the history of Pakistan to complete its tenure.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:40 #
  42. khanamer

@scandi

I think you fail to grasp one simple thing

If you are thrown out of govt there is nothing you can do to resign, it is like if you are thrown out of your job today, would you have chance to resign...

You need to understand the difference, again they been thrown out because they stood for what they believed in... and the EST threw them out for good??? now where is the resign thing come in... i may take liberty to advice you that please do not follow the script given to you, first read the reply and then comment on it.. this resign thing applies to PPP now, because they have been in power for almost 4 years and if now they say that EST have not allowed them to work, then you can tell them why not resigned..

You got that or should i make it more simpler for you.... or let me ask you a question and you try to answer it in your mind... what if you are fired from your company would you resign after being fired??? if yes, how so??? please tell us?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:44 #
  43. scandinavian

@Khanamer

My friend, it is you who is not willing to admit the facts.

"If you are thrown out of govt there is nothing you can do to resign"

I am telling you that why didn't PML-N resign BEFORE they were thrown out?

Let's take the current government. Right now they are going alongside the army, but if they are thrown out tomorrow they will start saying that they are not allowed to run the country. The fact of the matter is that they have NO intention of running the country. Each of their intentions is about making BIG money. In this regard they are fully similar to PMl-N!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:48 #
  44. Scandinavian..

Don't waste your precious time on the internet mujahid's of PPP, MQM and PMLN. They will only learn their lesson when PTI takes over in all 4 provinces. The internet movement has come to their door but these **** brothers, bhatta mafia and killer mafia won't understand until they have been nailed down along with their spineless masters.

**** Brothers and Bhatta mafia going down!

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:53 #
  45. Hussain Farooqui

In India, Congress Party was established as a strong political institution. The party was not dependent on few politicians only. Later, the other Indian political parties also transformed into political institutions.

In Pakistan, PPP established by ZA. Bhutto was more like a one man show rather than a political party. Although, Kauser Niazi suggested Bhutto Begums ( Nusrat & Benazir) to turn PPP into a political institutions after Bhutto's death. He was himself the Secretary General of PPP. He offered to put even his own position at stakes by holding inter-party elections. Bhutto Begums did not approve his idea and kept PPP as a family venture. After Benazir's death, Makhdoom Fahim was the right person to head the party, but PPP again turned into a son-in-law's venture.

Institutions always prevails over personalities. Army is an institution in our country, whereas political institutions are non-existent.

Imran must try to develop a political institution in his party rather than running it as a one man show. Unless, politics is institutionalized, army will prevail as an institution. In India, Political institutions are stronger than army institutions.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 12:58 #
  46. scandinavian

@Khan_Sahib

Believe me that I don't want to waste a second on these PML-N supporters. I know they will most probably not change (I hope I am wrong). I only do it to expose their blatant lies and twisting all the time.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 13:00 #
  47. Its of no use. Their **** master in chief, Nawazo was exposed when he staged his stupid drama of getting bypass on discuss forum but they are so baighairat that they continue their rants. Don't worry, "yeah Barsaati Maindak hain... in hoe na aana idhar hee hay" lol

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 13:28 #
  48. bsobaid

Hamid Mir kay columns se jahalatt aur kameena khaslat phoot phoot kay tapaktee hai..

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 13:42 #
  49. scandinavian

@BSO

Where did HM enter in this topic?

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 13:46 #
  50. bsobaid

oss kaa article aaya thaa, iss thread mein bhi copy paste kiaa hai asif65 ne.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 13:57 #