Eradication of corruption

(33 posts)
  1. Ifzal

Corruption is not only caused by the state's inability to implement tight monitoring systems, but also because there is not an integrated system of internal supervision in the public sector. That is the reason why corruption is flourishing everywhere in Pakistan these days.

The National Corruption Perception Survey 2009 (NCPS 2009) indicates that the overall Corruption in 2002 has increased from Rs 45 Billion to Rs 195 Billion in 2009. The survey further states that the corruption in Pakistan has surged by 400% in the last 3 years.

According to different scholars who worked on eradicating corruption suggests that Corruption has its roots in politics and grows in a power-related environment. General definitions of corruption -- described as an abuse of power for one's personal interests -- clearly shows that corruption is part of the power itself. Police and Power maintained their ranking as the top two most corrupt sectors.

It has become an open secret that corruption and money politics were rife and widespread during the history of elections in Pakistan and even to date. And in such a corrupt political recruitment system, it is nearly impossible to produce credible leaders. In fact, such an election, where candidates essentially ""invest"" huge sums of money to people that can get them elected, gives birth to corrupt leaders who almost have to be involved in corruption to recoup their ""investment"".

The systemic corruption here can also be attributed in part to the strong political and economic oligarchy that continues to thrive. Paul Johnson defines oligarchy as a tiny clique of elite leaders that make the public policy to suit their own private interests, through direct subsidies, and provide facilities or protection from other business competitors (Hadiz&Robinson, 2004). This oligarchy roots corruption in politics and spreads to all of the power dimensions. The oligarchy thus supports the corrupt political culture as well. Improving law enforcement by reforming the police, the prosecutors and the courts will not automatically bring immediate results.

Opportunities to eradicate corruption
    First, the corruption eradication campaign can be started by coordinating with the existing law enforcement agencies. It is the task of an independent Corruption Eradicating body to deal with the big oligarchy-related corruption scandals.
    The body should be independent and have no political handicaps that would prevent it from prosecuting high-profile corruption cases that involve the economic and political oligarchy. Moreover, the Body needs extraordinary discretion.
    The Body does not need to get permission from the president to investigate high-ranking public officials. The government should only equip the Body with adequate staff and budget to send the big corruptors to the jail. This way the chance of political victimization could be minimized.

With the distribution of law enforcement, the President or PM will not directly challenge the oligarchy of corruption. It is the task of the independent body to clean up the oligarchy. The second strategy that can be done by the government is to establish an integrated system of public services. The government did not start the campaign for good governance as the initiatives should come from donors and the public. The eradication of corruption in public service is a strategic effort because the impact will directly benefit the people. The success of eradicating corruption in public services will improve public trust in the end.
    The above strategies are a part of institutional and policy reform that need strong political will. The next problem is how to give birth to leaders who have high integrity and strong political commitment? The answer to this question is actually the third strategy that has its roots in civil society.
    Now is the time for civil society and Media to get deeper into politics rather than just set up monitoring bodies and become watchdogs. The presence of civil society and Media is particularly crucial in supporting officials or leaders, who are committed to combating corruption. The movement to tackle rotten politicians, the establishment of political contracts between politicians and their constituents must be done and supported by other stakeholders.
    Support from the civil society in combating corruption is actually in line with the basic idea of good governance. Good governance assumes the balance between the state, the private sector and the civil society. In fact, most of the efforts to eradicate corruption are state-oriented and give lots of support to the government, although the government does not have enough of a political will to carry it out.

As we all know that majority of the population of Pakistan is under 40 years of age. That’s why the involvement of these people in politics is very important. This is the right time. We have got free judiciary, we got free media and If we could not change the faith of our lives even now then I think we will be morally corrupt. Stop blaming elders and take some practical steps. The Question is wat kind of practical steps? For that I need your suggestions here……!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 20:35 #
  2. chechen

simple solution. Implement sharia. Need shariah punishment to make the masses obey the law. Not man made laws that are copied from British colonialists but Divine Law-Shariah. As long as the Kuffar laws are implemented there will be corruption.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 20:39 #
  3. what if "corruption" becomes part of your culture...how will you fix that ...

even religions have failed in this regard...how will you do that ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:02 #
  4. Ifzal

@Mulla:
    U suggest something. Its our collective issue isn't? So why not use ur experience and knowledge to take this article to the next level.

And guys I would request everyone's suggestions on this plz.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:06 #
  5. khan/skyfacts:

I actually have studied and have been a victim of this first hand...

my conclusion is that, no external force will ever be successfull in making this change and after great study I realized that our majority of the people do not want to change, yes they like to talk about it, they like to listen to ideas and they like to pretend that yes yes, its a good idea but their collective lack of action gives me the silent finger saying....eh! all is good but we are not willing to change...go figure!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:12 #
  6. Ifzal

@Mulla:

Allah ko hazir nazir jan k kehta hon k mera aik hi ID hai. so don't call me skyfact.

2ndly to ur point, Even if u r rite then does that means we should quit trying and let our nation to be destroyed. Is it not our farz to stop evil?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:18 #
  7. What if Allah is wanting you to be destroyed...then what will be your strategy...

My strategy is the strategy of hazrat Nooh...which was, take your belongings and restart somewhere else!

simple fact!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:29 #
  8. Ifzal

@Mulla:

"My strategy is the strategy of hazrat Nooh...which was, take your belongings and restart somewhere else!"

Restart wat? the corruption somewhere else? What happend after toofan e noh? The same sins and corruption came wid those people and reached us all the way. I know u cannot eradicate 100% corruption from any society even a very idealistic society would also have corruption but atleast situation could be improved from this rock bottom one.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:37 #
  9. restart a clean fresh society, just like rasoolallah!

do you agree that Rasool Allah was defeated in Mecca ? do you agree that he could not make a change in Mecca thats why he moved just like hazrat nooh, to Medina....

move and restart a new life! thats the message of the prophets!

leave the dying society for death from the sky, remember loot a.s, he was also asked to move out of the society which was about to be destroyed due to corruption....

dont you get it....

you are being droned to death dont you get it!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 21:42 #
  10. chechen

Won't work. Justify immigration to Kuffar countries?

Prophet SAS asked his folowers to migrate to Abyssinia knowing very well that the King Najashee will be sympathetic to call of Islam. But if we think Bush, Obama or Blair are modern Najashis when they are actualy war criminals, we are fooling ourselves. Right now, stay put where you are. We cannot fool Allah SBT and say that Noah AS migrated, Rasoolallah migrated. We are migrating for green pastures like animals.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 22:01 #
  11. Ifzal

@Mulla@

For the moment lets assume ur option is the only one, then where should we go? Which part of the world?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 22:07 #
  12. Heather_Ali

I disagree with Mulla,
    Prophet Muhammad migrated to Medina cuz it was an orderDifficult day
    Landed at 6 am , reached hospital at 8 am, got scrubbed in a complexed case so finished late. Couldn't sleep due to a crying kid so was awake all the way. Just going to bed now. Will catch later Hun. Xx from ALLAH.
    In this age, you can start with Jihad bil nafas and then take things further.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 22:42 #
  13. IJay

TOPIC WOULD BE LIKE THIS

ERADICATE CORRUPTION Or IT WILL ERADICATE US!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 23:28 #
  14. misalligned

Mulla its a stupid theory.

All the prophets moved out only because it was ordered by Allah swt. They were not allowed to moved out without his order. Remember Haz. Younis (AS) he moved out a bit earlier without having a defiite order and see Allah swt punished even his beloved prophet

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Aug 2009 23:42 #
  15. misalligned:

how come Allah's orders always match ill conditions.....how come the circumstantial and political environmental conditions always seem to meet the proper actions .....don't you think that poojari type mentality labels every move of the so called labor leader as divine order ?

and so you proved here that prophets are not innocent and they can go against the orders of Allah ? wow...

so if prophets are mistaken, can we follow them ? u just said it!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 2:37 #
  16. NNL

My strategy is of the Holy Prophet Rasool Allah Sallaho Alahi wasallam. Stay in the place of Fitna and then give dawah and establish the Rule of Allah. Establish Sharia and first punish the Rishwatkhoors and then Zanis after that surely there will lot less of corruption.

Establish a institute which helps desolate women and who so ever harms them or exploits them Beheading straight. You will see how fast the problem of Prostitution.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 3:23 #
  17. where in the seerah do you see prophet staying in Mecca ?

he did not even return to mecca for living once he departed....where do you get such justification or is islam a joke ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 4:03 #
  18. NNL

Did Rasool Allah sallaho alahi wasallam leave on his own account ?

Is there any evidence that He sallaho alahi wasallam left on his on Account. He sallaho alahi wasallam was ordered to leave and then he sallaho alahi wasallam returned to the same city.

He sallaho alahi wasallam came back there and then Established the Sharia do you still doubt that ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 4:10 #
  19. have you read the seerah ?

after the assasination attempt by your uncle abu jahal, it was concluded with the mashwara of my uncle Ali bin abi Talib radiallah that Rasool Allah shall seek justification from Allah to migrate. and thus Allah ordered.....and about 80 people from Medina came to recieve him....all of a sudden...no one in history has ever been able to tell us how come all of a sudden 80 people came overnight in a night when there is not a single shred of evidence that RasoolAllah ever went to medina in his meccan era....can you explain that ?

Where did Rasool Allah stay in Mecca or where was his station ? after his so called return to mecca as you suggest...

The point I want to make is "move"....entire human history from adam to mqm is about "move"......

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 4:14 #
  20. NNL

My Uncle Abu Labab.

No sorry he must be your uncle as you believe that the Spiritual Energy which is a direct link to Allah and not experienced by the Rasool Allah but after you drug induced relatives and family members.

Noorani Mulla! Bhotan laga tumhari fitrat hai. Insha Allah tumhain es ka hisaab dena hoga. Insha Allah.

I thought that you were some form of a sensible person but again you are the slime that you claim others to be.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 4:21 #
  21. oh yaar i was joking!

you get upset like a girl....whats wrong with you....

pay attention to the nukta...and dont get bent out of shape on my ramblings...ok ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 4:25 #
  22. Ifzal

U guys all may remember that Hadith: "Alrashi wal murtashi kilahuma fin naar." I think the culprits (if proved to be guilty) should be given death penalty in light of this hadith. Then I think it may have some effect.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 5:42 #
  23. skyfacts

JUST a lecture of curruption is needed from some most currupt people of Pakistan.....I think???

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 6:07 #
  24. skyfacts

((((U guys all may remember that Hadith: "Alrashi wal murtashi kilahuma fin naar." I think the culprits (if proved to be guilty) should be given death penalty in light of this hadith. Then I think it may have some effect. ))))

THIS IS GOOD SUGGESTION SO FAR AND I ALREADY STARTED THIS RIGHT FROM PKPOLITICS HERE TO SEND THEM IN CAVES BACK TO HANG THEIR EASILY AT ONE PLACE.....

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 6:09 #
  25. Revivalist

In fact corruption is an integral part of democracy but in some countries they do it in sophisticated way that no one notices it but in countries like Pakistan the system is a true description of Elitocracy, where power grabbing is a business in which they invest during elections time and then reap the benefits and enjoy immunities when elected....

There is no fear of accountability both in this world and in the hereafter... If we truly are serious in eradicating corruption we need to bring a radical change in the system and should replace the secular constitution of Pakistan to the true Islamic constitution and establish society on the norms and principles of Islam as an ideology, as corruption is something that is related to the system that rules. Now if a person known for corruption to everyone can become the president of Pakistan then what you expect from the ordinary people. A leader aspires people and their behaviors, in such case how can we expect corruption free Pakistan????

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 7:44 #
  26. Pakistanis have always looked toward the West to adopt and copy almost everything from policies to government systems, from markets to makeups. May be it has to do with the colonialism of the past.

When we talk about corruption, can we also look toward the West? Was the West (Europe and America) also engulfed in corruption before the prosperity and democracy arrived there? How the corruption (especially the petty corruption, if there was any) died off in Europe? I could not find much literature on this topic. Can anyone help?

Many elites of Pakistan throw out a premise that we should NOT too much worry about corruption. Our priority should be economic development. The corruption should wear off automatically as we go through the growing pains. Anyone would agree with that?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 8:24 #
  27. Revivalist

Dear Keeraachi,

Your analysis of the problem is very correct, as our ruling elite and some pseudo intellectual are trying to copy past the western model here in Pakistan but what the fail to comprehend is that we are Muslims and have a comprehensive system in the form of Islam, what we need is to understand it and implement it... The west expects from the Muslim world to copy their history as well, the way they abandoned Christianity and locked the God inside the church as house arrest and opted for secularism. Again what they and some of our pseudo intellectual fail to understand is that Christianity was not able to solve the problems of the people as it was meant for a particular time and place, however Islam as Quran said is for all times till the Day of Judgment and has solutions to the problems of the humanity.

Moreover in capitalism a country could be economically prosperous but it has little to do with poverty reduction. The example of India which is considered to be an emerging economic joint and is member of the group with China, Brazil etc but yet when you see the situation on the ground you would realize that capitalism is a false theory; it has no mechanism of reaching people directly and a proper mechanism of distribution. Contrary to this, if you analyze Islam, we have a very effective mechanism to reach people directly and a solid mechanism of distribution. The current economic recession has once again proved the fallacy of capitalism and its false claims. Furthermore, the corruption will never wear off automatically, there should be a proper mechanism to eradicate both corruption and poverty, no tickle down theory will work!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 9:22 #
  28. Ifzal

How the revolution will come to eradicate corruption? Is it just sitting here and talking all the time or can v do somthing about it?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 21:15 #
  29. Power, fuel, food, skyrocketing prices for commodities, target killings, and now sectarian violence is all to stun the public senseless, and stunned they are, unable to revolt. This is all being done on purpose so that the public remain occupied while the 'elected and selected' manage to sell the remaining Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 21:22 #
  30. Khan, you post is already here.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 21:52 #
  31. Ifzal

semirza the rest of two threads are not here.

1. Preservation of Quran
    2. Top ten inventions by Muslims

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 22:12 #
  32. Ifzal

ok I got it them too. Thanks dude.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 22:13 #
  33. Revivalist

khan, what we are doing is adding to the change which is definite, besides a global movement for this change (Islamic Khilafah) has taken it momentum. Understand it and be part of it to put your share in this political and intellectual revolution that will enable us to get rid of corrupt politics and corrupt systems....

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Aug 2009 6:06 #