Drone attacks continue

(534 posts)
  1. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: At least six killed in two separate drone attacks in North Waziristan

Friday, 01 Jan, 2010
    ----------------------------------------------

MIRAMSHAH: Missiles from a US drone slammed into a car killing three militants Friday, the second such strike in two days in Pakistan's tribal region of North Waziristan, security officials said.

The northwest, rife with militant networks, has been the focus of a hail of bombings in the past month by US spy planes, as Washington targets militant groups it says Pakistan is struggling to tackle.

The morning attack by a drone aircraft struck a vehicle carrying suspected militants in Ghundikala village, 15 kilometres east of Miramshah, the main town of North Waziristan, close to the Afghan border.

“A US drone fired two missiles, targeting a vehicle and killing three militants,” a senior security official in the area told AFP.

“The identity of militants is not known yet. It is also not clear whether any high value target was present in the area when the attack took place.”

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 12:15 #
  2. JUB TUK YEAH ZARDARI BAGHAIRAT RAHEY GA TUB TUK TO YEAH DRONE ATTACKS BUND NAHEE HOE SAKTEY!
    Also SHAME on KIYANI The so called Head of our Pak Army who is more of a POLITICIAN (HERE I AM USING THIS WORD AS SWEARING) then a army officer.

America will learn its lesson INSHALLAH very soon and history will forget Vietnam but will remember Afghanistan and FATA to demolish these ****. INSHALLAH

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 12:21 #
  3. toamin

These drones are operated by CIA and has direct approval from President Obama, the number of drone attacks on Pakistan during Obama's first year is far more than the last 3 years of Bush regime.

Obama has delivered what he promised in election campaign. Remember Obama/Clinton were very open on their position on AF-PAK. Listen to his speeches to understand the plan.

Obama/Biden wanted to shift the war over to Pakistan, now a days when we hear american media we rarely hear Iraq but we hear Pakistan repeated through out the day in one context or the other.

At the end of the day a common listener gets the impression that there is no difference between Afghan or Pakistan.

Kayani/Zardari both are on board for this plan only junior/mid ranking officers are resisting.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 12:29 #
  4. netengr

اہم طالبان کمانڈر حاجی عمر ڈرون حملے میں ہلاک

پاکستان کے قبائلی علاقوں میں ایک طالبان گروپ کے سربراہ حاجی عمر خان شمالی وزیرستان میں ایک امریکی ڈرون حملے میں ہلاک ہوگئے ہیں۔ حاجی عمر نیک محمد کے ہلاک کے بعد ان کے جانشین مقرر کیےگئے تھے۔

حاجی عمر کے قریبی رشتہ داروں نے بی بی سی سے بات کرتے ہوئے تصدیق کی کہ حاجی عمر گزشتہ شام شمالی وزیرستان کی تحصیل میرعلی کے علاقے موچی خیل میں ایک امریکی ڈرون حملے میں ہلاک ہوگئے ہیں۔ انہوں نے بتایا کہ ان کے گروپ کے ساتھیوں نے ان کی لاش ان کے آبائی گاؤں کالوشہ روانہ کردی ہے۔

پاکستان کے قبائلی علاقے شمالی وزیرستان میں گزشتہ شام ایک امریکی ڈرون حملے میں چار افراد افراد ہلاک اور دو زخمی ہو گئے تھے۔مقامی حکام نے بی بی سی کو بتایا تھا کہ اس حملے میں ایک مقامی شخص کریم خان کے حجرے کو نشانہ بنایا گیا تھا جس میں کریم خان کا ایک بیٹا اور ایک خاتون بھی ہلاک ہوگئی تھی۔

یاد رہے کہ دو ہزار پانچ میں حاجی عمر نے وانا میں حکومت کے ساتھ ایک امن معاہدہ کیا تھا لیکن وہ زیادہ دیر تک نہیں چل سکا۔انہوں نے پاکستانی سکیورٹی فورسز اور سرحد پار امریکیوں پر حملوں کا باقاعدہ اعلان کیا تب سے وہ حکومت کو مطلوب تھے۔

اڑتالیس سالہ حاجی عمر افغانستان میں طالبان دور سے پہلے افغان جہاد میں لڑ چکے تھے اور کئی بار زخمی بھی ہوئے تھے۔ افغانستان میں طالبان کے حکومت کے خاتمہ کے بعد وہ امریکہ کے خلاف جنگ میں طالبان کے ساتھ شامل ہوگئے اور افغان طالبان کے اھم رہنماؤں سے ان کے اچھے تعلقات تھے۔

خیال کیا جا رہا ہے کہ حاجی عمر ایک تجربہ کار جنگجوؤں کمانڈر تھے اوران کی ہلاک سے طالبان کی مزاحمتی تحریک کو کافی نقصان پہنچ سکتا ہے۔

پاکستان کی فوج پر حملوں کے حوالے سے حاجی عمر کا موقف تھا کہ امریکی کے اتحادیوں پر حملہ کرنا جائز ہے۔ حاجی عمر نے کچھ عرصہ قبل دعویٰ کیا تھا کہ پاکستان کے راستے نیٹو افواج کے لیے سپلائی لے جانے والے قافلوں پر حملوں کی ذمہ انہیں سونپی گئی تھی جسے ان کے گروپ نے نہایت کامیابی کے ساتھ ادا کیا تھا۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2010/01/100101_haji_umar_dead.shtml

Religion based criticism edited. Use Faith and Religion Section for religious criticism

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 12:53 #
  5. toamin

Where is Army or Air Force why can't they defend the area and provide justice to Pakistani people?

Drones terrorize women & children of whole region, poor people live in constant terror due to 4-6 drones hovering over them all the time.

Where should these innocent people look for help?

Why Army Generals & Air Force Marshals have left these poor populations on the mercy of foreign killing machines?

What a cowardly policy of Pak Army/Air Force.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:22 #
  6. An honest question:
    -Should Pak Army/Air Force shoot down predator drones acting on their own. If they are capable to act on their own than why they have not acted accordingly?
    -Civil Administration-is sold out and therefore not consenting for an 'Order to Defend' to the armed forces.

What is the real case?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:30 #
  7. toamin

Mirza Sahib,

There are many ways to handle this, we don't have to wage a war to stop this.

For example Army could try to question the legitimacy through political sources and stir up debate in public on LEGITIMACY of these killing in Pakistan.

This discussion could generate a public backed pressure for Army/Air Force to act to take them down.

Uniting the people behind this atrocity is must, but we see govt dismissing these by using terms such as militants or foreigners.

This terrorism of drones is the main source of terrorism in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:37 #
  8. kq

Why does no one one care when foreign fighters linked to Taliban & AlQaeda are violating our sovereignty. Why hue and cry only on drone attacks violating our sovereignty. Are all the Uzbeks, Arabs, Chechens, Africans etc. on our land angels. Who gave them the right to come to Pakistan and what is their purpose for coming here. Is Pakistan some free for all place for them to come and do jihad. Why don't they do jihad in their own countries. Kya Pakistan in logon ki baap ki zameen hay, jisso dekho mun utha kar chala ata hay! Khassi foreign jihadi hamaray mulk ko tissue ki tarah use kar rahay hain, jab zaroorat pari to use kya aur ganda kya baghair parwa kay hum par kya asar parta hay. Israel nahin nazar ata in jihadion ko, ajatay hain doosray Muslim countries mein jihad karnay, hypocrites!

We have lost any moral justification for raising hue & cry against drone strikes. As long as our territory is used as a staging ground and supply base for the Taliban in Afghanistan, and fighters cross over into Afghanistan from our side, we will face retaliatory attacks. And these drone attacks are killing militants. They are benefiting us as these militants like Baitullah Mehsud are a virus for us, and a danger to the country.

We should have taken a stand for sovereignty a long time back when the foreign fighters were setting up there hideouts in our tribal areas. We wrongly tolerated them then, we wrongly have to tolerate drone attacks now.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:38 #
  9. kq
    'Why does no one one care when foreign fighters linked to Taliban & AlQaeda are violating our sovereignty.'

Because this thread is about 'Drone attacks continue'...

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:40 #
  10. kq

semirza,

read the whole thing.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:41 #
  11. @kq
    No need to be annoyed. Al Qaeda hideouts are just not the only reason. It is also a show of might by violating air space of a soverign state.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:42 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@kq: You'r words and assertions are irrelevant. 90+ % of those getting killed through drone attacks are civilians.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:44 #
  13. aftab arif

Feel badly let down by this government and military. if they is taliban on our side, that is our problem to deal with, if the yanks say these militants move back and forth over the border, well they is 2 sides to a border and they should secure they side.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:49 #
  14. aftab arif

Stop they logistics then watch them change they tune.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:50 #
  15. Pakistan should start using their own minds by not accepting briefs where they are informed so and so is Al Qaida.
    Same like they were looking for WMDs in Iraq based on assumptions and false Intelligence.
    First they themselves release them and let them infiltrate into Pakistan to create a pretext for a drone attack. A nice drama to keep Pakistan and Afghanistan suffering, all to what cost? Their presence in this area only!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 13:54 #
  16. kq

hariskhan,

how come you know 90% killed are civilians. It may have been during the time of Musharraf. But now if you read the news reports, its always some militants being killed in drone attacks or there hideout destroyed. The accuracy of drone attacks has increased greatly.

So you're saying if 100% militants are killed in drone attacks it would justify them for you.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:06 #
  17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Mirza sb. time and again we reach the same conclusion -> we need US to get out of this region.

The only entity practically running 'tehreek' for ouster of US from this region is JI. Although Imran Khan supports this viewpoint, I haven't seen any 'tehreek' from PTI in this direction. No other person or entity is doing it.

If Pakistani people don't like JI, that is fine. Why don't they start their own 'Go Amreeka Go' tehreek ? Our government is also not doing the same.

Where the heck! are we going ? What the heck! are we doing ?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:06 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@kq: I'm not here to engage in the game of semantic trickery with you. You can turn and twist my words to whatever end you want. You only delude yourself in this frivolous excersize.

I have said what I wanted to say. I standby my words.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:15 #
  19. I think PTI has better credibility in comparison to JI - Old vs New. As the saying goes people are more willing for a change and would like PTI to come forth.
    Anyway drones are a sheer violation of Pakistani airspace if we consider what Pakistani Foreign Office has been saying although people have lost all faith in PPP and do not trust the current Ruling Coalition at all.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:17 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I went to Mansoora for Juma prayers today. Munawwar Hassan gave Juma sermon as usual. Qazi sb. didn't attend. Perhaps he's out of city.

Qazi sb. attended last week. Although I shook hands with him after Juma, I couldn't bring myself to talk to him about 'weaknesses/improvements' at the time.

I will talk to JI leaders about 'weaknesses', 'improvements' as soon as I settle some of my personal affairs. Can't talk to them before that.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:28 #
  21. KQ,

Why are u assuming that Talibaan are behind every bomb blast in Pakistan (by calling them terrorist etc) Why an American statement is more credible for you and people like you but you fail to listen to people from FATA who are crying out loud that all the bomb blasts @ civilian areas are conducted by BW and other foreign agents supported by Pakistan Army Generals and ISI.
    You seems to be one of those people who will never question the presence of american and other western army in a neighboring muslim state. May I ask you, why did Pakistani nation and specially Pakistan Army waged and supported JIHAD against Russia in late 70's and 80's? Just Like USA, they were also non muslims and you could have been friends with russians, just the way you are friends with USA these days.

But at that time the whole of Pakistani nation along with PAK Army was behind that JIHAD but now the same Mujahiddins are TERRORIST, JIHADIS (I feel sorry for people who use this term in their blind hatred towards JIHAD) and JANGHLI janwaar. So you are telling me that the definition of JIHAD changes when its against USA? or our Emman/faith is so weak and non existent now that we s h i t our pants when we see an american chopper or hear an american threat.

Accept the fact that you don't care about ISLAM as your religion per sae and you are not prepared to defend and work for your deen. Then you can criticize everyone who fights for the deen - e - ISLAM.

I AM NOT DEFENDING TALIBAAN HERE but I am not prepared to believe that Talibaan are the root cause of violence and all these bomb blasts in Pakistan. Every member of MEDIA, AGENCIES AND PEOPLE WITH CONTACTS know that the Islamabad Marriott hotel blast, Peshawar blast and recent Karachi ashoora incident is a work of art of either the agencies or Govt backed parties/groups. (ISL blast = ISI, Peshawar =BW and Karachi = PPP/MQM )

If any Talibaan is proved to be involved in the killing of any innocent civilian, he should be hanged publicly but at the same time we should hang ZARDARI, ALTAF HUSSEIN, NAWAZ SHARIF for betraying this nation, for their corruption, for betraying the law of this country, for selling this country and it's country men, for taking part in the killing of thousands of innocent civilians.

in the end, I would say that I am ashamed to be part of this nation where Zardari's are our rulers and Kiyanis are our head of army.... I am sure, we have hit the rock bottom of our national history when it comes to corruption and disgrace of our national pride!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 14:38 #
  22. Musician

"in the end, I would say that I am ashamed to be part of this nation where Zardari's are our rulers and Kiyanis are our head of army.... I am sure, we have hit the rock bottom of our national history when it comes to corruption and disgrace of our national pride!"

@KHAN_Shib

With a very heavy heart, I concur with you, but I am an optimist. I beleive things could not get any worse and therefore one can expect an improvement.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:09 #
  23. netengr

لکی مروت میں خودکش کار بم دھماکہ، تیس ہلاک

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2010-daily/01-01-2010/updates/1-1-2010_16238_1.gif

Jab Taliban Masom logon ko qatal kertay hain tou yeh jamati bari khushi say TV per aatay hain aur apni nakam siyasat dobara chamkanay ki koshish kertay hain

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:12 #
  24. Musician

We need to get out of this blame game. Do we ever realise that there is only one party which can be blamed and that is the people. Afterall, the current government was voted in by the people. Did we think and put a value on our vote before we threw it away? No, we go for slogans, we have short memories, we do not remember the past performances of the politicians/parties and when history repeats itself then we start looking around for scapegoats (US,Talibans,India and so on and so forth. We need to wake up from deep slumber.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:20 #
  25. kq

khan sahib,

I didnot mention anything about assuming every bomb blast is caused by taliban. I am talking specifically about why americans are conducting drone attacks, and whether they should be conducted or not.

The rules are equal for everyone. I think the presence of foreign militants in our tribal areas is well documented and has been reported extensively in our local media. Some of the captured militants have even been shown on TV. My point is that is is our past failures and mistakes that are haunting us right now. We should have cared about sovereignty in the past to when the jihadis were abusing it, it is to late now. We have lost the moral high ground. The militants are well entrenched in FATA and now we need to conduct military operations to remove them. Till the time we are 100% in control of our own territory, which we are not presently, sadly the drone attacks will continue, but they are also in our benefit.

Also, i hope u will realize that we are conducting military operations in FATA, to reclaim our sovereignty which we have lost to the militants. Or u only see violation of sovereignty when drone attacks happen. The issue of sovereignty should be applied equally on everyone.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:21 #
  26. It is like taking assistance from America, our 62 years old partner and ally, to regain the Sovereignty from foreign invaders.

To ask for help from an ally for the accomplishment of a job, what we can't handle properly, cannot be translated as a 'Sacrifice of Sovereignty'.

American intervention for the freedom of Kuwait, where she was captured by Iraq, was not a violation of Kuwait's Sovereignty.
    In a complex trail where ground and traditional war is not feasible, Drone Attack is the second best alternative.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:40 #
  27. Musician

@javedsheikh

Kuwait asked for US assistance. Has Pakistan asked for US assistance? If that is the case then there should not be any question of the violation of Pakistan's soverignty.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:46 #
  28. Yes sir.
    Establishment of Pakistan under Gen. Musharraf asked for American Assistance, just after the Incident of 9/11.
    American Administration dispatched logistic, physical and monetary assistance to Pakistan.
    Most of the Military Equipment during the American Attack on Afghanistan, was placed in Pakistan.
    For Defensive and National Security reasons all the details cannot be disclosed to the Media.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 15:56 #
  29. Musician

Thank you for clarification.
    I wonder why then the Government keeps syaing "we will not allow the soverighnty to be violated". Are the people being fooled, hoodwincked? Is is misinformation, disinformation or gross maladministration?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:08 #
  30. Sovereignty of Pakistan has never been violated.
    All the Institutions from President to Peon ae being run by Pakistanis.
    It is just a propaganda or political farting.

Was the Sovereignty of Pakistan compromised where Korea were assisting Pakistani Engineers at the Motor Way?

American dominance over the Oil Production, is not related to the Sovereignty of Saudi Arabia.

Defense and Trade Pacts among sovereign nations, are normal and civilized norms of Diplomacy.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:27 #
  31. Musician

Imlication is that a Defence Pact exists which allows Drone Attacks.

I wonder if this defence pact is like SEATO and CENTO where the US did not honour its obgligation under the Pacts!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:36 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@kq: Your current source of info is not credible. Its in-credible. You don't even have the slightest idea of reality.

Appearances are deceiving in this era.

Javaid Sheikh sb. Pakistan never asked for US's help. You can take this nation's recent response to Kerry Lugar Act as evidence of this fact.

It is just a small 'tola' of 'elite' who ask for US's help. They don't believe in 'self reliance'. They believe in living OUT of their means. Their love for luxurious life forces them not to believe in ALLAH ALMIGHTY. They believe in US. They will soon find out reality INSHALLAH.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:41 #
  33. aftab arif

The mafia in power know this is wrong and if they had an ounce of truth in them they would say we have allowed the yanks to drone us but they know that majority of Pakistanis are against this so don't speak openly for drones attacks.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:42 #
  34. kq

hariskhan,

Why don't you inform me of about true reality. You just come and make statements that i don't know anything. Please elaborate, or just stay quiet.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:46 #
  35. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@kq: Many people other than me have already tried. You are not ready to listen to anyone. Why should we waste our time with deliberations that are nothing to you ?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:47 #
  36. kq

hariskhan,

really they have! i think i am discussing the drone issue for the first time.
    I am not ready to listen to anyone, u must be talking about yourself, lolz. Don't waste time on me, infact don't even bother addressing me. Thats why i said elaborate or stay quiet. Hope you will agree to save more of precious your time doing that.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 16:58 #
  37. waashee

As we know that the DRONE ATTACKS started in MUSHARAF'S GOVERNMENT.And first time in pakistan,landing of AMARICAN ARMY in JAKAB ABAD was due the permission of GEN.MUSHARAF.So I think Musharaf did a secret agreement to America about the DRONE ATTACKS.Army Chief has said many times that "we can drop the drone easily" but FEDERAL GOVERNMENT is involved there. Federal government also want to get the DRONE TECHNOLOGY and it is also one fact to keep quite of Federal Government.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 17:00 #
  38. altafi

@kq, mirza sahib,,,
    aziz pakistani,,,
    meray khayal se aap ghor say kq ki baat parhain aur mazeed ghor karin ,,daikhain aik islami mulk ko unhon nay yeh soch k nishana banaya howa hay me extrimist ki bat ker raha hoon k yahan woh islaam ka nara lagain gay aur loog islaam ki khatir kareeb ho jain gay aur baat rahi jihaad ki tu history perhye me bhi parh raha hoon aj kal aap ko afghani tareekh ka andaza ho jaye ga aur aaj jo jang lari ja rahi hay woh kia hay,,,yeh sub kisi na kisi k agent hain aur kuch nahin,,,

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 17:26 #
  39. "Drone attacks continue,"

When Musharraf Regime, even after getting all the Payments from America, could not fulfill the promise to finish Terrorism in the region, American Administration had no other choice but to intervene to fix the problem.

A Specialist is needed where a General Physician fails or gets confused to handle a patient.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 18:19 #
  40. Musician

@javedsheikh

The Specialist has the patient(Pakistan) on the operating table and the patient is bleeding to death becasue the Specialist appears to be incompetent in his profession and should be sent back to base without compensation.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 18:36 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

*Laughing Out Loud*

@Musician: I was about to respond to Javaid sb. After reading your post, I have decided not to respond.

*Laughing Out Loud*

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 18:49 #
  42. ased

Hasn't Pakistan got any Radars to locate Drons, and shot them? Also America will do that with our Planes.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 19:02 #
  43. FACTBOX: U.S. drone strikes in Pakistan
    Augustine Anthony
    ISLAMABAD
    Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:25am EDT
    ISLAMABAD (Reuters) - A suspected U.S. drone aircraft fired a missile at a vehicle carrying Taliban in Pakistan’s South Waziristan region on Sunday, killing three militants, a tribal leader and an intelligence official said.
    World
    Civilian casualties caused by the missile-carrying drones, operated by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, have infuriated many Pakistanis and made it harder for the government to cooperate with the United States.
    Here are some facts about the U.S. missile attacks, the controversy they have caused, and a list of some of the more prominent militants killed according to Pakistani officials.
    WHY DOES THE UNITED STATES ATTACK?
    Many al Qaeda members and Taliban fled to northwestern Pakistan’s ungoverned ethnic Pashtun belt after U.S.-led soldiers ousted Afghanistan’s Taliban government in 2001. From the sanctuaries, the militants have orchestrated insurgencies in Afghanistan and Pakistan. The United States and Afghanistan have pressed Pakistan to eliminate the sanctuaries. Apparently frustrated by Pakistan’s inability to do so, the United States is hitting the militants itself.
    HOW MANY ATTACKS?
    The United States has carried out about 40 drone air strikes since the beginning of last year, most since September, killing more than 330 people, including many foreign militants, according to a tally of reports from Pakistani intelligence agents, district government officials and residents. There have been 18 attacks this year.
    SOME OF THE PEOPLE REPORTED KILLED
    January 28, 2008 - A senior al Qaeda member, Abu Laith al-Libi, was killed in a strike in North Waziristan.
    July 28 - An al Qaeda chemical and biological weapons expert, Abu Khabab al-Masri, was killed in South Waziristan.
    October 31 - A mid-level al Qaeda leader, Abu Akash, was killed in an attack in North Waziristan.
    November 19 - An Arab al Qaeda operative identified as Abdullah Azam al-Saudi was killed in Bannu district.
    November 22 - Rashid Rauf, a Briton with al Qaeda links and the suspected ringleader of a 2006 plot to blow up airliners over the Atlantic, was killed in an attack in North Waziristan. An Egyptian named as Abu Zubair al-Masri was said to be among the dead in the same attack.
    January 1, 2009 - A U.S. drone killed three foreign fighters in South Waziristan, Pakistani agents said. A week later, a U.S. counterterrorism official said al Qaeda’s operational chief Usama Al-Kini and an aide had been killed in South Waziristan. The U.S. official declined to say how or when they died.
    WHERE ARE THE DRONES LAUNCHED FROM?
    A senior U.S. lawmaker, Senator Dianne Feinstein, told a U.S. Senate hearing in February that drones were being operated and flown from an air base inside Pakistan. Pakistan denied that, saying there was no permission for the strikes, nor had there even been.
    U.S. POSITION
    The United States has shrugged off Pakistani protests. It says the missile strikes are carried out under an agreement with Islamabad which allows Pakistani leaders to decry the attacks in public. U.S. officials said last month the United States had given Pakistan data on militants in the Afghan border area gathered by surveillance drones in Pakistani airspace under an agreement with Pakistan. Confirming the existence of the program, which started in mid-March, U.S. military officials said it allowed the Pakistani military to request missions over specific areas of its Federally Administered Tribal Areas.
    PAKISTAN’S POSITION
    But Pakistan denied any such agreement. Pakistan supports the U.S.-led campaign against violent militancy but does not allow foreign military operations inside its territory. It says the drones violate its sovereignty and undermine efforts to deal with militancy because they inflame public anger and bolster militant support. Pakistan has pressed the United States to provide it with drones to allow it to conduct its own anti-militant operations.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 19:11 #
  44. netengr

Drones are Allah ka Azaab on Terrorists ,If no drones there would be different kind of Azab

check this out :) :)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 19:11 #
  45. Anonymous

I condemn the drone attacks.

But I get more convinced with the comments of kq. Why not to through out the root cause of problem i.e. foreign jihadi extremists. I think they are also responsible for killing of local innocent population as these cowards are hiding amongst them. As such, these foreign jihadis are using the local population as human shield for their defence.

netengr

Aap bhi theek kehtay hein, Yeh Allah Ka Azaab Hai

Was it a drone attack as well in your linked vide? It was hilarious.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 19:31 #
  46. SufiSoul

Destroying others houses will earn the same for rest of the Pakistanis......All i can say it.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 21:28 #
  47. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

(sarcasm) Talat did his program aired on 01-Jan-2010 on Drone attacks, on the threats Amreeka and its troops surge in Afghanistan poses for Pakistan.

I wonder why Talat is worried about Amreeka ? After all .. Amreeka would never go against Pakistan.

I wonder why Talat started the year 2010 with the topic 'threats to Pakistan from Amreeka, its troops surge in Afghanistan' ?

I thought only a Jamati would utter such words. How Jamatia! of Talat do talk against Amreeka.

How can he, a secular person talk against Amreeka ?

Talat must be out of his mind, right ? (/sarcasm)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 22:01 #
  48. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Death toll in drone strike rises to 13

By Our Correspondent
    Monday, 28 Dec, 2009
    ----------------------------------------------------

MIRAMSHAH: The death toll in Saturday’s drone strike on a militant compound in the Saidgai area of North Waziristan rose to 13 on Sunday after eight more bodies were retrieved from the debris of the house, sources said.

Initial reports said that five people had died in the attack. Three people were injured. Asmatullah, the owner of the house, survived the attack.

A Taliban commander, identified as Abdur Rehman Wazir, was among the dead, the sources said. Residents said the eight bodies were shifted to the Shewa village for burial.

AFP adds: “The Taliban have recovered more bodies from the debris. We have reports that a total of 13 militants were killed and three injured,” an intelligence official in Miramshah said.

The compound was used by local militants attached to the Haqqani network, which has attacked US troops in Afghanistan, said a senior security official.

Other security officials also confirmed that 13 were killed in the strike, including a local commander, but it was unclear if any foreigners were among the dead.

The US military does not confirm drone attacks, which US officials say have killed a number of top-level militants.

Tags: drone,north waziristan,missile attack

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 22:15 #
  49. Wahid Doyum

"A Taliban commander, identified as Abdur Rehman Wazir, was among the dead,"

Good job drones for doing the job Pakistani army cannot do. Enemy of Pushtuns deserve this and more.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 22:48 #
  50. Shock

@Wahid Doyum

Just to add of what you just said. It was a U.S drone that killed Baitullah Mehsud, who was doing terrorism in Pakistan. Pakistan Army couldn't even capture Fazlullah.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 Jan 2010 23:32 #