Electricity Issue in Pakistan

(171 posts)
  1. Ok, right. You are saying something wholly sensible there. Now my return question: So what are we going to do about it? Talk and talk and talk? Argue and argue and argue? HK, you have to see who your real enemy is in this matter: the damnable power people. We have to do it ourselves, for a change. Or do we want to rise up in insurrection? It's too early for that, isn't it? And the cost would be extremely high in the blood of the poor and the needy. We are being forcefully deprived of things which are our right, spot on. So what do we do? I know of only one solution in such a situation. WE DO IT OURSELVES! WE BYPASS OUR GOVERNMENT! That is not insurrection. That is plain common sense.

None of us here is deadly broke. Otherwise we couldn't afford to be blogging at all. Start a thread, give us a bank account number, ask people for donations to start electricity on our own. Small scale, but effective for some people for some of the time. We ask the Pakistani Diaspora abroad to help out, etc., etc., etc. Bloggers shouldn't just be words and arguments to the death. They can also do something for a change. Or am I totally wrong, HK? Won't Allah be with us on such a project?

Full-blown insurrection will come another day.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 17:08 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Yes, we have to struggle for betterment ourselves.

Are many taking part in this struggle ?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 18:12 #
  3. achtung

haris bhai

aap ney farmaya

“Since when did people become so stupid to thank ALLAH ALMIGHTY for being deprived of a basic necessity, which is the result of sheer criminal miss-management of mass scale proportions by a handful of people ?”

merey buzurgoo aur asaatza ney tou mujhay yeh sikhaya keh har haal mein allah ka shukar ada karo, jo keh mein hamesha karta hoo.

agar kutch log yeh kahein keh kissi kami ho janey kay baad allah ka shukar ada karna stupidity hy to yeh unkey buzargoo aur asatza ki taleem ho gi, mein kiya keh sakta hoon.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:50 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Kami agar legitimate reasons ki waja se ho to acceptable hai. Us par banda sabar shukar kar leta hai.

Laikin baghair kisi waja ke kami ki jae, jaan ke kami ki jae, to ise zabardasti ka jurm kehte hain.

Is zabardasti ke jurm par chup rehne wale, sabar shukar karne wale hamare dushman hain.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 14:20 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Hike in furnace oil price pushes up cost of power generation

Monday, 03 May, 2010
    In the country, the Low Sulphur Furnace Oil(LSFO) is only made by Attock Oil Refinery which produces around 40,000 tons of the oil every month. - File Photo

ISLAMABAD: In a setback for electricity generation companies, the price of furnace oil has shot up both locally and internationally.

The price increase is worrisome because the energy sector is already reeling from a liquidity crunch caused by a massive circular debt. The issue is important also because National Electric Power Regulatory Authority is supposed to pass on to consumers any impact of increase in fuel prices on the cost of production.

Of the 10,000MW of electricity produced in the country, about 7,000MW is produced by power plants that use furnace oil. Some 2,600MW is generated by thermal plants run by Wapda and about 4,500MW by the plants owned by independent power producers (IPPs).

..continued..
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

..the charade continues. For how long ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 17:48 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: PEPCO suspends supply of 300 MW of electricity to Karachi

Saturday, 08 May, 2010

The unannounced load shedding hours will affect the business environment of Karachi. — File Photo

KARACHI: The KESC will be increasing unannounced load shedding hours in the financial hub of the country.

..and the charade continues.

For how long will this nonsense go on ?

I have already pointed out the potential of indigenous electricity generation inside Pakistan in the following post;

Thread: Renewable Energy Projects in Pakistan

about the news article in;

DAWN News: Germany starts financing renewable energy projects

The content in this news demonstrates the potential of electricity generation available inside Pakistan. It can serve as an eyes opener for people of Pakistan, as well as allow them to glare at those who are willfully forcing them away from their life of prosperity.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 21:03 #
  7. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

OK, one positive thing I found today, is website of WAPDA, which is at;

- http://www.wapda.gov.pk
    - http://www.pepco.gov.pk

People of Pakistan can see projects that WAPDA is doing on this website.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 May 2010 3:45 #
  8. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: KESC may reduce generation, up to 14-hour outages feared

Friday, 14 May, 2010

Local residents burn tyres on a road during a demonstration against excessive electricity loadshedding, Karachi, May 13, 2010. – Online Photo.

KARACHI: Karachiites must brace themselves for daily power outages of up to 14 hours and water shortages at least for four days as the Abraaj-led Karachi Electricity Supply Company management is scaling down its generation due to a reduced gas supply and its unwillingness to bear the cost of generation through furnace oil to meet its contractual obligations.

..continued..

When will this charade come to an end ?

Posted 2 years ago on 14 May 2010 19:45 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Protests against outages continue across Karachi

Tuesday, 18 May, 2010

An electrician of KESC busy in his work at an electricity pole at M.A. Jinnah road, Karachi, May 17, 2010. – Photo by PPI.

KARACHI: Street protests against prolonged power outages continued in different parts of the city on Monday.

..continued..

..and it goes on.

A place from where Govt. of Pakistan can export electricity to the rest of the country doesn't itself have the luxury of having it.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 18:32 #
  10. @hariskhan
    From your "Germany starts financing renewable energy projects" link:

The German ambassador said there would be more projects in Pakistan in renewable energy as there was great potential for development of renewable energy, as Pakistan has the capacity to produce 41,722 MW hydro power, 346,000 MW wind power potential and 2.9 million MW from solar system.

Add to that Thar coal potential...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:26 #
  11. rehanahd

As per PEPCO FIGURES ( These figures are more than accurate):

Installed Capacity: + 20000 MW

PEAK SUMMER DEMAND: 15000 MW at most.

Generation: 10500 to 11500 in Summer

6000 to 8000 in Winter

Why less Generation:

To ensure public cry and never ask why Govt is arranging most expensive electricity for peoples of Pakistan

What we need:

More Rental Power at the cost of public money to generate commission for ghareeb janta (Zardari Mafia).

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:30 #
  12. rehanahd

PAKISTAN IS A MOST AMAZING COUNTRY OF WORLD :) WHERE LOOT AND PLUNDER IS EXEMPLARY.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:32 #
  13. @rehanahd
    "Installed Capacity: + 20000 MW"

Well I have seen the PEPCO chairman deny that time and again. He keeps insisting we DON'T have installed capacity of 20,000 MW but only 15,000 MW. Funny to see it on PEPCO's own website...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:33 #
  14. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

At most PEPCO's chairman talks about aging generators or turbines in already installed power units.

Electricity experts of Pakistan on the other hand say, these can be repaired or replaced with a relatively low expenditure. That means these unit's life can be extended.

So, why hasn't PEPCO/WAPDA done that in past decades ?

Why are they not doing it now ?

Most importantly, WHAT! are they doing to increase Pakistan's;

(1) water storage capacity
    (2) electricity generation capacity

?!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:46 #
  15. rehanahd

NOTA,

I Myself attended briefing from DG PEPCO Tahir Basharat in which he told that installed capacity is +19500.. 1000 + has been added from Nishat and other IPP , projects initiated before PPP Regime.

This whole drama suddenly starts during Nigran Govt when they stop payments to PSO, IPPs and refineries to control thier budget deficit which later turns into circular debt. This circular debt has never been cleared by PPP govt, rather they used it for own benefit.

Due circular debt we are producing very less on thermal plants bcoz PSO cant purchase furnace oil without liquidity.

If PPP regime can spend billions of Rs on benazir Income Support program to benefit Jiyalas then they can easily pay circular debt too.

Why they are pending it since 2 years.. just to make sure that people cry and then they can ensure their commisions on rentals which are being installed through Banks financing against Govt of Pakistan Gurantee. This is also unique incident in the world that cost is also borne from state and later they will default ... eating billions of dollars of pakistani ppl in pocket:)

This is Amazing Country ... Surely you will support this argument.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 May 2010 19:48 #
  16. @Rehanahd
    "I Myself attended briefing from DG PEPCO Tahir Basharat in which he told that installed capacity is +19500."

Well, he might have but I have myself heard him say otherwise. Also, talking of Nishat, did you forget DG PEPCO claimed long ago that Nishat was producing electricity and even held the opening ceremony attended by PM and accompanied by 4-page adverts ("Congratulations PM, Zardari for successful completing of the plant...")? Same with the case with Atlas plant. BOTH were proven to be lies and DG PEPCO was forced to admit that. I don't know about the status of Nishat, but I do know the Atlas plant has still not come into production. It is not producing a single watt today.

"Why they are pending it since 2 years.. just to make sure that people cry and then they can ensure their commisions on rentals which are being installed through Banks financing against Govt of Pakistan Gurantee. "

Exactly. Same is the case with IPPs. Remember KESC is not paying it's bills (intentionally) for years and Zardari keeps forcing WAPDA to keep extending them credit. In fact, NEPRA has been turned into KESC's servant instead of playing it's regular role (If you want to find out more of what's happening at KESC, read this summary)

17. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Parts of city suffer eight-hour outages

Thursday, 27 May, 2010

A view of hundreds of illegal electricity connections in Lines Area, Karachi, May 26, 2010. – Online Photo.

..continued..

..power outages continue. Still no plan from Govt. to tackle the current power outage situation.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 May 2010 9:18 #
  18. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Ten hour loadshedding in rural areas

Sunday, 18 Jul, 2010

The electricity shortfall pushed up to staggering 5,400MW when two power generation plants ground to a halt. — File Photo

LAHORE: Two power generation plants and two units of a third one ground to a halt on Saturday pushing up the electricity shortfall to a staggering 5,400MW and leaving most parts of the country to suffer up to 10 hours of loadshedding.

..continued..

..the charade continues unchecked..

Where are millions of people of this nation ? What in the name of ALLAH are they doing ?

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jul 2010 13:27 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

My Pakistani friend, who did EE from UET told me just now, I quote;

well i know some people who want to invest in pakistan into energy sector
    but they are not doing it thanksto government
    asking for extra money from them to do it
    and there is no incentive from government as well
    the only invesment coming to pakistan is after giving something under the table to big leaders
    they asking 30-50% of profit sharing:D

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jul 2010 16:09 #
  20. Load shedding at Sehri and Aftari time. Are we living in a muslim country?

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Aug 2010 17:42 #
  21. This is 'vision of B.B Shaheed' that zardari the skunk is perusing with utmost dedication.
    Don’t you believe in his words that democracy is revenge?
    He is the one who said, 'main pani bhi doon ga, bijli bhi doon go, roti our makan bhi doon go'.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Aug 2010 17:49 #