PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Fears of Psychological Imbalance in Our Security Forces

(26 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

The incident of Karotabad and then the incident of Karachi rangers killing an unarmed boy are arising fears that our security forces are losing their physiological balances.

The world history of the last four decades show that large nos. of the American soldiers posted in the wars of Vietnam, Afghanistan and Iraq lost their physiological balances. They often started killing their own people on small disputes.

Now, similar problems seem to be emerging in Pakistan. Our security forces have been under endless tension for an almost a whole decade. Unless, we withdraw ourselves from the 3rd. party war, the level of physiological sickness among the soldiers of our security forces may continue to rise drastically.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 11:06 #
  2. Not Possible

The third party war started with our intefernce in Afghanistan in the 70s

the only way this will unwind is when we unwind the mistakes of that policy as well

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 11:14 #
  3. Adonis

If people like Yahya Khan and Parvez Musharraf can rise to the rank of general, then surely there is an acute lack of psychological imbalance in our security forces.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 12:42 #
  4. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@HF
    What kind of imbalance are we talking about? They are mentally imbalanced, find no other job so they joined military. Their IQ level is below 50; they can't comprehend, read or write and never question illegitimate command messages. Do you need more?

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 12:44 #
  5. Not Possible

Adonis

So the pathan and Mohajir were defected

but Genral Zia was Gods angel?

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 13:30 #
  6. Not Possible

RQ

"Their IQ level is below 50; they can't comprehend, read or write and never question illegitimate command messages"

hmm that would seem like a genric refrence to Pakistanis at large

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 13:30 #
  7. Hussain Farooqui

Our security forces are still carrying the British Raj mentality. They were taught to deal with local people without any mercy. They were service providers for the British during the colonial regime. Now being service providers to the Americans under heavy tensions. They are becoming physiologically and mentally sick.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 13:51 #
  8. Adonis

not possible said:

So the pathan and Mohajir were defected

but Genral Zia was Gods angel?
    ------------------------------------------------------------

I don't know what kind of upbringing you had. But I was raised as a Pakistani and nothing else. And contrary to your insinuation, my mother tongue is not even punjabi. To me, Muhammad Khan Junejo was the best prime minister Pakistan ever had. You may consider him a sindhi and nothing else but he was only a Pakistani for me.

And you need to improve your knowledge of history as Zia was a muhajir as well.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 16:02 #
  9. Just_one

These two events occurred in parts of the country where killings and brutality are the norm of the day. Thus such psychological imbalance is easily explained. Lack of a political leadership to solve the problems, these things are to be expected.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 16:10 #
  10. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Adonis
    Pir sahab Pagara kay chanay walay hain aap:)

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 16:10 #
  11. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I don't think we are discussing common people's psyche but of the mercenaries who are imposed upon us. It is interesting to see some people so easily steamrolled an event of brutality as common occurence.

@NP
    That tragically is the case as you have stated but these mentally retarded sickos joins army on the basis of their senselessness and greed.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 16:12 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

Killing their own people may be the result of the frustration developed in the minds of security forces to be helpless against the enemies. So far, our security agencies have mostly recorded zero success rates against the enemies of the nation. They are incompetent and physiologically imbalanced. They are now like the American soldiers who returned to America from Vietnam, Afghanistan and Iraq and killed even their family members of small disputes.

May Allah bless our beloved country! The environment is pathetic.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 18:29 #
  13. Not Possible

I stand corrected Adonis but my question is so do you think Zia was an angel?

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 18:58 #
  14. azeemahmed

Moderator bhai, please change the 'physiological' in the title to the 'psychological'. I have held back long enough but it hurts my eyes whenever it appears on my screen. Apologies to all, I am not trying to be Mr. Know-it-all, but a title is a title after all.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:04 #
  15. Thanks to point it out for a correction (outstanding). I would say a lovely point you made there. Bravo!

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:10 #
  16. scandinavian

When you fight for all the wrong reasons then expect strange things to happen with your mind. This is exactly what is happening with "our" forces. They need to be controlled before they start big scale killings.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:17 #
  17. banjarbayabaan

یہ وڈیو کسی نے دور سے نہیں بالکل قریب سے بنائی ہے . اس وڈیو میں تمام لوگوں کی آواز با آسانی سنی جا سکتی ہے. سوات میں جب بوڑھے لوگوں کو مارا گیا اس وقت بھی وڈیو قریب سے بنائی گئی تھی. خروٹ آباد میں بھی وڈیو پاس کھڑے ہو کر بنی تھی اور اس کیس میں بھی وڈیو پاس کھڑے ہو کر بنی ہے. تمام واقعات میں ہمارے ان مسلح نوجوانوں کو پتا تھا کہ وڈیو بن رہی ہے لیکن آپ مانیں یا نہ مانیں ہماری افواج اور قوم اس جنگ کی وجہ سے ذہنی مریض بنتے جا رہے ہیں.

ویتنام کی جنگ سے لے کر افغان جنگ تک جب ہم اخبارات میں امریکی فوجیوں کی خود کشیوں کی خبریں وعڑھتے تھے تو یقین کم آتا تھا. لیکن اب یہ چیز ثابت ہو رہی ہے کہ جنگ کتنی بڑی لعنت ہے.

خدا کے لئے اس جنگ کی حمایت بند کر دو اور اپنے ملک کا سوچو اگر یہ جنگ جاری رکھی گئی تو وہ وقت دور نہیں جب پاکستان کا وجود بھی نہیں رہے گا.
    ہماری افواج عوام سے جھوٹ بول کر اپنے ہی علاقوں میں اپنے ہی لوگوں کو مار رہی ہیں . جب عوام اپنی ہی فوج کو دشمن سمجھنے لگیں تو ایسا ہی ہوتا ہے.

ہمارے بلوچی اور خبر پختونخواہ کے لوگ جو کہانیاں بتاتے ہیں وہ میڈیا میں آئی رپورٹس سے بالکل مختلف ہیں. آج بھی وقت ہے کہ ہم کرے کی جنگ سے بہار آ جایئں ورنہ بہار والوں کا پریشر آتا رہے گا اور جنگ پورے ملک میں پھل جائے گی .

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:22 #
  18. azeemahmed

Thanks Mirza Sahib. Very generous of you.

Now to the topic, 'psychological imbalance' is a very heavy, and somewhat misleading, term. I would rather call it a behavior pattern; a pattern that can be seen in our society at every level. As we all know, behavior pattern is a product of a set of circumstances and their governing factors. I don't think there is a need to elaborate on our particular circumstances and governing factors. We all know then well enough. Let's have a look at their symptoms:

Increasing paranoia (hence all the conspiracy theories and theorists) and a general mistrust of others which may border on xenophobia

Increasing intolerance

A tendency to resort to violence and brutality

A general indifference to the plight of others until one's own skin is unburnt

A tendency to undue sensual gratification, and on the other hand, a tendency to seek eternal salvation through religious rituals and show-off piety

This is a short list that I have prepared offhand. I will be very grateful if you take the time to add to it and also share how many of these symptoms you observe in your daily life.

Posted 11 months ago on 09 Jun 2011 22:48 #
  19. Not Possible

@ azeemahmed

wonderful and concise saynopsis of our society

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 3:24 #
  20. Hussain Farooqui

azeemahmed

Thanks for the correction.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 6:18 #
  21. shriq

Simply stating pagal ho gaye hain.
    It is really hard to absorb power and authority by many. The tendency to misuse the power can be there in an unjust society. And you know we are living in a society where no one is getting right, so this tendency is more than ever manifesting itself in us.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 7:17 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

Raavi

The British colonial style forces have no moral upbringing to be lovers of their public. They still consider themselves as the masters of the public. They are Kalay Angrez.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 7:23 #
  23. nsdap

There is no psychological imbalance.

Civilians can never comrehend the military mind.

It requires one to hold a gun and to shoot to undertand how it feels.

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 15:21 #
  24. uovervinnelig

May be but have they seen real war yet?

Posted 11 months ago on 10 Jun 2011 22:31 #
  25. Hussain Farooqui

azeemahmed

Your posting is very analytic .

Posted 11 months ago on 11 Jun 2011 11:01 #
  26. azeemahmed

@Hussain Farooqui

Thanks for the compliment. I really appreciate it, but what I would have appreciated a lot more is if somebody had picked up the points that I had raised and taken the discussion forward.

It is a general stand. Not only here, but almost all discussions that we witness on Tv or in our lives. Something happens. Somebody raises a question. People react to it, often without due thought, and gradually the exchange is reduced to the narrow point of one person, one event or one institution. What could be a meaningful and productive discussion is soon reduced to a shouting match and the end result is more bitterness and frustration for everyone involved.

I know we all are very fond of expressing our opinions and ideas. It's our basic right, for sure. But claiming your basic right doesn't mean that you cannot contribute positively and constructively to a debate. If, instead of venting your anger and frustration, you use this forum to express measured, reasonable, honest and carefully thought out opinions and arguments, it can be of some help to you and your nation.

If killing some time is your basic motive, you would be better off partying with friends, watching a movie or, better yet, reading a book.

Regards to all. Apology to anyone hurt by this post.

Posted 11 months ago on 12 Jun 2011 6:09 #