Bravo Prime Minister, Army cant be a state within a state

(52 posts)
  1. arif786

Army cant be state within a state ... PM addresses the parliament

http://dunyanews.tv/index.php?key=Q2F0SUQ9MiNOaWQ9NTYzMDg=

And laying bare his government s stance, he also questioned how come Osama bin Laden (OBL) remained undetected for six years in the Abbottabad compound.

The prime minister, addressing a gathering in Islamabad, said he is the longest serving prime minister of Pakistan. He said he owns all operations of the Pakistan Army as he knows no army can win a war without the support of the masses.

But he said that his question is how Osama remained undetected for six years in the compound in Abbottabad.

PM Gilani claimed he has the credit for uniting the nation, and took pride in being the longest serving prime minister. He said all institutions should be under the parliament.

He said all institutions are under the prime minister and the parliament. “State within state will not be tolerated,” the PM said.

The people have to decide whether they want democracy or dictatorship, he added.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 9:07 #
  2. msohail83

This dunderhead has turned what should have been the strongest elected parlianment into most ineffective assembly of losers in present times even beating the rubber stamp parliament of Musharaf. Enuf said!

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 9:25 #
  3. SufiSoul

principally no one like to packup govt due to memo issue.Matter is in court and army should wait and see....

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 10:09 #
  4. ali-pk

Ok than show us what you can do Mr.sold out -

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 11:28 #
  5. bsobaid

Well said.

Gilani's recent speech shows the matters are reaching lowest point between establishment and government.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 13:18 #
  6. pirbodla

This most corrupt dimwit womaniser PM is suffering with extreme narcissism, and is too daft to talk any sense. Ironically, there are some who are impressed of such an abnormal person who often appears lost.

He should be ashamed for boasting being a longest surviving PM, which he thinks is due to his good performance. The truth is that this donkey, in the first place, was not even fit to be a PM due to all of those his indecent sports on Karachi roads. It was purely the kindness of Sherry who managed to get him a top job. Nobody should think that he became PM, because Don’ proposed him or due to any other reason than his stealthy affairs. It is unfortunate that everybody overlooked those videos, which the whole world is witnessing even today. They have been negligent to accepted him as PM against the letter and spirit of the constitution.

His IQ is so low that he could not catch a joke by Angelina Julie, which implied a taunt over his undue overdressing attitude. Her joke crossed his wires so badly that he started thinking that he is Yousuf sani. Now, he derive pleasure by pretentiously drawing female attention towards his bedevil visage by complaining that some people don’t like his face, which he does not mind.

No matter what his fans think about him, the general public gets the impression that he is on drugs.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 16:39 #
  7. stingingnettle

It's hard to listen to Gillani with a straight face.

Could someone throw a light on the declared value of his house for tax purposes, in Multan I believe? If my memory serves me right it was declared by Gillani to be worth in the region of Rs 65 lakh. (please don't have a laughing fit yet) When a passerby was was asked if that might be true, he simply looked at the high walls and said that only the boundary walls must cost a lot more than that. So Pakistanis are no longer stupid.

So Gillani wants us to take him seriously? What has he done to win credibility? Please don't ask me, ask in the streets of Multan.

Saleen Bajwa, narcissism can be forgiven but vanity coupled with corruption cannot.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 16:52 #
  8. scandinavian

@Arif

"Army cant be state within a state ... PM addresses the parliament"

No, certainly not, but did he come across that after ruling Pakistan for 4 years? I think the game is quite different. The issue is that PPP has not delivered on ANY front. There is a crisis in all aspects, and on top of that PPP is maybe having problems with Memogate. The loot and plunder has been accomplished in 80% of the tenure, so now is time to CREATE a scenario for an "self-imposed" ouster. Since **** League has a commitment not create a situation where PPP is forced to leave then PPP is using the army to accomplish this goal. IMO the target is to force a reaction from the army. PPP want them make a move that even the army doesn't want to use. This is the time for PPP to get "victimized" and play the usual victims role. In other words the usual making fool of people!

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 17:04 #
  9. pirbodla

@ stingingnettle
    The reason I cannot overlook his self-love is that he has destroyed the whole country just to gratify his own desires. How can we overlook his lavish foreign trips and extravagant motorcades, when our people are suffering?

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 17:08 #
  10. If PTI leadership and their supporters going to take side against democracy and with establishment.
    This is going to expose their connection with ISI and establishment. When they will be exposed, then this public sunaami can turn against them and will destroy their future hope and dreams.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 17:09 #
  11. scandinavian

@msyedh

I don't know who you are pointing towards. PTI has categorically stated that they DON'T support an army take over! So why should they do otherwise. Btw.: IMO there is NO democracy in Pakistan. Let us have clean and fair elections, then we can talk about democracy!

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 17:12 #
  12. I salute my PM for standing tall in front of the Khakis. Off course they are answerable to the parliament. And it takes a lot of courage to state so on the floor of the house. Bravo PM!
    http://www.newsexcuse.blogspot.com

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 17:12 #
  13. scandinavian

Here is Gillanis statement he could utter after 4 years of (mis)rule.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=gFISLj7Su4s

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 18:27 #
  14. runaway

What he said is correct. However, this is no justification for the utter failure of this government

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 21:04 #
  15. Scandinavian@
    This government has lot of issues about their governance and corruption. But 2008 election was free and fair according to third world standard. There was no big level rigging in 2008 election. One big proof is that government party lost election and Their extreme opponent party like Noon league won more seats than government party. So we can believe that 2008 election was legitimate, free and fair according to third world democracy standard.

However, I am agree that there is not real democracy in pakistan compare to western democracies. But we have much more media freedom and judicial activism than most countries in the world. We still need lot of improvements in democratic system. It will take little time.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 21:53 #
  16. khanseena1

A brave statement by the PM...All parties including PTI should get behind PM on this issue.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 21:59 #
  17. stingingnettle

msyedh

"But 2008 election was free and fair according to third world standard."

Could you explain what a third world standard might be please?

Thanks.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 22:27 #
  18. omarali50

http://www.brownpundits.com/2011/12/22/pakistan-what-next/

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 22:29 #
  19. stingingnettle@
    Because in third world countries, government candidates always able to use government sources in election campaign and executive always have some limited role to support their own party.
    Executive may have limited level influence in voter lists and Halqabanies. Then use of transport, violence and harassment on polling booths is very common in third world elections.

If these things are not pre-planned and very limited then these things are normal in third world.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 22:40 #
  20. stingingnettle

msyedh

Thanks for that.

Now judging from what you write, I am puzzled as to how you could claim the elections of 2008 as fair and free?

Flawed and fake voters' lists, intimidation, violence, misuse of state resources and not to mention nepotist candidates to choose from and last but not the least an NRO to allow crooks to take part in the election. Also I would point out the lack of any proper educational or professional qualification that the president of Pakistan holds.

So we should accept this standard as our third world standard of democracy?

Surely not. Our children deserve better and they WILL have better in my life time. Can you see why status quo cannot continue? Do you agree that we must leave a better and fairer Pakistan for our children? Unworthy children of politicians cannot pass over our children as the next rulers of Pakistan. Stand up for young Pakistanis, no matter what political persuasion they belong to.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 22:52 #
  21. stingingnettle@
    I already told, that it need improvements but at this level as third world country and with new democracy, we have to accept limited level of flaws for time beings till we have further progress. We must accepts facts that we can not see our democracy, same standard as western democracies.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:01 #
  22. stingingnettle@
    NRO was to just open political door for two main political parties to participate in politic. This was not rigging plan. It bring back two main party leadership in Pakistan.
    Your PTI is benefiting from that 2008 election and present democratic government too.
    Do you remember in musharaf government, your leader was even banned to enter Karachi but now civil government is helping PTI for 25 dec Jalsa In Karachi.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:09 #
  23. sultanalikhan

What a stupid PM, and **** he is asking ?? Doesn't PM Gilani know he is at the helm of affairs and if there is any screw-ups the ultimate blame rests with him?

Even if army and ISI brought OBL in, Gilani/Zardari have been running government for the past 4 years and what did they do? If they were men enough they would have known what was going on in Pak and asked army and ISI which by constitution fall under the purview of PM??

**** supreme commander (Zardari) of all three forces did except looting Pak and bringing misery on his countrymen? We have all seen how brave he is if delivering speeches in Presidential palace in front of PPP chosen stalwarts, and that bravery reaches to its REAL climax when he doesn't go to see his dying father in the capital only a couple of miles away from his PRESIDENTIAL FORTRESS....Two-bit con artists, thats what they actually are!!!

with all above being played out in public, now PM shows the "BALLS" and asks "right" questions, as many have said in this thread? well, PM is never worried when Pakistanis suffer no matter how unbearable and long the misery, but when it comes to losing his govt and power he is all out to save his holy Gilani ASZ and sudden reminder of democracy, sovereignty of parliament and sacrifices of Bhuttos come to the fore......shameful cowards, opportunists, greedy, selfish and heartless baztards!!!!

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:14 #
  24. SultanAliKhan@

Dair aaid durasat aaid, well done PM

President should be more careful for his safety. He already lost great leader like Benazir in the hand of terrorists and establishment. PPP does not have alliance with Talbans, Alqaida, like PTI and Noon league have, so they need to be more careful.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:25 #
  25. sultanalikhan

@msyedh....I wish for your sake that it is the case of "Dair Aayad" but seeing the PM & President in action during the last 4 years, I am not very optimistic. You shall see they will soon retract bravado, bring in Americans for another NRO, lick the boots of army and will be on their merry way back to looting Pakistan ......

As for the president's safety, well, if he is such a gutless chicken then he should leave and live in safe havens he has bought all around the world with poor Pakistanis' money....like they say, if you can't stand the heat, get out of the kitchen!!!

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:36 #
  26. aftab arif

PM is just saving his boss, he does not give 2 hoots about Parliament or any other institute.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 23:43 #
  27. siddiqi73

@Shahji,

Don't worry, your leadership is bounded by an even unholier and dangerous alliance which is bigger than Taliban and AlQaida.......America and Army and they also have a Mulla in the midst in the form of Maulana Diesel.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 2:49 #
  28. bsobaid

As expected, establishment kee paltoo ansar abbasi et. Al are blaming democratic government defaming aala hazrat bahadur afwaaj and highlighting inflation etc. Ik as usual is also blaming government and asking to resign.

Inn establishment kee rakhailoo ko bayghairat jurnails kay khilaaf aik lafz bhi bolnay se mott aatee hai.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 2:56 #
  29. arif786

I really think the President PM parliament and the PP has outsmarted the establishment .... it is a win win scenario for them ...

how they have been able to turn the tables around ..their plummeting popularity ...mismanagement and unable to tackle governance issues...

either they are the heroes who stood up against the military ...where no one before them had the courage to dare them..aao hamain pakro...or they will be the martyrs who were wronged yet again by the unholy alliance of the three "jeems"

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 10:41 #
  30. ali-pk

No matter how much the PM moans , the fact remains " he is a dummy PM without any control over Army" -- i think , the PPP brigade should try to live by this fact.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 10:43 #
  31. arif786

Pakistanis live with the fact of having a rogue military and establishment everyday of their lives ... bitter truth :(

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 10:47 #
  32. aristotle

They want to become political shaheed ..thats the only reason behind this firey speech.nothing else..

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:15 #
  33. ali-pk

@aristotle

but this ain't gonna happen , i don't think that Army will let them become so called "shaheeds"-

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:18 #
  34. ali-pk

@arif786

lol yeah it's considered rogue because the dummies from PPP can't control them --- Have you ever seen baboons controlling guns , i would be surprised if you have.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:20 #
  35. aftab arif

@ aristotle

You are spot on but if the Military decide to turn the screw on the SC so that they expediate the NRO cases, then what will Gillani say and do.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:22 #
  36. zaln

Yes PPP admits that they cant control them but others also cannot control them but don't dare to say

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:23 #
  37. arif786

@ali-pk...not just PPP any democratic elected govt...be it bhutto, junejo, BB, nawaz sharif and now gilani.... they are a constant nuesence my man...no state within a state ...:)

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:24 #
  38. ali-pk

@arif786

Wait a second bruv; did i hear democratically elected govt - now this is joke which tickles . A system which brings the the rottest , crapest, cheapest to the power are democratically elected -- i can only say Ha'''''

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:28 #
  39. ali-pk

@zalaan

the day i see leadership in Pakistan like that in Turkey , i will also raise my voice with you .

All these sold out cheap politicians - some in love with bharat, some with america -- all their stakes outside Pakistan deserves no right to control Army.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 11:30 #
  40. aristotle

arif

wats wrong in nro cases proceedings, expedition and Decision ???????????

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 12:32 #
  41. aristotle

PM had no worry when ppl of pakistan were killing in war on terror...... but
    now
    jab apni dum par pao para tu bilbila gay
    wow..wat a leadership we hv??????

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 12:34 #
  42. zaln

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 13:06 #
  43. ali-pk

yey mirasiyoan ka band kahan sey A'gya is thread meyn -

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 13:27 #
  44. hypocrite

all their stakes outside Pakistan deserves no right to control Army.

Ali-pk sahib

I agree that before staking claims for roghts to control an insititution, the civilan governments have to demonstrate competence, allegiance to the country and deliver for the betterment of the common people.

On the same note, what right army has to control civilians. How come the senior tier in our armed forces is more pious than the civilians.

I think all insititutions shall play their due roles rather than trying to control each other. Perhaps army shall take the first step to never ever indulge in (a) disposing a civilian government and (b) governing the country.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 13:37 #
  45. ali-pk

@hypocrite

i never made any claim that the Senior tier in our armed forces are more pious than the civilians.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 13:41 #
  46. hypocrite

Ali-pk sahib

You are absolutely right and I should have been more clear in my comment. As you only mentioned "All these sold out cheap politicians - some in love with bharat, some with america", I was wondering why the top tier was spared from this same opinion.

I doubt if all the seniors in armed forces are corrupt, but there are some examples. Even Musharraf sahib can afford to live outside the country and he came from armed forces and ruled the country for a long time.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 13:55 #
  47. stingingnettle

msyedh

"NRO was to just open political door for two main political parties to participate in politic. This was not rigging plan."

I like the neatness with which you launder the 2008 elections to suit your political affiliation. You just have to look at the list of NRO beneficiary to realise that not one of them would qualify to stand in elections in any country without either clearing their names or spending their punishment. There is more than one way to skin a rabbit and likewise there is more than one to way to rig an election. There is nothing more off putting about an election than having a choice of crooks to pick from.

"Your PTI is benefiting from that 2008 election and present democratic government too."

This is intriguing. PTI refused to contest the elections in 2008, so could you explain how they might have benefited by term the elections a total fraud?

Gillani cannot control an institution in Pakistan because he has little or no credibility. He has no history of courage and vision and standing up for what is right. Even worse his boss who lives in the Presidency is deemed by most of the populace to be a big crook. Only a bunch of crooks will elect a crook as their president.

Credibility cannot be bought and this is a lesson PPP and PML (A to Z) have to learn. This is a lesson that even PTI must learn if it is to succeed.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 14:16 #
  48. stingingnettle

SAK;

Brilliant verse! You've still got it.

Here is my response;

عشق دل میں رہے تو رسوا ہو
    لب پہ آجاۓ تو راز ہو جا ۓ

Only Faiz could have said it so well.

I wanted to know what shampoo Hamid Mir uses not Sana!

I enjoyed reading your comments about the Gillani speech, the stuff has come from your heart, I certainly get it.

You are right Zardari and Gillani have set new record of cowardice and lies. Recently Gillani said he travels with two squad cars, yesterday GEO showed at least 100 cars in his entourage. Can you imagine if your were a poor soul trying to cross the road to spend a penny in the bushes, it could be a very painful and long wait or else you would have need a change of clothes.

Zardari and Gillani have lost track of what planet they are on, let alone the country.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 14:33 #
  49. ali-pk

@hypocrite

my brother, i have always protested against Musharraf's policies. Let me make myself clear , i do not trust Pak politicians on national security related matters . and why should i, when i see our government praising/congratulating American terrorists over Abbotabad raid and i also see opposition party chief saying (refering to bharat)" hum ek hain, darmian meyn bas ek lakir hai"

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 14:39 #
  50. stingingnettle

Sorry SAK, accidently posted in the wrong thread.

Posted 5 months ago on 23 Dec 2011 15:35 #