PKPolitics Discuss » Fun & Humor

Funjabi thay Punjabi!.........have fun!!!!

(43 posts)
  1. A is for Aiscreame

B is for Backside, and it has nothing to do with your butt. It is an instruction to go to the rear of a building, or block, or shop or whatever.

C is for Cloney and its not a process for replicating sheep, nor is its first name George. It is merely an area where people live e.g. ‘Defence Cloney’.

D is for the proverbial ‘Dangar da Puttar’

E is for Expanditure, the spending of money

F is for Fackade, and even though it sounds like a bad word it is actually just the front of a building

G is for Gaddi, and the way a Punjabi can pilot his gaddi puts any F1 driver to shame.

H is for ‘Ho Jayega Ji’, and the moment you hear that you have to be careful because you can be reasonably sure it’s not going to happen.

I is for Intzaar, and to know more about it see P.

J is for Jutt, which every Punjabi seems to be.

K is for Khanna, Khurana, etc, the Punjabi equivalent of the Joneses
    (e.g.’Keeping up with the Khuranas ji’)

L is for Loin, the king of the jungle.... nothing to do with any body parts!

M is for ‘Murcedees’, the car that an entire generation of Punjabis were in love with (UK Based).

N is for ‘No Problem Ji.’ To find out how that works see H.

O is for Oye, which can be surprise (Oyye!), a greeting (Oyy!), anger (OYY!) or pain (Oy oy oy…).

P is for Punj Mint, and no matter how near (1 km) or far(100 km) a Punjabi is from you he always says he’ll reach you in punj mint (5 minutes…).

Q is for Queue, a word completely untranslatable into Punjabi - does not exist in the culture.

R is for Riks, and a Punjabi is always prepared to take one (risk), even if the odds are against him.

S is for Sweetie, Sunny, Simmi and Sonu, who seem to own half the cars in Delhi .

T is for the official bird of Punjab : Tandoori Chickun.

U is for when you lose your sex appeal and become ‘Uncul-ji’

V is for VIP phone numbers @ Rs 2 lakhs and counting.

W is for Whan, as in ‘Whan are you coming, ji?’

X is for the many X-rated words that flow freely in Punjabi conversations.

Y is for ‘You nonsanse’, when anger replaces vocabulary in a shouting match.

Z is for Zindgi which every Punjabi knows how to live to the fullest.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 23:50 #
  2. Dear Khan Sahib,
    You look so beautiful, nice and loving at such non-political topics.
    I wish you stick to pleasant and entertaining section of the forum.
    You are the first who brought a bheeni bheeni bhor at this forum.
    You helped to shut down the guns of hatred through Jokes, Poetry, Music and introducing a chapter of Fine Arts at the Forum.
    I wish all those who have been banned due to one reason or other should be allowed to participate at such healthy Face of the Forum.
    You are the winner.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 4:45 #
  3. toamin

Sheikh sb don't be so depressed you are also beautiful, nice and loving at non-political/non-religious topics -some times.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 4:52 #
  4. expakistani

Main kia yeah per aker jhak mar rha hota hon.... o bhai meri bhi koi tareef ker dia karo.... MQM bana dia mujhe
    jo karon us main kera nekaltey ho aap log

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 5:49 #
  5. toamin

lolz!

you are also beautiful, nice and loving at 'drinking' topics ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 5:50 #
  6. ucsher

Talking about the idiosyncrasies in different cultures, could some body plz tell me as to why karachites have a nagging tendency of putting a zair (opposite of zabbar) in every other english word, thinking it to be the best pronunciation of these words?

I mean what I can't understand is that why do they pronounce school as "Ischool" and also put an "alif" before it when writing in urdu?..I mean hello??..had it been pronounced and written the way you guys do it then don't you think that there would have been an "I" before "s" of the school even in english???...

Some of the other magnificent pronunciations are ...

1-Kirkit (for cricket)

2-Cabil (for cable)

3-Sevin (for seven)

4-Tabil (for table)

5-chick"i"n for (chicken)

6-Ismile (for smile)

7-Istand (for stand)..etc etc

and btw to top it all they can't help putting a "zair" even in their own city's name by pronouncing it as "Kirachi" ..lmao

and guess what most of them even think that this is the right pronunciation ;)

I will come to the "zabar" habit of punjabis later...dint get a clue ? ...try & see them pronouncing the words like abid as "abad" , hamid as "hamad" etc etc !!!

God.. its always good to have a multi-cultural background , isn't it?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 11:55 #
  7. msohail83

LOL Shera

Majority of my family is setteled in Karachi but I was born and raised in Punjab.

I remember when we visited each other we'd always make fun of our pronounciations of words like you mentioned ;-) They'd ask us to write 'school' in Urdu and laugh at us for not writing with an 'Alif' in the beginning. Back then it used to confuse me who the heck is right? lolz

Now I get to make fun of my newly wedded cousin from karachi for the same words you mentioned. ;)

I'm still not sure why they write that way though :o)

No offense to my friends from Karachi:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 12:05 #
  8. Look how Sardar Sahib tranaslated the Computer related terminology into Punjabi:

commands on your computer:
    Send = Sutto
    Insert = Wich Paao
    Attachement = Naal Laao
    Edit = Sidda Karo
    View = Waikhee Jaao
    Forward = Aggay Sutto
    Inbox = Undar Da Daak Khaana
    Outbox = Baar Da Daak Khana
    Trash = Mitti Paao
    Sent Items = Bheji Gayee Dak
    Address Book = Patay Wali Kaapy
    Reply = Bejan Walay Nu Jawab do
    Reply All = Saareyaan Nu Jawab do
    Delete = Daffa Karo
    Download = Thallay Laao
    Download All = Saary Cheezan Noon Thallay Laao
    Properties = Jaidaad
    Connect = Naal Milaao
    Fonts = Likhaai
    Accounts = Galla
    Drafts = Chitheeyaan
    Find = Labbo
    Paste = Thook Naal Chipkaao
    From = Bhejan Walaa Banda
    To = Door Betha Hoya Banda
    Subject = Khaas Gall
    Carbon Copy = Koelay Walee Naqal
    Blind Carbon Copy = Anni Koelay Walee Naqal
    Stationery = Pensal, Rubburd, Shaapnar
    Folders = Bastey
    High priority = Waddee Takleef

and finally

Ctrl+Alt+Delete = Sara Syapa Mukaao..

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 12:10 #
  9. toamin

wah wa Sheikh sb!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 12:20 #
  10. linkwheel

Oh menu dekhi jaandi c, main ohnu vekhi jaanda c
    Na paper mainu aanda c, na paper ohnu aanda c

Unfortunately this is true :(

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 12:40 #
  11. zingaro

ahhaahhahhahhahhaahha very good thread dears.. i am really enjoying it as such threads provide us a recreation room to have some smile on our faces. Thanks dudes.....

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 15:07 #
  12. expakistani

@ucsher

Bhai Urud to karachi walon ke apni zaban hey na... humhari marzi Zaber lageen ya peesh....

apnei cheez honey ka fida yeah hota hey jab chaha

iskokool ker din or kabhi sokool ker din .....

bas style hey thora sa kool hona chahey

here some thing... after Moin Akhter this guy is best stand up comy in indo pak

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 16:43 #
  13. ucsher

@expakistani

1-Although generally a Language is a property of no one, however its more so a case with urdu because its actually a lashkari language made by taking words from many other languages..

2-Had you been observant then you would have noticed that most of the words that i mentioned above were english. ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 17:49 #
  14. expakistani

arey i know bhai.... in sindh text book board school ke hijey
    Ilif se hoti hey or Punajab main Alif ghaex ker detey ho....
    hum Tey per Zaber laga ker Taleem hasel kertey hain... tum log Tey ke nechey zeer laga ker choti se tilim bana detey ho...

i got a nick name for you

Baby-e-urdu...

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 18:02 #
  15. ucsher

@ex-pakistani

zyada hum tum na karo actually i am also an urdu-speaker (though since i live in punjab therefore i could very well make out as to where the karachites are actually right in making fun of different accents and where their own accents need some correction ;) ..

as for people of punjabi (or for that matter any )origins speaking urdu in their own accents ..so it actually makes some sense, since they are not speaking their mother language ..
    However when an ahl-e-zubaan do the same mistake then i guess there should be some "getting into" this thingy (and that's exactly what i am doing ;)

and btw I don't know whats all the fuss about speaking urdu in different dialects & accents ..i mean just look how proudly yankees speak english in texan accent or for that matter how seriously Britishers accept various accents of cockney, as well as, highly difficult accents like Scottish & Irish accents!!!
    I think we should learn a thing or two from them on this front as well ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 18:23 #
  16. msohail83

Let me share few funny words, Lahori pronounce “Hour, Ghanta as GHAAINTA” “Seventeen, Satra, SAATAARA” “Street, SATREET” “Screen, SAKREEN” “School, SAKOOL”, “Round About, GOL CHAKKAR” “Company, KOMPAANY” "Dahi Bhallay" "Tree, Darakht, DARAKHAAT" "Round About, CHOUNKK" " Brother, Bhai Jan, PAI YAAN" hehe

http://scepticlife.blogspot.com/2008/11/lahori-accent-insecure-karachi-lust-for.html

LoL

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 18:33 #
  17. ucsher

@sohail

Dare I may say that this accent is not peculiar to just lahore, in fact these words are pronounced the same way all over the punjab!!

So plz let us all (living in punjab) be a part of these fun words ;)

As for Lahori accent, so you can very well mention those like Jahangir Badar living in androon lahore and pronouncing "ray" as "rray" or "day" i.e yad kya kad dahay ho" (i am sorry that i had to steel the indian version of writing "rray" (the word that comes after ray, is written like "ray" but has a "toien" on it )

so any reason as to why they pronounce ray as rray?..since you live in lhr ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:08 #
  18. msohail83

mein lhorun nai higa paee jan. :-)

Jahangir Badar ka apna hi accent hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:21 #
  19. ucsher

@msohail
    hain? waqai?..phir kaun ho tum manoos ajnabi? :O

yar i am quite positive ke aay "ray" no "rray" kain aala accent andron-e-lor da ee ay ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:25 #
  20. msohail83

your friend hariskhan is from Lahore. I'm sure he'll be able to confirm ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:26 #
  21. SufiSoul

AAPNA SAIL PAYEE.CHANGY LUB K LAAYAY O TUSI.
    APP KO YE PUNJABI DICTIONARY KAHAN SE LABBI THI.
    MY WEE LYNEE JAY. AA.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:36 #
  22. SufiSoul

NAZAR LAG GAYEE MERI PUNJABI NOON.
    WAIKHO IKOI MESSAGE KINNI DAFA SEND HO GIYA.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:39 #
  23. ucsher

@sohail
    then where are you from anyway?

yar tum wuhi sohail nahi ho imran khan walway?

On haris:
    bahut bahut shukriya & salam-alaikum ;) (pun intended)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:39 #
  24. SufiSoul

ME LORON......

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:40 #
  25. msohail83

I'm the same guy but not from Lahore. I was born and raised in Jhelum.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:41 #
  26. msohail83

Strange, my message is not showing. I repeat that I'm from Jhelum not Lahore.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:44 #
  27. SufiSoul

UCSHER,
    TOON AINEE JALDI POST EDIT KER DEETHI.JIYO SHERA.
    PER THADA TALUQ KERY UNOIN COUNCIL NAAL HEGA. DASS MAINOO ZARA.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 19:45 #
  28. ucsher

@msohail
    Strange because I always thought you were from Lhr!!! and if iam not wrong i even remembered once you telling me something to that effect!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 20:05 #
  29. msohail83

U got that wrong, my friend :-)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 20:07 #
  30. Anonymous

sohail sharartee is from Jehlum. Kiyani kaa paroosee..lol

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 20:25 #
  31. ucsher

@bsobaid & msohail

That also justifies why sohail has so many relatives in karachi ..must be in Army or Navy as that area is full of the guys who first join army and later on become the part of that infamous Establishment (as we know them) of pakistan..right sohail??..just kidding ;)

Bhai lahore se le kar rawalpindi walay area ke logon se tu dar ke hi rehna chahiyay ..since they are the actual saviors of Islamic Republic Of Pakistan ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 20:34 #
  32. msohail83

My cousin just finished his engineering in Risalpur and got commissoned in the airforce last year. He's the only person in my entire family to have joined Armed forces. So I'm not part of the notorious establishment. I just happen to hail from a city that supplies lots of soldiers and officers (military college jhelum).

Baqi darnay ki bat nahi meine kisi ka kya bigar lena hai?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:09 #
  33. ucsher

@sohail

lol..chalo koi na koi tu nikal hi aya na arm forces mai..waisay on a lighter note.. army ka agar bas chalay tu us area ke kutton & billion ko bhi fauj mai bharti kar le ;)..For some odd reason army ko bus wahien ke paani mai wafadari nazar aati hay ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:36 #
  34. msohail83

naa you see that cousin of mine is actually from Karachi. lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 10:38 #
  35. Talking about accents and pronunciations... I find it funny to notice that majority of Indians (specially) and Pakistanis use the word "NO" "NA" in the end of every sentence.. like.... Do you love me "no"? Or in hospital setting... That patient is sick! No? Guess, difference in culture does have some implication on one's language skills.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 18:42 #
  36. ucsher

@khan_sahib

I think indians use "no" for "isn't it" or "right"...right? ;)

even I thought of it as wrong english at first but then you actually have an option of "Indian English" on various reputed website these days, so who are we to object, no? ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 19:11 #
  37. I am not objecting no? I find it amusing! Its called Hinglish..

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 19:36 #
  38. its in poetry section too but I thought I will share this on punjabi thread too.. Enjoy!

http://www.urdudiary.com/urdu-funny-poetry/urdu-funny-poetry9_06.jpg

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 20:17 #
  39. jee karda oh jee karda
    tenu kol battha ke jee karda

jee karda oh jee karda
    tennu kol battha ke jee karda

eik vaari, oh eik vaari
    tu seeney naal lag sohniye

shava shava tu seeney nal lag soniye!!!!

(lets hear it for sardar jee as portrayed by A. Khanna Sahib.... teri to haye)

lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Nov 2009 22:45 #
  40. expakistani

A Desi guy working abroad on H 1 visa wrote to his wife...

Darling,

I can't send you my salary this month because the global market crises has affected my company's performance, so I am sending 100 kisses.

You are my sweetheart, please adjust.

Your loving husband,

Raghu Nath krisham chari vishal babu

His wife replied...

TINKU KE PAPPA ,

Thanks for the 100 kisses,
    Below is the list of expenses I paid with the Kisses...:

1. The Milk man agreed on 2 kisses for one month's milk.
    2. The electricity man agreed not to disconnect only after 7 kisses.

3. Your landlord Balkar khana comes every day to take 2 or 3 kisses instead of the monthly rent.

4. Supermarket owner Jaswant Singh did not accept kisses only, so I gave him other items, I hope you understand..

5. Miscellaneous expenses 40 kisses.

Please don't worry about me, I still have a balance of 35 kisses and I hope I can survive the month using this balance...Shall I plan the same for the next month? Please Advise!

Your Sweet Heart,

Vidia Balam sonaliji sridevi

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 3:39 #
  41. @ expakistani,
    A good humorous post.
    Might be some of readers start looking for any one like
    Vidia Balam sonaliji sridevi,
    in their neighborhood.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Nov 2009 4:07 #
  42. toamin

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Jan 2010 5:04 #
  43. Posted 1 year ago on 31 Jan 2011 16:16 #