PKPolitics Discuss » Suggestions & Help

Can Imran Khan ever become PM of Pakistan through election process ?

(71 posts)
  1. PAKI.SECULAR

Out of total 137948 votes polled in by-election of NA-21 Mansehra 2.53% or 3482 votes were polled in favour of PTI candidate Niaz Muhammad Khan !

http://www.ecp.gov.pk/content/Notification/Feb2010/1a.htm

Discuss is ther any chance of Imran Khan becoming PM of Pakistan !

BTW in a recent program of Asma Choudhry on Duniya TV, IK said he would form the next government !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 10:37 #
  2. toamin

First of all I think PM can not change much, he is restrained inside colonial rules. So even if IK becomes PM I don't see it would mean much.

But to answer your question on IK's PM feasibility I think it is almost impossible.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 10:39 #
  3. Anonymous

No chance for Imran till he takes another summersault against terrorists like he did against Musharraf.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 10:45 #
  4. Anonymous

@adnak

Imran Khan has the chance if elections are held through internet because he has so many fans in internet despite of such influential family support he cant even take Musharraf and Altaf Hussain in UK then I think that he cant do anything even if he become PM...moto of "Change" only works once in Barack Obama and if he is thinking that copying someone's secret of success will work here as well then I am hopeless for Pakistan even if he becomes PM....

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 10:59 #
  5. Imran needs to have a distance between his party and JI .
    it has badly damaged his image ...
    ppl with religious mind , will NOT vote Imran ,they will vote JI in any case .
    ppl with broad and open mind ,wud never vote Imran ,either ,as he has strings attached with JI and Taliban support .

he has to decide ,what he actually wanna go with ?
    left side of the frame or right side of the frame in this scenario?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:01 #
  6. Anonymous

I agree with Beenai 'in totto'.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:17 #
  7. PAKI.SECULAR

Beenai,

I totally agree with your analysis, IK needs to ponder now why after the lapse of more than 14 years in politics, his party only begged 2.53 % vote !
    PTI was not able to even field candidates in Gilgit-Baltistan elections !

I'm sure if PTI field candidates in Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkar, or Larkana, they won't be able to save their securities !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:18 #
  8. toamin

This 'why' is a proof that a 'change' can not be brought through the 'system' -need a revolution only-

IK needs to understand this and should stop supporting the british designed system or else brown sahibs will keep on criticizing him based on these fake metrics.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:29 #
  9. PAKI.SECULAR

I'm sure Taliban will help IK in Islamic revolution as suggested by Salam !

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:32 #
  10. PAKI.SECULAR

Can somebody tell me who was PTI's candidate from PF-83 Swat-IV.

Results are as under

PF-83 Swat-IV

Haji Jalat

Hussain Ahmed Kanjo

Rahmat Ali

Rahmat Ali

Sher Muhammad Khan Alis Sher Khan

Muhammad Khan Nazar Abad

Total ---- 19531

http://www.ecp.gov.pk/content/Notification/Feb2010/1c.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:35 #
  11. sasherwani

I think Imran is a sincere and good hearted guy. But he cannot lead this nation. Like Beenai said, noone 'really' supports him (except for that 2%). Imran has himself to blame. One cannot take side of the terrorists and then ask for votes. This nation is already so fed up of terrorism.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:35 #
  12. netengr

Yes ,Hakeem Ullah Mehsoud will take over Islamabad then there would be "Muzakraat " and Taliban would be agree on Imran Khan as Secular Sharaee Khalifa

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:37 #
  13. toamin

This 2% is the trick here because this doesn't mean anything in bradery/tribal mentality culture.

People don't vote based on ideologies/visions they vote based on one beradery vs another beradery.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:38 #
  14. PAKI.SECULAR

Salam said 'IK needs to understand this and should stop supporting the british designed system or else brown sahibs will keep on criticizing him based on these fake metrics. '

///

Angoor Khatay Hain :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:39 #
  15. toamin

Angoor methay hain as we can see from reality they are really sweet and getting more sweeter day by day :)

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:43 #
  16. change_is_close

@beenai
    i think you're talking about the aware, urban population - they might be confused about about IK's alignment. but tell me this, do the majority of voters in interior sindh and interior punjab think on these lines when it comes to voting? do they even think when it comes to voting? do they even have the right to think when it comes to voting? or are they bound to vote for their wadera, chaudhry, or beradri??? remember, the rural population forms the 65-70% of vote. do you think IK will get a way into these areas without asking for support from these waderaz and chaudhries? and if he does team up with them, will he be the mr. clean that we're looking for, or will he become another one of those hypocrite politicians.

when bhutto was going to form his government with the help of the waderaz from interior sindh, he snubbed habib jalib when the latter said:
    کھیت وڈیروں سے لے لو
    ملیں لٹیروں سے لے لو

why? b/c bhutto needed the support of thes luteraaz and waderaaz to form the government... i don't see anyone work around this problem, even the creators of pakistan couldn't kick these waderaaz and luteraaz away!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:51 #
  17. Anonymous

Imran Khan’s mind is working for ‘reverse swing’ but the pitch is not helpful for that. Politics is very different to cricket where you cannot blame the pitch for your defeat. Unfortunately, JJ also blames the pitch. Imran Khan needs to play on the prescribed pitch, where win can only be achieved by bowling according to the pitch or else you lose.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:53 #
  18. PAKI.SECULAR

Can somebody please tell me who was PTI's candidate from PF-83 Swat-IV.

Results are as under

PF-83 Swat-IV

Haji Jalat

Hussain Ahmed Kanjo

Rahmat Ali

Rahmat Ali

Sher Muhammad Khan Alis Sher Khan

Muhammad Khan Nazar Abad

Total ---- 19531

http://www.ecp.gov.pk/content/Notification/Feb2010/1c.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:54 #
  19. toamin

Change is Close,

I agree and thank you for an elaborated post :)

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 11:56 #
  20. toamin

spot on or on the spot ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 12:05 #
  21. Imran khan can not rule until our country is under great influence and control of feudals and landlords...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 12:06 #
  22. toamin

Na bhai na... thori see dhoop lagay aur thori see tawajah melay to meethay ho jaingay -inshAllah!

Buss woh 'dhoop' aur 'tawajah' hee kee baat ker rehain hain :)

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Feb 2010 13:14 #
  23. so u all people have any other ideas to resolve all the problems in pakistan,or u r still depanding on the same political parties,tell me if u r critisizing imran khan then who is ur last hope?which political party or person is sincere wid the people of pakistan?answer is no,and u all people r also responsible of all the sins which has done by these potical parties,bcoz u people elected them,aray agar koi solution nahi hai to khamakhwa naumidi mat philao sirf is baat par k imran khan ko siyasat nahi aati,humain ssasat dan chaiuau bhi nahi,we want a sincere person

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 18:01 #
  24. wantinsaf

Change alsways takes decades.
    Why did Nelson mandela took 40 years to bring change in S.Africa?

Imran surely would become PM,and you can not alternate Allah's ways as He has sent Imran for bigger cause.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 19:51 #
  25. drgulkhan

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 21:28 #
  26. Anonymous

I think Imran has reached his ceiling. So, he may be confined to be a 'TV/Talk show politician' only.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 22:11 #
  27. BaliMA

Imran khan ki auqat charity bank accounts paie percentage paie money laundring karney saie zaida nahie haie.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 0:52 #
  28. change_is_close

@mughal and wantinsaf

sorry for re-posting my comment from above, but i've raised some questions regarding the practicality of IK's method - plz see below:

do the majority of voters in interior sindh and interior punjab think on these lines when it comes to voting? do they even think when it comes to voting? do they even have the right to think when it comes to voting? or are they bound to vote for their wadera, chaudhry, or beradri??? remember, the rural population forms the 65-70% of vote. do you think IK will get a way into these areas without asking for support from these waderaz and chaudhries? and if he does team up with them, will he be the mr. clean that we're looking for, or will he become another one of those hypocrite politicians.

when bhutto was going to form his government with the help of the waderaz from interior sindh, he snubbed habib jalib when the latter said:
    کھیت وڈیروں سے لے لو
    ملیں لٹیروں سے لے لو

why? b/c bhutto needed the support of thes luteraaz and waderaaz to form the government... i don't see anyone work around this problem, even the creators of pakistan couldn't kick these waderaaz and luteraaz away!

oh, and btw, i was just told by a friend from cheecha-watni that imran's man there is a known badmaash, and we already know about the turncoat jaazi khan. so bros, you need ppl like these to win elections. do you think ppl like these will work for change?

i agree that we should not spread na-umeedi, but we should use our brains too, to figure out the right way to bring about the change that we need.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:25 #
  29. wantinsaf

@Change_is_Close

PTI is open to giving membership to anyone,your point would become valid if any wicked becomes an active member of the party and eventually a member of cabinet of PTI led Govt.

The worst part is that there is lack of honest,capable,sincere politicians in Pakistan.I just believe in one thing that giving own input to the party can help us bring change.
    How long would we keep looking for someone else who would do something for the country,not us?You,me,we all are responsible for doing something for this country.

PTI certainly needs to take care of these things and Imran Khan himself admits that he yet has to find a good and capable team.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:01 #
  30. change_is_close

@wantinsaf
    "How long would we keep looking for someone else who would do something for the country,not us?You,me,we all are responsible for doing something for this country."

couldn't agree more, bro! i see that you and i, both are serious about WORKING for the change, and that you're accepting the facts - thanks!

i'll go one-step-at-a-time. do you agree:
    1) that this system corrupts/strays whomever enters into it? take the example of JI and now IK (mixing with the corrupt)
    2) that unless we mix with the corrupt waderaz and chaudhries, we won't be able to secure the required numbers to make the govt.?
    3) that joining hands with these ppl will force you to give in to their demands? (as in bhutto's case)

if you agree, then brother, walking on this path will get us nowhere, will it? we don't have to just WORK, we have to work SENSIBLY, so that we can achieve our goal.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:25 #
  31. Anonymous

Musharraf also kept looking for honest, capable, sincere politicians but had to rely on Thags. What Imran will do if such lot is not available any more?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:36 #
  32. @adnak
    That's true. Many people at the beginning are sincere and would wanna do real work, few keep on the right path. But soon find out the rules of the games in Pakistani politics is just one, that is no rule. So people who regard Imran as the most better-looking of all party holders, do it on the basis of his speech.

In politics he is street bowler of a taped ball. He has never made it to the field where he could be actually scrutinized with a litmus test. He might as well turn out the biggest hypocrite of them all. For Pakistanis he's guilty until proven innocent. We just can't be sure of his presumed sincerity from his apparently honest appearing talk because we have been burnt every time before.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:57 #
  33. Anonymous

Talking good doesnt means that he can also perform good as well...Imran Khan might have ideas but his ideas are of no use if he cant implement them if he has a chance and another thing is political wisdom is also very necessary because when he used to criticize MQM he was appriciated by people but in the end he end up by saying "MQM is our natural allies" and same goes for Musharraf when he declared martial law he was distributing sweets and was even supporter during his referendum but later when election came by became against him....after this track record I can expect him like...

today: Amrika nay tu berha gharak kardiya hai Pakistan ka(in talk shows after having no place in parliament)

tomorrow: Amrika hamari madad karraha hai(after forming the Govt.)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 15:22 #
  34. raheb

So called voting democracy is biggest hinder to let The Most Suitable person to rule Pakistan- Imran.

That stupid sort of system- totally Unscussful in Pakistan- cannot competent people to come forward. Same corrupted elit of politicians coming back and back again to destroy the country. Anyone can compare the results upto now, How was it under Musharaff regim and now after 2 years of elected gods of Pakistan. Democracy shows just opposite results here.

Please do not come with that old argument, "let give them some time" OR "all problems are taken over from past regim".

raheb

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 20:43 #
  35. PAKI.SECULAR

raheb,

I totally agree with you !

As IK can't become head of state/government through election process, either Taliban or Army should intervene now !

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 6:20 #
  36. Anonymous

yar democracy honi chahiye tu sirf Internet k users ko vote ka haq hona chahiye kyunk issi tarhan Imran Khan jeet sakta hai election....

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 6:23 #
  37. PAKI.SECULAR

@yahya87

I don't think so, they can only win on websites which support IK like PTI's official website or PkPol ! I'm sure even on internet IK will be a loser !

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 6:26 #
  38. quaidkamazaar

even on internet nowadays,

Imran Khan's popularity has gone down. people are starting to distrust his dumbness.

but still, his support is still huge on the internet compared to other parties.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 6:52 #
  39. Anonymous

Imran should be kicked out from Pakistan as written by couple of english writers because of his following activities:

http://www.dailypak.com/epaper/2010/February/08-02-10/allimages/fp-11.html

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 7:48 #
  40. PAKI.SECULAR

IK is not the only one who's doing philanthropy !
    What about Edhi ? Shouldn't he be made PM ?

What about others who do philanthropy on their own without even donations from others (why IK collected funds from Jews and Christian Kafirs ?) !

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 7:54 #
  41. More fundamental question is can he become a politcian. He needs to go like those who dropped out of poltics after poltical demise but gain some respect in other areas, Pat Buchanan as political analyst and Jesse Jackson a deal broker, an ambassador of peace.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Feb 2010 9:41 #
  42. Hussain Farooqui

If Zardari can become the President and Yousuf Raza can become PM, then Why can't Imran become the PM.

Andhairi nagri chopat raj wala hisab hai yar

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jun 2010 6:38 #
  43. wantinsaf

he surely can become if he keeps doing what he has been doing.He should never leave the right path and always stand by poors and depressed.People of this country are surely bound to have a good leader and who is better option than Imran.
    My guess is within five years he would be ruling this country and would change the basic sructure of this country.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jun 2010 7:27 #
  44. saeed67

Most of the people say that Imran is not a politician because we think a successful politician should be chootha, makkar, kamina, ****, wadakhalif, khoodgharz, doghla, ghaddar and the most important quality big fradia. Imran does not have these qualities.
    What can we expected from the voters who elect this type of politicians again and again.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jun 2010 8:10 #
  45. Hussain Farooqui

Our nation at present needs a leader like Jinnah Sb. At present, I don't see any politician of Jinnah's character or caliber. The condition of graduation put by Mushfaraff to mantain minimum standards was also abolished. Now, there is no constitutional criteria for the selection or election of a state head.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jun 2010 13:11 #
  46. LiberalKarachi

No, Imran Khan cannot become a PM of Pakistan, all those who think otherwise, need a reality check. I doubt anyone in interior sindh or balochistan even know who is imran khan.

besides he is almost 60 now, couple of years and he will be in the grave...and at the current vote-taking rate he is going, he will have to be at least 600 before he gets to win even a provincial election. His best option is to stick to the army and hope it takes over soon and maybe IK can get a nice ministry

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jun 2010 21:55 #
  47. IK stands for integrity, he has had a tremendous effect on pakistani politics despite and perhaps because of never having held power.
    High office was offered to him by both NS and PM but he declined to join their corrupt shows and is even more outspoken against PPP dirty politics.
    He is uncompromising therefore it is unlikely he will become Prime Minister. I admire him for his principles which rub off on or shame the rest of us.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jun 2010 8:25 #
  48. To become a PM one has to win a seat and also plenty of seats for his own party; can someone tell me which seat Imran will win or his unknown Shadow Cabinet Ministers will win? Just name one seat.
    He gives tickets to rejected ex-members of PML-N and PPP. The reason is his own party members which are in in very small numbers do not have any support anywhere in Pakistn. PTI is a pressure group like Mazdoor Kissan party of Fathyab Ali Khan. what is the difference between PTI and Mazdoor Kissan party?
    I bet no one even knows any PTI members let alone voting them. Due to fear of losing, Imran does not stand as a candidate in any bye elections. He correctly boycotted last general election because he knew his own electoral position so to avoid humiliation he boycotted election. I do not think Imran will ever take part in any election rather he will give tickets to ex-members of different parties and will deprive his loyal members like wantinsaf. Imran should quit politics and focus more on his charity work which I admire. how can Imran become a PM when he does politics as a part time hobby and chanda collection as full time job.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jun 2010 13:09 #
  49. He CANNOT, but I wish he COULD.

I think if ever PTI came into power, that would be because of a coalition government with PMLN, and the sooner IK understands that, the better it would be for him and the country.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jun 2010 13:29 #
  50. But for IK to gain support of the masses, he should immediately stop being apologetic towards taliban.

IK gives a lot of importance to polls, and all polls show that Pakistani's are against America, and IMO he believes that for one to be against America, he has to be a supporter of taliban, so he ends up supporting these taliban terrorists, hoping to gain popularity, while unknowingly his vote-bank continues to shrink. As majority of PAKISTANI's are against both America and taliban.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jun 2010 13:36 #