PKPolitics Discuss » Political Parties

Can MQM Survive without Altaf Hussain???

(124 posts)
  1. Can MQM Survive without Altaf Hussain???

In the past, it was MQM's Slogan that we need, leader not the destination! (Hamey Manzil Nahee balkey Rehnuma cheeye)
    Though very strange Slogan Indeed!!!
    So My Question is, Can MQM exists without Altaf!

If we get rid of Altaf, Will people accept MQM as a national party? WIll more people will support them or nothing will change?

Shauksayat parastee chorna!!! Woh MQM kay leeye???? Jiss party may Sincereity and loyalty is towards their Leader only not towards their goal!

Posted 3 years ago on 02 May 2009 2:42 #
  2. quaidkamazaar

ofcourse it can!!!

however Altaf Hussain is today,
    Karachi mostly regards him for stepping up to the plate and saying things no one else would dare say!
    no one ever had guts in Pakistani politics to speak up against feudalism because politics were feudal based.

Whatever you call him hijra, ****, rapist, or antiPakistani, you cant take that away and that is why he is regarded highly by MQM.

only if some people had the guts to take history as it is instead of calling for another blunder of an operation in Karachi showing no care for people of Karachi.

Posted 3 years ago on 02 May 2009 5:52 #
  3. expakistani

sachi baat yeah ke ager Altaf nhi hoga to MQM main jo Semi-gangs hain kuton ke tarah lar rhey hongey....
    Altaf Hussain ney Munaf Preedy ko unit incharge banya ke bacha hey sudhar jaey ga.... .........well that was a start now gangs within MQM are so strong that sometime political figures such as Farooq sattar cant do much...

MQM really need some internal clean up and need to get rid of land mafia group, Ibrhahim dawod group, Saleem Shahzad and his bhata mafia

Posted 3 years ago on 02 May 2009 8:29 #
  4. altaf husain

MQM operates as a franchise like KFC, Macdonald.... I mean 'naam hi kafi hai'

for KFC, colonel baba doesnt matter ppl buy for his picture so do ppl of karachi will pay bhatha on my name

@khan sahib slogan is changed
    kuch rahay na rahay
    rahay sirf Altaf, Altaf

kuch millay na millay
    millay sirf Altaf, Altaf

Posted 3 years ago on 03 May 2009 1:30 #
  5. Umer Mukhtar

What kind of topic is this ?

Posted 3 years ago on 03 May 2009 8:24 #
  6. Umer Mukhtar

If that has to be the topic. Peoples Party never survived without Benazir Bhutto .. Its Zardari's PARTAYYY now.

Posted 3 years ago on 03 May 2009 8:24 #
  7. i think MQM can easily manage with out Altaf .
    as they have been well trained and now self sufficient in Gunda Gardi,land mafia ,Bhatta Khuri and other skills ....

they are running the show without him for the past many years.

so no harm in hanging or killing the so called RAHNUMA.

Posted 3 years ago on 04 May 2009 5:39 #
  8. quaidkamazaar

since normal people like you BEENAI see no harm in killing Altaf and wouldnt mind doing it,

it gives a perfect reason for him to not come to Pakistan.

now you understand, you answered yourself with your naik thoughts.

Posted 3 years ago on 04 May 2009 5:42 #
  9. @quaidkamazar,
    i am not a polital leader or rival of Altaf .
    but as a common citizen why i feel so?
    and why Altaf is not coming back to Pakistan?

reason is the same.
    he is a killer and terrorist.
    thats why ppl hate him.
    thats why he is afraid of coming back .

Posted 3 years ago on 04 May 2009 7:20 #
  10. khayal

Not to support the heavy handedness of MQM but, in a country where Might is Right, only those parties can survive who can show muscle. The politics of Pakistan is in the hands of land-lords and sardars, or to a small extent industrialist. MQM is a product of this political environment. MQM will automatically disappear or be forced to change if there is a change in the poltical environment outside Karachi,

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/14-caught-in-a-jam-zj-03

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 14:57 #
  11. Adonis

I am amazed at those people who keep on repeating the cabal that MQM was created as a reaction to feudalism and it i sthe only party opposing feudalism.

May I ask, was karachi a feudal city before MQM? How many feudals were ever elected from karachi?

The truth is that MQM just started using the feudalism word when it converted to Muttahida from Muhajir qaumi movement. Most of these guys have never spent much time in rural areas and have absolutely no idea about so called feudals except from what they have seen in TV dramas.

Coming to the topic of the thread, I do not think MQM can survive post Altaf because it is too much rooted in personality worship. Besides Altaf has been very careful to not allow anyone to become too respected or powerful in MQM so that he does not ever face any leadership challange. (As haapened to Azeem Tariq). So there is no one capable of being a successor.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 15:30 #
  12. amin1924

MQM can not survive without establishment's support. Even if altaf is there, MQM can be brought on her knees.

Only political will and good leadership is needed. MQM thugs will not go unpunished inshallah.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 15:57 #
  13. khayal

"May I ask, was karachi a feudal city before MQM? How many feudals were ever elected from karachi"

Karachi wasnt a feudal city and that's why it didnt fit into the polictical fabric. MQM filled that gap. They are the feudals of Karachi.

Altaf Husain doesnt matter. As long as the Pakistani Politics is based on Ghunda Gardi MQM will always have its place.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 16:25 #
  14. Adonis

Feudalism is just a charade.

The only areas in Pakistan where feudals are relatively strong are parts or rural sindh, southern ounjab and some baluch areas of baluchistan. Even in most of these areas it is not like there is one feudal family that holds destiny of everyone in its hold.

There are many competing feudals families and they certainly cannot behave the way iti sgenerally portrayed in TV dramas. Even very rich feudal families have to beg people for votes in elections and can never take their victory for granted.

So it is absurd to say that Pakistani politics are controlled by feudals. However, itis quite true that most of teh successful politicians are relatively rich people as is the case in politics all over the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 16:43 #
  15. khayal

If the politics of Northern Punjab is so free and fair then why hasn't Mr Imran Khan been able to establish his party even in Lahore, the city where he grew up. He is a Punjabi/Pathan but he cant even establish his party in Punjab or NWFP. He has some silent support in Karachi and that's why MQM doesn't want him to come to Karachi.

Feudalism may be a charade but it represents the mindset which wants to ensure the socio-economic segregation through generations.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 17:13 #
  16. quaidkamazaar

feudalism is also when the throne is passed down from BB to Bilawal Bhutto... what fine example of democracy is this PPP? Atleast in MQM, we dont have this family BS business and there is no one family that owns everything.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 17:29 #
  17. But can MQM survive without Altaf Hussain? Is there any leader in MQM who can take his place, than who is he? Or even she?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 18:17 #
  18. shikra

I feel MQM would be much better without Altaf Hussain.
    One positive aspect of MQM is that most of its leadership is from the Middle Class of Pakistan.
    Even Imran Khan acknowledged the presence of educated and knowledgeable persons at the platform of MQM.
    Middle Class could be very dangerous or could be very good to create failure or progress for a new Ideology and change.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 18:29 #
  19. Ok, than from this middle class educated and knowledgeable members of MQM, that most of us would agree upon, Who is the likely candidate, if for example Altaf Hussain declares retirement from politics?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 18:38 #
  20. NNL

Its kinda of Impossible.

Cos MQM is now having the lack of seasoned politicians who can gather public support and also its fighter groups after Altaf.

Its said that atleast with Altaf you have a link to follow and stop the abuse without him Every gali ka gunda will be Altaf and u wont be pretty useless infront of him.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:12 #
  21. Beenai

When it comes to MQM u always loose your temper and resort to lies .
    '
    reason is the same.
    he is a killer and terrorist.
    '
    Would u quote a court verdict regarding that ? There is none.

and allegations can be levelled and in our history have allways been levelled against political leaders.

'
    thats why ppl hate him.
    '
    Yes people do. Whats about people who love him and vote for him and have been voting for him since 1987. R those people second grade citizens to u ? R u superior to those millions who vote for him ?

Bibi, on one side u speak of democracy and rule of law and when it comes to MQM or Altaf you leave all your principles behind and ---.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:18 #
  22. NNL

Most of them would love hang Altaf but wont dare to think of such things about the Ganjas or the corrupt army generals.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:21 #
  23. JJ Khan

U don't remember history.

MQM suffered one of the longest operation at the hands of establishment . Do u deny that ?

Pakistan politics dilema is that its controlled by ARMY and ARMY doesn't want popular leadership. All politicians (barring few nationlist like Achekzai ) in todays pakistan have worked for / with ARMY at one stage or the other but one politicans gets popular support , he becomes unacceptable for ARMY. More famous examples are ZA Bhutto and Nawaz Sharif. Same is true for MQm .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:24 #
  24. Its a dilema of every political party of Pakistan that they revolve against personalities . I can think of only one exception (despite being a staunch Opponent) , tahts Jamat Islami.

Whats

PTI minus Imran Khan
    PLM-N minus Sharifs
    PPP minus Bhuttos
    ANP minus Bacha Khan family (Although Ahsan Wayne is president)
    JUI minus Mufti Mehmood Family ?

So, why to raise this qutestion for MQM only ?

And i don't hold political paties responsible for this. ARMY has never allowed political process to contine and political parties only grow in political process.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:30 #
  25. Adonis

The issue is that all other parties have had a history of succession, even those parties in which the leadership revolved in the same family,

In case of MQM, whose workers chant "manzil nahin quaid chahiye", its anybody's guess what will happen after Altaf, especially when he does not have any apparent family heir to speak of.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:36 #
  26. NNL

I find it better that way
    atleast there is no precedent set up for it. ?

Can the same be said for the rest of the political parties.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 19:38 #
  27. Anonymous

What I fail to understand on this forum is that why the moderators become a party in a situation where two opposing groups of people are giving their views?

How can one moderate honestly, being a party to the disputed issue?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 20:00 #
  28. In Pakistan, politics has been and is a family affair. Nothing to do with the welfare of masses. But the question is Why no one could be thought of as a successor to Altaf Hussain?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 20:02 #
  29. netengr

MQM without Altaf can bring big positive change in Karachi and Pakistan politics .It is very strange that they are in power more then 10 years now but still they want to keep their militancy and gorilla style politics .

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 20:23 #
  30. NNL

Can someone please tell the above poster that He needs to correct his Spelling of the WOrd Mohajir.

If he persists to use his idiotic spelling i will consider this a racial slur and an attempt to humiliate Mohajirs.

Thank you

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Aug 2009 22:01 #
  31. quaidkamazaar

my friends,

MQM can survive without Altaf Hussain, and we know no one can live forever.... one day Altaf Hussain will have to give up his position as party head. one day he has to pass away.

infact, realization will slowly slowly come that MQM can actually function without Altaf Hussain.

the reason Altaf gets so much respect as "bhai" is because MQM really would have been nothing without him!! just like PTI would have been nothing without Imran Khan... so try to understand the emotion behind it.

Who will take his position? there are lots of capable individuals, Ishratulibad is one such person who has everything in him. Mustafa Kamal has fans cheering for him all the time.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 5:02 #
  32. sasherwani

MQM will not survive without Altaf Hussain because it is formed out of ghundaaz from different parts of Karachi united under one umbrella "Altaf Hussain". It can only so happen if Altaf gives his laathi to a trust-worthy individual. Thats "democracy" to you !:)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 6:09 #
  33. quaidkamazaar

sasherwani,

that is so much for ignorance!
    fine, i totally agree with you that MQM has a militia wing.

but its not true that MQM was formed out of ghundaaz, it was a real struggle. now please dont start the cycle of unneccessary MQM debate again in regards to history, who killed who ect... we Karachites including me vote for MQM and bring it to power, thats democracy for you, local city govt is also example of democracy for you sir :)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 6:30 #
  34. bilaljz

A bit off the topic but i don't understand why do we even consider MQM as a political party. It has been declared as a TERRORIST organization by CANADIAN supreme court. I am sure they were not drunk when they decided. We all know Altaf Hussain should be trailed same as Musharraf under free court.

Coming back to the question, can MQM work w/o Altaf Hussain. Ideologically no one wants MQM to be there and work there except for 2% of 175 million population of the pakistan. Structurally next Gunda will be in line to take charge, but is everyone Gunda (mobster) in MQM? w/o altaf one way it will be a collapsed organization, severe opposition will get this party out of way. No one including all these agencies would want another ALTAF HUSSAIN, even the people of karachi. So the answer would be NO.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 6:55 #
  35. bilaljz

no one would want another liability such as altaf hussain on them as MQM is a terrorist organization. So as soon as altaf is gone, it will the end for this terrorist organization

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 6:59 #
  36. NNL

Dream on baby dream on.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 8:04 #
  37. sasherwani

@quaidkamazaar,

Thanks for telling me that you voted for MQM. Good for you. I love Karachi more than you can imagine and I have seen it become a corrupt junkyard in the last 20 years thanks to your MQM. I know you have some born commitment to MQM and even God himself wont change your view on it. But the facts are:

1) MQM considers itself the first "middle-class" party of Pakistan and is proud of it. The fact is, it was made mostly by middle-class ghundaaz and their "baapu", "daada", "bhagwaan" etc is Altaf Hussain!

2) MQM has done some good works in recent times. But I would love to see a complete audit of the monies funded to MQM in the name of "bhattaz", "zakaats", "hafta", "charity" etc. I can bet you not even 25% of the fundw collected actually go to developmental causes. It all goes into the pockets of the "jobless" British Citizen - Altaf Hussain! If you can prove me wrong, ask any of MQM treasurers to publish in the newspaper a complete AUDIT of all charities that MQM gets!

3) Altaf Hussain considers the formation of Pakistan a blunder. Nomatter how much you ppl twist and turn his quote, the fact will never be ignored that a so-called Pakistan (now British citizen) went to India and crapped about the formation of Pakistan. You guys are ok with it. We Pakistanis arent!

4) Yes Mustafa Kamal is a sincere leader. Most of the Pakistanis I know respect him. But MQM is a one-man show run by Altaf Hussain. The day he dies, MQM will broken down into MQM-A, MQM-B all the way to MQM-Z. Noone can keep these ghundaaz united but a ghunda himself - Altaf Hussain.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 9:05 #
  38. NNL

Sashwarani if we can change the Mentality that Moharjirs are Indians then believe you me Mohajirs will step up.

Its a 2 way street bro. there are faults in everyone. Has anyone given a better option to Mohajirs than MQM. Nope

Till something better comes along MQM will be the sole vote bank of Moharjirs.

PPP and PML have to come out of Ethnic based policies and surely change would be seen all around.

Its a 2 way street.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 9:14 #
  39. msohail83

NNL,

bhai jan, what's the reason behind your loyalty to MQM?? Unfortunately, even the very educated ones follow it due to ethnic reasons. That's simply wrong!

This word "Mohajir" is used to stir emotions and you guys blindly follow it. My grandparents migrated from UP and it was okay if they wanted to call themselves "Mohajir", but I'd be offended if my parents who were born in paksitan calling themselves mohajirs and forget about me cuz i simply hate that word.

You guys are isolating urselves from rest of the pakistanis then blame others for that, don't u think? Why not call urself sindhis? People living in Karachi are not the only one who migrated after partition. Tons of ppl settled in rest of the pakistan and never complain, moan, whine about anything, why?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 9:34 #
  40. sasherwani

BTW most of my close friends from Univ of Texas were from Karachi. They too were "raised to be Muhajirs" but they chose to seperate themselves from MQM and this Muhajir-giri. So not all Karachiites think alike. There are MANY who put their country before a chooran-wala.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 9:41 #
  41. msohail83

sasherwani,

True, my point is addressed to those MQM followers who are fascinated by "Mohajirism".

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 9:44 #
  42. NNL

Come and live in Karachi.

The local people dont **** and whine never did till Bhutto arrived at the scene then something changed and it changed massive.

My loyalty to MQM is as much as your loyalty to PML-N.

Speaking from a Personal aspect. My family has seen what the other parties gave us and then MQM came changed a lot of things.

Did i say MQM is Parsa ? no it has its fault but so does everyone else.

See this is the fault you all miss.

Did Mohajir say that they were Mohajirs or was this word imposed upon them. My Grandparents and Parents and my entire family still consider themselves Pakistanis they tell me the concept of MQM or Mohajir wasnt around till Bhutto showed on the scene. The policies adopted should have been changed right after the Constitution was fixed.

If you ask the public they did rather a person amongst them who is living with them and knows their problems instead of having a person who knows **** squat and is still destroying the city.

Now i have point for you

I m ready to move along and leave the camp which you say is based on Linguistic basis. Fine but tell me what are the rest of the people doing to accept us.

I have asked the same question to the people in Hyderabad like can u distinguish between a Mohajir person and sindhi they all say you know what we live fine Half the govt is Sindhi and Half Mohajir every thing works fine but in Karachi things change why ?

Mohajir's Nara was the last one to come out if i m not mistaken. They were always presumed to be Indian agents and what not.

We are ready to leave that crap if you are ready to leave the crap you shed out.

(you is used in collective sense)

Karachi has changed a lot my friends you all need to revisit and hopefully it will change your perception of Karachites and local Mohajir.

Its funny Mohajir were the last linguistic group to create a separate party yet they are the enemy what happened to the rest of them who made similar calls

PPP and Jamaat were in Karachi why the hell didnt they accomadate the Locals into their Party on a massive level. If they had MQM wouldnt have any power or reason to exist. For a party that came into existence in the last 30 or so years what did it do to claim almost every person in karachi ? Why didnt PPP and Jamaat ever reach that level?

Think over it my friends.

Sare pagal nahin hotay kisi ethnic nara ke peechay koi wajha zaroor hoti hai kuch alaag soochnay ki nazar bhi rakhiay.

Duago
    NNL

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:02 #
  43. amin1924

Why are only those in Karachi/hyderabad called mohajirs? Didn't more mohajireen migrate to Punjab?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:08 #
  44. NNL

thats the question that initially really bothered me a lot like why is this section more hated ?

two groups of people coming from one area in Sub-Continent go to 2 different areas of Pakistan.

One assimilates and the other doesnt ?

So whose fault is it ?

the ones coming from the Same province or the people they went to ?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:10 #
  45. NNL

But i have another theory.

Some **** after the Partition couldnt see the Pakistanis united they created policies which led to huge fights. If those policies are changed I believe there is hope for everyone.

Otherwise the blame game shall continue till eternity.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:13 #
  46. msohail83

That was my whole point NNL.

You're guessing too much my friend. I don't have any sympathy for PML-n.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:13 #
  47. amin1924

If one carore migrated to punjab then one carore also migrated from punjab, but if you read modern history you would see how locals welcomed migrants and made sure that property/house left over are given to migrants... that part is overlooked.

In karachi their were mostly incoming...

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:17 #
  48. msohail83

See I was once having a chat with this bazurg in my friend's family who said his father packed their luggage to migrate to Pakistan and then he died, so him being the elder brother took care of all the siblings after they moved to Pakistan.

He used to work as a mechanic in the remote part of sindh and his point was that ppl who settled in Karachi didn't wanna learn sindhi and didn't integrate with them well. In fact, they considered them inferior according to him.

This wasn't the case with those who settled say in Punjab. They assimilated with the punjabis and accepted their culture, language and traits.

That did not happen with ppl in Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:20 #
  49. NNL

believe you me 90% of the Mohajir who are in love with the idea of Mohajirism believe the same viz a viz your whole point.

@JJkhan

So whose fault is it the people who were incoming or the people who were not welcoming.

Oh another point i forgot. Karachi was the capital at that time and 90% of the Civil Servants were from UP aka Mohajirs ( figure might be wrong not sure about it ) So that was another reason for settling in Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:20 #
  50. NNL

Sohail you are saying that People who came from one province in India when separated changed their ways one settled and the other didnt want to settle.

Hmm something weird must have happened while crossing the border.

But wouldnt that be naive to begin with ?

Arey bhai move to current times a major overhaul of policies is needed.

We arent the only ones who were dissatisfied with the establishment.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Aug 2009 10:23 #