Four lawyers support govt, without arguments

(27 posts)
  1. Before reading this, I hope you have seen Apr 18's Meray Mutabiq and what how Hafiz Pirzada saw the 18th Amendment. A bit is in The News at http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=28381

Link to this story is http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=234955

Four lawyers: Aitzaz Ahsan, Ali Ahmad Kurd, Justice (retd) Tariq Mehmood and Athar Minallah

Their only argument? Just because we say so.

Personally I am disgusted by the view of Kurd and Athar Minallah:

Kurd said that he believes in the apex court’s power of judicial review but, at the same time, he believes that the present judiciary could not review this 18th Amendment in the present circumstances.

Asked to elaborate the word ‘circumstances’, Kurd replied that he was a great supporter of the 18th Amendment and thus Supreme Court should not review this amendment. He said that at the time of the lawyers’ movement, top legal and constitutional minds were giving suggestions to Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry but now people around the Supreme Court were not ‘good’.

Views of Athar Minallah were harder. While talking to this correspondent, Athar said that he believes in the Constitution and according to Article 239 no amendment could be called into question before any court.

He said that only those people were supporting the judicial review and striking down of some clauses of the 18th Amendment who had been appearing before the court of Abdul Hameed Dogar.

Is Kurd calling himself "a great legal mind"? That is laughable! Is Minallah calling Ch Iftikhar "Dogar"? What a sellout! Of course most disappointing is Justice Talat joining this group....

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 11:45 #
  2. LalBichoo

Yellow journalism at its peak !!!

Read the whole story especially the ending lines i.e. "Barrister Aitzaz Ahsan was not available on Saturday but he had said in Karachi that there would be a confrontation if the 18th Amendment was challenged."

and then look at the title of the story i.e. "Four lawyers support govt, without arguments" !!!!

Funny isn't it !!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 11:55 #
  3. Noorani had an article on the four a couple of months ago on which I put up a post. You might want to read that too:
    http://fkpolitics.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/past-heroes-now-zeroes/

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 11:55 #
  4. @LalBichoo
    Are you really this dumb? If you had watched MM or read what Pirzada had to say, you would know what side Aitzaz was talking about being on. Let me spell it out for you: Aitzaz has said he will support the government AGAINST the judiciary. Duh! Blowing Zardari 24/7 has made you this dumb or were you born this way?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 11:59 #
  5. biknay ko har maal milay ga ...
    2 ,2 rupees ka maal...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:01 #
  6. LalBichoo

nota,

"""@LalBichoo
    Are you really this dumb? If you had watched MM or read what Pirzada had to say, you would know what side Aitzaz was talking about being on. Duh! Blowing Zardari 24/7 has made you this dumb or were you born this way? """

hahahahahaha
    I'm sorry Mr. nota, but your favourite so-called investigative but infact yellow-journalist Ahmed Noraani didn't refer to **** Shahid Nafsiyati's propaganda program MM in his story, or did he ?????
    Anyways, I just pointed out a fallacy in the story and that worked as your above post shows your frustration/anger which is a sign of weakness !!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:08 #
  7. Lal,
    "Ahmed Noraani didn't refer to **** Shahid Nafsiyati's propaganda program MM in his story, or did he ?????"

What does that have to do with it???? So Noorani is a yellow journalist, Shahid is nafsiati mareez, ut LalBichoo is the genius here! (giggles)

But thanks for answering my question... ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:13 #
  8. Ahmad Noorani is the front man for that "chaprasi ka bacha" Ansar Abbassi. Nota you can do better than that.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:24 #
  9. LalBichoo

nota,

"""What does that have to do with it??"""

Who's being dumb here, nota :)))

I just commented on your following comment !

"Are you really this dumb? If you had watched MM or read what Pirzada had to say"

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:26 #
  10. @lota6177
    Are you going to play Lal and shoot the messenger? So tell me is Hafiz Pirzada also "chaprasi ka bacha" Ansari's front man? What about all the other news programs that carried the statements of Kurd? All doing the bidding of Ansari? Wow! Ansari is one powerful man! You can do better than that lota!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:29 #
  11. BTW: Why don't you argue the points made by say, Pirzada instead of attacking Noorani....

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:30 #
  12. Lal,
    You the genius -- like Kurd!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:32 #
  13. LalBichoo

nota,

Meetha Meetha hap hap
    Karwa Karwa thoo thoo

Kurd was your leader when he was part of restore-IMC campaign and now if he's speaking his mind and supporting democracy, he's become a traitor, wonderful !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:35 #
  14. Hafiz Pirzada has always been for sale. Do you know where he stood during the lawyers movement? The guy is a complete sell out. The thrid reference is meray mutabiq. Dr Shahid Masood now there is a man of principle who cannot be bought(ptv rings a bell)?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:35 #
  15. @Lal
    "Kurd was your leader when he was part of restore-IMC campaign and now if he's speaking his mind and supporting democracy, he's become a traitor, wonderful !!!! "

So was Zardari at the time, duh! Sorry if I don't make these guys into gods like you. I judge them on their actions...

Your argument is "Yesterday he was not taking bribes and fighting against corruption and he was your hero. Today he is taking bribes and is for corruption so now he is a crook?"

Yes!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:40 #
  16. LalBichoo

nota,

""So was Zardari at the time"""

Wow, so Zardari was your leader ????
    Good very good, why did you choose Zardari as your leader, tell us nota bhai !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:43 #
  17. Lal,
    And exactly where did i say that?

You are a pathetic coward who still will not answer what asked. Once again, this was your argument:
    "Yesterday he was not taking bribes and fighting against corruption and he was your hero. Today he is taking bribes and is for corruption so now he is a crook?"
    Are you sticking with it?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:54 #
  18. LalBichoo

nota,

"""You are a pathetic coward who still will not answer what asked"""

nota, you are indeed a 'brave' cyber jihadi, good carry on with your abusive posts which are infact showing your true colours !!!

BTW why did you choose Zardari as your leader, tell us nota bhai, plzzzzzzzzzz !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 12:57 #
  19. members should avoid personal attacks and focus on the topic .

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 13:53 #
  20. aftab arif

The current gangs in Parliamnet have made a judicial commission but they have NOT made one which has oversight of choosing COAS and other Services Chief.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 14:35 #
  21. It's good to see, that these four lawyers support govt or more rightly the parliament, and are not part of IK's "revolution" which he wants to bring by starting a confrontation between the judiciary and the parliament. He was among those who was shouting and criticizing PMLN for their alleged "u-turn" on 18th amendment, but when it was passed, he along with his media 'comrades' started to then criticize the amendment itself, because IK always needs a enemy, and they also have been enticing the SC to strike down this amendment, But I am pretty sure CJ would disappoint these people once again, as he did when he met PM gillani and solved the matters amicably.

And did I mention that: I really hate PPP generally and Zardari, specifically.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 15:38 #
  22. Anonymous

Those four lawyers taking their stand against their club means something because all of them are very respectable and as they are going against their club so this means they would have found some flaws in their club so instead of discussing the flaws we are discussing that they are SOLD what does that means anyways???

Their are opinions of people as well but all of us only care is a person who was good yesterday will good today as well...

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Apr 2010 16:54 #
  23. shamwariz

Even mentioning the name of Abdul Hafeed Pirzada to talk of constitution and Support Iftikhatr chaudhary is joke. And it also shows who are supporters of Chaudhary right now.

It is same Hafeez Pirzada who have been Musharraf’s Lawyer in Referendum case which Chaudhary decided in favor of Mush.
    It is same Hafiz Pirzada who have been a blue eyed Lawyer of Mush when Chaudhary was blue eyed Judge of MUsh.
    So Ifitikhar chaudhary is back with his old cronies.

Mind it people who represented Ifitikhar chaudhary movement never presented any case against Mush when cahudhary and Mush were united against democracy.

The likes of Atizaz Hassan, Ali ahmed Kurd, Justice Traiq, Athar Minillah who championed ifitikhar chaudhry movement are again crying against the high handedness of Chaudhry and same old cronies Pirzadas are enjoying the blessing

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 11:58 #
  24. skunkk

Four lawyers?!

Lahore Bar Association and Pakistan Bar Council have already passed resolutions welcoming the amendment especially mentioning the establishment of Judicial Commission on appointment of judges.

It is needless to say that when the Lahore Bar Association is with the parliament on the matter the rest of the provinces will be too.

It was clarified hundreds of times before restoration of the judges that this movement was for supremacy of law not judges themselves. In fact Mr Ramday Kazzab earned his title as kazzab when before restoration he said that this is about supremacy of law, in fact if government so wishes I shall resign the very next day I am restored. He not only did not resign he accepted the disgrace of being an ad hoc judge after retirement.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 13:24 #
  25. Lahore Bar Association and Pakistan Bar Council? You mean the Latif Khosa's inventions? Expected AND who cares (besides jiyalas and sellouts)? Care to tell me what Lahore High Court Bar Association (LHCBA) and Supreme Court bar Association (SCBA) have to say? Well, by only mentioning LBA and PBC, this is what you are trying to hide:

SCBA, LHCBA may challenge 18th Amendment bill
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/03-scba-lhcba-may-challenge-18th-amendment-bill-ss-04

Skunk, I knew your post had a stink to it... :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 17:59 #
  26. skunkk

This is indeed very funny,

Pakistan Bar Council is an official institution, it decides whom to give licenses for practising law not SCBA.

Four most prestigious lawyers of this country are on one side

and Akram Sheikh, Hamid Khan, Qazi Anwar on the other only to be joined by Abdul Hafeez Peerzada, Ahmed Raza Kusuri on the other.

Lahore High Court Bar Association ka jawab Sindh, KP aur Balochistan High Court Bar se aajaye ga. Itni bechaini kyun hai?

Iss buzdil PCO Iftikhar mein itni himmat hoti ke COnstitutional amendment strike down kerde tou 17th amendment ko ker chuka hota.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Apr 2010 20:58 #
  27. LalBichoo

Constitutional amendments can’t be challenged in Supreme Court: Aitzaz Ahsan

Former president of Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan has said amending the constitution is the right of the parliament and the constitutional amendment can not be challenged in a court.

People of Pakistan are currently witnessing an interesting but very important row between two groups of lawyers. The first group, which supports the supremacy of democracy and the parliament, is represented by Aitzaz Ahzan, Ali Ahmed Kurd, Justice Tariq Mehmood and others.

The other group which supports the supremacy of bureaucrat sittings in the Supreme Court and is also known for its right wing (pro-Taliban, pro-Jamaat-e-Islami and pro-Imran Khan tendencies) is represented by Akram Sheikh (of Jamaat-e-Islami), Hamid Khan (of Imran Khan’s PTI) and Abdul Hafeez Pirzada (of ‘the establishment’).......

http://****.org/****/archives/9800#more-9800

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Apr 2010 12:49 #