Flood and our response as a nation

(14 posts)
  1. yes , calamity of the century is there .
    we are seeing it as a disaster .
    we are sure that Allah is not at all happy with us .
    but we never realize why Allah is not happy with us ?

we blame Zardari and his govt to be irresponsible , corrupt ,insensitive ,selfish and ignorant ...

but wait for a moment .
    are we all responsible , honest , sensitive , selfless and aware ?????

do we remember the saying of Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH)that :

Jiasay tum Khud ho gaye , waiasy tum pe hukumraan mussalt kiye jayien gaye .

now , lets see ,what we are doing .
    we, who has been fortunate enough to not to get hit by this calamity .

1. we think , if we are safe in Karachi ,Lahore , Islamabad and Faisalabad . that means its not our headache to help flood effecteis .its the Govt job .

2 . we watch TV and feel sad for them for a moment and then we move ahead with our normal life .
    without thinking that many millions of our countrymen are not living normal life ...

3. our industrialists are only thinking , they can increase the rates of their products .
    and in the next season how will they get raw material ,as all the crops of cotton and sugar cane gas been destroyed .

4. our politician is thinking , how can i point score against my rival party , by posing myself and my party the most humanitarian one ?

5. traders are thinking , how can we add profit in our products in the name of flood effected economy ?

6. media channel owners are thinking , how can we get more revenue by portraying ourselves the best channel to report flood ?

7. multinational companies are thinking , how can we expolite the situation commercially ?
    and they are doing so .

being in advertising profession , i have witnessed three to four multinational , coming to us for a very emotional ad campaign for flood relief ,in which they actually want to sell their products on a discounted price .

mineral waters providing companies , manufacturers of antiseptic liquid and soaps ,manufacturers of biscuits are thinking they can make money by offering their products to sell on a discounted price .

8. many multinational , who are reporting to foreign regional heads , are making emotional documentaries to show to their Gora bosses , as an excuse in the sales dip in the market .

thats all we are doing .

and we are thinking that only Zardari is insensitive and selfish .

we are thinking , why not Allah is not happy with us ?????

do we need an answer ????

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 6:46 #
  2. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I myself am out of job these days. I have already donated to flood affectees' some of that which I can afford.

JI as well as other religious groups are in the field, doing what they can, as much as they can. We have collected money, we have setup camps in affected areas, we have sent in supplies.

What more can we do ?

We are already doing that which we can. The slowness of relief efforts is not because of us. It is because of ALL the rest of the people of this nation.

For decades, we have called people of Pakistan to return to Islam, to throw away their 'stubborn' 'will' to;

(1) be dishonest
    (3) be unjust
    (3) be 'afraid'
    (4) live outside of their means

Yet, has it helped in 6+ decades ?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 7:26 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

For decades we have asked of people of Pakistan to;

(1) give power to those among them, who are 'good' in nature, who are;

(a) honest
    (b) just
    (c) brave
    (d) self reliant

so they may be kind with the people.

Has it helped in 6+ decades ?

(2) build dams, canals, water-ways

Has it helped in 6+ decades ?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 7:30 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

What credibility do people of Pakistan have to complain, in this time of disaster then ?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 7:35 #
  5. @Hariskhan ,
    which city of Pakistan , are you living in ?
    they have set up different relief camps for the victims .

if money is the issue , one can go there and help them out by performing a volunteer duty .

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 8:06 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I am in Lahore.

The problem is;

(1) credibility
    (2) coordinated effort, collaboration
    (3) setting the direction
    (4) realizing the sheer magnitude of this disaster

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 8:15 #
  7. Beenai wrote a splendid piece above. Now it's upto us to prove to Allah Almighty that we beg Him to forgive us for our slack, sinful ways and we promise to improve and make amends.

Look, if we have only two rupees to our name, let us give one away to people in their sufferings. Allah will reward us manifold. Materialism and comfort never got anyone even close to heaven or happiness on this earth.

HK, I'm sorry about your job loss. Won't be for long, I'm sure.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 9:23 #
  8. @Mirza Ghalib ,
    thanks for your words .
    but i have written ,what i felt from the bottom of my heart .

everybody is seems like twisting this tragedy into his own favor .
    @Haris Khan ,
    you are a brilliant chap . as you seems like from your posts .
    you will definitely get a job .inshallah very soon.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 9:54 #
  9. Dusky

@Beenai: Very well written.

Zardari is face of our nation, at most we all act like Zardari in our own capacity to exploit the positions we hold and means we have at our disposal.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Aug 2010 14:06 #
  10. @Dusky ,
    thanks a lot .
    yes , we are all playing Zardari within our own capacities .
    i am not trying to escape Zardari from the major responsibility he has on his shoulders .
    but i want to make it clear that we all are also not very efficient in performing our own part of duty towards this disaster management .

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 6:35 #
  11. kuch logon kay liye flood aya hay .
    aur kuch ki lottery nikal aaye hay.
    hum baray behiss ho gaye hain.
    sailaab issi liye aaya hay.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 7:40 #
  12. unfortunately ,flood has made every Pakistani to suffer .

effetees to suffer ...

rest of Pakistanis will suffer from the outcomes of flood in the shape of inflation , shortage of food items , diseases outbreak etc.

only the opportunist has got the opportunity to grow more .
    where ever is he ...

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Aug 2010 6:15 #
  13. Hussain Farooqui

The nation needs to united in terms of efforts at this time of large scale national disaster.

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Aug 2010 6:30 #
  14. yes indeed .

but unfortunately , people are busy making money out of this tragedy .
    from multinationals to the fruit seller at your door step .
    every one is trying to give his shot to earn money out of this disaster .

Posted 1 year ago on 20 Aug 2010 6:48 #