Congrats to Baboos: Swat is finally FREE!

(61 posts)
  1. Dancing girls of Swat back in business

Everyone is celebrating...
    Dawn:
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/metropolitan/03-dancing-girls-of-swat-back-in-business-ss-01

The Nation:
    http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Entertainment/15-Apr-2010/Dancing-girls-of-Swat-back-in-business

Daily Times:
    http://tinyurl.com/y2ptdh8

Arab Times:
    Pakistan dancing girls of Swat back in business
    http://www.arabtimesonline.com/NewsDetails/tabid/96/smid/414/ArticleID/152420/reftab/36/t/Pakistan-dancing-girls-of-Swat-back-in-business--/Default.aspx

But what is most interesting is why is this "victory" being celebrated once again? Does our army need "morale" build-up? Wasn't it six months ago the very same headlines flashed across the papers...
    Pakistan's dancing girls return after Taliban defeated in Swat Valley
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/pakistan/6031126/Pakistans-dancing-girls-return-after-Taliban-defeated-in-Swat-Valley.html
    Interestingly this was on 14 Aug 2009, Pakistan Day.

"Pakistan ka matlab kiya? Lahol Wala, Lahol Wala?"
    :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:08 #
  2. so they have based their victory in swat on the return of dancing girls there?

lol@"Pakistan ka matlab kiya? Lahol Wala, Lahol Wala!!" :|

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:15 #
  3. Last lines from the Daily Times story I am going to paste here:

"There are 10 to 12 dancing girls in this street. Strangers are not allowed to come here. “You can only come through a reference[Read:P!mp],” says Shabana.

Even her true identity is doubtful. She uses the same name as her murdered cousin. ““People just look at our flesh, they don’t care about our names,” she said softly, by way of explanation.

Thank you Samar Minallah! Thank you for your great success as a Human Rights Activist! The girls of Swat thank you!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:28 #
  4. arghh

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:32 #
  5. If the dancing girls perform something immoral or illegal, the incident should be reported to the Law Agencies for taking action according to the Law of Land'.

A complaint could be lodged to the Court of Law.

No person has any right to kill them and should behave as self-declared Custodian of Law.

"One of Swat's Taliban leaders later broadcast a radio message saying the girls would be killed one by one if they did not stop their "immoral shows".

After such statements, they have no logic to cry against Drone Attacks, what are conducted with the same argument.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:43 #
  6. what about the civilians and commoners who die in these drone attacks? u r comparing these dancing girls with ordinary living ppl? when these drone attacks are carried out by outsiders on our soil...what a logic

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 13:52 #
  7. People object:
    (i) That Drone Attacks are conducted without the approval and sanction of the Pakistan Government.

(ii) The Killing of Dancing Girls is also conducted without the approval and sanction of Pakistan Government.

Both actions are conducted under the cover of eradicating
    the evil.

I guess now, it might help you to find the logic.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 14:20 #
  8. aftab arif

@ Javed Sheikh

In principle that is right but who follow's law in Pakistan... when most of the public representatives are breaking law themselves and getting away with it on a daily basis.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 14:23 #
  9. This is good news, people of Swat are now free; now people of Swat can do what they want. Taliban made their lives miserable but now thanks to Pakistan Army for their vicotry against taliban criminals. No one should challenge the writ of State of Pakistan or face the wrath of Govt force and public anger.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 14:39 #
  10. zia m

Freedom may bring some vices with it but slavery of Theocracy is void of any virtues.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 15:28 #
  11. Shock

Looks like Nota has never went to a wedding party. If they are doing something immoral, it should be reported to a government. This does not mean that we should start making excuses for the taliban.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 15:36 #
  12. @Shock
    "Looks like Nota has never went to a wedding party."

I am afraid I haven't been to that kind of a wedding party. Are you suggesting wedding parties you go to have girls you pay to have sex with??

Now that is Shock-ing...

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 16:14 #
  13. All dancing girls are not prostitutes.
    The discussion is about normalcy returning to Swat.

All sort of business including cultural activities are back into the market, what should be appreciated as a positive development.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 16:35 #
  14. Wahid Doyum

"Freedom may bring some vices with it but slavery of Theocracy is void of any virtues. "

Wise words from Zia M, that people like Nota will not and cannot understand. Swati culture is a little different from other Pukhtuns, and no Taliban endorsed by Nota or Munawar or whoever can finish it by force.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 16:47 #
  15. yahya

Dancing girls are fine in Lahore but not in Swat? Isn't it the same country? Let's implement Taliban shariat in Lahore as there are too many dancing girls there and the shahi mohallah too.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 16:55 #
  16. Swat has been a great tourist attraction but due to Taliban atrocities tourism industry was all but destroyed. I hope once again Swat will become a great tourist point for people. Both Federal and State Govt should immediately announce incentives to boost local tourism industry and attract people to visit Swat.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 17:03 #
  17. shriq

Your love for Lahore....

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 17:16 #
  18. Shock

"I am afraid I haven't been to that kind of a wedding party. Are you suggesting wedding parties you go to have girls you pay to have sex with??

Now that is Shock-ing... "

I thought you were talking about dancing girls. Sorry, since you are an expert on sex, and women, why don't you tell me the difference between dancing girls and prostitutes?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 18:39 #
  19. achtung

bhai logo. yeh bohat achhi baat hy keh swat ko pak fouj ney jangli janwaroon sey pak kar kay pur-aman ilaqa bana diya hy. iss per swat kay awam yaqinan khush hein aur jab insan khush hota hy to wo iss ka izhar kaee tareeqoon sey karta hy jis mein nachna bhi shamil hy.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 19:04 #
  20. tamaazkhan

What do you prefer:

Dancing Girls or Beheadings?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 19:50 #
  21. @tamaazkhan
    "What do you prefer:
    Dancing Girls or Beheadings?"

Spanking :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 20:05 #
  22. tamaazkhan

HAHAHAHA!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Apr 2010 20:25 #
  23. Wahid Doyum

What was the point of this topic? To point out a small societal wrong that the minority are affected by to justify a greater societal wrong (taliban barbaric rule) that majority were affected by?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 1:51 #
  24. Shock

@Wahid Doyum

What is wrong with girls dancing?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 5:06 #
  25. expakistani

if dancing girlz are doing some kind of khatak dance or any kind of " aza ke shahire" its OK but how involvement in prostitution ????

i think only such dancers should be allowed under Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 8:29 #
  26. azipashtoon

all

Can some body explain me why ur Army is getting dollars from america on innocent Pashtoon blood , why my PAshtoon houses are buldoses , why kids and women are killed.. why they have to register in karachi and their not alowed to go to school in karachi ..

wat kind of muslim ur and then you will sit and discuss other people .

i ll never ever forgive pakistan for that !!! shame on PAshtoons who live in pakistan and call themselves pakistani

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 8:50 #
  27. Azipashtoon
    Due to your spamming of threads with your hate based comments you have been blocked.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 11:26 #
  28. Anonymous

Dancing girls are all over Pakistan and they were also their in Pakistan during Gen.Zia and Co. so did they ever thought about stopping this???now when things are becoming more and more then all of you are shouting on that....

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Apr 2010 11:36 #
  29. This is wrong the dancing girls are back.
    Only the dancing boys in afghanistan are Right. That is ok but when girls dance tab zalzala ajata haie. Tauba tauba. damn baboos. Young boys ka kaam girls nahie karsaktie. Ufffff.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:16 #
  30. LalBichoo

Great nota-nki (Talibani) song !!!!

Enjoy !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:21 #
  31. LiberalKarachi

Goes to show you cant change people by force...the "pious" and "holy" reign of taliban did not achieve anything, except a mirage of holiness for talibans, the people of Swat are as they were before. This should be a lesson for Talibans and all those apparently bringing an "Islamic Revolution" (by force).

If Mujras are ok in Lahore then they should be ok in Swat too.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 23:29 #
  32. Wahid Doyum

They want to teach Pukhtuns about Islam. Instead they should start from Lahore. But they won't, because this is less about Islam, more about power and politics.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 1:02 #
  33. rashidsaleem

This is good news. Finally life is returning to swat after years of violence. Dancing has always been in our culture even before the separation of Indo-Pak separation. It’s nothing more than just a channel to celebrate our joys. Although radicals called it an assault on their so called “ISLAMIC VALUES”, it was nothing like that. People always need channels to express themselves. The dancing girls of Swat are back and back with a bang.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 11:12 #
  34. ammarisb

I fail to comprehend what is the logic here? So what if the dancing girls are back in Sawat? Are these girls killing innocent civilians? Are they flogging women? Are the bombing schools? Are the beheading people in the Chowk?

I don’t think so! The dancing girls are no evil sir! The perversion lies in your head.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 14:31 #
  35. @ammarisb
    Sorry to have offended you...I didn't know you'd take it so personally...(But then you had too! ;-) :-P

@lota6177
    Please stop sharing family videos. Now that is "perversion", I don't care what @ammarisb thinks...(BTW: Samar doesn't mind these, does she?) :-P :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Apr 2010 20:27 #
  36. Wahid Doyum

Once again someone please remind me, what will the Lahoris teach us Pukhtuns about Islam we already don't know and have tried many times to teach Lahoris about but failed.

Start from your heera mandi before throwing stones at others.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 5:23 #
  37. @nota
    I hope this does not bring back any repressed memories.
    http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/pages/frontline/dancingboys/?utm_campaign=homepage&utm_medium=bigimage&utm_source=bigimage

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 10:27 #
  38. It is very encouraging to learn where the culture and agriculture of the soil, is getting back to normal.

A desire to fulfill the urge of love is much better than bloodshed.
    Such activities could be accommodated as lesser evil.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 11:18 #
  39. SufiSoul

Looking and enjoying at other's dancing daughters and quoting it as,

EN-COURAGING is very easy..

BUT i think when it will come to our DAUGHTERS to allow them DANCING in the streets/Stage will be very difficult to ABSORB....
    We Pakistanis always enjoy others in the streets and spend money to missguide others for the sake of enjoyment...

I was reading through the founder of porn industry in USA interview,which was a jew.
    He was questioned what would you think if your daughter seeks permission to join your PORN industry????

His face get's red and for long time he kept silent and than responded in a confused way,
    NO NO NEVER NEVER,i would like my daughter to be part of porn Industry.....
    Where we Pakistanis stand???
    Still it would be encouraging for us if these girls are replaced by our daughters??????????

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 11:54 #
  40. achtung

jo log jang-o-jadal, deshad gardi kay qail hoo unko aman-o-aman, khush-hali raas nahee aati.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 12:02 #
  41. Cultural activities are promoted and performed according to one's choice and should not be enforced.

The choice of profession is a personal preference.

Everyone out of the same family cannot be forced to perform the act of suicide bomber.

It is up to the promoters and performers to reach a compromise for settling the limits of performance.

Locally accepted and endorsed cultural activities should not be mixed up with immoral and illegal functions.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 12:16 #
  42. SufiSoul

I am just going through again and again the beautifull COVERS around the iMMORAL,

1.Cultural Activities
    2.One's choice
    3.Profession
    4.Performers
    5.Promoters
    6.Locally Accepted
    7.Endorsed Culture

Kia apny aap ko dhuka dy ker humy mut-ma-in ho jana chahiye k hum ny sub ko dhoka de diya hy??????????
    Kab tak hum apny app ko dhuka daithy rahin gy?????Khoobsoorat alfaaz k jhumghaty my........

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 12:37 #
  43. @lota6177
    I said "Enough!" with you family pics and videos. Please keep your personal life out of this public forum...
    :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 12:39 #
  44. Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 12:46 #
  45. SufiSoul

Great.

Laikin jin k aqal pe pardy parh chukain hon wo tho paisy k liye sub kuch kerthy hain...
    Un k brought up hi paisa based hui hy....

Aqal k andhon ko kon samjhaye......

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 13:03 #
  46. The writer condemns and criticizes the production of video but supports and justifies the cruel action of flogging.

The debate was about the sanction behind the execution of punishment, even if it is according to Islam.

Forget about the validity of so many videos at the Internet and Media exposing the brutality of both sides.

The issue is about the competency of the authority to take a punitive action.
    Any immoral activity should be reported to the State Authority and only the Law Enforcing Agencies should take the proper action.
    No one should attempt to create a State within a State.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 13:20 #
  47. SufiSoul

We are living among our PAID BROTHERS against muslims, Islam,and Pakistan...

Cuz they always come up with illogical comments around.This shows only performance of duties by writing comments.no matter if Illogical...

Their strategy here is never,to be on any discussion forum and discuss issues with logics and proper ground analysis..
    By default they always come up with Anti-Islam and Anti-Pakistan agenda..
    No one can claim from any of their post,ever they appreciated any of our local culture,local religous ideology..

BUT they always come up with illogical comments covered by some beatutifull words...

During our last conversation they kicked their previous ideology and claim that secularism provides oppertunities to every religion to FLOURISH..

BUT on HIJAB matter in france they cannot prove the reality behind the secularism that it gives safety to all your religious needs........

AN AMERICAN SAID IN PAST IN FRONT OF A COURT THAT A PAKISTANI CAN SELL THEIR MOTHERS FOR DOLLARS..
    I dont know what type of Pakistanis are representing Pakistan in USA.........

I think we have such Pakistanis their can do every thing for Dollars...........

SHARM UNKO KO MAGAR NAHI ATHI...............

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 15:17 #
  48. @javedsheikh
    "The writer condemns and criticizes the production of video but supports and justifies the cruel action of flogging."

Completely WRONG!

I condemn the murder of thousands in Swat and FATA, etc.
    I condemn the turning of over 500,000 into refugees (can you imagine how many girls from Swat have been abused/raped in IDP camps and cities? Can you imagine how many have been forced to turn into "dancing girls"? Can you imagine how many have been orphaned and the life of abuse they face?)
    I condemn all those who justify all that on the basis of that stupid video.

I have NO QUALMS about adding: Let a hundred -- OK, thousand -- girls be flogged if the 'solution' for stopping it is what we've seen.

Nor do I have any qualms about saying I do admire Syed Munawar Hasan for not taking the bait and exposing the screwed up morality of the likes of you and our press:
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/19a-resident-pir-at-the-presidency-140-hh-06

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 18:35 #
  49. @javedsheikh
    "The writer condemns and criticizes the production of video but supports and justifies the cruel action of flogging."

Completely WRONG!

I condemn the murder of thousands in Swat and FATA, etc.
    I condemn the turning of over 500,000 into refugees (can you imagine how many girls from Swat have been abused/raped in IDP camps and cities? Can you imagine how many have been forced to turn into "dancing girls"? Can you imagine how many have been orphaned and the life of abuse they face?)
    I condemn all those who justify all that on the basis of that stupid video.

I have NO QUALMS about adding: Let a hundred -- OK, thousand -- girls be flogged if the 'solution' for stopping it is what we've seen.

Nor do I have any qualms about saying I do admire Syed Munawar Hasan for not taking the bait one day one and exposing the screwed up morality of the likes of you and our press right there:

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 18:49 #
  50. Run, dancing girls, RUN!!!

Target Killings Rekindle Taliban Fear In Pakistan's Swat
    http://www.nytimes.com/reuters/2010/04/23/world/international-uk-pakistan-swat.html

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Apr 2010 18:52 #