This question germinated from the discussion on dynastic politics. PTV has been an organ of the ruling party or parties since it was created. It has always been used to promoted, praise and eulogise those that are in power paid for by the license fee paying Pakistani public. I have not met any person who is happy about paying their license fee. A powerful tool like PTV could have been a force for immense good but sadly it has only served as an instrument of mind control for the ruling elite. I think PTV is a dinosaur and has no place in 21th century Pakistan. Should PTV have an independent board of directors like the BBC or should we just consign PTV to the dustbin of history. The third option would be to carry on with PTV in its current form. Perhaps the fourth option might be to abolish the license fee and let PTV compete in a free market. What do you think?
Do Pakistanis need PTV?
(48 posts)-
Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 21:36 #
The channels is useless as source of news. It's only a propaganda tool of any government.
Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 21:37 # -
They don't like PTV.
Other channels show IK all the day because those are commercial channels.
Work for money.
And Ik is a good pay master.Posted 7 months ago on 01 Oct 2011 22:07 # -
PTV has become irrelevent since the advent of the private channels. Doesn't matter if you close it down or keep it as propoganda tool for the government. Nobody believes what PTV says and shows. Those who wants to know the truth have ways and means to know it in this era of tools n technologies.
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 6:15 # -
well government of Pakistan need to get rid of PTV, PIA PakSteel, and Pak Railway.
private sector can run those area lot betterPosted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 6:59 # -
Obviously the author of this thread had in mind only city/town dwellers and educated class, and greatly ignored the masses living in villages and far flung areas of Pakistan where cable network did not reach as yet or is still expsenvie for people to afford....therefore, in those places only Pak TV telecasts and provides people entertainment and whatever....
In my recent tour of such areas I was surprised to see the only window opened to the world for those people in remote areas was UNFORTUNATELY the PTV....to my further astonishment people did seem to be taken in by PTV's various programs...it will also be dishonesty on my part if I don't mention PTV's program that it telecasts on agriculture, basic education and many aspects of villagers lives....REMARKABLY PEOPLE WERE BENEFITTING FROM THESE PROGRAMS.....It was an eye opener for me and it got me thinking how naive we, city dwellers, at times are who issue sweeping statements without having proper knowledge about things...I for one have changed my views on criticizing everything that I read in newspapers or watch on private channels....we have got to improve a lot!!!
I am not debating here whether or not PTV is utile/futile in this modern day and age, I am simply saying PTV has its own value among masses....until that poor but big segment of Pakistanis is catered for by other TV channels PTV will continue having that monopoly over Pak public...
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 7:23 # -
Who says that private channels are out of the reach of the rural population?
Although cable is only available in big cities and towns but most of the free-to-air private channels are available in the rural areas through the satellite. May be less than 10% of the population relies only on PTV these days.
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 7:58 # -
@SultanAliKhan
Thank you for your comments. Firstly, when I started this thread, I had in my mind, the non-city dwelling population of Pakistan as they are the ones most in need of good quality impartial news. Secondly, this thread germinated from an earlier thread on dynastic politics and on that thread I said, "I am not certain about what is the diffusion level in rural Pakistan of the hundreds of new channels, but I would hazard a guess, it is probably minimal." So I agree that in rural Pakistan, no one can match the diffusion of PTV. I agree with you that PTV perhaps serves some good but it is infinitely more damaging as a tool for mind control and propaganda in the hands of the ruling party. The license fee is a form of extortion and it ensures that those who need freedom of information the most (rural Pakistan) are the ones who pay for lies, deceit and misinformation.
@Karim
Thank you your comments. I am not sure how diffused satellites dishes are in rural Pakistan but I imagine it can’t be a cheap option. The cheapest and easiest way to inform the public is PTV and its failure to deliver independent and impartial information is truly breath-taking. I suspect is easy to talk about reforming PTV when you are in opposition but once you come to power you realise what incredibly potent tool is at your disposal for fooling people. I agree with you that very few people believe PTV but the problem is the extortion aka license fee.Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 9:40 # -
Don't watch PTV to get news.
Watch PTV for dramas, documentaries, information about Pakistan and Pakistani culture etc.
In short if you want to know anything good about Pakistan, watch PTV.
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 9:57 # -
stingingnettle
Have you been to any rural areas of Pakistan lately? if not then please do not guess or assume because I am telling you from a personal experience. Although satellite dishes might be costly as compare to a small antenna that all you need to swtich on to PTV but still those who can afford they have them even in their mud houses. I am not 100% sure about the rural population of Sindh and Balochistan but in the rural areas of Punjab and KPK the penetration of private free-to-air satellite channels is pretty high.
As far as the license fee of PTV is concerned I think it would be too much to call it as extortion. You have to see this concept from a totally commercial point of view. PTV has a largest terrestial network allover Pakistan. Thus they have a monoply over a terrestrial waves hence the justification of the license fees.
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 10:21 # -
Karim
Perhaps you have a point about mud houses with satellite dishes enjoying non-PTV broadcasts. This diffusion will be nowhere near what PTV enjoys and I am not sure the people who need to rethink their lives the most are actually getting all the right information. License fee is extortion simply because people have not got a choice about paying it and they have no choice about the content that will come their way on the airwaves. Guessing from some of the, not many people regard PTV useful in terms of accurate and meaningful news and this is truly alarming. PTV is not a commercial organisation, it's a monolith. It uses its monopoly over the airwaves to disseminate propaganda and dross. PTV has got to have an independent board running it for it to justify license fee. It has to help free the minds of all the people of Pakistan especially those living in far flung rural areas.
LifeH2O
A national TV service's primary duty is to engage in, inform and encourage debate on domestic and international matters in an impartial way. PTV's job is not to help people forget the abject misery and the corruption they are living under by airing dramas, songs, documentaries etc. (for that purpose we have drugs!). It is a complete failure of PTV if it cannot give Pakistanis top quality news and current events programmes. PTV is only good at producing drama, dance and song then why not ban it from broadcasting lies in the name of news. Then we can get rid of license fee and let PTV compete with other commercial channels. I have to concede, PTV is better than some of the other channels for its dramas, music and other entertainment programmes.
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 14:37 # -
@karim...what rural areas of KPK you are referring to? I am sure even your worst imagination of a rural area will not come close to where I am originally from and have recently been to.....while rest of Pak pays no attention to 100 rupee bill anymore, there are people in those areas whose eyes lit up upon seeing a hundred rupee bill....
anyway,you have your point which i must admit has value and makes sense, and I appreciate what you have stated...
my only argument is that PTV with all its shortcomings and misuse still has its purpose and serves a big section of Pak population...I have no quarrel about the point that it has been misused by sitting governments for their nefarious designs, political governments or otherwise!!!
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 15:05 # -
@stingingnettle....bro you did start a purposeful thread and do have valid points to back up what you claimed...
In all this debate my point is; "if you can send your message across by simply writing NETTLE then why must you emphasize upon STINGING"? Nettle is a stinging blow, isn't it? I mean simply write PTV and people will love to hate it...lolll
You appear to be a person who makes sure his point of view doesn't go to waste....lollllz...no offence but mere pun intended here!!!
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 15:14 # -
SultanAliKhan
You did make me laugh with your light-hearted comment.
I am utterly incapable and unworthy of delivering a stinging blow to anyone. I was thinking of the plant stinging nettle when I came up with the name. Complacency is the opiate we must resist at all cost hence the stingingnettle.
The Irish rock band, did a track 'With or without you,' (album Joshua Tree) the lyrics somehow define the relationship Pakistani Awam has with PTV, the lyrics go, 'I just can't live, with or without you.' Have a listen on youtube.
I think we can live with PTV's entertainment programmes but we can't live with its propaganda. The question is how do we achieve this happy middle?
Posted 7 months ago on 02 Oct 2011 16:02 # -
we are the people who lives in urban Pakistan.
its hard for us to relate with rural Pakistan and its communication mediums...
they have very limited options to get themselves updated.in rural Pakistan there is radio and some local language papers plus PTV. which is the source of info.
no cable there
so they have to relay on PTV News.
whatever it is.that's why PTV claims to have widest viewership.
and thats why PTV thinks that ppl will watch whatever they will show...and believe so too.
as they don't have any other option.unfortunately.Posted 7 months ago on 03 Oct 2011 7:03 # -
PTV is also improving now a days.
Posted 6 months ago on 11 Nov 2011 17:12 # -
Its only when you think of hardcore jiyalas, that you realize the significance of PTV.
On the serious note, does this kind of false propaganda ever work. You can see its result on 12 -10 -99 & 05-07-77.Posted 6 months ago on 11 Nov 2011 17:45 # -
mariabashir;
"On the serious note, does this kind of false propaganda ever work."
Perhaps it does not work but does bore people to tears! I am completely unsure why no one seems to ask a very simple question:
Why am I paying for all this c--p?
A political party can have their propaganda organ but surely the whole country cannot pay for ruling-party political broadcast for 10 hours a day!
A completely independent PTV along the lines of BBC is a critical imperative if Pakistan has to wake up and smell the s---t we are drowning in.
Posted 6 months ago on 11 Nov 2011 21:24 # -
stingingnettle --
It is piousness weed must be plucked by it roots --Posted 6 months ago on 14 Nov 2011 6:26 # -
The positive aspect of PTV is that it does not project anything against our national interests. The private channels project such things which support the propaganda of the Pakistan's adversaries.
Most of the private channels are working on foreign agendas.
Posted 6 months ago on 15 Nov 2011 10:26 # -
hussain farooqi
Are national interests over and above Islamic interests?
Posted 6 months ago on 15 Nov 2011 10:38 # -
oblivion
Can you please elucidate your question?
Posted 6 months ago on 15 Nov 2011 11:12 # -
Hussain Farooqui
PTV has used islam for its own interest -- PTV's Day starts with quranic recitation -- after that they forget quran and its rules while broadcasting their services -- In news they tell lies -- often News start with quote of Prophet Muhammad -- But in the newS, they forget principles which were taught by Muhammad pbuh --- See it is piousious weapon which is still being used against us -- They hide the original facts from common people for purpose of brainwashing him --
In term of PTV -- Shaheed is person who dies for Cause of Pakistna--In term of Islam -- Shaheed is person who dies for Islam and will of Allah --- PTV makes every one Shaheed when it receives money --Posted 6 months ago on 15 Nov 2011 11:30 # -
oblivion
Your objections are undeniable. I totally agree with you. What I meant to express was that they are not engaged in acts like proving Ajmal Qasab's origin from Pakistan, showing Indian nudity or vulgarity, Indian films or Indian fashion shows etc...
Posted 6 months ago on 15 Nov 2011 11:51 # -
Hussain Farooqui
proving Ajmal Qasab's origin from Pakistan,
If they commit such blunder, they will expose themselves
showing Indian nudity or vulgarity, Indian films or Indian fashion shows etc...
They don't show nude indians but they show nude pakistanis following ndian nudity or vulgarity, Indian films or Indian fashion shows etc.
Posted 6 months ago on 16 Nov 2011 7:53 # -
Oblivion
No doubt, PTV is an interpretor of the government. However, compared to the Private Channels, it is less irresponsible. The private channels are exceeding all the limits of morality and fairness. They are merely foreign funded tools.
Posted 6 months ago on 16 Nov 2011 11:09 # -
Private channels are a reaction to PTV. They are everything that PTV is not. The important difference is that private channels are self-funded whilst PTV is funded by the people.
PTV run by an independent board does not mean it will suddenly become a source of satanic corruption of our nation but simply that it will cease to provide expensive air time to the ruling party for free.
I am sure we all know that Zardari holds his PPP meetings at the Presidency, does that not strike you as a criminal misappropriation of state resources? Why are we paying for him to hold his party meetings in a public funded building which is meant for the service of all Pakistanis? So the PTV-effect is quite widespread if you start to look at it.
Posted 6 months ago on 16 Nov 2011 22:30 # -
Private channels are a reaction to PTV. They are everything that PTV is not. The important difference is that private channels are self-funded whilst PTV is funded by the people.
PTV run by an independent board does not mean it will suddenly become a source of satanic corruption of our nation but simply that it will cease to provide expensive air time to the ruling party for free.
I am sure we all know that Zardari holds his PPP meetings at the Presidency, does that not strike you as a criminal misappropriation of state resources? Why are we paying for him to hold his party meetings in a public funded building which is meant for the service of all Pakistanis? So the PTV-effect is quite widespread if you start to look at it.
Posted 6 months ago on 16 Nov 2011 22:30 # -
Dear sting
With a due apology, I disagree with your opinion that private channels are self-funded. Some of the channels may really be. Most of them are supported by local or foreign lobbies. Politicians are also their big funders.
Posted 6 months ago on 17 Nov 2011 5:45 # -
Hussain Farooqui,
I agree with you as far as the myth is concerned that somehow many of private channels in Pakistan are free of bias. Even in advanced democracies such as America and the UK, newspapers do have a soft spot for certain political ideas or persuasions. Natural selection is the best way to get rid of useless channels as opposed to mass culling. In my opinion, the commercial TV channels are purely interested in making as much money as they can whilst the sun incompetent regulation is shining on them. Pakistan is no different from any other country in trying to win over public opinion via the monetary route. In America the lobbying business has always thrived and various countries eg Pakistan, India and Israel etc spend considerable amount of money buying favourable opinions in America.
The current Haqqani-Mullen affair is perhaps a similar way to convey messages via the back door. PTV will obviously fail to report this in an impartial manner and the net result is that a public service will yet again fail to provide the service we pay it to provide. This is where PTV fails repeatedly and is merely a toy in the hands of the ruling party.
Thank you for your comments.
Posted 6 months ago on 19 Nov 2011 11:13 # -
I observe that the private Indian channels are very loyal to their country. They project only bright aspects of their society. According to a report of WHO (World Health Organization), India is the most infected country of the world. Watching the Indian channels, you feel a deception that India is really a shinning India. They never project anything which can be detrimental to their national interests. Similarly, crime rate in America is one of the highest in the world, but no such dark aspects of it are projected by its private TV channels.
Posted 6 months ago on 19 Nov 2011 12:58 # -
I cannot comment about what Indian channels show since I don't watch them but I am not sure if propaganda is all they do.
India has left Pakistan behind in health, education and industry and this is a fact. We may not like to hear about it, but it is a fact. I doubt if all Indian's watch is TV spin because a intelligent nation like India in not going to put up with it.
Let's not confuse national loyalty with a deliberate desire to deceive others and ourselves. PTV needs to give us independent coverage of national and international matters so that we can gauge the truth in a reasonable manner. We cannot keep paying for a disservice; it is just not logical.
I would rather hear the truth than feel good about lies.
Posted 6 months ago on 19 Nov 2011 14:35 # -
PTV is a great institution that has a history of producing quality content in many areas.
Like other institutions, it should be reformed not done away with.
Currently, PTV is used as a propaganda tool for the ruling party. This needs to be changed, of course.
A good government in Pakistna, which we are envisioning, will have to make PTV an independent institution free form direct governmental control. Its funds must be generated through tax but its content should only be restricted by a proper media guideline implemented across the board, private media included.
In this way, we can benefit from the experience and superior technical expertise that the PTV has and get neutral viewpoint and heated debates on political situation within Pakistan at the same time. The fact is that, since PTV is a government funded institution, this makes it is less prone to commercialization and can exclusively concentrate on quality content.
PTV, if reformed, can be a way to actually introduce standards in Pakistani media. It can stop the wayward trend of private media channels who know that the public don't have any alternative to them as far as independent coverage of Pakistani politics goes.
The solution to many media ills in Pakistan is a reformed, balanced and independent PTV institution guided by a common set of media ethics and not by the government of the day.
In this way, PTV can be seen as just another victim of the corrupt Pakistani governments of the past.
Posted 6 months ago on 19 Nov 2011 15:47 # -
sting bhai
There are both positive and negative aspects of every society. Our private channels are projecting only negative aspects of our society. By showing positive aspects of their society, Indian media is boosting patriotism, whereas our media is eliminating patriotism by projecting only negative aspects. By watching our private channels, most of the Pakistanis just begin to think that their country is not even worth living.
Our private channels must play a responsible role. While projecting the things which need public attention for reforms, they must project the good things of our society to boost patriotism and motivation in the Pakistani public.
Posted 6 months ago on 21 Nov 2011 8:23 # -
PTV introduced the world most talented actors, writers, singers and musicians.
Posted 6 months ago on 21 Nov 2011 15:23 # -
iamsowise;
Yes, that is true but it also provided incredibly oppressive propaganda tool each and every sitting government. The evil that PTV does, outweighs its introductions of new talents by miles.
An independent PTV is the only way forward. Dare I mention how it is nearly impossible for new talent without a proper 'sifarish' to get anywhere near a camera or a radio microphone. PTV could have done a hell lot batter had it not been shackled like a slave to serve the corrupt and the oppressive.
Imagine what we would have achieved had PTV had an independent board for the last 40 years.
Lets not mix nostalgia with excellence.
Posted 6 months ago on 21 Nov 2011 16:59 # -
sting
It is a good idea to let PTV enjoy freedom. The problem with our private media is that they are already misusing the freedom. Any local or foreign element can bribe them and project anything of its own agenda. Freedom needs to be monitored. Monitoring of freedom is there in every developed country.
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 5:15 # -
Yes, I agree, some kind of regulation but not mind control.
Most importantly a board that is truly independent both financially and politically.
Sensationalism in the media has limited shelf life and many TV channels are dicovering this unpalatable truth. Once you become a clown, no one wants to take you seriously.
Media influence is always for sale to the highest bidder, we do not need to get too worried about it, we need to educate our population to read between the lines. This is why I think we need to make our children think far more critically about everything in school and around them.
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 8:29 # -
PTV introduced the world most talented actors, writers, singers and musicians.
Wasted actors, wasted writers, wasted musicians -- They had made lives of common people miserable -- Now, resting in peace, under 12 feet mud, with all of their performance -- Their performance hadn't contributed anything good for the welfare of society but destroying moral values in minds of next generations --- Limiting concept of love only to girls -- Each film, each song, each drama, they produced, is imprisoned by same thought -- They have done great service for their bellies----- to fill their bellies, they had done what must be done -- and they still are doing it
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 8:42 # -
he he he
yes,we need PTV.
so one day when every channel gets banned by some adventurist ruler like Musharraf.
we can enjoy PTV!
samjhay na !!!!:):):)Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 8:58 # -
yes,we need PTV.
choosy,You don't need it
so one day when every channel gets banned by some adventurist ruler like Musharraf
ruler like mushraff bans private channel, So that he can put his propaganda through PTV in your mind -- Now, yes you need ptv
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 9:05 # -
he he he
Oblivion bhai,
aap tou serious ho gaye...
choosy ko bhi kisi ne serious liya hay aaj tak?
jo aap lay bethay?i was trying to be SARCASTIC.
agar aap dobara parhnay ki takleef farmayien tou....:):):)Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 9:08 # -
Oblivion bhai,
aap tou serious ho gaye..Its total oblivion, nothing serious here, Seriousness is thing which relates to memory -- ;) ;)
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 9:10 # -
he he he
tou mujh ko kion jali kati suna rahay thay?
jaisay mein PTV ka fan hoon?
haan?Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 9:27 # -
Choosy
"we can enjoy PTV!"
We can use this sentence in a Matric English exam as follows:
Q9) Correct the following sentence;
"we can enjoy PTV!"
Correct answer: the word enjoy and PTV cannot be used in the same sentence unless we are watching PTV Khabarnama also known as PTV bayKhabarnama.
Posted 6 months ago on 22 Nov 2011 22:29 # -
I highly appreciate some programs on the private TV channels. One of such is "Dalkash Pakistan". All the channels must project bright sides of our country too, besides showing bitter facts and realities of various issues.
Posted 6 months ago on 23 Nov 2011 5:13 # -
hussain farqooui
Such program, create imaginary love for country -- A country which consists East Pakistani 40 year ago and Now limits to west Pakistan --Posted 6 months ago on 23 Nov 2011 6:40 # -
Hussain Farooqui
"All the channels must project bright sides of our country too"
Yes, I agree but not at the detriment of the truth. Celebrate success but highlight failures.
Posted 6 months ago on 23 Nov 2011 22:51 # -
sting
There must be a balance of projecting both dark and bright aspects of our society.
oblivion
Are there no bright aspects in our society worthy of projection on tele-media?
Posted 6 months ago on 24 Nov 2011 5:16 #