PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Distrurbing facts on child abuse in our society

(33 posts)
  1. kq

95% truckers ‘indulge in sex with helpers’

This is really shocking. It looks like londaybaazi is a way of life for our people associated in the transport business. And probably the worst thing is, no one really cares what happens to those children.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=224957

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 2:59 #
  2. expakistani

i hope this articale is also published in urdu news papers/magzine... being gay or homosexual is one thing and exploiting innocent kids is crime...
    NGOs and Govt should work together and bring some awareness process.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 4:22 #
  3. toamin

article is fine but maligning pushtoon ethnicity is something that raises question on the motives of this NGO-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 4:24 #
  4. Dawn TV some months ago covered this topic extensively. I agree with Salam. It is an attempt to malign pushtoons while this disease is widespread at an international level.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 7:13 #
  5. kq

I don't see any maligning of Pashtoons. They presented their research, in which 45% children were Pashtoons. 95% of children being abused means children of all ethnicities being abused, not only Pathans.

Some people want to see a conspiracy in everything, instead of accepting the problem.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 7:43 #
  6. expakistani

Pashtoon to sarey Taliban or Allah Waley hotey hain un ka
    patangbazi se kia kaam :():

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 7:52 #
  7. hkbajwa

@ Salam & Shaheen

Are you guys serious? Maligning pushtuns?? In the article the NGO rep even says that it IS an international problem.

And btw the numbers quoted about the various ehtnicitites had nothing to do with apportioning blame.

It simply happens to be that there are more pushtuns in the transport inudstry than other ethnicities. How the heck is that "maligning"??? It's just a bloody number.

The real story here is that commercial sex with children is a booming business in Pakistan. In fact it tends to be a booming business anywhere in the world where sexuality is a taboo and legislated. On account of the nature of their job (not their damn ethnicity) transporters have a higher incidence of such exploitation.

To dismiss the severity of this situation by terming it an attack on an ethnicity you are basically turning a child protection issue into an ethnic issue. It is because of this lack of focus on the problem that children in our country wind up being the losers.

Are any of you aware of the truly staggering amount of child abuse that takes place in our country??

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 7:54 #
  8. toamin

kq,

what conspiracy? i am talking about NGO's study and results shared in a particular format with a particular message-

NGO's report & motive is questionable because it presents it study as "in this child abuse crime most predominant ethnic group is Pashtun"

this report asserts that "most predominant child abusers are pashtoons" there is something known as cultural sensitivity, prejudice and stereotype and i find this foreign NGO maligning pashtuns through this work, there was no need to do that-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 8:37 #
  9. zingaro

Everyone who is in involved in child molestation or sodomy must be hanged till death. Any kind of %ages whether the culprits belong to pushtoon or punjabi or sindhi are worthless. The main task should be to award capital punishment for such crime. It is something more sinful than zina.

There must not be any excuse for such people violating the orders of Allah and teachings of His Prophet (PBUH).

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 8:56 #
  10. toamin

I agree, a crime is a crime and is punishable by law-

no need to associate a crime with ethnicity or profession or religion.

Foreign propaganda NGO says something like- 95% truckers are criminals, since 95% of truckers are pashtuns hence 95% pashtun are immoral criminals-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:12 #
  11. kq

salam,

I think hkbajwa has given a very good response to your paranoia. Go through it. I'll also add some words.

Its common knowledge that most of the transport business is owned and run by Pathans. It is for this simple reason that the research indicates a preponderance of Pashtuns in their study. The research simply states its findings. I don't know why you are so offended that if Pathans were the largest ethnicity, it just reflects reality.
    If you read the article it clearly states that 95% of the child helpers are abused, it doesn't say 95% of Pathans children were abused or were the abusers. To have a near 100% abuse rate, simple logic and available data tells us that all ethnicities must be indulging in this practice. I hope you know how do to simple maths.

Can you give any reference for your outlandish and conspiracy driven claim that the NGO which did the research, Sahil is a foreign NGO. As far as i know it is a Pakistani NGO.

Can you answer one question please, and i don't mean any offense. Are you a Pashtun?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:18 #
  12. Anonymous

""95% truckers ‘indulge in sex with helpers’""

this sentence is indicating some kind of Pashtun bashing because pashtuns have monopoly in total transportation through trucks but on the other hand we have to accept that this problem with transport business even in India Sardarji are facing same problem so we should look at the cause of this problem instead of pointing out effects of this problem but any way article was pointing out right problem of our society due to working conditions...

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:19 #
  13. toamin

kq,

i guess you've failed to read similar response from majority of the members, you don't want to accept the reality, fine, i am not interested in cyclic arguments with you-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:21 #
  14. @all
    Offtopic comments or comments of personal nature will be removed.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:29 #
  15. Anonymous

@Salam

You should also look things through the angle of research instead of pointing sensitive part because first rule of research is being unbiased....This is based on finding and I think their is nothing wrong with ethnicity but their is something wrong with the work and working condition which is causing this problem and it should be addressed because this would cause a lot of problems in the future....

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:31 #
  16. kq

semirza,

I am not getting personal. I mean no offense, really.

salam,

I just want to understand where's your viewpoint coming from, and a possible source for it. Please answer the question, i don't mean disrespect, and i won't get into cyclical discussion. Are you a Pashtun?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:34 #
  17. hkbajwa

@ Salam

You are seeing a conspiracy where none exists.. Anyhow it gives you ample opportunity to disregard a very telling and very disturbing statistic.

Incidentally the report speaks only of the ethnicity percentage of helpers i.e victims, not of the perpetrators.

If 45 % of the people in the transport industry are pushtoon, then that means that 45% of the VICTIMS are pushtoon. How does that single out pushtoons in any ways.

Your obsession with foreign propoganda is completely unfounded. Any statistic in Pakistan will corroborate the findings and just because the ethnicity of perpetrators AND VICTIMS is mentioned does not invalidate the findings.

Child sexual abuse in pakistan is at staggering levels. it is estimated that as many as 1 in 3 children in Pakistan have experienced attempted sexual abuse. This happens from the poorest to the most affluent neighborhoods, so it is not a statistic monopolised by any ethnic or socio-economic group.

Child sexual abuse is usually more prevalent in those societies where sexuality is legislated and there exists a cultural and religious taboo around the entire topic. In places like these the natural urges of people (consensual sex with the opposite gender) are bottled up and denied. When the same people are bombarded with sexual imagery and innuendo through all forms of media their minds wind up twisted.

Did you know that Pakistan has the highest incidence of pornographic searches on the internet per capita IN THE WORLD?

The point is that since all sexuality is swept under the communal rug and all references to sex as a positive experience is denied or silenced, young and old people alike wind up with twisted sexual appetites and habits.

Is it any wonder that rape and sexual abuse statistics are much MUCH better in those countries where sexuality is NOT legislated. With open communication and an acceptance that sexual desire is a natural part of adolescence and adulthood, a lot of the pressure is abated from people and they can channel this energy positively.

And btw making punishments more severe for such crimes while keeping the lid on the expression of sexual interest, only manages to drive such horrible practices even further underground and to even further extremes. SO i sincerely do not suggest that be done.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:34 #
  18. toamin

my friend, i have given my analysis on this report after a careful study-

that is must my opinion that this report is maligning a particular ethnicity and a particular profession, fueling hatred against a particular ethnicity-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:36 #
  19. Child abuse is endemic. All socities are rife with child molestation/sodomy while there is no quick solution in sight. However this issue should be discussed in depth seeking solutions to this problem.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:37 #
  20. toamin

hkbajwa,

problem with your post is that it opens up too many accounts, i don't know why you bring in so many things like 'google trends'? also see 'google trends' on religious terms such caliphate or jihad? try to go one mile extra my dear-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:42 #
  21. Anonymous

@Salam...

I know the words use in this is pointing towards something which you are mentioning but tell are those researchers who have done research have any motive to defame someone????

Their are multiple benefits of this research as finding would help medical dept. in understanding this problem and try to solve them...it is also helpful for truck manufacturer to come up with solution in their products so that this problem could be reduced...and finding can also help authorities(like transport Ittehad) to improve the conditions so that causes are reduce...

So look at positive side as well...

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:49 #
  22. kq

my friend, sach karwa hota hay.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:53 #
  23. toamin

exactly! sach karwa hee hota hay :)

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 9:59 #
  24. kq

chalo akhir maan to liya :)

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:01 #
  25. toamin

yehi to mey heran hun kay akhir KQ kaisay maan gaya -lolzz

thanks for your understanding!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:08 #
  26. kq

aray mein to kab ka maana hua hun. mujhay bahanay bananay aur ilzam laganay ki aadat nahin, lolz :)

Mein bhi hairan hun tum kaisay maan gaye. You're welcome!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:13 #
  27. toamin

Let us say Alhamdulilah and rejoice to break/exit from kq's usual cyclic arguments!

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:22 #
  28. kq

jjkhan aka salam, you're the one who started it. take a break yourself! it will do you good.

Shahrukh's new film: My name is Khan and i'm not a trucker! :)

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:29 #
  29. Homosexuality is a personality disorder as told, also associated with many other reasons, but the issue being discussed is more of child molestation such as taking advantage of innocence of a minor. This is really sad.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 10:29 #
  30. hkbajwa

@ Salam

I am actually not opening up a lot of different "trends" here. The high occurrence of child sexual abuse in any society is directly related to that society's attitude towards sexuality.

I am in fact trying to start a debate on the causative factors behind such horrible statistics. Unfortunately that is something that everybody seems to be avoiding here.

You for instance are turning it into a ethnic issue and taking issue with the fact that the report includes the ethnicity of the people involved in the study. The fact that the transport business has a majority of pushtuns is merely another fact that can neither be denied to be considered cause for condemnation of an entire ethnic group. Any person with half a brain will know that. The fact that 45% of VICTIMS in this situation are pushtun is IRRELEVANT. what is relevant is that 95% of children in the business are being sexually abused. WIll you please leave the ethnicity of people alone. That is not what this debate should be focusing on.

@ everybody

We live in a country where adultery is a crime. It is a place where an act that should be the ultimate expression of love and intimacy between a couple is tagged as shameful and taboo. we live in a culture where you have sex with your wife for reproduction and sex with a prostitute or girlfriend for sex.

Sex and relations with the opposite gender are never talked about or explained to young people while they are growing up. They grow up in a restrictive and excessively legislated environment where they are forced to deny their natural urges because they are "dirty".

As a result the entire sexual maturation process of an adolescent takes place underground and beneath the radar. Because they do it with the risk of arrest, condemnation and punishment hanging over their heads, the entire process becomes a criminal enterprise in which criminal elements thrive.

That is why depraved sexual appetites wind up being catered to whereas they should not. But since there is no control over a criminal enterprise there is no hope for it.

Please understand, that i do not recommend promiscuity for anybody. I believe that every person should stay chaste until they find the person with whom they wish to spend their lives. sharing the first sexual experience with your life partner and developing this expression of intimacy over the course of a marriage is the ideal circumstance. However even chaste people can speak of sex, gain knowledge about it and admit to their sexual appetite without going down the road to sexual depravity.

So what do you guys think is the reason such abuse takes place even in |the land of the pure"?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 11:23 #
  31. hkbajwa

@ kq

hahahahahaha... good film

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 11:27 #
  32. toamin

you see how just one line at the end brought the whole discussion to the point that i tried to highlight?

kq argued and argued but inadvertently ended up saying the same thing that i was trying to tell -lolzzz

that last line sums it up nicely what i was trying to tell, no need to spread the specific subject over to "google trends" or "decline of muslims" or "sexuality in muslim society"

i questioned NGO's association of a problem with a particular context that's all -and most of members above agreed, some directly and some indirectly-

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 11:37 #
  33. I don't about the NGO but I have seen parents warn their boys of the mentioned ethnicity whenever they move into the neighborhood usually as menial workers. Seen it in large cities of Pakistan and outside of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Feb 2010 19:06 #