PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

growing beards

(22 posts)
  1. shaagird

since post 9-11 and rising terrorism incidents, the trend of keeping long, untrimmed and unbrushed beards has been fast growing and gaining popularity
    its a nuisance to sit with someone with a long untrimmed and unbrushed beard in a public transport, when the wind blows those hair on your face!

what is the reason behind this trend?
    its good to grow beard, but is it also good to keep it untrimmed and unbrushed???????
    some people call it sunnat.... which it is not...
    holy prophet (saw) focused on cleanliness and hygiene... as he said safayee nisf eemaan hai..... when a person cannot take care of his personal hygiene. how can he be said to be following sunnat??????

and the general public also considers a person with a big beard to be pious and a truer muslim. people call such beard walas with names such as maulana, haji sahab... regardless of whether the person is actually a haji or maulana or not......

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 10:04 #
  2. @shaagrid

Please read this book here regarding your negative views about a proper (according to Sunnah) beard:

http://abdurrahman.org/character/TheThreeLetters.pdf

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 10:38 #
  3. shaagird

fyi, i have done the research before typing this post!
    dont refer me ur bundle of books. just answer the simple questions if u can
    and very long, untrimmed, unbrushed beard is NOT a proper (according to sunnat) beard

thank you

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 10:51 #
  4. @shaagrid

Abu Hurayrah radiAllaahu anhu reported that the ruler of Yemen, appointed by the Persian emperor Kisra, sent two envoys to the Messenger salAllaahu alaihi wa sallam. When they came into his presence, he noticed that they had shaved their beards and let their moustaches grow big. Hating their ugly appearance, he turned his face away and said: “Woe be to you, who told you to do so?”

They replied: “Our lord (Kisra) did!”

The Messenger salAllaahu alaihi wa sallam responded: “But my Lord, exalted and glorified be He, has commanded me to spare my beard and trim my moustaches.”

[Recorded by Ibn Jarir at-Tabari, Ibn Sa’d, and Ibn Bishran. Verified to be hasan (good) by al-Albani.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:10 #
  5. Adonis

shaagird said:

"its a nuisance to sit with someone with a long untrimmed and unbrushed beard in a public transport, when the wind blows those hair on your face!"
    -----------------------------------------------------------

That scenario can happen only if you are joining heads with such a person. Why would you that?

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:11 #
  6. @shaagrid

Ibn Umar radiAllaahu anhu reported that Messenger of Allaah salAllaahu alaihi wa sallam said:

“Closely trim the moustaches, and spare the beard.”

[Al-Bukhari, Muslim and others].

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:12 #
  7. @shaagrid

Abu Hurayrah radiAllaahu anhu reported that the Prophet salAllaahu alaihi wa sallam said:

“Cut the moustaches and grow your beards. Be different from the ‘Magians’.”

[Recorded by Muslim and Others]

Note: ‘Magians’ - Followers of an ancient Persian religion.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:14 #
  8. scandinavian

@wdurrani

I can imagine the two envoys did look like this fella.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:14 #
  9. In Ahmad’s Musnad, with two other chains from Nafi‘ ibn Jubayr ibn Mut‘im, from ‘Ali:

“The Prophet – Allah bless and greet him – was neither tall nor short. He had a large head and beard (dakhmu al-ra’si wal-lihya), fine hands and feet, his face had a reddish hue (mushrab wajhuhu humratan), he had a long chest-to-navel line of hair (tawîl al-masruba) and large joints (karâdîs). He walked briskly, literally leaning forward as if going downhill. I never saw anyone comparable before or after him.”

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:31 #
  10. @Scandinavian

lol...good one.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:32 #
  11. shaagird

hahaha

@adonis
    i dont have to join my head with some to experience that.. i avoid sitting with people who have extra ordinary lengthy, untrimmed and un brushed beards... but in case i have no option.... the hair keeps flying here and there with the wind, disturbing the person sitting next. it is gross

i havent opposed beards. i have opposed only the way people let their beard grow ugly without proper care.... its part of personal hygiene....

wdurrani
    islam doesnt consider the boundaries of physical appearance... therefore, i can not accept your argument that muslims should grow beard to make themselves look different from magians or some other group....

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:32 #
  12. In al-Shirazi’s al-Alqab as cited by al-Nabahani in Wasa’il al-Wusul from Abu Hurayra:

“The Prophet – Allah bless and greet him – used to take his beard in his hand and look at it when he was preoccupied.”

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:33 #
  13. In Ahmad’s Musnad, with two other chains from Nafi‘ ibn Jubayr, from ‘Ali with the following respective wordings:

“The Prophet – Allah bless and greet him – was of truly imposing stature (‘azîm al-hâma), fair with a reddish hue, with a very large beard (‘azîm al-lihya), large joints, fine hands and feet, a long chest-to-navel line of hair and plentiful hair on his head (kathîra sha‘ri al-ra’si) - wavy hair (râjilahu). He walked briskly as if going downhill. He was neither tall nor short. I never saw anyone comparable before or after him.”

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:35 #
  14. shaagird

ok. do you mean he did not take care of his facial hair hygiene?????? :S

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 11:39 #
  15. @shaagrid

We know from other many ahaadeeth that he salAllaahu alaihi wa sallaam use to wash, comb, oil and perfume his beard. But not cut, trim or pluck it.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 12:22 #
  16. shaagird

ok. good :)
    kindly share those ahadeeth as well

thank you

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 12:28 #
  17. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) recommended combing hair, and said, “Whoever has hair, let him take care of it.” (Abu Dawood, Kitaab al-Tarajjul, 3632. Al-Albaani said in Saheeh Sunan Abi Dawood: it is hasan saheeh. Hadeeth no. 3509).

Al-Haafiz Ibn Hajar said: “Ibn Battaal said: combing means tidying the hair of the head and beard, and oiling it.”

This is the Sunnah of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him), and he (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said, “Whoever turns away from my Sunnah has nothing to do with me.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, al-Nikaah, 4675)

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 12:47 #
  18. I don't use comb for my hairs, what will you think if is sit near you? :D

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 19:29 #
  19. jabalultariq

mr shagird.....you belong to a typical lot who have no reverance for our deen. You started off nicely...unkempt beards etc...but when you wrote...and the general public also considers a person with a big beard to be pious and a truer muslim. people call such beard walas with names such as maulana, haji sahab... regardless of whether the person is actually a haji or maulana or not......you're litterally after long beards now.....first it none of your business and secondly long beards is the way...atleast a fistful....so take your thoughts and post them in newyorker where you 'll get the audinence you need.....

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 19:43 #
  20. Abdul Rahman

My grand father- May Allah have Maghfirah on his soul used to say:

"When the Kaafir ka Baccha-Guru Nanak asked his Sikh followers to grow beard, most his followers took it literally and follow it to this day in every country on the planet. When the last Prophet SAS, the Rahmat Al Alameen asked his followers in authentic Hadith as per links below to grow the beard, People try to find excuses."

http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/9977

http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/6657

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 20:07 #
  21. junaid

jabalultariq

you have summed up it pretty nicely.

Posted 10 months ago on 26 Jul 2011 21:04 #
  22. shaagird

@jabalultariq
    this is not the place where you get to read what you want!
    i dont care whether i have my audience here or not.

secondly you should read my post again, i said "and the general public also considers a person with a big beard to be pious and a truer muslim. people call such beard walas with names such as maulana, haji sahab... regardless of whether the person is actually a haji or maulana or not...."
    nowhere in my post i said that i am against long beards. but what i m saying is that people who have long beards are not necessarily pious and God-fearing people.. and just having a lengthy beard doesnt justify calling anyone a maulana or haji sahab!!!!!!!!

and long untrimmed beards is NOT the way....

Posted 10 months ago on 27 Jul 2011 5:30 #