Defiant Afaq hits out at MQM

(19 posts)
  1. asif86

http://tribune.com.pk/story/309621/defiant-afaq-hits-out-at-mqm/

By Shaheryar Mirza
    Published: December 21, 2011

KARACHI:
    The chairman of the Mohajir Qaumi Movement (MQM-H), Afaq Ahmed, has been a free man for only three days but he already fears that he can be sent back to jail. As a result, he has come out swinging against the self-exiled leader of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Altaf Hussain, to try to prevent this.

“Altaf Hussain thought it was more important to keep [me] behind bars than it was to take care of his people, and Musharraf allied with the MQM for personal gain,” said Afaq at a press conference at his home in Landhi on Tuesday. “We had hoped for justice when a democratic government came to power but once again we saw the same self-serving political alliances.”

Afaq said that the same people who wanted to keep him in prison would also attempt to line up more fake cases against him, as he claimed they did while he was in jail. They want to prevent him from doing political work.

“Karachi will become like Vietnam or Rwanda if law and order and de-weaponisation is not implemented in the city,” he said. “When the state stops providing security, people take it into their own hands and it turns into the law of the jungle.”

While he said that peace and de-weaponisation was on his political agenda, he fell short of giving any concrete details of how he intended to achieve this.

The MQM-H chief stressed that the party’s basic ideology hasn’t changed and that it aims to represent and protect the Mohajir community’s interests. They don’t want a separate Mohajir province but did want “administrative units in urban Sindh to be revised”.

He mocked the MQM for what he said was using the ethnic card only when it suited it. “They first buried the word Mohajir but now they are playing politics by [riding on the word] Mohajir when it suits them,” he said referring to the feud between Zulfiqar Mirza and the MQM. The party had released a CD titled “The Genocide of Mohajirs” at the time.

Afaq said he intends to take his time and methodically rebuild the party. For starters, a visit to Mazar-e-Quaid is planned for December 23. But it seems as if Afaq has his work cut out. He will have to play catch-up in his own neighbourhood, for example, where MQM flags and Altaf Hussain graffiti adorn the walls nearly up to his doorstep. For whatever is worth, Afaq seems defiant. “I am not one to run from my problems or to run from this country when the going gets tough. I am ready to put my life on the line.”

Posted 5 months ago on 21 Dec 2011 22:13 #
  2. jabalultariq

I don't think he is a saint either BUT as they say "enemy of my enemy is my friend" PTI or HAQIQI anyone who will neutralize MQM is welcome. Feel free to browse this link as we tend to have short memories

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=5242&Cat=13&dt=4/12/2011

Posted 5 months ago on 21 Dec 2011 23:03 #
  3. Sharif Aadmi

Going by same principle then Indian army is our friend as its opponent to Pakistan masses enemy i.e. BAHDUR FAUJ .

right ?

[Kindly stick to the topic being discussed:Moderator]

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 0:51 #
  4. jabalultariq

looks like I pushed a button here.....NO , that's your opinion and go hug a hindu soldier if that's what you're yearning for...I indeed have deep respect for Pakistan Army , off course there are reservations as well.....our Army is part of the same Pakistan whose mazdoor -> President every one breaks the law , so did the army. Our soldiers and officers have fought bravely....I personally know officers who embraced shahadat in 65 and 71 war. Although I am not fauji, but I have been to battle fronts in '71....and NO fauji are not paid to be bahadur only to fight......and when hindu lala will be almost up your a** next time , who is going to save you ? or altleast will try to save you ? I am not here to convince you......but your hatred for Army has some deeper reasons....other Army is not all bad....or all good...

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 2:26 #
  5. expakistani

Those who have work or seen MQM since 1985 know that Afaq Ahmed is not saint... neither do MQM H or Altaf group.
    But i must give credit to Afaq Ahmed for his stand... he didnt leave Pakistan in 8 yrs despite several attempt were made.
    He is one Mad GADFI...either would end up like Gadfi or gona kill MQM-A.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 2:29 #
  6. Sharif Aadmi

jabalultariq

If u were in East Pakistan in 1971, then u should be eye-witness to barbaric acts of BAHDUR FAUJ. If u still defend them , then thats your stance.

And about saving from hindu lala, for your kind information , india has never attacked pakistan but its BAHDUR FAUJ who has killed, raped and violated the constition multiple times.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 2:36 #
  7. jabalultariq

I know eye witness accounts from East Pakistan , our Army did many wrongs there , but that was in the cities where (like MQM) they were facing Mukti Bahni...do you know those stories ? or have you done any digging in that area once your "obsession" fades from the army :-)

My friend....even Australia is concerned about India's supermacy...you think India was selling "makhanay" in SriLanka, Sikkam and even Bangladesh lately.....why it doesnt have friendly borders ?

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 2:43 #
  8. Sharif Aadmi

JT,

Plesae raad Hamood ur rehman commission report , Gen. Mitha biography and other independent sources to get some knowledge of misdeeds of BAHDUR FAUJ.

For your kind info, there was no Mukti Bahni before the army action of March 25, 1971. When war was imposed instead of transfering power to BLOODY CIVLIANS ,then freedom fighters lined up and made the BAHDUR FAUJ eat their own ****.

u wrote
    .and NO fauji are not paid to be bahadur only to fight..

Then why their paid ? To rape our daughters and sisters and kill our brothers. That could be your choice mate.

.I indeed have deep respect for Pakistan Army ,
    I have same amount of respect which they have for the an ordinary civilian and same what they have for the constituion and same what they have got for the elected reps of masses.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 3:20 #
  9. jabalultariq

HRC report was fudged by Bhutto. Offcourse , history is written by the winner....

Actually Mukti Bahini and Bengal Regiment personnel raped the Bihari and west Pakistani women killed about 800,000/ to 1,000,000/ innocent Biharis and West Pakistanis in East Pakistan in 1971. After the 16th of December 1971 Bangladeshis showed the dead bodies and graves of these innocent Biharis and Pakistanis as bengali people killed by the Pakistan army.

So actually YOUR so called brothers RAPED our mothers and sisters.

Take a queue from Bangladesh army's recent mutiny , how barbaric both sides were

Read un-biased history

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 4:36 #
  10. Sharif Aadmi

JT,

I have read unbiased history .

U tell me taht was their any violence in East Pakistan before BAHDUR FAUJ refusal to transfer of power ? and the army aciton in March 71?

If u don't know what happend on the night of 25 Mar, 71 in the dhaka uni then u definately need to read history.

Also please read books written by a few UNIFORMEd ANGELS like Brid. Siddiq Salik and Gen.Mittha. That should be eye-opener for u.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 5:02 #
  11. karim

Just to refresh the memory of all indian apologists and the defeatist minds who believe that Mukti Bahini was a charity organization and there was no violence or indian conspiracy before 25th March 1971 in the East Paistan.

As regards the separation of East Pakistan, Indian RAW had unleashed a well-organized plan of psychological warfare, creation of polarisation among the armed forces, propaganda by false allegations against West Pakistan, creation of differences between the political parties and religious sects of East and West Pakistan, control of media, manipulating linguistic, political and econmic disputes in order to keep maligned the Bengalis against Islamabad.

There is no doubt that one can note political, economic and social disparities almost in every Third World country. India itself contians these disparities on larger scale. In seven states of India, separatist movements are at work. But New Delhi which has not recognized the existence of Pakistan since partition, left no stone unturned in planting and exploiting differences between the people of East and West Pakistan.

RAW has a long history of sinister activities in the East Pakistan, backing secular areas of Hindu minority who had played an important role in motivating Bengali Muslims against West Pakistan. RAW’s well-paid agents had activated themselves in East Pakistan in the 1960’s so as to dismember Pakistan. For this aim, it took the responsibility of funding Mujib-ur-Rehmans’ general elections in 1970 and the members of the Awami Party. It colluded with the pro-Indian persons and had paid full attention in training and arming the Mukti Bahnis. RAW, playing with the bloodshed of the Muslims, succeded in initiating a civil war in East Pakistan. Meanwhile, India welcomed the refugees from East Pakistan, providing them with every facility to provocate them against West Pakistn.

However, huge quantity of arms started entering East Pakisan along with the guidline of Indian army and RAW. In this connection, Asoka Raina in his book, ‘Inside RAW: The Story of India’s Secret Service’, reveals, “Indian intelligence agencies were involved in erstwhile East Pakistan…its operatives were in touch with Sheikh Mujib as the possible ‘Father’ of a new nation-Bangladesh, who went to Agartala in 1965. The famous Agartala case was unearthed in 1967. In fact, the main purpose of raising RAW in 1968 was to organise covert operations in Bangladesh. Indian army officers and RAW officials used Bengali refugees to set up Mukti Bahini. Using this outfit as a cover, Indian military sneaked deep into East Pakistan. The story of Mukti Bahini and RAW’s role in its creation and training is now well-known.”

Asoka further explained, “Indian sources including journalists have put on record how much RAW had established the network of a separatist movement through ‘cells’ within East Pakistan and military training camps in Indian territory adjoining East Pakistan…carring out acts of sabotage against communication lines so that Indian forces simply marched in at the ‘right’ time. RAW agents provided valuable information as well as acting as an advance guard for conducting unconventional guerrilla acts against the Pakistani defence forces.”

Nevertheless, India had played a key role in the debacle of Dhaka, which culminated in dismemberment of Pakistan. Even at present, Indian RAW which has been implementing Indian hidden agenda against other countries such as China, Nepal, Sri Lanka and Bhutan in order to maintain Indian dominace in the region has made Pakistanan—a special target to disintegrate or weaken it.

Posted 5 months ago on 22 Dec 2011 5:58 #
  12. bsobaid

Kal mein nay khwaab mein dekha kay aafaq ahmed apnay dost kay saath oss kay banglay kee roof pay gun se nishanay baazi aur shikaar kartay hoey roof se zameen pay girr gaya aur moqay pay hee......
    Logoone shakk zaahir kia kay yeh oss kay dost kee karastaani hai.

Somehow oss kay girnay kee video clip bhi youtube pay aagaee. Video zameen se banaee gaee thee.

Wierd.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 4:20 #
  13. quaidkamazaar

yaar reality is that Afaq failed miserably!

he wanted to keep "Muttahida" as "mahajir" qaumi movement and was vouching for independence.... this was not something Altaf Bhai was accepting. infact, haqiqi quite openly took side of the establishment during operation. truth is clear if you care to find out reality of ground.
    due to these reasons, Afaq has 0% support today in Khi and is supporting lunatics like zulfiqar mirza who is himself against mahajirs qaum.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 17:51 #
  14. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@QKM
    He is a sold out. He has no qualification or political wisdom to do politics let alone manage a party. Whatever support he has is from the establishment especially ISI and Rangers as he used to hold ranks in heydays as major in bloodthirsty Sindh Rangers.

Look at his statements, there is no coherence or clarity of a plan. Whatever half-arse statement ISPR supplies, he feed it to media. The guy is clearly out of his whack. Establishment let him off the cage to keep MQM occupied and not letting MQM focusing on growth and key issues. As Zardari's demise is closer and ANP is occupied with danger in its Karachi backyards, Establishment has no other choice but to have him out there. Another scenario is he has also become liability to Establishment as he underperformed in all his tasks since 90s, now nobody takes him seriously so it is time for him to go.

Posted 3 months ago on 27 Jan 2012 0:48 #
  15. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Reviewing comments from PTI payrollees makes me smile. They are just posting the crap because their saviour Imran and Zulfo Mirza couldn't be able to deliver what they claimed to do. Feels like bunch of losers huh mate:) Don't worry you all burgers kids will always be losers.
    Irony is these burger kids talks big against hereditary politics but they are part of that 2% rich class that is ruling forever Pakistan and now under the disguise of inqalabees they are trying to get inherit the power.

Posted 3 months ago on 27 Jan 2012 0:57 #
  16. Hussain Farooqui

Heavy intervention in our political affairs by local and foreign agencies is an undeniable fact. Most of our politicians are agents or mere puppets in the hands of local and foreign agencies.

Posted 3 months ago on 28 Jan 2012 5:54 #
  17. zingaro

QKM and RQK .. The people who control Altaf Hussein are the ones who also liberated Afaq now. You may live in the world of dreams but facts are facts. Now Afaq will also live in Karachi. He will not take any "panga" with the big DON. But he is allowed to carry on his "donations" from his influenced area, as the big DON is carrying. Whether somebody goes to court or not, but you, me and everyone here knows that all the mafias have divided Karachi as per their might. They take "donations" on regular basis and don't let others to do same in their area. But most vulnerable position is of those who live in areas where more than party has influence. So the poor victims have to pay "donation" to MQM, Haqiqi, ANP all.

Unfortunate but true. Yet our fellows defend their mafia parties.

Posted 3 months ago on 28 Jan 2012 8:58 #
  18. Hussain Farooqui

Combined gooda gardi of PPP, MQM and ANP forced the businessmen of Karachi to directly approach Gen. Kiyani for rescue. Gen. Kiyani then took rangers under his direct control to rescue the businessmen of Karachi.

Posted 3 months ago on 28 Jan 2012 9:10 #
  19. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@Zinga
    At least my dream is based on reality and facts unlike PTI followers' dream that their verbal shiit will stick to the wall. Sorry mate, you will not get it until a kick in the chiclets.

As for Afaq, controlling only people in his lane is all he can do. He never had the support and he will never have the support. This crook has blood on his hands of 15000+ people. It is a reality.

Posted 3 months ago on 28 Jan 2012 20:15 #