Education in Pakistan.

(68 posts)
  1. NNL

If any mere chance you are asked to rewrite the Education Syllabus for Primary and Secondary Schools of Pakistan for Board Examinations

What subjects would you choose and why ?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 8:54 #
  2. Red-Scorpion

@NNL

O bhiyaa yeh tou bara hee serious topic hay :(

Anyway, we should start teaching real history to our kids not afsaanas of Nasim Hijazi !

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:07 #
  3. amin1924

NNL,

Good topic. Here is my thought process.

#1 Political will from leadership is required.

#2 Educational policy is required.

#3 For implementation we hire best technocrats, because it is purely technical field & matter. You have scientists who can advice on what syllabus to have for primary, secondary, higher etc. this is technical matter, not everyone can make suggestions/recommendations.

My two cents.

Thanks-

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:14 #
  4. education system requires an over hauling all together.
    double standards should be avoided .
    and good and valuable material should be provided to the schools who are considered Urdu medium schools.
    books should contain authentic knowledge .
    not emotional stories.
    and englsih medium kids needs to be very given the education of Urdu poetry and literature too.
    i hate when they say proudly:
    Urdu ?i just cant read it ...

5. khurram Zaman

Well most of the educated ppl never like to any education during cshool for the kids.They think its waiste of time and extra burden..
    They just choose certain subjects like,english,urdu,maths to teach him at home and whenever kids are send to school their is statement for the teachers,Khabardar inko parana nahi..
    Latter kids are able to just once appear in 5th class and 10 class examination...
    Lot of their time is bieng spent during this exercise and you are able to keep ur childs on track and under ur special observation..
    Most of the people also equiped their childs with some religious knowledge like arabic language and Hifz..
    I personally think this is the best way for the kids to deal with upto 10 class.....

6. khurram Zaman

NNl,
    my intention is not to diviate from ur thread but to intruduce you with modern approach...by mostly educated class of the ppl......

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:15 #
  7. NNL

Khurram

would care to explain your post again
    cos i didnt get it

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:24 #
  8. amin1924

Khurram,

Do you have any school going child yet? It isn't just about learning math/english etc because more than 50% of that is learnt from home anyway. Schools provide much more than that for example:

#1 Socialize and learn to behave with other kids
    #2 Competition and leadership skills
    #3 Various teachers can point out strengths/weaknesses
    #4 Development of special interests
    #5 Physical activity

Just a few..

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:28 #
  9. NNL

JJ bhai

U nmay not need technocrats we are and have studied in Intl Unis and are seeing other children studying we can make our guesses from that

Technocrats hmm that will take a huge time.

what do u think of Mixing up Religious and Western Studies.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:29 #
  10. khurram Zaman

Study at home upto 10th class of ur child.....
    Only take exams for 5th and 10th class...
    All the study at home not at school including hifz,arabic languge,english language...
    No extra burden of the subjects.
    Child is under ur supervision 24/7.

A new technique to educate ur child......

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:31 #
  11. amin1924

NNL,

This is a specialized field no doubt about it. In universities there are especial programs on this. There are especial researches on child learning/behavior.

We could copy/paste from some schools that are using modern methods, but can't deny this is a scientific & technical field.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:34 #
  12. khurram Zaman

JJkhan,
    i thik ur not talking about any pakistani school..
    I have many of the educated ppl, have the same technique for their kids...
    and i like it very much the way that kids bieng grown up...
    Just with some limited needs at that time for the young ones..
    and very well single hand drive...
    You know single hand drive concept..
    and above all mix of modern and religious education....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:35 #
  13. khurram Zaman

This is under slogan,

:KHABAR DAR MERY BACHON KO PARHAYA THO:

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:39 #
  14. amin1924

Khurram,

There are pros & cons in both ways.

As a father of school going children I have pondered upon both. I think the values that I explained above are integral part of human personality development which can not be neglected.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:43 #
  15. khurram Zaman

but you know if comparison is in favour of to teach ue kids at home than it is very good and one can find the ppl experienced this way of teaching and caring....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:51 #
  16. khurram Zaman

In pakistan their are schools but just a two or three types having a very good moral environment both religious and modrn but still if a father can be proved usefull for both than this system is best to teach at home....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 9:53 #
  17. khurram Zaman

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/aug2009-daily/26-08-2009/u3454.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 10:15 #
  18. amin1924

Khurram,

Indeed very disturbing news for Muslim parents:

But of course these schools are following policy given to them either from govt or from NGOs who provide funds.

That is why I said earlier that national education policy is very important.

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/education-in-pakistan#post-73374

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 10:19 #
  19. msohail83

NNL,

There is not so much wrong with the syllabus. The biggest problem is the method in which exams are conducted.

Students are not being tested for their knowledge on the subject, instead it is the test of their ability of to memorize. If you do a survey, you'll find 9 out of 10 students will not do anything all year long and grab their books in the last month to memorize stuff. This is a really bad practice!

What I feel needs to be done is break-down of grading system. Instead of overburdening students comprehensive exams, they should be divided over 2-4 midterm exams. This will keep students interested throughout the academic year and will ecourage them to understand instead of memorizing information.

Hope you got my point!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 10:20 #
  20. khurram Zaman

JJkhan,
    unless and untill pakistan education standard is the same than the alternate is self education system..
    Yes parents needed to have a lot of modrn and religious to trnsfr to his child and parents must be the dadicated ones...

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 10:27 #
  21. kingsalah

what is education & what education tells us that don't respect ur parents and do the bad deeds I think not pakistan all the world need the true education the education which is at peak the quranic education. The education by which u can reach the edge this vast universe

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 10:41 #
  22. Syllabus upto Secondary education:

Maths, science, humanities (world geography and world history), urdu, english, Islamiyat, the arts.

@NNL:

Your initial idea of Western studies to run along side Deeni studies is a must and vital for kids to have a braod foundation of study most especially in the early years.

Syllabus should be set and modified by quality, qualified, sincere and passionate educators.

Will post some more ideas in a short while....... to be cont.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 12:39 #
  23. zjshami

There is not much wrong with existing Education System and the Disciplines of Syllabus.
    The alike System of Education has helped most of the neighboring countries to progress.
    Why it failed in Pakistan?
    It is not the System of Education or Syllabus but something else what needs to be researched, detected and improved.
    Do you think the Taxation Laws or Traffic Rules are wrong what make people not to honor and obey?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:16 #
  24. khurram Zaman

Do you think the Taxation Laws or Traffic Rules are wrong what make people not to honor and obey? ???

The currupt environment created by nawaza and zardari's parties caused the rest of the ppl to find ways towards dis obey the rules and regulations....
    Only clean leadership will cause the ppl to be on the track and strict accountability system needs to work......

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:23 #
  25. @zjshami:

..."There is not much wrong with existing Education System and the Disciplines of Syllabus"...

Would you care to expand on this?

Would you also care to put two children side by side: an 8yr old from the Uk and an 8yr old from any rural school you care to choose. Would you please tell me what you will see?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:33 #
  26. msohail83

Oriel ji,

Aap ne apni ibtadai taleem pakistan se hasil ki ya UK se?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:34 #
  27. Furthermore, the style and method of teaching in 1o and 2o (primary and secondary) schools needs to be turned on its head.

Get rid of the neolithic learning by rote and 'dentist chair' environment of these schools and make them atleast look more child friendly.

Teachers need to be re-trained in child psychology after which they must take exams to prove their ability to teach the future of our nation.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:37 #
  28. @msoahil:

(lol.... karam aap ke meethey style par) :-)

All my education has been from Uk, none from Pakistan, this is the truth. Though all my relatives here and in Pak are from rural areas and all my visits to Pakistan (many and frequent since 1988) have brought me to an understanding of what improvements could be made to 1o and 2o education.

Though if I am wrong in my suggestions or asessments by all means come in and put me to rights.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:42 #
  29. msohail83

ok ji,

See ye bara complicated masla hai....

Its not just the syllabus. Read my first post and there are many other things that need to be looked at big time!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:45 #
  30. I read your first post and agreed with all in it.

You are right, a whole spectrum of issues must be addressed:

Syllabus, teaching methods, school environment, governmental funding (or non-existent funding), ghost school elimination, proper inspections upon solid education policy, teacher training overhaul.

Also I think a govt led advertising campaign would be a good idea to pump the idea of the importance of 1o and 2o education for our kids. It really is essential to get the early year learning right, as it sets up the student with strong foundation of basic knowledge upon which to build further.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:54 #
  31. chechen

We need to revamp the current secular education that is inherited from the legacy of colonial rule. It needs to be Islamised. We cannot afford the western model of education that relegates God to church and limit to Sunday worship.

Interesting presentation.

http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/sheikhrafi-141284-islamic-education-system-ppt-powerpoint

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:58 #
  32. zjshami

Most of Pakistanis got their education from 'Tappar Schools' where they sit on the floor as no bench or stool could be afforded by the management.
    There is a long list of Scholars, Poets, Philosophers, Doctors, Engineers, Teachers and Celebrities, who emerged after getting elementary grooming out of 'Tappar Schools'.
    The Education System was not properly maintained, preserved and applied.
    During my school days I read this at the Reader's Digest:
    "About forms of the Government, let the fools contend. That is the best which is administered best."
    The same is true about Educational System.
    I don't hold that the process of improvement should be stopped. Innovations and improvement is a requirement to run a system successfully.
    Much depends upon the driver who is steering an automobile.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 13:59 #
  33. msohail83

zjshami,

The standard of education in those schools is not the same it used to be few decades back. They aren't producing the best of students anymore!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:06 #
  34. msohail83

Teaching Methods -- What a BIG Problem!

My physics teacher would pick a student in class to stand up and read the text out loud to the students topic by topic, chapter by chapter all year long. That is how physics was being taught!

The interaction b/w teacher and students is non-existent. Student is assigned some homework which he simply goes home and copies on a blank piece of paper to turn in next day. No thought process involved at all! No such projects are assigned where the student is forced to think and be creative.

My school was lucky enough to have labortories and was equipped with sufficient apparatus to conduct experiments but that's a rarity! A lot of schools would have labs but not enough equipments or no labs at all.

This is a major problem.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:17 #
  35. Chechen:

I fail to understand why you are always so defensive.

No one is advocating Western style of education..... I fully agree with Islamicizing the education. No one is advocating a relegation of anything. Rather an inclusion of quality organization, passion to teach and subjects that would equip the student with knowledge, life-skills and self-confidence as a talib.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:24 #
  36. msohail:

Agree again.

A healthy teacher student relationship is a necessity if the student is to continue the desire to learn.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:25 #
  37. msohail83

Board exams should be abolished. It has become a lucrative business now where ppl have to pay their admission fees to take exams. This fee may not be a lot but believe me RS 200 is a lot for majority of our population.

Shahbaz Sharif recently tried to push for it in Punjab but failed. Apparently there was some resistance from bureaucracy. Can you believe it?

I fail to understand what purpose do board exams serve anyway? You have a teacher who teaches you all year long and in the end your exam is prepared by someone UNKNOWN! This makes things really really hard. Over the year student and teacher develop a relationship and the student knows what he'll be tested on. Why so much grief?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:35 #
  38. zjshami

1. How much Religion has been included in the Education System of the Developed nations, such as France, Germany, Japan, China, America, UK, Canada, Korea?
    2. Honestly, what ever information and knowledge about religion I have, it is from my parents and through my family's way of living.
    I don't remember much about what my Islamiyat Teachers in School and college taught me.
    3. We need to conduct a comparative study about the contributions of the youth coming out of different Systems of Schools.
    4. At certain levels, the exposure of reality and channels of information has been blocked intentionally fearing what could push the youth away from religion and they will start asking and seeking answers to the unanswerable.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:46 #
  39. @zjshami:

..."How much Religion has been included in the Education System of the Developed nations, such as France, Germany, Japan, China, America, UK, Canada, Korea"...

Do not make the mistake of thinking that the education systems of these nations are complete and desirable for us.

We are Muslims.... much of our awaam are jaahil Muslims with not enough opportunity to learn. Our education system must produce free-thinking, creative, knowledgable in deen and duniya people that are capable of living and running their own country.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:50 #
  40. chechen

"How much Religion has been included in the Education System of the Developed nations, such as France, Germany, Japan, China, America, UK, Canada, Korea"

All these countries are facing serious social disorders. Population is sinking, family structure is breaking down, moral decadence, promiscuimous life style, same sex marriage and host of other social ills. There is something seriously wrong. What is the use for being a devoloped country if you have those problems.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:00 #
  41. usman1423

Any Nation whose people believe in an idea would also want their future generations to adopt such ideas so as to preserve them. This culture of a Nation is what determines a people's civilisation, the nation's goals, and their way of life. Such people are moulded into one Nation based on this culture. And it is this culture that distinguishes one nation from another. This also holds true for the Muslim Ummah.

What is meant by culture is the Aqeedah and what emanates from this Aqeedah in terms of Ahkams, solutions and systems; and what is based upon the Aqeedah such as other knowledge, sciences and the history linked to this culture (biography of the Ummah). If this culture is lost, it will lead to the demise of the Ummah as a distinguished Ummah; the objective of the Ummah and her way of life will be changed and she will be left following the culture of other nations.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:02 #
  42. zjshami

Here lies the mistake where we try to blend Deen and Duniya at each and every level.
    This struggle and attempt is the main culprit to cause confusion and frustration.
    A practical effective formula depends upon a balanced potency of all the ingredients required to maintain a healthy social life.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:02 #
  43. @zjshami:

We are talking about 1o and 2o education, not each and every level. It is very important to teach and learn a broad spectrum of subjects that will equip student for skills in this world and chance of Jannah in after-life.

What is your problem with that exactly?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:23 #
  44. zjshami

Every time we reach the same Point where we started from.

The Nations where the family structure is breaking down and other social evils are emerging, is an anti-climax of a climax.

Where we have not yet taken a start towards any direction.

Unfortunately, we have not reached a consensus about the destination towards climax.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:58 #
  45. NNL

Ok

Now we are getting to the issues which actually face Pakistan.

The biggest problem in Pakistan atleast with the Public Govt Schools is that they need to be upgraded. Urdu as in Urdu medium needs to be changed and that major change.

Teachers There are some very good teachers around in every city but they are hampered by idiocy of the Boards.

No Boards dont need to go away they need to be over hauled. Like any GCE or GED system. Honestly i studied from a Pakistani school and then when had money i shifted to an American School believe you me the only place where i lacked was literature and Science i was a year behind them .

Yes the only way u can do away with rote learning is if you change the pattern of the Boards.

But you did be shocked to see that 90% of the Docs in US and UK are all there due to rote learning and trust me on this i know so.

Boards need to be seriously overhauled.

Western Studies.
    You ought to know their history before you critisize them.
    Literature needs to be studied. there are a lot of things that one can learn to adapt and understand where the Gora is coming from when is opposite you during a meeting.

Religious Studies.
    Quran Hifz and atleast Tajweed should be very much compulsory along with Arabic. Why

99% of the awam seriously whines about the Mullahs. then why dont you finish the excessive need for the Mullah once for all? It aint that hard.
    If your child understands the Language in which Your ENTIRE REligion was revealed dont you think he/she wouldnt need Molvi Inc that much.

You would have been having tons of khair if this initiative is taken.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:03 #
  46. here in Pakistan ...
    i have noticed that in upper and upper middle class .
    Parents are shedding their responsibilities and trying to get rid off from most of them ,by admitting their kids to a modern grammar school and they wanna school to teachers to teach the kids ,what parents never bothered to teach at home.
    assuming that if we are paying a huge amount as a fee ,why not their teachers teach them each and everything ....

that approach should need to be changed .

parents are suppose to teach kids the basics of all.
    dont expect school to teach your kid ,how to go about life?

on the other hand ,lower middle and middle class kids are studying in Govt schools .
    which are in bad conditions ...poor management .
    zero funds ...
    and mostly Safirishi and incompetent teachers .
    a Matric pass is teaching a Matric class .
    their syllabus is too old and nobody ever bothered to revise them.
    i have seen their text books .
    there is no mention of Dhaka fall in their Pakistan Studies book .
    there is no Faiz in their Urdu book .
    book ends at Iqbal .

what we wanna out of our kids ,by keeping them in the darkness of ignorance?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Aug 2009 4:34 #
  47. quaidkamazaar

excellent point made above Beenai,

Chechen, you are emphasizing to islamicize education? do you think it would be a good idea to really do that considering if there are hindu and christian students in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Aug 2009 4:47 #
  48. Red-Scorpion

@Chechan

"""All these countries are facing serious social disorders. Population is sinking, family structure is breaking down, moral decadence, promiscuimous life style, same sex marriage and host of other social ills. There is something seriously wrong. What is the use for being a devoloped country if you have those problems. """

>>>>

Wonderful, soon Muslims will be ruling all the Western countries as Kafirs will become extinct due to 'family planning' and same sex marriages :))))

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Aug 2009 5:11 #
  49. amin1924

quaidkamazaar,

hindu/christian/atheist are allowed to choose their religion, no imposition of Islam in their private lives.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Aug 2009 5:29 #
  50. NNL

Quaid ka Mazaar.

Bhai Jan kia kabhi Ghalti se Saint School mein nahin parha hai ?

For crying out loud half of the Muslim Children study in Catholic Schools in the West and are exempted from religious classes.

Same goes for the Proposed Combo of Studies.

Does it anywhere say that EVERY ONE WILL BE FORCED?

Yaar Islam hai Tumhara Deen Agar tum khud isko nahin samjho gaye tou phir dhoontay rehna Molvi ko Namaz-e-Janaza ke liye.

Yaar Binocular thinkings se bahir niklo.

Agar tum ya mein Quran aur Arabic ko acchi tarah se samajh letey tou kia yeh jo Islam ke naam per politicial activities of terrorism conduct hoti hain unko jarh se nahin rukh detay.

Like Honestly agar mein tum se yeh kahaoun ke Quran mein Jilbab ka hukum kia tum yeh baat mano ge ? Agar tum ne ya mein ne Quran parha hota ( i mean like in as a subject in school) we would have understood the Ayats of Jihad and anyone who wanted to exploit the Ayats of Jihad would have been stopped by you.

Get my point.

Itna mat daro apnay deen ko pechan ne mein mere bhai. Agar hum ne is ko Qabool mein kiya ussi taraha jaisay Nabi ne bataya hai yaqweenan hum yeh umeed nahin rakhi ni chahiye ke Islam humain Qabool karey ga Barooz-e-Hashar.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Aug 2009 5:39 #