High Treason as per Article no. 06 of Constitution of Pakistan !

(67 posts)
  1. Red-Scorpion

We've been hearing and reading about article no. 06 of Constitution of Pakistan for months with reference to Gen. (rtd.) Pervaiz Musharraf's trial.
    I'm quoting below article no. 06, and would like you to comment whether in fact only Musharraf should be charged with 'high treason' or those persons who aided him in his act of 'high treason' should also face the same charge ?

"""
    6. High treason.
    (1) Any person who abrogates or attempts or conspires to abrogate, subverts or attempts or conspires to subvert the Constitution by use of force or show of force or by other unconstitutional means shall be guilty of high treason.
    (2) Any person aiding or abetting the acts mentioned in clause (1) shall likewise be guilty of high treason.
    (3) [Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament)] shall by law provide for the punishment of persons found guilty of high treason. ""

http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part1.html

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:09 #
  2. Anonymous

Thank you Scorpian I was planning to start a thread on the same topic.

As evident from the 6(2) any person who "ASSISTS" abrogation/subversion must also be tried of high treason.

So according to 6(1) you can try Musharraf, but how about
    6(2)?? Who ASSISTED in the coup??

All corps commanders, rite?? Army as an institution took over and corps commanders accepted and approved army take over. Will you try all corps commanders then?

Similarly, our very own and iftikhar-e-Pakistan, Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry was part of the judicial bench that not only approved and legalised abrogation/subversion of constitution by Musharraf but also ALLOWED MUSHARRAF TO MAKE AS MANY AMMENDMENTS IN THE CONSTITUTION AS HE WANTS (with some minor exceptions).
    Will you also consider that judicial bench, including Iftikhar Chaudhry, guilty of high treason????? Will you not consider the individuals who provided legal cover to abrogation/subversion of constitution as "assistants" and therefore guilty of high treason??? yaa yehaa bhi kah doo gay kay Chodhry Iftikhaar ne Musharraf ko "naa" keh diaa thaa iss liyay oss ko maafi hai. Mulk kaa qanoon aur constitution Nawaz Shareef kay baap kaa hai kay jis ko chahay innocent kah day aur jiss ko chahay guilty??

My questions is, why N-League is only after Musharraf???
    Why N-League is being selective???
    If you want to implement law, then implement it in its entirity. How could one even think of being selective in implemeting law?????? Why none of your favourite N-League spokesman aka talk show anchors never asked this question???
    Why we had to wait for ghaddar-e-aala Altaf Hussain to raise this question???

Just like N-League bulldozed CoD and all judicial norms by having Iftikhar Chaudhry reappointed, they are trying to do the same with Musharraf. Punjab kay vote milnay kaa matlab yeh nahi hai kay Pakistan tumharay baap kaa hai.

Constitution Nawaz Shareef kay abba ji ne nahi likha kay jaisaa jee chahay implement karein. Yeh koi Punjab assembly nahi hai jahan rape karnay waloo ko khulee chutti hoo aur siasi yateemo ko credit card chori karnay pay kick laga doo.

Shame on Nawaz Shareef.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:34 #
  3. Red-Scorpion

NS has a personal grudge against Musharraf that's why he's after him !

Sharif al Mujahid wrote a very interesting article in Sunday's Dawn on this issue, this article is a must-read !

"""Now the question is whether there could have been a November 3, 2007 without an October 12, 1999. Obviously not. And what about their respective impact? The impact theory was enunciated by Qazi Faez Isa, the newly appointed Chief Justice of Balochistan. This he did in the Reality Show, “Enter the PM”, on DawnNews, masterminded by Hameed Haroon in February 2008. When Shafqat Jamote referred to the PML activists’ storming of the Supreme Court in November 1997, Faez countered him by saying that that attack didn’t matter much since it didn’t spawn any radical (adverse?) consequences.

And if the impact theory is accepted in order to evaluate the gravity or significance of an event, what was the impact that these two events — October 12 and November 3 — had had, long-term and short terms. October 12 dislodged the ‘heavy mandated’ regime, dismissed the prime minister and the chief ministers, dissolved the NA, the Senate and the Provincial Assemblies, replaced the governors, introduced a new PCO, and changed a host of other things, top to bottom.

In contrast, the November 3 emergency spanned only a few misdemeanours: a new PCO requiring the judges to take a fresh oath, sacking and quarantine of a large number of “rebellious” judges, and imposition of certain press restrictions, especially on the electronic media, being the most important and provocative. """

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/in-paper-magazine/encounter/who-enacted-oct-12-699

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:44 #
  4. Anonymous

In case you did'nt bother to read my previous post, here is a condensed version of it. Keeping in view article 6(2) who do you think "assisted" in abrogation of constitution:

a)Those who were physically involved in army take over i-e corp commanders of Pak army

b)Judicial bench, that included Chodhry Iftikhar, who legalised Musharraf's illegal coup and allowed him to ammend constitution?

c) Those judges who took oath under an illegal constitution?

d) Those who participated in elections conducted under illegal constituion and also took oath under that illegal constitution? ( Imran Khan, JI etc)

e) All of them

f) None of them becase corp commanders did not know about military coup (as N-League claims) and also because Chodhry Iftikhar said "naa" to Musharraf and therefore Nawaz Shareef has declared him innocent of all the sins Chodhry Iftikhaar committed in his life and will therefore be entered in Jannat without hisaab kitaab.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:47 #
  5. @NS has a personal grudge against Musharraf that's why he's after him ...
    yah true ...in deed very true.

same goes for BB..she has a personal grudge against Zia .that's why she was after him and took an anti dictator stance .

when it came to another dictator...she easily put her stance aside and broke the deal with dictator Mush .

it conclude ...
    no party in Pakistan is anti dictator.
    they are all opportunist .
    that's why army is that keen of adventures within the country itself.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:49 #
  6. Anonymous

@Scorpian, but I am afraid Nawaaz Shareef may be able to do this with his Punjabi votes. Resinstatement of Chodhry Iftikhar was as illegal as anything else and yet his is a cheif justice but that probably wont work in Musharraf's case because N-League kay baap in army wont approve of that.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:50 #
  7. Red-Scorpion

@bsobaid

The correct answer is 'e' :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:50 #
  8. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

You comments are totally irrelevant as we are discussing Article 6 !
    Would appreciate if you remove your comments and post your views relevant to the topics !

Thanks !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:53 #
  9. Anonymous

Beenai, you should talk some sense. When did BB say hang Musharraf?? dont try to wash this issue as well.

Agar Nawaz Shareef chamaar ka koi scandal aaey tou log kahtay hein saaree parties corrupt hein, iss liyay NAwaz Chamaar kee jahalat is acceptable. laikin jab baat aaey kisi aur party kee tou tum log ghaddari kay certificate bantnay beth jaatay hoo.

tum log yeh baat likh kay rakh loo, agar khuda naa khoastaa N-League power mein aagaee, within 3 years Pakistan sirf Punjab rah jaey gaa.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:53 #
  10. Red-Scorpion

Obaid Bhai, just ignore her as she wants to detrack the discussion !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:56 #
  11. Anonymous

@Scorpian, I was expecting this. Whenever it comes to Nawaz Chamaar, they try to wash it.

Also, 90% of tanga party aka Tehreek-e-insaaf supporters, vote for and support Nawaz Shareef but they are just too embarassed to accept it so they take IK's cover. You just analyse posts from those IK fans and you will know.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 6:56 #
  12. msohail83

Treason Article 6 to Imran khan in 11 posts. lol

Itni nafrat?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:00 #
  13. Adonis

@ Beenai

Benazir may have a personal grudge against Zia ul Haq, but she was still willing to strike a compromise with him as long as Zia allowed her to become a PM. Her only aim in life (as well as her 10% husband's) was to get into power, by any means necessary.

This was revealed repeatedly by Murtaza Bhutto in several press interviews.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:01 #
  14. @Redscorpion,
    my post was totally relevant what i conclude read again:
    "no party in Pakistan is anti dictator."

that means ,nothing is going to happen to any dictator from any party .whether its PPP or PMLN.its nothing but just a publicity stunt .
    and there is no point in bashing .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:02 #
  15. Anonymous

Nawaz Shareef may have a personal grudge against Musharraf, but he was still willing to strike a compromise with him as long as Musharraf allowed him and his family to run away from Adiyaala jail.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:03 #
  16. Red-Scorpion

@Adonis & msohail83

Guys, what's your take on Article 6 ?
    Don't you think it's unfair to charge only Musharraf and leave others who aided him in his act of 'high treason' ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:04 #
  17. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

Don't you think it's unfair to charge only Musharraf and leave others who aided him in his act of 'high treason' ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:05 #
  18. Anonymous

@Beenai, it does'nt matter who is anti-dictator or not. This is not the question. Read the original post and try to respond to the post.

* Why is treason case against Musharraf not brought in the parliament?

* Why there is no word on article(2)

* Should Musharraf be the only person to be tried, or according to the constitution, those who assisted should also be tried?

* Tell us who do yout hink assisted in abrogation.subversion of constitution.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:05 #
  19. Anonymous

@Scorpian, I dont think there is any thing unfair to Musharraf. He should be tried but ALSO all those assisted him. Yes, being selective is worse than ignoring.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:07 #
  20. Red-Scorpion

Obaid Bhai, these guys will simply shy away and won't comment on Article 6 :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:08 #
  21. msohail83

Well yea...

They all violated the oath they took and if they were given order by their senior officer they should have refused to follow anything unconstituional/illegal. Therefore, in my view they are equally culpable.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:08 #
  22. Red-Scorpion

Obaid Bhai, what I meant by 'unfair' was simply 'selective charge against Musharraf' while letting other 'traitors' off the hook !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:10 #
  23. Anonymous

Someone needs to tell N-League, tum Punjab mein tou chala saktay hoo laikin pooray Pakistan mein bhaatee gate kaa qanoon nahi chalay gaa.

24. @Redscorpion,
    yah ...it is indeed .
    we should talk about all the dictators .
    but we can only hang the alive ones .
    and only Alive dictator of Pakistan is Mush .

no2.its equally unfair to ONLY talk about the collaborators of Zia .
    we should talk about the collaborators of Mush .
    which a recent past.
    nobody of us should have that short of a memory to not to remember who were sitting with Mush ?

25. Anonymous

@Beenai, yes no one has a short memory. Iftikhaar chodhry and army corp commanders were all involved in gang rape of Pakistani constitution.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:11 #
  26. @bsobaid ,
    yah and favorite party of all seasons was there with Mush and was shoulder to shoulder with him.
    till he left the country .
    dont u remember?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:13 #
  27. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

"""its equally unfair to talk about the collaborators of Zia .
    we should talk about the collaborators of Mush .
    which a recent past."""

>>>>

Wow !
    Why don't you read what Article 6 says ?
    We are discussing an Article of Constitution and nobody's likes and dislikes could have any impact on Constitution !
    We should not talk about 'collaborators' as NS and IMC will then also be held 'traitors', but why not ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:14 #
  28. In my oponion 'NAPAK ARMY' as an instituion should be put to trial.

This insitution has violated the constituion.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:14 #
  29. Anonymous

coming back to article 6.
    SC has asked parliament to resolve the issue in 4 months.
    Constitution also expects parliament to provide for the punishment of persons found guilty of high treason.

Please also notice personS, yes it is not one person, constitution mentions persons.

Why champions of democracy do not want to bring the issue in the parliament??? jawab doo. kiaa yeh maslaa bhi mochee darwazay mein solve karnaa chahtay hooo??? Bhaatee gate siri paeyy kay liyay sahee hai, consitutional issues kay liyay parliament mein jaoo, agar tumhara baap Mark Layl Grant aur Halbrooke ijazat day tou.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:15 #
  30. Bsobaid,

I have never been to any indian forum, this is my oponion.

and try to have some sense of humour as well alongsie tolerance:)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:21 #
  31. @bsobaid
    answers :
    Why is treason case against Musharraf not brought in the parliament?

becoz parliament is too afraid of army...all of our politicians are under huge pressure of favors ,they have been getting from army time to time.
    wethaer ist a deal between Nawaz and MUSH or an NRO deal between Mush and PPP.
    they can not dare to do anything ,but verbal claims as a publicity stunt and nothing else.

* Should Musharraf be the only person to be tried, or according to the constitution, those who assisted should also be tried?

yah ...everybody should be tried .
    all the collaborators of Mush including judges ,Mullas,Ghnudas ,politicians ,bureaucrats and army personnel should be the part of it .
    even Zardari and Altaf too.

* Tell us who do you think assisted in abrogation.subversion of constitution.

majorly Mush ,in the supervision of USA and with the full support of army ,ISI,PPP,MQM and PMLQ and Mullas.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:22 #
  32. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

""yah ...everybody should be tried .
    all the collaborators of Mush including judges ,Mullas,Ghnudas ,politicians ,bureaucrats and army personnel should be the part of it .
    even Zardari and Altaf too. ""

Please care to explain how Zardari and Altaf 'aided' Musharraf in his act of 'high treason' on 12th October 2000 or on 3rd November 2007 ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:26 #
  33. Beenai

BB, u again forget your favourites. Whats about IK ? who even supported Mush in refrendum. ?

U have duly condemned MQM . But if i remember , MQM didn't supported Mush till after elections of 2002 when they won people mandate and form and alliance with PML-Q.

So ? how do u compare IK role and MQM role ? especially with reference to Article 6 .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:28 #
  34. they gave a big HUG to Mush .
    and celebrated the fact that their opponent govt is been toppled .
    plus after that they continuously offered their full support to the dictator regime.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:29 #
  35. Anonymous

@Beenai, NRO is irrelevant.
    How did Zardari help in Musharraf's coup or abrogation of constitution??
    He was in jail all that time and he chose to remain in jail as opposed to sher-e-punjaab who would cry like a baby in Adiyaala jail.

So the answer is, hang the following:

Musharraf
    Army corp commanders
    Whole judicial bench including Iftikhaar cHaudhry
    Imran Khan
    MMA
    Q-League

Secondly, if treason case can not be brought to the parliament then who is going to decide the punishment?? because consititution and SC expect parliament to propose punishment.

How valid is then the demand to try Musharraf and only Musharraf???

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:29 #
  36. Revivalist

"IS HAMAM MAI SUB NANGAY HAI" The constitution of Pakistan has become a MOM KE NAK you can turn it which ever direction you want all you need to do it put a label of NATIONAL INTEREST on it. All these so called political parties and the corrupt leader of these political parties have one way or the other committed a treason as per article 6 of the constitution, that's why this is indeed NOT DOIBLE as our Becharay PM has already confessed.

Besides the constitution gives indemnities to the people sitting on the most responsible chairs, President, PM, CM, and Governors.... In short the whole constitution of Pakistan is based on fragile bases and could be violated at any point of time because of its frail nature. We need to radically replace it with an Islamic constitution where the ruler could not use NATIONAL INTEREST to make his black acts white and bring the enemy home just to safeguard his position....

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:32 #
  37. all ,who supported illegitimate rule of Mush in any shape at any point should be punished .
    and thats why PPP should not be treated as a holy cow.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:33 #
  38. Anonymous

@Revivalist, I totally agree with the first para of your post.
    Beechara geelani said the truth. This is not "doable" and this indeed is not.

You can not hang 500 people that include your army's top brass, your beauracracy, judiciary and politicians all at once. This is not doable and I agree with PM Geelani. I must also add this is not an ideal situation and I regret this fact, but we cant really do anything about it.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:36 #
  39. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

NS and SS should be hanged as they supported Zia and then took money from ISI to destablise democratically elected government of PPP.
    Sharif brothers shamelessly left the country after signing a deal with a military dictator !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:37 #
  40. Anonymous

aray Beenai, tou phir bachay gaa kon?? jawab doo?? tum khud sooch kay bataoo, yeh possible hai?? haan, I feel sorry we are soo helpless but unfortunately this is how it is at this point. Thats why I say strengthen democracy. N-League kee bakwaas mein time waste nahi karoo.Seriously, just analyse this issue and think about extreme jahalat of Nawaz Shareef and his party.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:38 #
  41. tou phir bachay gaa kon?

why u wanna save PPP for your future ?
    do u really think that we can save PPP from its due fate ,it has to face?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:41 #
  42. Anonymous

I personally think, implicating political parties would be too much of a stretch. Only those who were directly involved in subversion/abrogation of constitution should be held responsible and those include:

a)Corp commanders

b)Judicial bench, including Iftikhar chodhry, who legalised coup and allowed Musharraf to ammend the constitution.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:43 #
  43. @bsobaid ,
    that means you wanna encourage politicians to be welcoming for any dictator's coup always .

believe me ..if a single politician has been trialed .
    they wont even think of taking side and favors of a dictator ever .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:46 #
  44. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

"""believe me ..if a single politician has been trialed .
    they wont even think of taking side and favors of a dictator ever . """

Here I agree with you and I think NS should be hanged publicly so that other politicians can take a lesson !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:49 #
  45. Beenai

Politicans are not asked .

ARMY does it and judiciary validates it. Where politician comes ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:50 #
  46. @Redscorpion,
    not only NS ,but with his big brother Zardari and younger brother Altaf the Don of Karachi.

@Asifk,
    politicians are not that innocent ,unfortunately ,as u think of them.
    they always have a role to play in the military coups history of Pakistan.
    no military coup has ever been done ,without the help and after support of a political party .

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 7:58 #
  47. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

""not only NS ,but with his big brother Zardari and younger brother Altaf the Don of Karachi. """

But lady you were talking about 'a single politician' not many :)))
    So, NS should only be hanged so that others can take a lessong !

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 8:01 #
  48. Revivalist

ASIFK and RS,

Why should anyone be tried as they all have practiced there freedom and morality offered to them by your Secular democracy, in fact it was in NATIONAL INTEREST when they took these decisions, it was for the people of pakistan :) as Majority of the people almost 99.9% of people voted to re-elect Mush in the referendum, isn’t it???? Don’t you guys see United Snakes going to Iraq and Afghanistan to save the people and to give them democracy and secular values so that to take them out from “darkness into light”. The same has been copied by the rulers of Pakistan, so what’s the problem????

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 8:05 #
  49. Beenai

If u speak of 99 coup , according to story of army it started with hijacking of aircraft and finished with capture of PM house.

Which politican was consulted ? and who helped it ?

In 1977 , PNA and ppp reached an agreement for re-elections , who consutled politician ?

in 1969 , 'Field Marshan Ayub Khan' handed over power to Gen.Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan , who was consulted ?

in 1958 , Gen.Ayub Khan imposed martial law when elections were due in 6 months and politicans were preparing for elections. Who was consulted ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 8:15 #
  50. @Asifk,
    it seems like that you have not read the full history but just the highlights .
    otherwise ...u would come to know the facts that:
    1.Bhutto was the part of dictator Ayub cabinet in 1958.
    2.Bhutto became the first civilian martial law administrator
    3.in other two martial laws ,mullah parties were constantly supporting dictators .
    4.in Zia era ,Jamait e islami supported Zia .
    5.Zia has been the mentor for Nawaz Sharif .
    6.in 1999,MQM fully and open heartedly support Mush .
    on the other hand ,Mush tailor made his own lota party ,with the help of PMLN lotas with PMLQ tag.
    7.BB as her last political decisions of her life ,broke the deal with the Dictator Mush in Abu Dhabi.
    and did NRO according to that she and her hubby would suppose to be living happily ever after .

this is the role over the period of time..our politicians has been playing so far...
    they are all mentally corrupt .
    and has zero sense of ethics ,whatsoever.

PPP ,PMLN,PMLQ,PMLF ,ANP,JI ,JUI,JUP ,IJI and MQM has been supporting dictators time to time.
    it does not necessarily exactly at the time of coup ,but afterwords ,they were keep busy kissing military boots.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 8:34 #