Great scholars of 20th Century

(46 posts)
  1. AoA All

I am starting this thread to recognise, pay my respect and appreciate the efforts and sacrifices made by famous islamic scholars of political Islam of last 100 years (Alive and Marhoom). Please provide your feedback and comentry of their work and struggle.

Please refrain from negative remarks about them as every human being has shortcomings. What is important is to know them and admire their scholary work.

I just wanted to educate myself and also by doing that education other people as well.
    Below is my list of Great scholars of last 100 years. Ignore my ignorance for not knowing too many scholars.

Syed Qutb Shaheed
    Taqi-ud-din Annabhani
    Dr Ali Shariati
    Hasan Albanna
    Dr Muhammad Hameedullah
    Syed Abul Ala Maududi

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 15:59 #
  2. toamin

یار آپ بھی بڑے مشکل تھرڈ بناتے ہو، ہم چسکے باز لوگ اب کہاں سکالرس پر کچھ کہیں

ادھر تو لوگ یہی ماننے کو تیار نہیں کہ دین اسلام سیاسی معاملات میں رہنمائی دیتا ہے اور آپ ان علما کی فہرست ترتیب دے رہے ہیں جو اسلام کو بہ حثیت نظام کے بیان کرتے ہیں

سید قطب کی ایک کتاب پڑھی تھی اور چند ایک مودودی صاحب کی اور چند ایک تقی الدین کی، باقیوں کے تو بس نام ہی سنے ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 16:47 #
  3. السلام و علیکم سلام میاں

میرا یہی تو مقصد ہے کہ لوگوں کو اسلام کے ان عظیم سکالرز سے روشناس کروایا جائے جنہوں نےموجودہ دور میں اسلام کو بطور ایک مکمل ضابطہ حیات اور دین کی صورت میں پیش کیا اور مستشرقین کے ان الزامات کا مونہہ توڑ جواب دیا کہ اسلام کے پاس کوئی سیاسی نظام نہیں ہے . ان عظیم سکالرز نے تفصیل کے ساتھ اسلام کے مختلف نظاموں یعنی سیاسی ، معاشی ، عدالتی ، معاشرتی ، خارجی ، داخلی ، اقتصادی وغیرہم کو نہ صرف بیان کیا بلکہ ان کو کیسے نافذ کیا جاتا ، ان کے بارے میں بھی عملی رہنما اصول بیان کئے.

ان سکالرز اور ان کے کام کا تذکرہ اور بھی ضروری ہو جاتا ہے تا کہ وہ لوگ جو اسلام کے سیاسی پہلو کے منکر ہیں کو دکھایا جا سکے کہہ کیسے اسلام سیاست کے بارے میں تفصیلی بات کرتا ہے اور یہ ساری بحث کتنی تفصیل کے ساتھ موجود ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 17:19 #
  4. I don't even know who is a scholar and who isn't now a days. All these scholars you have listed are are pioneers of "Islamic politics", which to me is an oxy ****. Politics is dirty business and when you mix Islam with it, it only taints Islam instead of purifying politics i.e. Diesel etc.

All of these scholars have way more opponents than followers which probably says a lot about their thesis and theories etc.

Condition of JI in Pakistan is another example of the failure and incompatibilty of Islam and politics.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 19:05 #
  5. Dear Dell

Out of curiosity, how much work by these scholars you have read.

You passed a judgement so would be interested to know you comments on their work and which work or part of it you disagree and why.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 19:26 #
  6. I have read Milestones and some work of Maududi.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 19:31 #
  7. Dear Dell

"I have read Milestones and some work of Maududi."

Dont you think your above comments in first post were a bit immature and knee jerk reaction as you have only read one book of Syed Qutb Shaheed and some work of Syed Maududi.

I think we should pass commnets only after reading at least couple of books by a scholar and also should be aware of asool of scholarly debate and criticism.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 19:56 #
  8. I am not debating anyone, just giving you the realistic idea of what people think about these scholars. I didn't denounce them, obviously they are pioneers in their work but they do have staunch opposition.

I don't know much about Ali Shariati, but he intrigued me after I googled his name.

Surprised you didn't add Iqbal in that list as most of these were inspired by him in one way or the other!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 20:05 #
  9. Dear Dell

I did thought about Allama Iqbal but decided against it as strictly speaking Allama Iqbal was neither a islamic scholar nor the pioneer of political Islam.

Although Allama Iqbal was a great inspiration for Muslims of India to demand a separate country and did eventually got it but Allama Iqbal's inspiration did not go to arab world at that time (1900-1950).

I am great admirer of Dr Ali Shariati and really impressed with his approach to challenge the authorities to bring the change in soceity

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 20:19 #
  10. jabalultariq

Dr Tariq Ramadan

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 21:06 #
  11. Dear JT

Could you please point out some work of Tariq Ramdhan in favour of political islam and its implementation.

Also I dont think he has been instrumental or involved in any political islam movement.What is exactly his political philosphy vis-a-vie islam as a political reality and the concept of nation state.

Putting it mildly, TR is Javed Ghamidi of Egypt.
    Tariq Ramdhan also labelled as a muslim apologist.

Correct me if I am wrong in my observation.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Mar 2011 22:39 #
  12. ali-pk

Dr. Israr Ahmad

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 6:50 #
  13. Hussain Farooqui

dell has correctly remarked that other than religious political leaders (except Dr. Hamidullah) you have not mentioned the great religious scholars of the last century. The 20th century produced a lot of great Muslim scholars of Islamic studies, social sciences and practical sciences. The Muslim Ummah can be really proud of having great many scholars in the 20th century.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 8:23 #
  14. jabalultariq

I have great respect for Dr Tariq Ramadan , by the way he is grand son of Sheikh Hasan Albanna. Notwithstanding the criticism, including one from Tablighi Jamma'at and others (is any one safe from this criticism, which is a separate topic for the need for tolerance about differing opinion)his services are mainly focussed on adressing the cause European Muslims and he is done it very convincingly. I have listened to his live speeches twice and there are tons of youtube videos. His expertise is philosophy, by the way he is considered one of the top ten contemporary philosophers worlwide. I have oredered his books , so far have only read his on-line articles. In my opinion he is defending and representing Islam very well in various inter-faith forums and is also a voice of reason and authentic knowledge of Islam. I am sure there are others performing similar function but at a much lower level and with less knowledge. His web-site is http://www.tariqramadan.com

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 14:25 #
  15. toamin

وعلیکم سلام فارغ جذباتی بھائی

اب دنیا میں بچے ہی صرف دو نظریے ہیں، ایک مغربی سیکولر نظریہ حیات اور دوسرا دین اسلام کے رہنما اصول

خیر اس نظریاتی کشمکش میں مغرب اب خودی کھل کر دین اسلام کو بیان کرنے کی کوشش کر رہا ہے

‎"The Islamists will follow the formulas for gaining power and then governing that are detailed in the Koran and the Sunnah, the prophet Muhammad's sayings and traditions.

Western experts have long failed to recognize these documents as Islam's equivalent to the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution and the Federalist Papers."

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2011/03/04/AR2011030402322.html?wpisrc=nl_pmopinions

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 16:17 #
  16. السلام و علیکم سلام میاں خان

اس کو کہتے ہیں کہ جادو وہ جو سر چڑھ کر بولے

اور پاکستانی سیکولر لبرل کے بارے میں تو اتنا ہی کہوں گا کہہ .... تیرا کیا بنے گا کالیا

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 16:23 #
  17. HF and JT

This thread was created only for the work of scholars of political islam.

As PKP is more of a political forum than a religious one so emphasis is on political dimensions of scholarly work.

I hope this clarifies.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 16:41 #
  18. bsobaid

Master of political Islam Imam Ibn-e-taimia

Hassan Al Banna
    Syed Qutub
    Abu Al Aala Moudoodi

Rest were mostly followers who are carrying on the tradition of these three.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 16:47 #
  19. Syed Qutb is not considered a scholar by many and rightly so, he is a thinker at best and Maududi is a hybrid of a thinker and a scholar. Qutb had no formal education of Islam, but Maudidi did write a tafseer ul Qur'an.

Scholar is someone who has absolute authority over a particular subject, in this case "Political Islam", Dr Israr also came close but wasn't a full fledged scholar. Ali Shariati seems like a good thinker.

I really like the following quote of his:

About poverty and thinking, Shariati says: " What I want to say is......

Poverty goes everywhere and is ubiquitous.......

Poverty is not being hunger, not being naked ......

Poverty is not having “something”, but that thing is not food and money and even gold.........

Poverty is dust which sits on unsold books in a bookstore......

Poverty is a blade which cuts returned newspapers in a recycling machine......

Poverty is a three thousand-year-old inscription which a memento of a visit has been written by visitor on ...

Poverty is a banana’s skin which is thrown from a window of a car to a road .....

Poverty goes everywhere and is ubiquitous.........

Poverty is not a night you spend "without food" ...

Poverty is a day you spend "without thinking”... ”

Belongings and thinking: "I prefer walking in street and thinking about God to staying in mosque and thinking about my shoes."

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:04 #
  20. dell

I think we should move on from the typical definition of a scholar that he/she must have attended a madrassa and finished his dars-e-nizami.
    Yes there must be a criterion for a scholar but that criterion must not be learning islam in a madrassa only

Thanks for the quotation of Dr Ali shariati. In fact the iranian revolution is built on Dr Shariati's political thinking.

This is what I expect that respected contributors present their comments and commentry or quotes of the political scholars

Another scholar I like to add in this list is Baqir-us-sadr

I would request though that before passing a judgement we should read the work of these scholars ourself instead of making mind on someone else's view about the scholar and his work

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:13 #
  21. bsobaid

@dell,

Ali sHariati carried on the tradition of Moudoodi.

It depends on the definition also.

Hazrat Shah Wali ullah Dehlevi was probably the biggest political islam scholar but he was much much more than that.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:17 #
  22. bsobaid

Political Islam is mostly a product of thinkers than sikka bandd ulema-e-ikraam.

Qutb, Hassan al banna and Moudoodi sahab are considered the pioneers.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:20 #
  23. I think we pakistanis should also look closely to the work of Taqi-ud-din An-nabhani. Once I was talking to Maulana Zahid-ur-raashdi and was absolutely surprised that he is teaching An-nabhani book shaksiya Islamia (islamic Personality) to his students in his madrassa.

Perhaps we are constrained by our biases based on nationality and mazhabi(school of thought) affiliations.

I would love to see a scholarly critique of taqi-ud-din nabhani's work. if some one know a book on the political thoughts of An-nabhani, please let me know. I have read a book by Suha Taji Farooqi which is good but appreciate an other one.

Also I havent seen a critique about syed Maududis political philoshpy. What i am after a scholary work and not usual maula jatt maulvi style response based upon sectarion differences.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:34 #
  24. bsobaid

@farigh, not scholarly work but many sufis the critique for political islam comes from the fact that an individual himself is islam and if you can mend your own ways you have followed and implemented islam. If you get involved in implementing islami nizaam in a society then you get carried away and you become more of

doosro kee hurr khabar pay nazar

It is the question of implementing islam with law as opposed to implementing with hidayatt.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:46 #
  25. yahya

What are/were benefits from such "great" "scholars", if any?

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Mar 2011 17:47 #
  26. awazejamhoor

obviously you are on a wrong thread. what an islam basher has to do with islamic scholars. Nothing except hate.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 4:51 #
  27. toamin

bsobaid,

how can one live by implementing islam on oneself? for example if i need a loan, is there any way i can get loan without compromising islam? i want to get some work done from govt, is there anyway without giving bribe? just couple of examples here..

human is not just an individual object living in self baloon, human has to interact with other humans and society, there are rules/laws that bind these humans & society together that establishes the order, if the order is not islamic then one can not live according to it, be it courts or govt ministry or dispute with another individual-

our sufia-karaam emphasised on self betterment when the muslim society was established on islamic jurisprudence, sure the rulers might have done bad things, but the disputes between people & society were decided based on islamic jurisprudence, why swat people were sick of current judicial system because up till very recently they were under the rule of "wali-e-swaat" and wali used to decide matters based on islam, quick, fair and free justice, current judiciary is the biggest zulm for a poor/middle class person, biggest azaab one can imagine, so everyone is scared of thana/kachehri

today if one has to live by islam then he has to look at society as well because individuals live in society and has to deal with society, if society is based on colonial order then it has to be changed, individuals, rules/laws, concepts/culture all together form a society, it is not just bunch of people together at a place, that is why there are specialized subjects known as social science.

do we see any example from the life of Prophet Muhammad PBUH, was he involved in the struggle of correcting society? or He PBUH was only concerned about individual morals/rituals? we see that He PBUH pointed out evils of the society, bad practices of the society and warned them, so why is it that today we ignore the evil practices of society and just close our eyes and focus on morals/rituals only?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 5:11 #
  28. Hussain Farooqui

Dr. Hameedullah's political role remained limited to his advocacy for the State of Hyderabad Daccan. As a gesture of protest against the Indian occupation over the state of Hyderabad, he did not accept the nationality of any other country and acquired the status of a homeless refugee. He had an expired passport of Hyderabad State and traveled on a Traveling Document. India, Pakistan and France offered him nationality but he did not accept any nationality and remained firm on his stand that Indian is occupying his country illegally. He declared himself a citizen of a country lying under the illegal occupation of India.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 5:26 #
  29. Dear HF Salaam

The personal actions of the individual is the not the topic of discussion. What I am interested in is the political philosphy and the work of the person in question. Respected Dr Hameedullah talked in detail about the islamic state and role of the islamic state in modern times. Yes we may disagree with the arguements of the the scholar but we need to appreciate the efforts and arguments put forward.

I would recomend you to read Khutbaat-e-Bahawalpur if you havent already read it and also Dr Hameedulah's work on islamic state.

BTW I am not taking any position vis-a-vie Dr Hameedullah arguments/work.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 11:11 #
  30. A Very good comentry on Syed Qutb vision and also give a detail background of american psyche and conservatism and "righteousness"

This is a series of 6 videos and a must watch. It also burst the myth of Al-Qaieda as a organisation.

This was made by BBC, so sorry sec libs no blaming the islamist propaganda ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 14:25 #
  31. Hussain Farooqui

FJ W A Aslam

You wrote in an above posting that you are discussing the scholars who participated in politics. I just wanted to clarify that Dr. Hameedullah was a well respected scholar rather than a political Mullah.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 16:42 #
  32. Dear HF Salaam

I am a bit troubled that you are putting the above mentioned scholars in the category of Political Mullah.

To me political mullah are the likes of Fazlur Rehman & his JUI Cohorts and The Mullahs sitting in Pakistani Parliament (whatever their affiliation is) who for little material benefits sell the deen and compromise.

To me Political Mullah is the one who never wrote a book on political islam but uses the rhetroric of islam.

The above mentioned respected scholars are the one who did not compromise and gave muslims vision, hope and knowledge.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Mar 2011 21:28 #
  33. yahya

"obviously you are on a wrong thread. what an islam basher has to do with islamic scholars. Nothing except hate."

@Jamhooriat: lol..naach na jaanay aangan tera...

What's the point of scholarship if it does not bring out anything good?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 3:11 #
  34. bsobaid

There were two hameedallah saahiban. One was paris walay whom jazbaati is tlking about and the secnd one was farahi, ustaad of islahi shab who is ustad of ghamdi sahab. Both hameedullah hazrat are highly respected scholars.

Khutbaat e bhawalpur is an excellent read by hazrat hameedullah marhoom sahab paris walay.

However hameedullah sahab paris walay was in no way proponent of political islam at all. He infact was quite contrary.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 3:15 #
  35. bsobaid

Salam bhai, it is a long debate. Counter agreement is if you implement islami nizaam in a country as a law then people will end up praying namaz without wazu like in the days of zia l haq.

Islami society is formed by islamic individuals rather than the other way around. I have pretty much summed up the political islam and the counter argument.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 3:24 #
  36. bsobaid

In other words, political islam teels you
    Quran kee dawat lay kay uthoo aur dunyaa pay chaa jaoo

Where as the counter argument is

Ishq kee quwwat se kainaat ko musakhar karr loo.

First argument sounds more like qabza group, second argument is haqq hoooo

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 3:29 #
  37. FJ,

That documentary is actually a propaganda video, they are in fact making fun of Muslims. Qutb is being portrayed as a hypocrite to the western world. It's the other way round for what you thought it to be!!

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 3:31 #
  38. sipahi

@Faarigh Jazbati

I think you have missed the only Islamic Scholar who has delivered an Islamic implementation of a just government over a long period.
    I am referring to Ayatollah Khomieni. You might disagree with the his branch of Fiqh, but he is the only Islamic Scholar over a long period who worked hard to "walk the talk" and delivered what he professed as a philosophy of Islam.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 6:19 #
  39. sipahi

For those who are interested in works of Ayatollah Khomeini related to Islamic government, they might want to start with this book.
    http://www.al-islam.org/islamicgovernment/

Also, they might want to read works of another Iranian Islamic scholar Ayatullāh Murťadhā Muťahharī.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 6:52 #
  40. AoA Sipahi

I deliberately excluded Ruhallah Khomeini for the reason that Khomaini is not considered as political scholar/thinker.

Even His status of Ayatollah is disputed as this was given to him to protect him from death penality.

The real force and political thinking behind iranian revolution was Dr Ali Shariati. I have spent some time in Iran and if you ask the intellectuals about person behind the revolution they will tell you in unison: Dr Shariati

The other person from Iran who would I include in my list of scholars of Political islam is Ayatollah Muntaziri. He has written extensively on political philosphy, rights of the people in a state, relation between state and people etc.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 10:57 #
  41. shafiq12

Interpretation my friend, Every one is interpreting Islam to source his reason. There are some "good interpretations" but Some interpenetration make Islam more difficult to understand.

ذرا سي بات تھي ، انديشہ عجم نے اسے
    بڑھا ديا ہے فقط زيب داستاں کے ليے

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 11:35 #
  42. toamin

In other words, political islam teels you
    Quran kee dawat lay kay uthoo aur dunyaa pay chaa jaoo

Where as the counter argument is

Ishq kee quwwat se kainaat ko musakhar karr loo.

Answer should be searched inside the SUNNAT of our beloved Prophet Muhammad PBUH, how were political affairs managed under Prophet Muhammad PBUH in Madinah?

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Mar 2011 12:04 #
  43. sipahi

Faarigh Jazbaati,
    Salaamun-aleykum,

You might have lived in Iran, but for some reason you have wrong information about Ayatollah Khomeini. Just for his advancement of concept of Vilayet-e-Faqih and implementation in Islamic Republic of Iran, he has achieved more than many of people on your list combined. He wrote books as early as 1954, 1964 and 1970 on the concept of Vilayet-e-Faqih. Dr. Ali Shariati was born in 1933 and was about 30 years younger than Ayatollah Khomeini. Dr. Shariati might be a revolutionary and did influence younger generation, but he was not an Islamic scholar even close to Ayatollah Khomeini.

Your statement “Even His status of Ayatollah is disputed as this was given to him to protect him from death penality.” shows complete ignorance as to how Grand Ayatollah evolves in Shii traditions. Ayatollah became Marje Taqleed, when Grand Ayatollah Husain Borujerdi died in 1963. Ayatollah Khomeini had already written many scholarly books and was a teacher of many scholars.

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Mar 2011 5:47 #
  44. toamin

Caretaker Faqih concept evolved because there was no Imam, so a new concept was developed to resolve political dilemma.

Well, this is entirely another debate, for Khomeini I don't view him favourable due to West's collaboration in his struggle, anyway that is another debate so I don't want to derail this thread-

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2011 8:27 #
  45. Hussain Farooqui

The politicized religious leaders have hardly delivered any goods to the Muslim Ummah.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2011 13:31 #
  46. habibtahir

most people commenting here without reading the books of the above scholars....

@ Dell
    Islam is a religion of whole not of segments... It is a system which covers all aspects of life whether it is social ,economical or political....

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Mar 2011 20:11 #