Fatima Bhutto Blasts Imran Khan at Jaipur Literature Festival

(48 posts)
  1. d0ct0r

Fatima Bhutto Blasts Imran Khan

There was a short-lived rumor last month that Fatima Bhutto was flirting with the idea of joining Imran Khan’s opposition Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf party.

Speaking at the Jaipur Literature Festival on Sunday, she made it clear this was unlikely to happen. Ever.

“He has an incredible coziness not with the military but with dictatorship,” Ms. Bhutto said of Mr. Khan, a cricket legend-turned-politician who has been billing himself as the face of change in Pakistan.

Ms. Bhutto accused Mr. Khan of defending the legacy of former dictator Gen. Zia-ul-Haq, who came to power in the late 1970s after overthrowing Prime Minister Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, Fatima’s grandfather and the founder of the country’s ruling Pakistan People’s Party. She also mentioned Mr. Khan’s support for a 2002 referendum allowing Gen. Pervez Musharraf, who had come to power with a coup a few years earlier, to extend his term.

That’s not where it ended. In what appeared to be a well-rehearsed argument to debunk the political credibility of the former cricket captain, Ms. Bhutto went on to list more reasons why she opposed his political foray.

“As a woman I worry very much about Imran’s politics,” said Ms. Bhutto. She spoke of his opposition to amending a 2006 woman’s bill in favor of victims of rape. She also questioned Mr. Khan’s commitment to secularism and to defending minorities.

“Is he a savior? No, I don’t think so,” said Ms. Bhutto during a Pakistan-focused session at the literary festival.

“Well, that’s the end of Imran Khan,” said news anchor Karan Thapar, who moderated the panel...

http://blogs.wsj.com/indiarealtime/2012/01/22/fatima-bhutto-blasts-imran-khan/?mod=google_news_blog

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 20:31 #
  2. Anwer Kamal

Marvi Memon too refused to join the dirtiest politician of the world and his Lota party .

http://youtu.be/nr8tz0I16oI

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 20:38 #
  3. Fatima is proving that she has pour Bhutto blood in her body. I am sure, she will never insult, legacy of her grand father.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 20:50 #
  4. qaisernadeem

A tame dog barks at the order of his masters!

First, master ordered to bark against MQM and now the orders are to bark against PTI.

But at the end dog remains a dog no matter how hard he/she tries.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 21:01 #
  5. Respect

@Anwer Kamal

The Baaghi JH however did join PTI:)

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 21:23 #
  6. Anwer Kamal

Baghi Lota
    اس عاشقی میں عزت سادات بھی گئی
    پھرتے ہیں میر خوار کوئی پوچھتا نہیں

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 21:27 #
  7. Respect

Fatima Bhutto's allegations

(1) Has establishment backing?
    Any Proof?????

Apart from one meeting with Genearal does not verify IK being supported by establishement. Are they giving any finacial help to IK, if so any proof?
    Surely they cannot muster all the support that IK has, if they could do so then GM would still be here.

(2) Speaking of minorities, PTI stands for insaaf, from the chappa wala too PM. Insaf!!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 21:31 #
  8. junaid

yeh wadairay aur in kai wadairay bachay na janay kubh mulk ki jaan choray gain.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 21:56 #
  9. Anwer Kamal

You are right.
    See them all in PTI now .

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 22:07 #
  10. Pakistani84

@msyedh,

Is this the same blood which made ZAB call a dictator his "daddy"?

She is a fake. A dog barking at the camel who is absolutely unaffected since the dog's sound wouldn't even reach it.

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 22:09 #
  11. Pakistani84

@AK,

Benazir was the dirtiest woman in the world who was screwed by this "dirtiest politician" of the world.

Should I dig it out for you?

I know how to tame...

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 22:10 #
  12. Pakistani84

@Respect,

She wouldn't know establishment if it bit her on the backside!

She is just a fake, using the name "Bhutto".

Posted 4 months ago on 22 Jan 2012 22:13 #
  13. expakistani

Fatima Bhotto represent well respect left wing of Pakistan while IK belongs to rightwing, they can have differences base on issues.... which is good, any ideology and issue base debate is good.

What we have in shape of Nawaz and Zardari? no base, and common ideology " loto the photo"

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 3:31 #
  14. Looking at Imran's past mis-behaviour and dis-respect for women, no woman should join PTI. Inqilab does not come with tsunami of lotay who are jumping on PTI bandwagon simply for opportunistic reasons.

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 3:43 #
  15. insaftak

Fatima I still love you. :jokes

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:05 #
  16. drusa

she is right.

17 crore 99 lac people of pakistan also have not looted public money cuz just like ur leader they have not got any public office.it does not mean that ur leader and 17 crore 99 lac people of pak are honest.
    a person who is running for public office is judged by his character ,his company and his attitude in his present profession.These factors determine as to whether he is going to be looter or honest after coming to public office.
    Ur leader fails on this criteria.
    He is characterless.he is not honest cuz used to do do ball tempering to win in his cricket career and he lied to cm punjab that he is homeless and need a plot to construct home. .some of his friends are smugglers and fraudlents.
    So why trust on such shaddy character???????????

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:12 #
  17. drusa

A tame dog barks at the order of his masters!

First, master ordered imran to bark against MQM and then ordered to lick altaf's shoes.

But at the end dog remains a dog no matter how hard he/she tries.

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:16 #
  18. anasyounus

@Sweetruth
    "Looking at Imran's past mis-behaviour and dis-respect for women, no woman should join PTI"

Examples please???

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:24 #
  19. qaisernadeem

Dr Sahib,

It's now confirmed that you are acting on behalf of your master. But what I am perturbed about is as to how can a rat (of Raiwand) become a master of dog(s).

Both these Doctors are shady!

But alas, rat of Raiwand will escape to Jeddah and barking dogs will be left barking!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:31 #
  20. Pakistani84@
    This kind of dirty wording is not new from Bhutto enemies. Did Bhutto call daddy to Ayub in your presence?
    It was only Z.A Bhutto who rebel against dictator and responsible to kick out Ayub Khan and bring free and fare election in 1970.

Every person who has sister, daughter or mother, never use this kind of dirty language against dead leader like Benzir.
    At least, peoples belong to PTI should look toward tyrian khan before attacking and through dirt to other leaders.

It is hard to believe that any election commission or higher court can dare to allow Imran Khan to be prime minister of Islamic republic of Pakistan. when any opponent will challenge and provide DNA tests of Tyrian Khan.

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:55 #
  21. anasyounus

She has the right to express her views.. what ever they are..

But I am surprised to see PML-N supporters happy on these comments of her, NS is even more of a rightist than Imran Khan, she was asked specifically about IK other wise if it would have been a general question she surely would have expressed even starker views about NS since he was an establishment tout for many years and never even said a single word against Zia or dictatorship till 12th October 1999, I bet if it wasnt his government (rather a PPP or any other party government) being toppled in 1999, he would have been a supporter of Mush and instead of Chaudhries sitting in the lap of Mush..

Posted 4 months ago on 23 Jan 2012 4:59 #
  22. siddiqi73

Brother Anas,

Quit shoving words into Fatima Bhutto's mouth....she was asked a specific question pertaining to Dharna Khan and Internet Tehreek and in so many words she gave her analysis. In the event she is asked something about NS, I'm sure she would give an honest opinion.

As for 1999 coup and support of Musharraf, what you have implied is thoroughly based on hypothesis but in actuality, your leader Shah Imran Ghaznavi did in fact support a dictator and was at his beck and call for a long time.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:06 #
  23. qaisernadeem

Array Siddiqi Bhai aap?

Kahan thay hazoor? Mein samjha shayad Javed Hashmi wala sadma dil pey lay baitay hain. Shuker hai deedar kerwa diya warna....!

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:07 #
  24. siddiqi73

Hehehehe...Qaisar Bhai, bhai ko miss karnay ka bohat shukriya...Was outstation and travelling on a work assignment...Aap theek thak hain na? As for Hashmi and Sadma...lol...aap jantay hain kay mein "Sadma Proof" hoon ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:11 #
  25. qaisernadeem

Chalo shuker hai, yahan sab pareshan thay. Aur Mian sb. ko koi defend kernay wala hi nahi tha. Baqi malshi awain bhongian maar rahay thay, ab aap aa gaye hain to "match" ka mazaa aye ga

;)

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:15 #
  26. siddiqi73

^^^^ Match set and go! Waisay I have just started to read the numerous threads aur aap nay bhee kuch threads par Mian Sahab kay khilaf kuch ziada hee bongiaan jur dee hain :D ZANDEEQ??!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:18 #
  27. anasyounus

@Siddiqi

Good to see you back bro :)

I'm not using Fatima Bhutto's shoulder here, its just my analysis..
    As for IK supporting Mush for 2 years, yes it was a grave mistake for which he appologised, but to his credit he never took any benefit out of it.. while on the other hand NS indeed benefitted from supporting Dictator Zia for so many years including his referrundum, non-party elections, each and every act of his, not just till Zia was alive even after his death he never appologised for supporting zia.

And my hupothesis is very valid and relevant considering the history of NS and his views till 1999, you tell me what would have been the scenario if for instance we assume it was PPP government toppled on 12-10-1999?? I am justified in questioning his commitment to democracy when it comes dwn to democracy VS his personal interest, He should have at least sacked SS and Nisar for going to GHQ in the darkness of night without pre-announcing it and in NS's word not even informing him.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:31 #
  28. qaisernadeem

LOL

Jaisa munh, waisi chapair!

Talking about bhongies, nothing beats this one:

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/50-million-dollar-offer-to-pti

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 5:31 #
  29. saadkiakaray

what is her credibility ? part of ghaddar family ! we dont need bitches in party ,they suit in ppp particals.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 6:48 #
  30. siddiqi73

^^^^ Easy there tiger! I can dig the ghaddar term but the other word is way out of order.....On the contrary, she just happens to be the most smartest Bhutto since Z.A. himself. Just my two cents.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:03 #
  31. anasyounus

She has the right to have what ever openion she like about events and people... may it be incorrect

smartest bhutto since Z.A.. not sure I think its Asif Ali zardari Bhutto :)

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:07 #
  32. siddiqi73

Brother Anas,

You have a very tangible analysis there. However, I'm of the opinion that NS by 1999 had already got the drift that politicians and politicians alone could have and should have tamed the monster called the Establishment. Please remember that BB wholeheartedly supported NS in repealing the 8th Amendment and the infamous 58 2(B) in it and NS through his actions between 1997 and 1999 did try to assert civilian supremacy. Hence I'm of the opinion that if hypothetically, PPP was in power on 12-10-99; NS would have surely resisted the army takeover.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:09 #
  33. siddiqi73

@Anas,

I meant smart.....not a crook ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:09 #
  34. sultanalikhan

If Fatima Bhutto has decided not to join PTI then fine as she has every right to pick any party of her liking or close to political ideology......but how this becomes such a big news that qualifies for hot debate on pkpolitics, I wonder? Perhaps she kinda said no to IK so it draws interest from IK's detractor?

Whatever her other qualifications, she is astonishingly beautiful, and I regret that I would have only one vote or else my second vote would have gone to her for having such a beautiful face........lolllzzz

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:10 #
  35. siddiqi73

@SAK,

You are surely entitled to split your vote between Fatima Bhutto and your first love; Sana Bucha! :D

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:11 #
  36. wasimibr

@SultanAliKhan
    If you vote based on "Beautiful face" then Kashmala Tariq deserves your first vote.Lol

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:17 #
  37. sultanalikhan

hahaha@Siddiqi73......I knew it would get your attention...lol

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:19 #
  38. @anasyounus

You are demanding examples of "women and Imran". What a joke!

Women and Imran have been two sides of a coin; in order to respect privacy, usually I do not like to discuss private life of individuals and their families but your question is strange because everyone knows rality of Imran's past playboy lifestyle. We better do not go into details; do not risk asking such question to another esteemed blog member Siddiqi73.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:20 #
  39. sultanalikhan

hahaha@Wasimibr.....well, I would not lie that that thought crossed my mind several times.....loll

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:20 #
  40. anasyounus

Benazir whole heartedly supported 8th Ammendment is a credit to Benazir not NS I think, it would have been the right gesture and credit for NS if NS volunteerily offered support to repeal 58 2(B) in Benazir term,

and again the basis of this hypthesis is actually strengthen by your arguments that unless its against NS's self interest and his Government, he was and probably is willing to go the wrong way..

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:51 #
  41. anasyounus

@sweettruth
    what I meant was Women's rights not about his scandals with women, obviously Fatima bhutto was talking about this and not his scandals.. her remarks were in the background of some Women's rights bill.. seeing your intellect I am sure you understood it but choose to prtend otherwise..

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:57 #
  42. sultanalikhan

@AnasYounus.....the promotion of self-interest is not restricted to NS only, almost all politicians (or perhaps public figures would be the right impression to use here) drink from the same fountain of opportunity and positive image building!!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 7:59 #
  43. pacemaker

Fatimah Bhutto is a non-entity in politics, just becoz her last name is Bhutto doesnt mean she has GOD given right to rule, only Z A Bhutto was a genuine leader but he was also brought-up by military dictator, they are all selling his name till date, if given chance most of us can be leader & PM like Benezir

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 12:11 #
  44. asif65

“Is he a savior? No, I don’t think so,”

Before giving these comments, Fatimah Bhutto should first get justice from Bhutto/Zardari League for the killing of her father.

Fatima Bhutto: My father’s killer leading the nation

Fatima Bhutto, the granddaughter of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto, and daughter of Mir Murtaza Bhutto, has once again accused her uncle, Asif Ali Zardari, of ordering the murder of her father in a police shoot out in 1996. This time, the accusation comes out in her book Songs of Blood and
    Sword. While releasing her book in Karachi on Tuesday, Fatima recalled the incident in which her father was killed along with his party activists. She recalled that her father was shot several times “to make sure he was dead.”

She also expressed her discontent at President Zardari’s acquittal from Murtaza Bhutto’s murder case in these words,

“Zardari had bypassed the courts’ standard procedures to have himself absolved of my father’s murder. There was no point in appealing, he was going to be President legally or illegally. It was typical of the way he operated; justice was always the first casualty.”

Bhutto also claimed that Zardari deliberately changed the date of his oath taking ceremony as president so that it would coincide with Murtaza Bhutto’s death anniversary.

“He paused in his speech and asked for a moment of silence to mark his brother-in-law’s death. My blood froze. It was as if he was taunting us. But that would be nothing compared to what would follow. On Zardari’s first Pakistan Day as president he would honour Shoaib Suddle, one of the most senior police officers present at the scene when my father was killed. Suddle was awarded Hilal-e-Imtiaz… [and] was then made head of the Federal Investigation Bureau,” Bhutto writes.

Fatima Bhutto has also openly stated that her father never liked Zardari.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/world-news/Pakistan/Fatima-Bhutto-My-father-s-killer-leading-the-nation/Article1-525563.aspx

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 12:39 #
  45. @SAK

From Sana Bucha to Fatima Bhutto, quite a good range you have got there mate. Same remark again, can't tell whether you're being humble or just desperate.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 12:48 #
  46. sultanalikhan

hahaha@barackosama....hmmm may be a bit of both...

Farz Karo Yeh Jog Ka Hum Ne Dhong Rachaya Ho?
    Farz Karo Bus Yehi Haqeeqat Baqi Sub Kuch Maya Ho?

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 6:45 #
  47. khanamer

@SAK

BRO, So now you are after MAYA as well???

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 7:40 #
  48. siddiqi73

@Anas Bhai,

The notion here is not about taking credit but politicians joining hands. It was NS who tabled the resolution to repeal the 8th amendment and sought BB's support in this regard.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 8:22 #