Hakumat Bhagao, Mulk Bachao - Tehreek by PTI

(89 posts)
  1. Just_one

Karachi Declaration:

May 22, 2011

The massive participation of people from all walks of life in the Karachi Dharna is proof that the people of Pakistan are united in their efforts to regain the lost national sovereignty, an end to the murderous drone attacks, and stop the double faced politics practiced by the ruling party and the so called opposition in parliament.

The Karachi Dharna condemns the continuing drone attacks in the face of the Joint Resolution of the Parliament which was yet another attempt to hoodwink the people by the present day Mir Jafars and Mir Sadiqs. The people have no option but seek the removal of the present government to save Pakistan.

The Dharna passed the following resolution:

1. To free Pakistan from foreign domination and the stooges that rule us.

2. It demands the cancellation of all 7,000 visas issued without security clearance and the expulsion of all private US security contractors within 7 days.

3. The PTI calls on the Army Generals to live up to their oath under the constitution to protect the life and property of Pakistanis against any foreign force that breaches our sovereignty.

4. It resolves to block NATO supply routes in different parts of the country without any prior notice.

5. It demands the resignation of the government for its failure to protect the fundamental rights of the people including the right to life and security.

6. The PTI has decided to launch a nationwide movement to remove the present government which has failed on all counts. The movement would include dharnas and public meetings. first at Multan then Lahore and finally leading to an indefinite Dharna in front of the Parliament house in Islamabad.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 6:01 #
  2. the million dollar question it:
    can any Govt has the gust to take us out somewhere ,from this dead end?
    who will do that?
    how they will do that?

if the two questions has been answered logically,i can assure the whole Pakistani nation would be standing behind Imran.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 6:11 #
  3. Just_one

@Beenai,

Only a government which is elected by the people through fair and free election conducted under independent judiciary and ECP, can take us out of this mess.

This is obvious. The strategy then is to disengage with the American war on terror and make peace in the tribal areas.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:12 #
  4. thats what i am asking.
    how we will disengage ourselves from this war?
    is that easy?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:20 #
  5. Adonis

@ beenai

Have you forgotten 1999?

Pakistani govt had conducted nuclear tests defying intense US pressure.

Pakistan was under economic sanctions but it survived.

The govt. did not ask for any financial aid.

That was a PML-N govt.

and

Imran Khan was a part of GDA which included PPP and MQM and whose one point agenda was removal of the govt.

Yes, removal of the government that had stood firm against american pressure and that had been voted into power by two thirds majority. We know pretty well who was the puppet master behind Imran Khan at that time. It became clear on October 12, 1999.

If you still have hopes from Imran Khan, then I feel sorry.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:23 #
  6. Sharif Aadmi

Only a government which is elected by the people through fair and free election conducted under independent judiciary and ECP, can take us out of this mess.

And who will decide that it is a

a) Fair Free Election
    b) Conducted under Independnt Judciiary & ECP

Quite obvious answer. One and only IK :)

Till the time IK wins , neither election be fair & free nor judiciary :)

Btw, why IK didn't raise this hue and cry against 2002 elections ?

a ) If i remember correctly, those elections were tightly controlled by ISI (Gen.Ahtsham Zameer fame)
    b) Judiciary was under PCO (5 Mohajir SC judges refused oath under PCO where as IMC took oath under PCO)
    c) CEC was Justice Irshad Hassan Khan who earlier had become CJ as a result of taking oath under PCO .

Aakhair , IK kaa koi principle bhi haai yaa ??

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:28 #
  7. scandinavian

Yes, removal of a government led by NS who wanted to become a civilian dictator under the disguise of "ameer-ul-momineen". Apart from that we all know that NS didn't want the nuclear tests. In fact he was forced to do it. AQ has confirmed that.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 8:31 #
  8. salaudin

@Adonis
    Nuclear tests were conducted in 1998, not in 1999.
    Secondly, what I remember about 1999 is Krgil war which was fought , allegedly, without Sharif;s permission.
    What kind of a looser is he ??? Why did he not court-Marshal all those who went against a "bhari mandate" PM.

a ) If i remember correctly, those elections were tightly controlled by ISI (Gen.Ahtsham Zameer fame)
    b) Judiciary was under PCO (5 Mohajir SC judges refused oath under PCO where as IMC took oath under PCO)

phir apnay pairoon par kulhari mari ha NOOner nay

a) Why did the NOONers participate in those election ???
    b) One of them is now part of PTI !!!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 8:53 #
  9. Sharif Aadmi

salaudin

Bahi, who told u that i m a nooner ??? yaar aap logon par wahii kiyon naazal hoti haai ?

If justice wajih ud din is part of PTI now , does it make the PCO of Jan ,2000 valid and IK's support for that valid ?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:01 #
  10. Adonis

@ sharif admi

(5 Mohajir SC judges refused oath under PCO .....
    ----------------------------------------------------------

Please correct your information. There were six such judges. Apparently you forgot Justice Khalil ur Rehman.

In addition, three judges of sindh high court also refused to take oath.

I have never heard any of these judges calling themselves "muhajir", though some of these have urdu as their mother tongue. They were simply Pakistanis from Karachi. Apparently, not all native urdu speakers like to be called "muhajir", a term coined by Altaf for his followers.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:06 #
  11. Sharif Aadmi

thx for correcting , i definately forgot justic khalil ur rehman.

3 judges of SHC i didn't mention becuase i was talking of SC judges.

Sindh was liguastically divided between sindhis and mohajirs in 73/74 bill long before Altaf's political birth.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:09 #
  12. Here we go again, one detail after another after another. Doesn't anyone get tired of repeating the same thins over and over again.

And actually it's quite simple: Except for Imran Khan, we have NO OTHER CHOICE LEFT. None whatsoever. PPP and PMLN are not even a worth a mention in this present context. I'm not going to mention the word "change" in what IK is offering us. Obama's use of the word and the actions that followed have deprived it of all meaning. I'll stick to the word "vision" instead. He's the only one to have one. We are backing IK's vision with everything we've got. Through revolution or through the ballot box, he'll get us to the safe haven where we'll no longer function as west slaves.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:12 #
  13. Adonis

You may have no other choice left and you may be overawed by Imran Khan's "vision".

There are many others who believe there are much better choices than Imran Khan and who see his "vision" merely as "tunnel vision".

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:18 #
  14. Sharif Aadmi

Mirza Ghalib

MG , IK has not able to form any system for his chunni munni party , what vision he has got for the whole country ?

Everyone has to die. What if IK dies tomorrow ? Why u believe in personalities not system ?

We already have 4 messiahs (uniformed) , u r still looking for more ?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:21 #
  15. scandinavian

@Adonis

"There are many others who believe there are much better choices than Imran Khan and who see his "vision" merely as "tunnel vision"."

And who are they? Please don't name big brother (NS) and the smaller one (SS)!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 10:48 #
  16. siddiqi73

@scandinavian,

At least NS & SS don't have a vision to stage a dharna on weekend at KPT; even though the major chunk of NATO supplies land at Port Qasim....

Adonis was kind to have labeled Dharna Khan's vision as tunnel vision...I would probably classify his vision to be a "Key Hole Vision."

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:02 #
  17. scandinavian

@Siddiqi73

You are of the old school. Very seldom you answer questions. Mostly you "answer" questions by new questions/counter allegations. Come on. You can do better than that!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:16 #
  18. siddiqi73

@scandinavian,

Fan club should be glad that we the old timers/schoolers give all of y'all even that much attention!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:41 #
  19. scandinavian

@Siddiqi73

If you are willing to debate, then you are most welcome, but what you are doing is only exposing yourself. I let the other participants judge your way of "debate".

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:49 #
  20. saladin89

PTI is the only political party in mainstream politics that can make a difference, the rest of them are slaves of US.

Since Quaid e azam we have not really had a good leader, but now Imran KHan can be the one to bring peace in Pakistan

Quaid e azam struggled to make Pakistan.
    Imran Khan is struggling to save Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:09 #
  21. saladin89

@scandanavian

U can't blame siddiqi73 his heroes are nawaz sharif and shabaz sharif, so his mindset will be similar to the naukar's of US!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:11 #
  22. Adonis

PTI = Pakistan Tehreek-e- Internet

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:18 #
  23. I think everyone knows what IK's vision is in one word: FREEDOM. Freedom from our west slavery which has half-killed us already. I'm not adding a word more on the subject because all of you know exactly what the rest of it is as well.

Also this, please. I'm not a fan in anyway. Do you think IK is a singer or something? Grow up. Neither do I regard IK as a Messiah, the latest term which has been discovered to denigrate him. He's a man of integrity and that's all that counts with me and others like me. As for his party, it's yet another fashion to make fun of it. But it serves him right well. And that's also all that counts.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:27 #
  24. scandinavian

@MG

I wouldn't even mind their name calling, if just they could back their claims up with some sane arguments. PML-N is a dinosaur of the past. Destined to die and never wake up again. I'm saying it for the sake of Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:30 #
  25. siddiqi73

@scandinavian,

I don't need to be welcomed by you for a debate....that will only happen when I want it and whom I want it with....you obviously can't have any meaningful debate with a delusional bunch of dweebs who equate Dharna Khan with Quaid-e-Azam.

You guys surely know how to provide comical relief to folks in these trying times....keep up the good work fellas'

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:45 #
  26. hypocrite

When it comes to vision, I am afraid I dont think that we have see any visionary leader, including Imran Khan, in Pakistan. Perhaps it has to do something with my abilities to see or judge one.

Imran Khan at times seems to be confused and lost. Some examples are

a) His decision of bycotting participation in election and then participating in bye elections.
    b) Banking on contenders from other parties to participate in elections and in most cases not giving opportunity to any of his own party members.
    c) Keeping silent for years and then protesting against drone attacks.

Khan sahib in 15 years or so hasnt established himself as a leader of masses. It is very easy to criticise (just like I am doing) a government while sitting outside the government, as Khan sahib does so very often but it is a different ball game when it comes to actual game.And who else then Khan sahib shall know that commenting from outside is easier than playing the game on the field.

I think Khan sahib`s style is more suited for a one man (presedential form ) of government and not a parliamentary from. He doesnt have the strength to get 170+ candidates elected.

If Khan sahib has to be tried (and there is no harm in trying hime. The country has gone through many other hands in 64 years) then it shall be some sort of a civilian one man rule.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 13:45 #
  27. hypocrite

Beenai said:

thats what i am asking.
    how we will disengage ourselves from this war?
    is that easy?

Beenai sahiba

Pakistan has to disengage from all the wars and its grand ambitions to get engaged in all power struggles. It has to establish its own economic base first, develop, align and pursue priorities that are good for the country and look after its citizens.

But if we dont want to become a strong country in the world, then we shall also be willing to pay the price of engaging in what currently is beyond our capabilities.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 13:51 #
  28. siddiqi73

Well, he can always play a second fiddle to a dictator..ala Shaukat Aziz

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 13:53 #
  29. hypocrite

Only a government which is elected by the people through fair and free election conducted under independent judiciary and ECP, can take us out of this mess

Just_one sahib,

I am fully supportive of your comment and this is the right way of doing things. The problem is that our system is such that the same few hundred candidates keep on getting elected. Unless and until we have alternate candidates to what we have been seeing in last 20 \ 30 years or so, we will not see any change in policy, regardless of free and fair elections.

The only problems are (a) who can bring alternate, credible, competent candidates , (b) whether the masses will vote for them and (c) the masses will either abstain from voting or keep on voting based on the social pressures they face day in and day out.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 13:57 #
  30. Pak Truth

"Thereek Chalao phir America Jao".For God Sake save Pakistan from Butt brotheraan

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:10 #
  31. wantinsaf

@Hypocrite

Followings are the answer to the points you raise:
    a) His decision of bycotting participation in election and then participating in bye elections.

Did you for two secs try to undertand,why he bycotted the election?You overlooked the reasons behind bycot and that led you to make an opinion which makes no sense.If he bycotted election once,does that mean he should keep bycotting.Again,you have no understanding behind the reasons of bycotting and then taking part.

b) Banking on contenders from other parties to participate in elections and in most cases not giving opportunity to any of his own party members.

Agree to some extent.He should not have given ticket to people like Jazi Khan but the remaining contenders like Zahir Abbas and Meraj malik were great choices.We all have one way or the other associated with these corrupt parties and we left them because theya r corrupt.

c) Keeping silent for years and then protesting against drone attacks.

Again you seem to be a disinformed person who doesn't know what Imran had been saying about drone attacks since the very first took place.PTi had held 15 protests against drone attacks in last 5 years.Please before making or forming opinion,do get yourself informed about Imran and his party.And it's our responsibility.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:14 #
  32. hypocrite

Wantinsaf

Thanks for your candid comments.

Based on what I have read and seen, Khan sahib participated in elections of 2002 and boycotted 2008. My memory doesnt serve me better as to who was at the helm of affairs in 2002, between 2002 and 2008 and in 2008.

If Khan sahib is against current assembly then why participate in bye electaions.

As far as protest against drone attacks is concerned, perhaps Khan sahib did lodge 15 protests in 5 years. What was the result of those protests. Did the approach worked. if not did he changed his approach.

To me it seems Khan sahib is in search of an ideology and he keeps on changing his goal, direction and source of inspiration.

I suggest for the good of Khan sahib and PTI to do some soul searching, understand where they sre doing wrong, develop a focused apporach and pursue it.

Sometimes paying attention to critique could work. Brushing aside the critique as criticism is not always the right approach.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:25 #
  33. Is Imran the new man of Establishment?

Are we gonna see Imran as new PM after next election?

Who is working behind Imran?

Why does Establishment trust Imran?

What change can Imran bring under the shadows of a powerful establishment?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:37 #
  34. Pak Truth

@hypocrite
    U presented good suggestions to IK but in my opinion its difficult for him to understand. He has to stop supporting those elements who are involved fomenting terrorism.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:39 #
  35. wantinsaf

@hypocrite

What you have failed to understand is any movement goes through an evolution and it's a natural phenomena.In 2002,one would have been stupid to boycott as no other party would have supported your idea.There was nothing such as juidiciary issue at that time,was there any?
    And Pakistan's and Imran's politics starts from 2007.Before that,we Pakistanis had never thought of our country.You failed to see that Pakistanis have now started looking at things differently.Did you ever see Pakistan's top singers joining dharna for some reason?It has just happened now for the very first time and that has given confidence to imran Khan.

As far as protests are concerned,there is a difference between protests and policy making.Opposition can do nothing but protest on important issues to motivate public and mobilize the supporters.As far as the outocome is concerned,it has awakened people particularly youth.Again,I would ask you:did u ever see Pakistan's singers taking part in any protest on any issue?

Imran's way of politics is unprecedented as we have never had any politicians who brought people on street on inspiration and motivation.

Imran's aspiration and goals can be described in jus one sentence:I can solve people's problems by becoming PM of this country and there is no other I can get this country out of corruption,slavery and ineffective system.Throughout his political career,it has remained the same.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:40 #
  36. salaudin

@Sharif Aadmi
    No, it does not. But the point was, one of the individuals you were hailing decided to join PTI. There has to be something good about PTI that he decided to join ?
    - I confused your post with the one above, I apologies.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:12 #
  37. hypocrite

Wantinsaf dost

Thanks again. For sure I will try my best to understand the politics, Pakistan's situation and Khan sahibs approach.

Singers participating in dharna is a great sign. I remember back in 70's and 80's when film actors were popular many film actors joined political parties.

Anyhow I wish that along with the famous singers who have joined dharnas and have given Khan sahib the much needed boost in confidence, masses would have participated in the dharna.

On one point I will beg to disgaree with you. Pakistanis have been thinking about Pakistan since 1947 and not since 2007. I might have failed to understand again.

I iwsh Khan sahib and his party best of luck and success. Lets see when Khan sahib's aispirations come true and we Pakistanis are liberated from corruption, slavery and ineffective system.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:31 #
  38. hypocrite

Pak Truth sahib

Thanks. It seems to me that Khan sahib keeps on getting side tracked, is in constant pursuit of an issue that could become popular with masses yet he is not being able to develop a solid support base. My friends from PTI could differ with me.

Since 1977, in Pakistan electsions have been won by strong candidates. After boycotting the elections of 2008 for reasons that might be logical for Khan sahib, I wish if he would have spent time in identifying and nurturing candidates who could genuinely stand a chance winning any next elections. After 3 years of current parliament and Khan sahib missing the boat, I still dont see what he has done to win and how will he get majority in any elections.

But then as I mentioned earlier, perhaps it has to do with lack of my abilities to see beyond where my nose ends.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:37 #
  39. Just_one

@Beenai,

It's a lot easier to get out of this mess than American puppets in Pakistan make it out to be.

To me we should publicly announce disengagement from American war on terror. We should make it clear that we will not let our soil used for terrorism against any country but that our policy of solving our problems will be based on our own realities and not dictated form Washington.

We should immediately ask America to stop drone strikes and they will have to do that. We should give a time plan to end NATO supplies. At the same time, we should offer our assistance in political settlement in Afghanistan.

All the while, we should talk to tribal jirgas and unite on a collective policy of reconciliation. We should get tribal people on our side and remove the real terrorist that might be hiding in the tribal areas.

I know this is easier said than done, but this the only path we should chose if we want to save Pakistan.

Of course, we should be ready for America to stop aid to Pakistan and maybe put some sanctions for some time (though sanction on the UN scale are unlikely).

This won't be problematic for a credible government who is ready to cut down funds spent on government and adopt a simple lifestyle. Tax collection and an end to major corruption is something that holds key to self-reliance.

All the above can be done however, it needs a strong democratically elected government which has roots in the public. The current corrupt lot could not possibly accomplish anything.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 21:59 #
  40. Just_one

@hypocrite,

Your objections are rather ill-founded.

Briefly, PTI boycotted the 2008 election because judges were under house arrest. By the time of by election, the judges were not longer under house arrest, thus PTI participated in those election.

In 2002, the situation was totally different. The majority of judges then, rightly or wrongly, sanctioned the PCO and there was a question of judiciary's compromise rather than judiciary's independence.

As for candidates, this is a minor issue which is blown out of proportion by rivals. PTI was not coming into power through by-election by any chance. It was just preparation, the flexing of muscles. As such the traditional candidates who joined PTI from other parties were filed.

Just because a person has been affiliated with other parties, it doesn't automatically make him untouchable. This is another point that should be considered.

I think Imran's vision is revolutionary. He just so very well understands the true dynamics of a liberal, humane democratic society. He is also very clear about what he is looking for - a welfare, democratic Pakistani state.

I contend that under his leadership, Pakistan will progress by leaps and bounds, and will repeat, if not surpass, the success of Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey and other recent emerging economic powers.

The "confusion" seen by Imran's opponents in his thinking is due to their own confusion. It is laughable that they see a man who is the paragon of clear thinking as confused. Maybe because Imran has a different style, he is not known to sound like an intellectual. However, if you pay attention to the contents of what he says, his assessment of the situation surpasses many seasoned analysts and scholars. To boot, he is outspoken and calls a spade a spade when he sees one.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 22:10 #
  41. hypocrite

Just_one sahib

Thanks for your detailed viewpoint. I will try to understand Khan sahib in view of your inputs.

I hope that the hopes Khan sahib has built in hearts and minds of his followers do come true. I still think he is more suitable for a one man rule.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 22:47 #
  42. Sharif Aadmi

In 2002, the situation was totally different. The majority of judges then, rightly or wrongly, sanctioned the PCO and there was a question of judiciary's compromise rather than judiciary's independence.

In 2007 , the situation was same. The only difference was in 2002 the judges who refused oath were maily mojahirs.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:00 #
  43. Just_one

Nope. In 2007, majority of judges passed a an order on 3rd November against the emergency announced on the same day.

This was not the case in October 1999 or afterward, for whatever reason.

And stop this Muhahjir, non-Muhajir nonsense.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:05 #
  44. Just_one

Nawas Sharif again copies Imran Khan.

He is now "thinking about" starting a movement against the government!

Why doesn't he accept Imran Khan as his leader and rids himself off psychological misery of thinking over issues?

However, his hypocrisy came out even while he pretends to go against the government.

See how he refuses to take part in the "Hakumat Bhagao, Mulk Bachao" movement of PTI, based on petty personal issues - just because Imran Khan criticized him, which he terms as "personal attacks"!

While Imran Khan had done no such think (if taxes, corruption are to be taken as non-personal issues), even if it were the case, is Nawas Sharif's behavior the mindset reflective of a great leader?

Didn't Imran Khan cooperate with NS and other parties on judiciary issue when PMLN had been on record involved in dirty personal attacks on Imran Khan in the past?

Here is the news:

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:09 #
  45. Anwer Kamal

Better you start this.
    Dukhtar e Pakistan ko wapis lao.
    Government is not even noticing D N A Khan
    So try the other option.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:28 #
  46. banjarbayabaan

جادو وہ جو سر چڑھ کر بولے اور آج کل عمران خان کے نام سے بہت سوں کی حالت پتلی ہو رہی ہے.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:43 #
  47. Sharif Aadmi

Just_one
    Nope. In 2007, majority of judges passed a an order on 3rd November against the emergency announced on the same day.

Because , at the time of imposition of emergency, they were already sitting in the SC.

On Jan 25, 2002 , PCO was issued at midnight and judges had already left the court. Even then 6 honourable judges of SC refused to take oath under PCO and 7 took oath.

5 out of 6 SC Judges who refused oath in 2002 were not mohajirs ? Do u deny it ? Why pti is allergic to mohajirs ?

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 0:21 #
  48. Adonis

The number of sitting judges at the time of mush PCO was 11 and 6 of them refused to take oath.

Mush appointed new judges to ratify his PCO.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 5:58 #
  49. Sharif Aadmi

Adonis
    Thx for correction.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 6:24 #
  50. salaudin

@Sharif Aadmi
    As I said earlier, one of "6 honourable judges of SC" is in PTI !!!
    Any comment ???

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:21 #