This article believes that Urdu should no longer be recognized as the national language as prescribed by the constitution of Pakistan.
Does Urdu comprise the bulk of our national identity?
(18 posts)-
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 20:36 #
Just like the hindus in south and other regions dont want 'hindi' as a national language?Or you want to divide further?
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 20:44 # -
thats not the point of the article to further divide..its to further unite!
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 20:47 # -
And how would be that? To have divided languages? And divided ideologies?
ps.The regional languages already exist there so why there is a need to make Urdu an obsolete language?I like urdu language.To me its pretty decent and neat(ignoring the paan-accent in the south though..lol).
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 20:56 # -
urdu is the common language between baloch sindhi punjabi pukhtoon.
so even if urdu is not recognized as official language of Pakistan, urdu would still be spoken a lot because of the earlier point since it unites.
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 21:58 # -
There is no doubt that Urdu is the common language. And it will always be spoken in Pakistan. But my question is, language has also at times given reasons for destabilization and caused rifts between ethnicities. Why give the debate over language so much political force that gives reasons to alienate the north from the south. Im just looking for reasons to unite the country to form a more perfect union.
Posted 2 years ago on 01 Oct 2009 22:30 # -
Such problems of cohesion can be traced back to Pak's inception. The deal done to bring about the existence of Pak was to form a State not a Nation. Unfortuneately, Pak has not been successful in formulating a unified sense of nationhood within its people (by 'Pak' I mean its historical leaders/ruling elite, that have on the whole been blood suckers). Therefore, we are still ailed by discussions of lack of unity and lack of cohesion.
Urdu is an amazingly beautiful, coherent, expressive and sweet-to-the-ear language. If it ever dies, it would be a travesty to our region and the world over. But I think it has much life left in it yet!
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 8:54 # -
I believe that:
Udru should be recognised as official "Rabita" language between the different ethnic groups of Pakistan.
English should be recognised as official language of Pakistan.
Regional languages should be promoted in different ethnical clusters of Pakistan.
Note: Urdu language cannot die, being a Rabita language, as some fear so.
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 9:13 # -
English most definately should NOT be recognised as the official language. 60% of the population cannot understand English in written or spoken form, so how can it be declared the official language?.... or is it just because the Western lap-dog elites feel the desperate need?
We need to instill some pride in Pakistaniyat in its true sense. Most assuredly Urdu should be the first language, regional languages secondary and English must also be taught to the masses as a necessity of the day.
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 9:58 # -
@quaidkamazaar,
I agree fully with you.
Urdu is the binding language, I have seen people from different areas of Pakistan communicating with each other in Urdu. It is a beautiful language. Has got treasure of literature, and is among top ten languages spoken in the world (friends, Correct me, if I am wrong). It is a baleegh language. What I mean by baleegh is that whatever is in your mind (ma fizzameer) you can convey fully by using Urdu.
Urdu is not official language as such! The official proceedings in government offices are in English (that I hate).
Strange! Urdu is national language but not official language.
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 10:17 # -
Shriq:
Urdu is national language due to it being spoken in our S.E.Asian region pre-Farangi interference.
It is not official language because:
1.Pakistan is not a nation yet
2.Farangi influencePosted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 10:31 # -
Oriel,
At least you agree it is a national language.
Whatever the reason!
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 10:37 # -
lol Shriq, yes, we are agreed on it being the national language.
long may it remain so!
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 10:49 # -
Urdu as known, in Turkish may mean ‘army’ or the Mongols called changazi tent ‘ordu’ and ‘yurut’ both, but the fact remains Urdu is a bridge, a means of communication among all who settled in the subcontinent (barr-e-saghir) including the Mughals who invented and promoted this language. India was named by the British but during the Mughal rule and was (Mughals never ruled whole of India-a large part of southern India was never under Mughal rule) named as Hindustan by the Mughals.
Urdu remained Urdu until the partition of the subcontinent into India and Pakistan. After Independence Urdu as it was provincial langauge of some Indian states like Hyderabad was stripped of this status from whole of India. It was sanscritized in script and with more Sanskrit words included is what we know as Hindi today.
In Pakistan because of popular Arabic/Persian scripts of Nash and Nastaleeq that are utilized in written expression of Kashmiri, Pashto, Sindhi, Punjabi and now Baluchi renders Urdu as nothing less than a link among the four provinces of Pakistan same as English is at an International level.
As an example if I am a Punjabi and want to speak to a Sindhi, not knowing Sindhi language I will subconsciously resort to Urdu. Same is true for other provinces. Apart from this Urdu is widely understood in the Middle East as well. I may mention an Arab national ‘Ustad Ibrahim Al Arrayed who was a well reputed as a poet for Urdu.
English as an official state language of Pakistan in a true sense will be possible only when the percentage of educated Pakistanis at least doubles against the rate what we have now. Same will be true for Urdu as well.
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 10:50 # -
Yeh Aarzu thi tujhey Gul key robaru kertay
Hum aur Bulbul-i-baytaab guftegu kertay
Payaam bar na Muyassar howa, to khoob howa
Zuban-i-Ghair say kya Sherhey Aarzu kertay
Meri tara say MahoMehr bhi hain Awara
Kisi Habib ki yeh bhi hein justaju kertay
Na pooch Aalam-i-Bargashta Taala-e Aatish
Barasti Aag jo Baraan ki Aarzu kartay
-AatishDil hi to hey na sung-o-khisht
Dard sey Bher na aa-eh kiyon
Ro-ein gey hum hazar baar
Koi hamein sata-eh kiyon
-GhalibYeh gumbaday meenai yeh alam-i-tanhai
Mujh ko to darati hey iss dasht ki pehnai
Bhatka howa rahi mein Bhatka howa rahi tu
Manzil hey kahan teri aey lala-i-sehrai (Iqbal's signature?)
Khali hey kalimon sey yeh koho-kamar werna
Tu shola-i-seenai mein shola-i-seenai
-IqbalTeray iss rukh-i-naaz pay aey Bhangan
Fidaa h-o kai-naat ki her jalwa-giri
-crocodile:)
ps.Could I've done it without Urdu?
ps1.pkpolitics....plz change your filters from Bhangi filters to the right one...now in english h-o-e/h-o is used for s-e-x worker in urdu its used for better!
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 19:43 # -
hmmm Semirza, your post has taken me to the question:
urdu came first or hindi came first?
most people claim hindi came first, then was transitioned into urdu? but your post does not point towards that idea.
Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 22:21 # -
Urdu is not my language its lanaguage of Lakhanow and i dont belong to Lakhnaow. Punjabi is my language.
Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 4:43 # -
@quaidkamazaar
Your question:
'urdu came first or hindi came first?'
First of all you should be specific about 'hindi' i.e
Are you taking hindi as sanskrit (dev nagri/c) or hindi as sanscritized urdu?
-If you mean hindi as sanskrit itself (without any arabic or persian words) than is an ancient language often quoted as a dead language. (nothing to do with urdu or no relation whatsoever at all)-If you mean urdu as it is written in arabic/persian script than it is a much later addition to subcontinental group of languages (was invented by Mughals based largely on arabic and persian root/compound words with a lesser mix of sanskrit and trace of other central asian languages).
Urdu as I have stated earlier in India (although Urdu is still written and spoken as it was invented - but not to an extent it was used after the times of Akbar) is sanscritized (written in dev nagri-after partition of the subcontinent into India and Pakistan)and called hindi, but is infact Urdu. In Pakistan it is used as it is that is Urdu in its true form.
Now if you want to politicize the issue than Urdu has been claimed as Hindi by some scholars as India was known as Hindustan. Other scholars deny this on basis that Urdu was invented by Muslim Kings of hindustan and named it Urdu, so it should remain so as it was meant to be.
Generally speaking - technically both remain the same (not the script)and is better explained as the relation of hindi with urdu is same as urdu and roman urdu (roman urdu is urdu written using english alphabet).
However, sanscritized Urdu (hindi) has failed to come not even close to expression in comparision to urdu verse or urdu poetry.
Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 8:10 #