Change the Name of this forum to DiscussIslam

(35 posts)
  1. sasherwani

Please change the name of this "previously political" forum to DiscussIslam?

I warned a long time ago that once you provide these self-declared thaykaydaars of Islam too much liberty and "dheel" they will spam the forum with fatwas, self-created hadiths and copy-pasted religious articles.

Most of the politics-savvy people have left this forum and its now full of "why music will kill you", "hommous is haraam" and "Jihad against Brazil or whoever's not muslim-looking" threads.

Great job!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 9:28 #
  2. shahzad1924

so much for "freedom of expression"

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 9:50 #
  3. @sasherwani and Shahzad,
    u have to bear with us .
    we are trying to clean up things and make this better .
    we need the help and support of all members in this mission.

we really dont want to make it Pkreligion .
    as Admin has said it already.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 10:22 #
  4. sasherwani

Shehzad,

Freedom of expression =/= Shouting at a movie theater
    Freedom of expression =/= Spamming forums
    Freedom of expression =/= Dancing infront of a person whose praying
    Freedom of expression =/= Flooding a "political" forum with "nonpolitical" threads

I know you have heard about the concept and importance of "freedom of expression" from the West, but I suggest look into its meaning too? A good librarian might be able to help.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 10:30 #
  5. shikra

Make this forum as LALMASJID.com.
    Then I will decide to participate or quit and go to some other Forums of my choice for a free and healthy discussion.
    Wali Gohar.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 10:47 #
  6. shahzad1924

religious topics were not the problem, this attitude is the problem.

sister, im all in to bear with the moderators but IMHO the way you are approaching the problem is not correct.

many times two people would be having a good discussion and then sasherwani, red scorpion or lota and co. would jump in and ruin the whole discussion. and the next minute, the whole thread is closed. and frankly i dont see the point in closing whole threads. the members posting irrelevant stuff on threads should be stopped. if someone wants to discuss Islam then let them discuss.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 10:48 #
  7. @Shahzad,

@the members posting irrelevant stuff on threads should be stopped.

u can see we are doing that ,what u and many other fellow members want.
    be positive.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 10:55 #
  8. amin1924

Beenai,

I think instead of banning a topic you should simply devise a rules list like:

No abuse of fellow members
    No vulgar
    No irrelevant post
    No abuse of islam
    etc

then test each post to see if needs to be filtered, soon you will see all species will adapt to the environment

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:00 #
  9. Red-Scorpion

@JJ Khan

"No abuse of islam"

We need to have some scholors of Islam as moderator to judge if any 'abuse of islam' has been done :))

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:04 #
  10. shikra

Very Good point.
    "No abuse of islam"
    Who is performing more abuse of Islam?
    There could be 10000 postings just to discuss this thread.
    Wali Gohar.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:09 #
  11. amin1924

shikra & scorpion

Kindly note that it was an example, a suggestion to have rules for posts. I suggested that instead of banning a topic, create rules for posting so that all abide by rules.

Why you two jumped on an example and started panicking?

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:13 #
  12. Red-Scorpion

@JJ Khan

You should have suggested

"no illogical comments against any religion" !!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:15 #
  13. sasherwani

@Shehzad,

I would like you to give me ONE example of when I entered a "political" thread and posted irrelevants messages..(forget closure of a thread because thats just a lie from your part).

@ JJ Khan

Abuse of Islam is a very subjective topic. We might think that your doing it and you might believe that its us doing it.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:18 #
  14. amin1924

Red-Scorpion,

You are one of those back seat students who don't do any work but taunt those who take initiative and do something. I brought an idea with examples and you have started to throw your taunts.

Why don't you bring your own idea, examples and proofs? Last time I asked you for proof and you dumped the whole wiki link!

Moderators you can delete it after lal-bichu reads it!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:18 #
  15. shikra

"DiscussIslam" is not a logical Name.
    Islam is to be accepted without discussion and questioning.
    There is only one option and it is Submission.
    The discussion about Islam might put you in trouble.
    If Imam Masjid of an Islami Masjid gives a Command and a Suicide Jacket to go and kill the Infidels where ever found, I should obey his order without applying my brain and without getting into discussion otherwise I would be an Infidel.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:24 #
  16. Red-Scorpion

@JJ Khan

Why are you getting angry :)))

BTW are you going to attend a short course of Logic :))

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/banning-religion-on-politics-forums-wont-help/page/2#post-67150

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:26 #
  17. No point to argue, pkpolitics discuss forum will remain as it is. Changing names may not have the desired impact you are looking for, but changing mindsets definitely will!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:31 #
  18. amin1924

Red-Scorpion

You can still provide proof from that thread here, I can read it here too. You ran away from providing proof on your blind belief!!!

Please do not cheat or copy/paste encyclopedias or else this thread will also get closed.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:31 #
  19. Red-Scorpion

@JJ Khan

Dude, that thread got closed otherwise we could have further discussed some issues Logically :)
    Wow quoting some excerpts from Wikipedia is cheating :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:35 #
  20. amin1924

Red-Scorpion

Regarding

Wow quoting some excerpts from Wikipedia is cheating :)))

Says who? Again assuming in thin air my dear lal bichu?? ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:39 #
  21. Revivalist

RS,

Islam doesn’t need any scholar to decide weather it abuse or not. Intellectual discourse is different and attacking something using abusive language is different!!! I hope you know what is intellectual discourse and what is abusive language???
    BTW can you please give us an example where you need a scholar to decide weather this is an intellectual point or a simple abuse????

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:42 #
  22. @Red Scorpio and JJkhan,
    u r pushing me towards hitting the CLOSE button for this thread .
    please stop this cross fire ...

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:43 #
  23. amin1924

Beenai,

Sorry. I will leave now.

Thanks-

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:50 #
  24. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

It's not my habit to get personal !
    You may need to look and read the comments to understand what's going on !

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:50 #
  25. amin1924

Plus from now on Red-Scorpion is on my ignore/avoid list.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:55 #
  26. Red-Scorpion

@JJ Khan

Here you are again !
    I thought you were quiting PkPol like Ijay, skyfacts !!

"""JJ Khan
    Beenai,

Sorry. I will leave now.

Thanks-

Posted 7 minutes ago # """

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 11:59 #
  27. @Redscorpio,
    i think he wanna say that he is leaving the thread .

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 12:01 #
  28. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

Ok, I misunderstood him :(

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 12:03 #
  29. tamza2k

Dear all companions,

Don't try to be an intellectual terrorists, here on this forum i am observing nobody is wasting time to put down others. There should be norms before introducing any new topic & whoever is trying to violate the norms should be kick out only from this specific topic. another thing which i wanna suggest is there should be no open suggestion instead create a button of vote having close options of "yes" or "No" indicating above should be the reasons.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 12:14 #
  30. NNL

Atheists feeling the heat as their favorite topics are being closed left right and centre.

First they all used to abuse Islam and its teachings under the guise of discussing religion a few of the people who are well respected here tolerated them or entertained them. then came the people who defended their religion the Atheist started shouting everything. Then one of the intellectual Muslims got elected to a powerful position and started doing the worse thing imaginable. HE STARTED LISTENING TO THE MUSLIMS AND NOT TO THE ATHEISTS THAT IRKS ANY ATHEIST MORE.

Muslims decided to close all religious threads regardless now the Atheist has nothing to do here except discuss solutions for Pakistan which it never had any intention to do so.

Lol issay kehtay hain doodh ka doodh aur pani ka pani.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 14:09 #
  31. amin1924

NNL,

I agree that atheists are more enthusiastic in their own 'dawah' then the common muslims. If we ban this religious discussion the most hurt will be that lot while we can focus on more serious national issues.

Those discussions distract us from real issues and keep us in circular discussions. If you just ignore them, that will give them much more burning! If you respond to them they will be happy, so no response and ban the total topic!

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 14:18 #
  32. shikra

Everyone should come here to unfold what he carries in his bag.
    This would help for the Survival of the Fittest.
    This would help to expose the Myth vs. Reality.
    This would help to magnify the difference between Theory and Practice.
    This would help to expose an object against an allusion.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 14:42 #
  33. netengr

Hisbul tehreer site does not have any Forum in their site just one way information ,That is why its members come here .

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 14:49 #
  34. Anonymous

o bhaiyoo, iss topic pay 500 threads aur posts ho chukee hein. ab peechaa chor doo iss topic kaa and come back to politics. We have no one to blame but ourselves.

Itnay interesting and relevant political threads start hotay hein laikin hardly anyone participates. Even if we participate we say "sab chor hein", "kuch nahi hosakta". This kind of attitude does not help my friends. There is a strong but false feeling of hopelessness. Awam kee taqat ko pehchanoo. Awam kaa sailaab sab ko baha kay lay jaey gaa!!

Please participate in political threads. Here are some of them

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/opposition-role

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/parliament-and-musharraf-case

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/journalists-vs-lawyers

Posted 2 years ago on 12 Aug 2009 14:52 #
  35. shahzad1924

"Hisbul tehreer site does not have any Forum in their site just one way information ,That is why its members come here."

yaar HT ko beech mein kyun lay atay ho. get a life!

and FYI there are close to 20 websites and 10 forums of HT.

Posted 2 years ago on 13 Aug 2009 0:57 #