George leaving Pakistan

(34 posts)
  1. sasherwani

Apparently after a number of death threats George (from George ka Pakistan who converted into a Muslim and attained Pakistani citizenship) is finally leaving Pakistan. Another win for fanatics. Another loss for all moderate and peace-loving Pakistanis.

I know a lot of ppl will simply attack George (primarily for being a gora or for having blah blah connections), but I simply loved the guy's positive attitude and his will to learn about Pakistan and his crave to speak Urdu.

I really desperately want my old Pakistan back :(

P.S. and yeah that non-muslim minister gets murdered too :(

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 19:47 #
  2. aftab arif

@ Sasherwani

We have nurtured and fed the monster for 63 years and now it is out of control, unfortunately!

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 20:20 #
  3. zoabkhan

George showed so much enthusiasm for Pakistan and its people. Maybe when our people get their act together he will come back. But i think its a big loss for Pakistan.

Pakistan deserves this because people of Pak continue to get raped and raped in every aspect of their lives but choose to remain quiet. They are not ready to hold people like Rehman Malik, Gilani, Zardari, Nawaz....accountable.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 20:42 #
  4. sasherwani

Im just really upset. I dont know why but I still love Pakistan probably because I am a Pakistani who was born on this land. I just cant find any other reason to like this country anymore.

1. 2 kids get murdered in Sialkot and the entire city watches and makes cellphone videos.The killers never get caught!
    2. A liberal governor gets killed by a fanatic who empties his gun behind an unarmed Salman Taseer's back. People declare the killer a hero. He never gets punished!
    3. Sri Lankan team decides to visit Pakistan even after so many terrorist threats. They get attacked in the center of Lahore city by gunmen. These gunmen never get caught!
    4. The head of the country and the head of opposition have a combined networth of more than 3.5 Billion US Dollars which is accumulated mostly by corruption, sugar hoarding and bribes. More than 70% of the country lives below poverty line. People still continue to follow these 'leaders' and call them "Saeen" and "Sher e Punjab"
    5. The only sport we still have left, its captain ends up taking bribes for spot fixing. He gets involved two of our main bowlers. He now gives expert comments on cricket!
    6. The only party that represents the middle class, its leader rests in a mansion in London and holds a British Passport. His goons promise to bring revolution in the country. They forget that they themselves are a part of the current system!
    7. We are so so messed up. Punjabi vs Sindhi, Shia vs Sunni, Liberal vs. Conservative, Muslim vs. Christians, Lahori vs. Karachiite, this vs. that.. the hate that boils within us..it disgusts me to my stomach. All I need to do is disagree with a mulla and he calls me a liberal fanatic. I disagree with a liberal and he calls me a 'daryal mulla'. We have lost the patience to respect others' opinions.

Im just really depressed. I cant see my country in this state. Its almost dead and we still keep stabbing it.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 23:03 #
  5. shirazi

George made a right move. I am surprised what took him so long. Pakistan is not safe for Muslims what to say of minorities and naturalized Pakistanis like George.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 23:18 #
  6. Since this is a duplicate thread, let me repeat here:
    I say "Good Riddance!"
    :) :) :)

@shirazi
    "George made a right move"

Oh, poor, poor seclibs....your love for your country is just amazing :)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 2:47 #
  7. shirazi

bahi jaan hai toh jahan hai :)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 3:26 #
  8. sasherwani

@ nota,

if you were george, would you have stayed in Pakistan? and if so, why?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:12 #
  9. toamin

لاکھوں دیسی ولایت جاتے ہیں اور ادھر انگریزی سیکھتے ہیں، ہنر حاصل کرتے ہیں، جدید آلہ جات بناتے ہیں پر وہاں تو کوئی اتنی اہمیت نہیں دیتا، یہاں ایک فرنگی آ جائے تو میڈیا اس کو آسمانی مخلوق بنا کر پیش کرتا ہے

اصل مقصد تو وہ پیغام ہے جو امریکی آلہ کار میڈیا لوگوں کو پہنچانا چاہتا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:20 #
  10. sasherwani

@ Salam,

Yes Laakhon desi zaroor wilaayat jaatay hein. Magar Kyun jaatay hein?

Kitnay 'firangi' Pakistan aatay hein? Convert hotay hein? Urdu seekhtay hein? Shaadi kartay hein?

Oh the hate that boils in you!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:24 #
  11. @nota
    Because this is my home. I was born here. And Inshaallah I will die here. Really no hard decision. And it is a question of faith for me. For me it is a simple matter as to when I die. I see every breath as possibly my last and every next one a gift. Is George "safe" now? Are you certain he won't die tomorrow? And when George was "threatened" where did he go? His real "home" (Pakistan was never his home, now was it?). I am already HOME! I am not looking for "security" or "comfort". I'd rather live the life of a street dog here than be a king anywhere else.

P.S. I doubt you will ever understand that ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:25 #
  12. toamin

شیروانی میاں

اصل میں تو نفرت آپ میں ابل رہی ہے، آپ سخت غصے میں ہیں کے ایک گورا کیوں سفر کر رہا ہے، خود تو بچپن سے ہی والدین کے ساتھ باہر نکل گئے تھے اور اب گورا تھوڑا بور ہو کر جا رہا ہے تو رونے پر آ گئے ہو

ہمارے بھی سینکڑوں دیسی ولایت جا کر ان کا طرز زندگی اپنا لیتے ہیں، ان کے جیسا بننے کی پوری کوشش کرتے ہیں اور اگر ولایتی قبول نا کریں تو ہمارے دیسی انگریزوں کا کیا قصور؟

خیر ہے غصہ تھوک دیں، یہ جورج ورج آتے جاتے رہتے ہیں، کوئی فرق نہیں پڑتا، میڈیا اس کو امریکی فتنے کی جنگ کے تناظر میں پیش کر رہا ہے، یعنی کے قصور تو امریکی جنگ کا ہے کہ جس نے پورے خطے میں بد امنی پھیلائی ہے، جورج جا کر اودھر لوگوں کو سمجھائے

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:31 #
  13. sasherwani

Kaash may nafrat kar sakta :) magar ab bhi sirf iss mulk ka pyar hay jo iss say rishta joray huway hay. Ever wondered why I bother coming to a Pakistani political forum?

Its not about this 'firangi'. Its about a lot of other issues. Read my earlier post.

My personal life shouldnt matter to you. Please refrain from involving my family in your posts. I will be grateful. You dont know me or my family. You dont know why we migrated. Does Islam reject the idea of leaving your country btw?

You will not understand. I still wanted to give you 2 mins.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:22 #
  14. toamin

میرے خیال میں شاید میں کچھ زیادتی کر گیا جس کے لئے معزرت

مجھے آپ کی نجی زندگی سے نا ہی کوئی دلچسپی ہے اور نا ہی سمجھنے کا شوق، میں تو اس کو موازنہ کے لئے مثال کے طور پر استمعال کر رہا تھا جو کہ آپ کو برا لگ گیا اس لئے میں نے معزرت کر لی

مہربانی

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:27 #
  15. sasherwani

No issues brother.

We both have the same destination and target. Just different paths.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:33 #
  16. Ah, Part II is here:

George ka khuda hafiz — II

He talks of miliary, mullahs, and "liberals"

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 8:05 #
  17. Kam

جورج پاکستان میں آیا کیوں تھا ؟ اس کا فیصلہ بلکل صحیح ہے کے وہ پاکستان چھوڑ رہا ہے ،غیر مسلم اور گورا ہونے پر اس کو کوئی بھی مولوی قتل کر سکتا ہے -پاکستان اب پاگل ملاؤں کی جگا رہ گئی ہے .مولوی اپنے پاگل پن کی آخری حدوں کو چھورہے ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 8:34 #
  18. George came here because he could make an easy living knowing desis would go ga-ga over a gora. He stayed here because his wife told him to. He is leaving because his saas told him too.

P.S. Seems he has as much problem with local liberals like you and the mullahs ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 8:38 #
  19. sasherwani

@ salam,

Read point 7 of my earlier post and then read nota's post. Tell me if I was wrong?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 8:44 #
  20. toamin

گوری قوم رشتہ نبھانے میں ناکام ہی رہتی ہے، پہلے اپنے ماں باپ کو خدا حافظ کہتے ہیں، پھر درجنوں رشتے چکھنے کے بعد ایک محبت شروع کرتے ہیں، پھر اس محبت کو بھی خدا حافظ کہتے ہیں، ان کی زندگی قدم قدم پر خدا حافظ سے بھری پڑی ہوتی ہے

ہاں البتہ ہم بر صغیر میں بسنے والے محبت کر کے نبھانا جانتے ہیں، ایک شادی کرتے ہیں اور تا حیات نبھاتے ہیں، اسی لئے جورج سے زیادہ اس کے چاہنے والوں کو دکھ ہو رہا ہے

اور خاص گوروں کی طرح یہ بھی طلاق کا الزام اپنی 'بیوی' پر ڈال کر جا رہا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 9:46 #
  21. toamin

شیروانی صاحب

آپ جورج کی باتوں سے مایوس نا ہوں، وہ پاکستان پر اور ساری کی ساری عوام پر الزام دھر کر جا رہا ہے، مانا کے ہم برے، ہمارا معاشرہ برا، ہمارا نظام برا، ہم نے کب اس سے مدد مانگی کے یہ آ کر کوئی کرشمہ دیکھا دے، ہم نے اس کو محبت دی، رشتہ دیا، شناخت دی، پر اس نے ہمیں داغ مفارقت ہی دیا

رشتہ توڑنے کے لئے بھی بہانہ چاہئے ہوتا ہے، اب اپنے پہ الزام لینے سے تو رہا

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 9:52 #
  22. Has he divorced his wife too?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 10:23 #
  23. toamin

خان صاحب وہ تو صرف استعارہ تھا

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 10:28 #
  24. msohail83

I'm sad to see him go, but I don't understand his highly publicized way of departure.

If you can't handle the heat, stay out of the kitchen, dude.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 10:31 #
  25. Sorry Salam SAHIB....

May samjha shayed azdawaji hallat nay bhee koyee role play keeya hoe. Kaya patta bivi nay england janey kee frmayesh kee hoe?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 10:51 #
  26. @KHAN_Sahib
    "Kaya patta bivi nay england janey kee frmayesh kee hoe?"

Almost! This is the way he ends it:

After Salmaan Taseer’s assassination, my mother-in-law — a hardworking, decent school principal, who was born in Bombay and had grown up in Dhaka before migrating to Pakistan — called me up. She had seen three of her children leave Pakistan during the past 20 years. My wife was the last one remaining. As she spoke, she sounded defeated: “George, just jao. Jao”. So now I am going. Khuda hafiz, Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 11:07 #
  27. @Nota,
    Abb bivi kee baath ko na karna zara mushkil hota hay. Hoe sakta hay kay uss ko wapis janey ka yeah aik accha bahanna mil raha hoe. Akhir topi kisee pay tou raknhee hay na! Pakistan had big terrorist attacks on innocent Pakistanis and there is a DRONE attack every few days. Bhai George nay kabhee iss pay tou shyed koyee protest nahee keeya hoga?
    And also there were minorities killed and church's burnt not only in Pakistan but its a normal occurring in our neighbor country, India too.

I won't be surprise if he starts a new program from the overseas center of ARY, Geo or an other TV Channels. Time will tell the reality but this addiction of fame is difficult to leave behind as George was just a street boy George and not some Boy George kindda famous icon.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 11:15 #
  28. toamin

بات تو آپ کی دل کو لگتی ہے پر کچھ بھائی جورج کے جانے سے دکھی ہیں تو میں اپنا تنقیدی تبصرہ رہنے دیتا ہوں، میں نے بھی بنیادی تبصرہ انہی خطوط پر بنایا تھا

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 11:31 #
  29. Hussain Farooqui

Our religious society was established by the saints who preached indiscriminate love for the humanity. The religious fanatics were firstly nurtured by the British to topple the Ottoman Empire and then nurtured by the Americans to topple their arch rival the ex-USSR. These religious have benefited only the British and the Americans in the Islamic history.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 12:28 #
  30. Bravo!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Apr 2011 6:00 #
  31. Anonymous

What would have compounded his misery maybe the fact that he resided in Karachi. Jaha'n jab tak aath dus mar na jayen to tareekh nai badalti.

Thori bht urdu parhna seekhi hogi aur phir akhbaro main yehi parha ho ga k do wahan mar gaey do wahan.

Ja raha hai jaey par Jatay jatay Pakistan khappay ka naa'ra he lagata jaey.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Apr 2011 7:28 #
  32. toamin

The girl in the video points it out nicely, no matter what passport a Pakistani is holding at the end of day he/she would be asked where are you from? your origin, your root?

can't escape from that, ever!

but as she mentioned how some of our people full of inferiority complex try to give alternate "origin"..

anyway, a good message from a young girl whose origin is pakistan :)

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Apr 2011 9:04 #
  33. SufiSoul

khas kam jahan pak.....bye bye george.never want you to come again.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Apr 2011 9:20 #
  34. Certain "People" shouldn't have fallen in love with a "Land" in first place if they have even a little bit doubt that the land and the inhabitants at some point wouldn't be able to come up to their expectations in future...

Its so stupid of such ppl to start comparing a third world,under developed,struggling country with a place like UK,USA the moment these ppl land in Pakistan....

I say if the standards are low in Pakistan for them then dont dare come to live here!...nobody is really bothered!

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Apr 2011 14:02 #