PKPolitics Discuss » Faith and Religion

The Believers are Indeed Successful

(55 posts)
  1. NNL

بِسْمِ اللّهِ الرَّحْمـَنِ الرَّحِيمِ

The Believers are Indeed Successful

By Shaykh 'Abdur-Rahmaan as-Sa'dee (d.1376H)

Transcribed by Aboo Uthmaan [1]

Allaah, the Exalted says:

"Successful indeed are the believers. Those who offer their Salaat (prayers) with all solemnity and full submissiveness. And those who turn away from Al-Laghw (dirty, false, evil vain talk, falsehood, and all that Allaah has forbidden). And those who pay the Zakaat. And those who guard their chastity (i.e. private parts, from illegal sexual acts) except from their wives or (the captives and slaves) that their right hands possess, for then, they are free from blame; But whoever seeks beyond that, then those are the transgressors; Those who are faithfully true to their Amanaat (all the duties which Allaah has ordained, honesty, moral responsibility and trusts etc.) and to their covenants; And those who strictly guard their (five compulsory congregational) Salawaat (prayers) (at their fixed stated hours). These are indeed the inheritors. Who shall inherit the Firdaus (Paradise). They shall dwell therein forever." (Al-Mu'minun 23:1-11)

Eight characteristics are mentioned herein and all of them inculcate faith and strengthen it just as they are also part and parcel of faith, the explanation of this has preceded.

The presence of heart in the prayer, the one praying striving to the utmost to have presence of mind with regards to what he says and does of recitation, remembrance, supplication, standing sitting, bowing and prostrating, all of these are from the causes that lead to the increase of faith and its strengthening. We have previously mentioned that Allaah, the Exalted has called the prayer faith with His words:

"And Allaah would never make your faith (prayers) to be lost (i.e. your prayers offered towards Jerusalem)." (Al-Baqarah 2:143)

Allaah, Exalted is He says:

"Perform As-Salaat (Iqamaat¬ as-¬Salaat). Verily, As-Salaat (the prayer) prevents from Al-Fahshaa' (i.e. great sins of every kind, unlawful sexual intercourse, etc.) and Al-Munkar (i.e. disbelief, polytheism, and every kind of evil wicked deed, etc.) and the remembering (praising, etc.) of (you by) Allaah (in front of the angels) is greater indeed [than your remembering (praising, etc.)." (Al-'Ankabut 29:45)

Therefore prayer is the greatest barrier preventing all indecent and evil actions which in turn negate faith. Prayer also includes that dhikr of Allaah which in turn nourishes and strengthens faith:
    "…and the remembering (praising, etc.) of (you by) Allaah (in front of the angels) is greater indeed [than your remembering (praising, etc.)." (Al-'Ankabut 29:45)

Giving in Zakaat also strengthens and increases faith, the obligatory and optional. The Prophet (sall-Allaahu 'alayhi wa sallam) said:

"Giving in sadaqah is a proof." [2]

Meaning a proof of the faith of the one who gives it.

Turning away from worthless talk, meaning any speech containing no benefit and indeed any actions containing no benefit, leaving all evil in speech and action, without doubt is from those matters that are part of faith and serve to strengthen it. This is why the Companions, when they senses negligence in themselves, or they senses a disarray in their faith, they would say: "Sit with us and let us devote ourselves to faith for an hour" and they would sit, performing the dhikr of Allaah and making mention of His worldly and religious favours, thereby renewing their faith.

Abstaining from indecent actions, especially fornication is from amongst the greatest matters that strengthen and increase faith. This is because the true believer, because of his fear arising from the station he is to take before his Lord, prevents the soul from submitting to its base desires.

Honouring trusts and contracts and sticking fast to them is from the signs of faith. In the hadeeth there occurs:

"There is no faith for the one who possesses no honesty and trustworthiness." [3]

Hence, if you wish to know the faith of a person and his religiousity, look to his condition, does he tend and look to his trusts and contracts - those related to property, words and the rights of others and his Lord. If you find him fulfilling these then he is a person of faith and religion. If not, his faith is defective in proportion to his negligence of the above matters.

The verses conclude by mentioning preserving the prayers, i.e. with respect to their regulations, their rights, and their times. This is because preserving these is like preserving the water that nourishes a resplendent garden, that garden being the garden of faith. The tree of faith is in need of being constantly tended to and nourished with water. This water is preserving the actions of obedience and worship that a servant does through the day, removing all that would inhibit and harm this of the weeds that grow around the tree - the weeds of sins in speech and action. When this happens the tree sprouts its diverse fruits.

Footnotes:
    [1] I (Aboo Uthmaan) transcribed this text from a book entitled "The Tree of Faith", Pgs. 57-59, translated by Abu Rumaysah and published by "Al-Hidaayah Publishing & Distribution"
    [2] A portion of a hadeeth reported by Muslim (#223)
    [3] Reported by Ahmad (3/135, 154, 210, 251), Ibn Hibbaan (#47) and Ibn Abi Shaybah, al-Imaam (#7) and it is saheeh.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 12:53 #
  2. NNL

You have mentioned many a times that you are an old man. Its high time that you learn more about the One who you will meet for sure.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 12:54 #
  3. shirazi

"For Shimatoree --The Believers are Indeed Successful"

Now this is what we call focused thread.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 12:59 #
  4. Shimatoree special.

Somebody please explain why this dedication?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 13:08 #
  5. Dedicated to Scholars so that we may improve level of our knowledge through this debate.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 13:16 #
  6. toamin

here is my question :)
    why a pushtoon is following an 'arab' ?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 13:19 #
  7. Why can't a Pushtoon follow an arab Salam?
    Who was Muhammad peace be upon him? Not a Pashtoon or Punjabi as far as I know?
    If we can follow Zardari, Altaf, Shareef then why not an Arab? (Not pointing to our prophet but to the person, Salam Sahib is kindly pointing to? :-)

By the Way, NNL... Well done... Long time huh!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 13:42 #
  8. toamin

Khan_sahib

thanks for your answer, you got what i meant, but this question was intended for another pushtoon brother and there is some context attached to it-

let's see if he ignores it or takes on the challenge :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:01 #
  9. lol
    I am trying to understand the context? By the Way, I am off to Mecca some time tonight or tomorrow... I will Pray for this Pashtoon brother to return to the Sirat e Mustaqeem along with ghazi23,qaidkamazaar etc.... lol

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:03 #
  10. toamin

wow.. mashallah..
    first time?
    hey.. pray for all of us-

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:30 #
  11. shimatoree

quote- " The Believers are Indeed Successful"

By any yardstick this must be a joke.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:32 #
  12. @shimatoree
    quote- " The Believers are Indeed Successful"
    By any yardstick this must be a joke."

Well I am laughing because this is supposedly not a joke ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:35 #
  13. toamin

hey i googled shimatoree and see what comes up-

is that you? 38 year old plastic surgeon?
    you must be proud of your horse.

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1125372/index.htm

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:41 #
  14. shafiq12

shimatoreee

The Western Thinker to whom u are following think of themselves as peaceful, but in fact the gentleness and sublimity of the New Testament, and the peace-loving nature of the principles of democracy, are scarcely reflected in Western popular culture. Rather, the entire inclination of popular culture — Hollywood movies, Western television, video games, popular music and sports entertainment — is to glorify and inculcate violence. Accordingly, the relative rates of murder (especially random and serial murder) are higher in the Western World (particularly in the U.S., but even in Europe, taken as a whole) than they are in the Islamic world in counties that are not suffering civil wars, and this is true despite the much greater wealth of the West. So ever read the following words?:

Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgement ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thou say to thy brother, Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye? Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast the mote out of thy brother’s eye. (Matthew 7:1-5)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:44 #
  15. shimatoree

ss -

You should say-

" The western thinkers WHOM I-(SS)- think you are following "

Sorry Buddy- I am not following any Western Thinker at all.
    I am only following Muslim Thinkers as contrasted with those that have ossified minds and cannot think at all.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:50 #
  16. shimatoree

Salam-

sorry wrong guy

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 14:51 #
  17. @NNL, Salam, and other like-minded people

Have you guys ever seen the process of GUR making from sugar canes or watering the farms in rural areas, people there use bulls to water their farms or to extract juice from sugar canes. These bulls are blind folded and they are moving in circles for hours.

When I was a child I used to watch them with a sense of grief, feeling sorry for those animals and thinking that how it would feel to be an animal. I didn’t know when I’ll grow up I’ll be in contact with such blind-folded people who are moving in circles for centuries, thinking that they have travelled long distances but in reality they are still there from where they have started.

These people called themselves believers but their own belief is so fragile that can easily be shaken by one simple question. They think that the foundations of Islam are weak and can be broken by anything. My advice for them is to please have a real belief in God, don’t just pretend for He is not that weak. He wants us to think and look for answers. If He is real we’ll find Him everywhere, if not then there is no point in defending Him.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:02 #
  18. @salam
    What is your point? Is this how "The Believers" become "Successful"? I think you have no point to counter @shimatoree so you are playing (are) the lowlife trying to "expose" his identity. Utterly shameful and disgusting behavior on your part!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:10 #
  19. toamin

@dildar, shirazi and other like minded people

i can tell you a similar story about donkey, but out of respect will refrain-

if you think your belief is so strong, so powerful, and so crystal clear then why do you ask question to those who you think have weak, fragile and blind belief?

everything has a purpose, why don't you tell us the purpose behind your question?

it is perfectly legitimate to ask "who is asking.." because answer then has to be given in context to background-

if you want to ask, then ask, take a position, don't act like poking others with sense of superiority complex thinking you are over smart, while rest of the people are bulls, so also look at your attitude -you guys are just a joke :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:12 #
  20. toamin

calm down
    i asked shimatoree if that was him, but he already said NO
    what is your problem mr. hadith rejector?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:14 #
  21. @salam
    Problem? I have no problem. Just calling out disgusting behavior for what it is.

So tell me, oh Believer, what was your purpose in that act of yours besides being a lowlife? Or were you following some Hadith, JJkhan? :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:18 #
  22. toamin

again, you are showing your true colors-

@shimatoree

sorry if that has caused you any discomfort, you can report abuse or ask admin/mod to delete those posts-

didn't mean to hurt anyone.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:22 #
  23. salam

We ask question about the legitimacy of those who came in between us and our God, who mad interpretation of Qura’n suited their interests, who created a parallel system of fairy tales so that they can decline Quran wherever they want.

Go pick any Quran with interpretation and read the translation, you’ll be amazed to see that for every real meaning there is some quoted stuff telling you that ‘it say so but,,,,,(and then they’ll present their own pearls of wisdom)’ .

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:25 #
  24. toamin

dildar

i am not sure if your purpose matches with that of the one you are aggressively supporting- but that would be another debate.

you are perfectly welcome to clarify any concept/idea that you think has been misinterpreted, but i don't see that happening here, we are more busy here in "re-inventing & re-writing of history"

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:30 #
  25. @salam
    "@nota
    again, you are showing your true colors-"

Yes. Pointing out you disgusting behavior and calling it what it is nothing to be ashamed of. If that is "showing my true colors", well, I take it as a compliment.

Funny you did not answer my question about the purpose of your disgusting attempt to try and expose someone's identity (Though you did it was wrong in an indirect way by your bit addressing shimatoree "sorry...". Of course you have no guts -- like a true 'momin' -- to do so directly, knowing your behavior was disgusting)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:32 #
  26. toamin

nota

well, i can't bring myself down to your level, and here i put my case to rest-

i did what i thought was right, and i stand by it-

i read the news and i felt it was an honor to hold such a title.. but your negative attitude took that the opposite way-

can't help your negative attitude-

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:38 #
  27. @salam
    "i did what i thought was right, and i stand by it-

i read the news and i felt it was an honor to hold such a title.. but your negative attitude took that the opposite way-"

Liar!

What a bold faced lie to now claim "i felt it was an honor". Right! Your own words give it away ("oh my bad...")!!

"well, i can't bring myself down to your level"
    Of course you can not! I am glad we are worlds apart...and I'll wear it as a badge ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:45 #
  28. toamin

good luck mr. hadith rejector :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:47 #
  29. Salam and Nota

Guys Guys Guys, Calm down both of you. Both of you are learned people and should be objective and forgiving to each other

The topic of the thread is Shimatoree and not you guys

Is too much attention to ST getting into you guys :)

And please dont direct your guns towards me

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 16:52 #
  30. toamin

i am calm and haven't insulted anyone-
    you do the google yourself and there is only one thing that comes up in the whole world-

i did not do anything wrong and i stand by my act-
    i already offered apology to the person concerned and asked admin/mod to delete/erase these things asap to close the chapter on this-

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:05 #
  31. @salam
    "good luck mr. hadith rejector :)"

Thank you for confirming -- once again -- my point about you being a shameless liar ;-)

BTW: Calling a liar a liar is not an attempt at 'insulting someone' but a statement of fact!

(Funny to see the 'flag-bearer of the Ummah' and the 'defender of Quran and Hadith' you reduced to this) :-P

@shimatoree
    I hope this thread answers some of your questions about why we are in the state we are ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:10 #
  32. What happened to the original topic.....?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:14 #
  33. shirazi

I went up the thread to see out what lit you up?

@Salam merely posted a link that some Pakistani Doctor in South Dakota owns an elite horse, shimatoree. He just asked fellow blogger, Shimatoree, if he is the same Doctor?

I don't know what was offensive or low life there? If there was anything objectionable Shimatroee would be the last person on this site who would need any outside help to sort things out :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:14 #
  34. toamin

i don't know about you, may be you know him already that is why you are in so much PAIN-

but when i read that cnn report it confirmed to me everything that he already said here, so credibility achieved, may be little more info like name & profession, but then why choose a unique name that leads to only one point?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:16 #
  35. shirazi

@semirza

"What happened to the original topic.....?"

Well ...

"quote- " The Believers are Indeed Successful"

By any yardstick this must be a joke. "

That was the end of it ... it's the horse and the owner that has nothing to do with pkp.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:20 #
  36. Lets forgive and forget and discuss 'The Believers are Indeed Successful'.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:23 #
  37. shirazi

Title seems to be little misleading. Article talks about what do believers believe-in and their practices. I don't see any success stories that leads you to the title " The Believers are Indeed Successful" ....

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:32 #
  38. @shirazi
    "If there was anything objectionable Shimatroee would be the last person on this site who would need any outside help to sort things out :) "

I was not "helping out shimatoree" and like you say, he would be the last person on this site who would need outside help.

I was just spitting on salam for being a lowlife. You might not see anything wrong with his actions there but that is besides the point. He knows it.

@semirza
    Don't appreciate you deleting all those comments and 'cleansing' Mr. Salam by deleting his lies...

(If there was nothing wrong and <r. Salam is innocense personified, why the need?)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:44 #
  39. @semirza
    "Lets forgive and forget and discuss 'The Believers are Indeed Successful'"

Yeah, only successful at lying! :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:45 #
  40. Semerza

Mr. Salam might be your buddy and you might be giving him a favour by deleting his posts but I don't appreciate your deleting of my post. I want it back!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:47 #
  41. I do not appreciate your calling low life to any one. Salam has not lied at all and I know better as I have googled and seen that information myself.
    Salam has not committed any offense and if there is any Shimatoree is capable to handle it on his own. And he did by a simple sentence.End to this story.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:48 #
  42. "@semirza
    "Lets forgive and forget and discuss 'The Believers are Indeed Successful'"

Yeah, only successful at lying! :)"

.... and hiding!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:48 #
  43. All posts that were offensive had been removed. Similarly any forthcoming posts will be removed as well. There is no need to make a mountain out of a mole.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:50 #
  44. Semirza

"All posts that were offensive had been removed."

How come mine was offensive?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:52 #
  45. Yeah, only successful at lying! :)
    Prove that he was lying! Or else stay away from this issue.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:53 #
  46. Mr. Unjust Moderator

I did not call you a bull, but you are behaving like one :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:54 #
  47. shimatoree

To copy and paste something written by or attributed to a Salafist Mullah from Saudi Arabia is not my idea of a debate.

The claim is made that the believers are successful.

Just look at the poor Muslim peoples of Pakistan, Bangladesh, Indonesia etc etc.
    If you go and ask them if they are successful - I am quite sure the answer you will get will be in the negative and rightly so.

And don't give me this Christian mantra of the "MEEK shall inherit the earth " in the hereafter.

I have taken the risky step to puncture this balloon that we have been living with for so long that there was some golden perion in days gone by and if you let "US" do the things the way they were- things will be great again.

The facts speak otherwise.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:58 #
  48. @dildar
    You are behaving as a 'f l a m e r' in this issue. You will stay away from this topic till the tempers cool down.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 17:59 #
  49. @semirza
    "All posts that were offensive had been removed."
    Oh so you are saying salam's posts were "offensive" hence removed)? But then you come back with "Salam has not lied at all".

Which one is it? All I am asking for is to put back ALL of salam's posts in their original form (It is up to you to keep mine trashed or not). I mean what is the harm if he did not lie?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 18:09 #
  50. @semirza
    "@dildar
    You are behaving as a 'f l a m e r' in this issue."

Another completely wrong call!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Oct 2010 18:12 #