Gen. Kiyani offered three years extension

(26 posts)
  1. shirazi

ISLAMABAD: In an address to the nation on late Thursday night, the Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gilani has announced the decision to extend the tenure of the Chief of Army Staff General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani by another three years.

The prime minister said that the extension of Kayani's tenure will begin from November 29 2010. Prime Minister Gilani said that decision was made after consultation with the President Asif Ali Zardari.

Prime Minister Gilani also said that the extension of General Kayani's tenure is in the best interest of the nation.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/06-govt-announces-extension-of-gen-kayanis-tenure-rs-06

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jul 2010 19:40 #
  2. Surprise! Surprise!!
    (Of course American pressure had nothing to do with it as US said "it is an internal matter of the Pakistani govt. :-P)

So does it mean Kiyani will be protecting Zardari for the next three years??

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jul 2010 20:04 #
  3. rehanahd

This was written on wall n same has been quoted in international media that US wants Kayani tenure be extended...

Do any one think Zard-ari can refuse Americans:)

We were touts.. we are...we would... till the time this country is full of ignorant and corrupt people. Ignorant and corrupt public selects only corrupts and fraudsters being best among them.

We will be able to take decision independently only when we hav educated public, sincere leadership... real damocracy ( though its dream, but dreams can be realized if efforts r made)

Uncle Sam u rules................

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jul 2010 20:08 #
  4. Anwer Kamal

جس کی لاٹھی اس کی بھنس
    please must read this
    http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/...nd-prisons-070
    Great Kamran Shafi

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jul 2010 21:39 #
  5. shimatoree

nota-

you nailed it.

Kayani will not interfere in the " democratic process "

Of course the lackeys were TOLD that Kayani must stay.

And so he will.

Posted 1 year ago on 22 Jul 2010 22:09 #
  6. Anwer Kamal

Kiani is himself a nice person but .......

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 1:00 #
  7. shafiq12

Kiani is himself a nice person

Kiyani is pet of Mushraff,

and mushraff is himself stupid and coward man?

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 5:25 #
  8. shirazi

I am surprised when people bash Musharaaf but give clean slip to Kiyani. Kiyani was not only his right hand but also as much American stooge as Musharaaf was.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 5:27 #
  9. shafiq12

Kiyani is Silent man,

But soon he show his noise like General Yayah

This democratic system trained them as the lover of America not the lover of Islam,

These General are trained by Army to Hate Islam?

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 5:35 #
  10. he he he
    Kiyani jee Amerika bhadur kay favorite hain .
    aur tou aur PPP kay bhi favorite hain.
    Benazir Baji ne khud unka naam tajweez kiya tha Amerika ko .
    iss tarhah wohh subki aankh ka tara ban gaye .
    aur 3 saal ki extension pa gaye ...

baqi rahay unkay neechay walay tou wohh 3 saal intezaar karein yah phir Zia yah Mush ban jayein .:):):)

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 5:52 #
  11. @shirazi
    "I am surprised when people bash Musharaaf but give clean slip to Kiyani. Kiyani was not only his right hand but also as much American stooge as Musharaaf was."

That is the fact (and don't forget he was the chief negotiator of the NRO), was and is fully involved in the "Missing Persons" case, Lal Masjid slaughter, drones were and are killing under his watch, US troops are roaming FATA freely because of his approval (STILL denied by ISPR), etc., etc.

What I find really nteresting is the way our media is celebrating this as the best thing that ever happened to Pakistan. All papers today have this as the top headline with glowing reviews of this scvmbag.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 5:57 #
  12. How Kiyani The Collaborator Earned His Extension:
    U.S. Forces Step Up Pakistan Presence

WASHINGTON—U.S. Special Operations Forces have begun venturing out with Pakistani forces on aid projects, deepening the American role in the effort to defeat Islamist militants in Pakistani territory that has been off limits to U.S. ground troops.

The expansion of U.S. cooperation is significant given Pakistan's deep aversion to allowing foreign military forces on its territory...The U.S. troops are allowed to defend themselves and return fire if attacked....Pakistan has told the U.S. that troops need to keep a low profile. "Going out in the open, that has negative optics, that is something we have to work out," said a Pakistani official. "This whole exercise could be counterproductive if people see U.S. boots on the ground."...
    Because of Pakistan's sensitivities, the U.S. role has developed slowly. In June 2008, top U.S. military officials announced 30 American troops would begin a military training program in Pakistan, but it took four months for Pakistan to allow the program to begin.

The first U.S. Special Operations Forces were restricted to military classrooms and training bases. Pakistan has gradually allowed more trainers into the country and allowed the mission's scope to expand....

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 9:17 #
  13. that means he has been approved by USA . as Madam Hillary was here last week.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 11:31 #
  14. shirazi

This will expose our media TV anchors and columnists. I am anxious to see who in our media will criticize this extension.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 13:06 #
  15. Pak army does not produce his leaders that once they reach atop are said to be some indispensible. Everyone in line is as able and capable a commander as General Kayani.

For the best interest of Army and the decorum of its higher up commanders--- demands of them that they be courageous enough to say ; No to any such leavouring in offers and tactics of extension of service by the politicians which may reflect that the man is beieng made a scapegoat to meet their political ends.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 15:59 #
  16. sfqureshi

What ever good image GEN Kayani got from public & soldiers,by getting the reward of extension from this corrupt President & Prime Minister he spoiled his all image.

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 17:37 #
  17. Anwer Kamal

Who is not corrupt ?
    You can name a play boy only but if you see his living ?

Posted 1 year ago on 23 Jul 2010 21:09 #
  18. @shimatoree
    "nota-
    you nailed it.
    Kayani will not interfere in the " democratic process " "

Guess I did and I have Gilani to back it up ;-)
    (Kiyani Extention means ) President, PM, COAS, CJ all in till 2013: Gilani
    ;-)

And here is the funny thing. About the link I posted about about US forces openly operating in Pakistan, at least someone is protesting:
    Senators seek withdrawal of US forces from Pakistan

Of course the 'Senators' in question are NOT Pakistani but US Senators because THEY KNOW it is unlawful:

...“We have known that US forces have been operating in secret inside the territories of Pakistan without congressional approval,”...
    ...Mr Kucinich said the covert operations were a “violation of the 1973 War Powers Resolution introduced after the Vietnam War that only allows the president to send US armed forces into military operations abroad if Congress approves the decision or if the United States is under a serious threat or attack.” ...
    Mr Paul said the US military had `significantly increased’ its operations in Pakistan, without providing figures.

He also noted the increased use of unmanned drone attacks in Pakistan since President Barack Obama came to office a year and a half ago.

“This increasing US military activity in Pakistan has little to do with protecting the United States and in fact is creating more enemies than it is defeating,” Mr Paul said.

“The administration, like its predecessor, is misusing language in the original post-9/11 resolution to prosecute a wider regional war and Congress is sitting quietly on the sidelines. This must stop.”

And speaking of drones, here is news from today...
    US missile strike kills 16 militants in South Waziristan

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 7:33 #
  19. nota, the problem with Denis Kucinich is he speaks well, but at the last minute betrays his positions. We've seen this happen time and time again. Verbal guts, that's all, alas.

About drone attacks, I've noticed that it's mentioned less and less often. As though it had simply become a fact of life with us and no longer required further reporting.

As for Kiyani and his govt friends, we are now awaiting a miracle to get rid of them and their machinations. That is if someone believes in miracles which I personally have the bad habit of doing.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 9:11 #
  20. I dont understand why people are opposing this move. Cant anybody remember situation of Sawat in 2008. Ok if you dont want to give credit to PPP at least give credit to Army and Gen. Kiyani for cleaning the area and normalizing the situation there. Otherwise daily schools were bombed and innocent people were killed. No real Islamic organization can commit those sins committed by Fazalullah and co.

Dont you think he is far better COAS then Mush and Zia. Despite having enormous support from US he is willing to allow the democratic system to improve it self on its own. Only time can bring improvement in our system and Gen. sahib knows that. No short term measures and military interventions can correct our society.

We should have patience. If we give the system to work for only 20 years continuously you will see all the crooks like Zardari, NS and IK will disappear and real leadership will emerge.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 9:35 #
  21. @pakistani47
    "give credit to Army and Gen. Kiyani for cleaning the area and normalizing the situation there. Otherwise daily schools were bombed and innocent people were killed."

Oh so the situation has been "normalized"? And school bombings stopped? But what about:
    June 22, 2010: School building blown up in Bajaur
    July 07, 2010: Three schools blown up in Bajaur, Peshawar

Maybe it wasn't the militants (as they have been gotten rid of as Kiyani has declared "Mission Accomplished" (where have I heard that before/) Then it must have been done by the usual suspects
    ;-)

And what about the plight of the IDPs? I bet they are living a "normal" life! (see Harsh reality comes home to IDPs; Orakzai, Kurram IDPs need urgent help: ICRC; IDPs from tribal areas "Thank's Pakistani army -- we're so grateful!".)

And speaking of "innocent people" being killed, I just posted a link about the latest drone strike. But those don't count, right? I am sure you will retort: "But those were ALL FOREIGN MILITANTS for ISPR said so!"

"Dont you think he is far better COAS then Mush and Zia."
    He is the b@stard child of Zia and Mush. It's like asking "Isn't the p!glet less of a p!g?".

"We should have patience. If we give the system to work for only 20 years continuously you will see all the crooks like Zardari, NS and IK will disappear and real leadership will emerge. "
    Sorry but one stupid argument. If the system needs protection from Kiyani then only that old system is what is continuing...

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 10:39 #
  22. Surprise! Surprise: PML-N quiet over Kayani’s extension

BTW: Ansar Abbasi did have a column on it today:
    Was this extension really needed? Perhaps not

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 11:00 #
  23. @all above
    i have seen the analysis my brothers have given above and will disagree with it. We all know the cold war going between the CIA and ISI has gone to its peak... and USA wants kiyani removed. We may look back at the kerry-lugar bill issue and see teh armys reaction...
    http://www.insaf.pk/Media/Videos/tabid/62/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/4236/PointBlank-Dr-Shireen-Mazari-on-Coldwar-between-CIA-ISI-July-7-2010.aspx
    this is the link of a show about the cold war between the two agencies. Similarly a war was going on between KIYANI and ZARDARI for a long time (thus the many meetings between politicans and army)... Currently Kiyani and the army have scored a major victory in that war....
    this raises other issues for e.g now Kiyani wll SEE OUT both ZARDARI AND GILANI as their terms will expire before his and thus this makes him even more powerful in the trioka of power we have here ... secondly many sources cliam that Zardari was trying to hav army generals rebel against Kiyani and refuse the idea of extension he has failed for the time being but if he is able to put this plan into action at a later time what effect will that have?
    come what may i think that the public should support Zardari in this war we cannot afford the army even thinking about another martial law
    the above is just my personnel analysis and may be wrong and inaccurate just wanted to share it with you...
    thankyou

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Jul 2010 12:25 #
  24. Dear Nota,

1. Situation is far better than 2008. Yes rara incidents are taking place. We should accept realities.

2. I agree with you regarding the problem of drone attacks. But do you think we are in position to challenge US might directly. What if our airforce down the drones. What do you think what will happen? Do you remember the situation of 2002 when India was challenging us on eastern borders and we could have faced wrath of US as well. Can Pakistan survive these to agressors. Remember the stupid challenge of Iraq to US and then what happended?

3. Our army is the only institution because of which we are not going through the situation of Iraq. Yes things are not ideal here but still far better than Iraq. Dushman dant gar kay baitha hay sirf mokaa dainay ki dair hay.

4. Abusing somebody can not strengthen your argument. We should respect people on higher positions. Our religion teaches us A. Obey Allah B. Obey Prophet SAAW C. Obey Olil Amr (Leaders (Rulers).

5. System does not mean Zardari or PPP Govt. System means cvilian setup. Can you qoute any PM other than ZAB completed his term in history of Pakistan? We should give chance to civilian set up to work and correct itself. Other wise we will have another military intervention and then again fragile and corrupt civlian setup and so on. It will never improve.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Jul 2010 6:16 #
  25. @pakistani47
    1. Situation is far better than 2008.
    Right! Drone strikes have trippled, the theater of war has been moved from Afghanistan to Pakistan (not my words but those of Mullen, Zbignew, Petreus, Obama, etc), US troops are roaming freely, Swat/FATA/Waziristan destroyed, Balochistan and Karachi burning, economy in tatters, rampant corruption, lawlessness rampant, loadshedding, flooding, etc. Now who could ask for anything more?

2. Situation is far better than 2008.
    I agree with you regarding the problem of drone attacks. But do you think we are in position to challenge US might directly.
    Yes! No doubt about it. BTW: I'd rather Pakistan be like 'Iraq' than what it is today.

Our army is the only institution because of which we are not going through the situation of Iraq.
    Indeed. Those b@stards sold out long ago.

4. Abusing somebody can not strengthen your argument
    Calling zia/mush/kiyani p!gs is hardly being 'abusive'. It is a statement of fact. And sorry but I DO NOT interpret "Ulu 'l-amr" as 'the rulers from among yourselves'; There is no way a Zardari equates to say Khulfa-e-Rashedeen, no matter how much you or Babar Awan insist.

System does not mean Zardari or PPP Govt. System means cvilian setup. Can you qoute any PM other than ZAB completed his term in history of Pakistan? We should give chance to civilian set up to work and correct itself. Other wise we will have another military intervention and then again fragile and corrupt civlian setup and so on.
    Oh so we have a civilian setup (the same one that just happened to give Kiyani a 3-year extension -- of course there was "no foreign pressure")? Are you implying it is also not corrupt? (BTW: Didn't Mush/PML-Q make a big deal about their PM (Shauki) completing his term? Oh I am sure you'd say that was a 'dictatorship' and you are talking under 'democracy') Fantastic!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Jul 2010 7:26 #
  26. Kiyani jee Amerika kay aik acahy ghulam sabit ho rahay hain yani kay ..is extension se saabit howa.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Jul 2010 6:22 #