Dr. Aafia case: Questions

(37 posts)
  1. maher

Are the below questions reasonable?

Imran asks three questions from USA and Pakistan about Dr. Aafia

Imran Khan, Chairman Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI), has expressed his disgust and anger over the way the whole Dr Aafia Siddiqui case has ended in what is clearly a travesty of justice. He has demanded three things from the State of Pakistan and the USA:

First:
    The Pakistani people have a right to know how Dr Aafia Siddiqui, with three minor children, landed up in Bagram Base. He demanded that the Pakistan government needs to answer this clearly as does the US. Did the Pakistani authorities covertly hand over Dr Siddiqui with her young children to the Americans? Or did the Americans kidnap her in Pakistan and successfully take her out into Afghanistan? What has been the fate of her children, since two of them are still missing?

How could a frail woman manage to attack US soldiers who surrounded her? Did she suddenly acquire superwoman or bionic abilities?

Second:
    Why has the Pakistan government not taken proper action to ensure her return to Pakistan? Are they not aware of the fact that apart from the injustice and abuse of a Pakistani woman, the injustice meted out to Dr Aafia is going to add to the difficulties of the Pakistani military’s fight in the tribal belt as well as increasing anti-Americanism and extremism? For Pakistan this will create more space for militancy.

Just as the Lal Masjid episode was a watershed for a qualitative change in the rising tide of militancy and extremism, so the Dr Aafia sentencing will become another watershed in this direction of creating more space for extremism and militancy.

Third:
    Who aided and abetted the Americans in Pakistan? The Pakistan government must not only expose those who aided and abetted the kidnapping of Dr Aafia, but must also mete out exemplary punishment to them. In 2003 when Imran Khan contacted Dr Aafia’s mother in order to give a statement in Aafia’s support, her mother was terrified and told Imran that she had been warned that if any such statements were made, Dr Aafia would be killed.

It is a national shame that the state of Pakistan, instead of protecting its citizens, has been aiding and abetting in their disappearances, their torture and their abuse. It is time to put an end to all this lest the nation take things into their own hands.

Source: http://insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/3474/Imran-asks-three-questions-from-USA-and-Pakistan-about-Dr-Aafia.aspx

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 10:55 #
  2. Excellent questions above and one thing is clear: Whatever the answers, Aafia Siddiqui was let down by her own people. Like in the case of Benazir, official Pakistan, you once again played the game of the western powers. Or as Aafia so fearlessly put it: Israel was behind the whole thing. Pakistanis, you have no heroes? So begin counting your heroines.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 11:47 #
  3. http://i46.tinypic.com/k9jgxl.jpg

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 12:12 #
  4. shriq

I wish we could understand the mechanism of how a frail neuroscientist could become a killer and a terrorist.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 12:16 #
  5. change_is_close

@JS
    who is arifa siddiqui?

just googled it...
    http://www.google.com.pk/search?q=arifa+siddiqui

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 12:21 #
  6. The mechanism whereby one becomes known as a "terrorist"? It's when the West decides that's what one is and the non-Pak Govt gives the rendition green light. The mechanism was set in place over the Israeli 9/11 farce and it's still being applied to any person the West wishes to get rid of.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 14:10 #
  7. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I wish I had the power, to arrest, to charge, to convict, to punish those who gave Afia and many other Pakistanis' to US.

I wish I had the power to HANG!!!! them ALL!!! in OPEN!!! PUBLIC!!! .. ALL!!! of them.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 14:23 #
  8. Anonymous

Javed Sheikh Sahib

Nice piece of poetry but only for those who may have the ability to understand it. I wish you may keep posting your intellectual comments and poetries from time to time.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 20:39 #
  9. netengr

@Javed Sb

Please correct the name ,This is Afia or Arifa .

Arifa Siddiqi is the famous actress of PTV

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 20:57 #
  10. change_is_close

Arifa vs. Afia... just shows the level of interest and information! (it's obvious that it wasn't a typo)

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 21:13 #
  11. Dear Members,
    Thanks for your reminder.
    I apologize for the mistake.
    (My office Secretary, being from Bangla Desh is not very good at Urdu keyboard.)
    My mistake for posting without editing could be age related.
    I hope my apology would be endorsed.
    Here is the revised and corrected version.
    I would request the Moderator to delete the previous posting.

http://i47.tinypic.com/f3w935.jpg

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Feb 2010 23:24 #
  12. junaid

many salutations for imran. by the way where is raza rabbani of ppp, i havent heard him on this issue.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 3:40 #
  13. rocketrevolt

"where is raza rabbani of ppp"

Yeh pocho keh.. where is Hina Rabbani of PPP?..Kahin ussey bhi to nahi baich dala?

oh ...shuker hey bach gai !!

ps.Maybe Raza rabbani didnt get the right price!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 6:36 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

There are 180 million of us. Us who are good people.

There are 8000 criminal crocodiles among us, eating at our core.

It is interesting to note how those 8000 criminal crocodiles are over-whelming this nation of 180 million.

Lagta hai, is mulk main jab tak Molvi age nahi ata, is mulk kay kisee banday main itna dam nahi ke age A sake.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 7:15 #
  15. 8000 criminals who took advantage of NRO and not crocodiles who however belong to a 'different world' of their own!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 7:20 #
  16. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Bhaee jaan, who cares what world they belong to ? They! are messing! up OUR!! world

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 7:24 #
  17. Taliban to execute US soldier if Aafia not released
    By Mushtaq Yusufzai | The International News | February 05, 2010

PESHAWAR: The Afghan Taliban on Thursday demanded the release of Dr Aafia Siddiqui, a Pakistani scientist who has been convicted by the US court on charges of her alleged attempt to murder US soldiers in Afghanistan, and threatened to execute an American soldier they were holding currently. They claimed Aafia Siddiqui’s family had approached the Taliban network through a Jirga of notables, seeking their assistance to put pressure on the US to provide her justice.

“Being Muslims, it becomes our religious and moral obligation to help the distressed Pakistani woman convicted by the US court on false charges,” said a senior Afghan Taliban commander

http://alethonews.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/taliban-to-execute-us-soldier-if-aafia-not-released/

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 12:49 #
  18. Anonymous

Mirza Ghalib

Does this not suggest that Aafia family is an ingredient of Taliban cult?

Why being Muslims, it does not become their (Taliban) religious and moral obligation to help the distressed ‘Muslim Missing Pakistanis’ whose families are in extreme dilemma to know about the fate of their loved ones and why and by whom they were picked up and if they are still alive or dead? Why only Aafia?

Are ‘Muslim Missing Pakistanis’ not Muslims accordind to the mentioned Taliban commander?

What is all this?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 13:48 #
  19. In one respect, you're absolutely right, adnak. Every Muslim in distress is our responsibility, be we the man in the street, you or I, or a Taliban commander.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 14:10 #
  20. Anonymous

The question still remains that why Taliban kept a mum over the issue of ‘Missing Persons’ for such a long time but were so quick in case of Aafia?

I believe people are scoring political points in the case of Aafia which may further deteriorate conditions for her. I am saying this because I have sympathies with her only because she is a Pakistani lady. I wish she come back soon on humanitarian grounds.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 14:37 #
  21. I can't answer your questions, sorry, adnak. But like you, I too wish this Pakistani lady is released and returned to us as soon as possible.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 15:01 #
  22. Anonymous

Mirza Ghalib

What do you see in the thread posted under the caption ‘Dr Aafia Siddiqui’s husband statement from Jang/News’ and subsequent post by ‘aftab’ with the following link?

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2009/nov/24/aafia-siddiqui-al-qaida

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Feb 2010 21:17 #
  23. toamin

Amazing logic of the member above, if Jamaat-e-Islami protests for Dr. Aafia then she called a jaamatia, if PTI is demonstrating for her then she is called a PTI, if Taliban are asking for her release then she is taliban -wow!

So, I guess based on same logic Kayani/zardari/Gillani never put effort to get her released because else Aafia would be called their agent? :)

Let us assume if she committed a crime for the sake of discussion, then is this humanity to kidnap a mother of 3 young children among whom one is infant and then smuggle out of the country?

Where are her 2 children, no one can answer this question.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 2:55 #
  24. Anonymous

Instead of getting emotional, we must try to ascertain what is the truth because it the truth that finally prevails. It is significantly important to see:

1. What Aafia said after her conviction (she said the decision of the court has come from Israel)
    2. What Aafia’s close relatives say about her (they believe that Aafia is a violent lady, very much inclined to Taliban philosophy)
    3. What were the comments of Aafia’s mother (instead of expressing grief about her daughter’s fate, she was happy to state “America’s downfall has started from today”)
    4. What Taliban commander has demanded (they will kill American hostage if Aafia is not released)

What one can read between the lines?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:24 #
  25. toamin

Before we answer these questions, we need to know how she landed into american torture cells and what happened to her 3 children.

Don't be afraid to support her, just support her on human rights at least :)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 8:54 #
  26. change_is_close

@adnak
    salam has already said that let's for the sake of argument, assume that she did commit a crime (or crimes), what about the kidnapping, torture, abuse, rendition, and the children??? c'mon, man...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 9:52 #
  27. adnak, thanks for pointing out the Guardian connection above. Aafia's husband is a boor and a cur for making such statements about his ex-wife and the mother of his children. And, adnak, the truth prevails as you so grandly put it in matters to do with God. As regards politics, the truth is never, but never, present. Might alone prevails there.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:21 #
  28. Anonymous

JJ/Salam

Believe you me that I get hurt when I read about the difficulties Aafia has faced and still facing. It is too much especially for a lady. She deserves clemency on humanitarian grounds after going though all these unbearable ordeals.

I also feel that people, and even her mother and sister, are trying to score points on the issue of Aafia, without caring that this may lead to further troubles for her. In today’s world, you cannot hide the facts and realities. You cannot enforce your view point on others.

The best course may be that an effort is made by the people and the government to bring Aafia back to Pakistan on Humanitarian grounds. Let us forget to argue about the kidnapping, torture, abuse, rendition etc; till the time Aafia gets back home, which is possible if situation is tackled wisely.

Let there be a big Movement to bring Aafia back on Humanitarian grounds.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:31 #
  29. Hear! Hear! Let petitions be started. Demonstrators fill the streets. The more self-respecting political parties join in with their full PR arsenal. Aafia Back on Humanitarian Grounds!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:39 #
  30. change_is_close

@adnak
    "and even her mother and sister, are trying to score points on the issue of Aafia, without caring that this may lead to further troubles for her"

i can't believe you can say something like that for a mother. not sure if you have kids bro, i've a three-year-old daughter and i know how it hurts when she's hurt - i feel like crying at times when she's sick, crying. and i'm a father - we all know what mothers are like. why would a mother score points on the suffering of her daughter? is she a sick, hypocrite politician of pakistan? is her sister a politician? i think that they believe in what they're saying. they did their part of compromising, keeping mum, thanking the pakistani authorities and rehman malik for the return of afia's son. they saw that it didn't work, and they're sick of it now, so now they're coming in the open and speaking out what they believe.

bro, think abt it - a mother cannot do that. she would have to be a total *($^%^&&$& to do something like that for her daughter.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 10:49 #
  31. Anonymous

change_is_close

Yes mothers can not do like that unless it is an exceptional case. In a normal situation, the mother of a convicted daughter would not have appeared live on TV so joyful, unconcerned about the future of her daughter and looking for the downfall of a county.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:01 #
  32. BaliMA

dr afia kaie jihad kaie sochaq ki waja saie 2million dollar zaiya ho giya haie. This money could have been used to help the poor citizens of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:06 #
  33. change_is_close

@adnak
    i said that her mother is saying what she believes in, as opposed to your theory of "scoring points on the suffering of her daughter." she was not joyful, she was just patient, as she should've been, according to the teachings of Islam. did you notice the several dips in her voice when she was talking? perhaps, she was overwhelmed with joy (as per your thinking).

had she cried and called upon the muslims to work for the destruction of Israel and the US, you still would've had a problem with that, wouldn't you?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:16 #
  34. change_is_close

@bali
    amreeka sarkaar ko kabhi bura mat kehna... un ka to iss mein koi qusoor nahin, aur na he pakistani agencies ka.

yes, the money would've been used to help the poor zardaris, bhuttos, gillanis, khosas, awans, and maliks.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 11:19 #
  35. aftab arif

What really cheeses me of is why can't Ansar Abbasi the so called champion of investigative journalism do a piece on Aafia and how she disappeared from Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:01 #
  36. Anonymous

I agree Aftab. Ansar Abbasi should investigate Aafia's disappearence and what actually happened till she was taken to US. Truth must come forward

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:11 #
  37. change_is_close

@aftab
    good point!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Feb 2010 12:14 #