Hillary Clinton arrives in Pakistan on surprise visit!

(18 posts)
  1. Hillary Clinton is due to meet Pakistani leadership during her visit

The US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has arrived in Pakistan on a surprise visit aimed at soothing tensions between the two countries.

It's the first such high-level visit to Pakistan since the killing of al-Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden on 2 May.
    Islamabad is unhappy that it had no prior knowledge of the raid on Bin Laden's compound in Abbottabad.

It comes a day after the US announced it was withdrawing some of its troops from Pakistan, at Islamabad's request.
    The Pentagon said it had received a request from the Pakistani government to reduce its presence in the country.

ANALYSIS
    Kim Ghattas Travelling with Hillary Clinton

We landed amidst very tight security, with choppers flying overhead. The roads were cleared of all traffic and Pakistani paramilitary officers lined the streets. The convoy of armoured cars drove at breakneck speed.
    This is Mrs Clinton's third visit to Pakistan and seems the most tense of all on a security level. But the meetings will also be tense. She'll be asking the Pakistanis for the same things she did the first two times, but with more urgency.
    The US wants further co-operation on counter-terrorism and on reconciliation in Afghanistan. But Mrs Clinton has also been pressing the Pakistanis to do more and better on tax collection from Pakistan's elite to fill the coffers of the state.
    The US currently gives Pakistan $3bn in aid every year.
    Relations between US and Pakistan are always complex and fragile but they are particularly volatile at the moment.
    In Washington, suspicion is rife that some in Pakistan knew of Osama Bin Laden's hiding place.
    During her visit, Mrs Clinton is to meet Pakistani President Asif Ali Zardari, army chief General Ashfaq Kayani and Ahmad Shuja Pasha, chief of Pakistan's powerful intelligence agency ISI.
    The secretary of state is accompanied by chairman of the US Joint Chiefs of Staff Admiral Mike Mullen.
    They are expected to demand more cooperation from Pakistan in the fight against al-Qaeda and Taliban militants.
    Some in Washington believe that Pakistani intelligence works closely with violent extremist groups.
    Meanwhile, US media reports say that Pakistan will allow the CIA to examine Bin Laden's compound in Abbottabad.
    A forensics team is expected to arrive within days along with sophisticated equipment to find material that may be embedded behind walls, inside safes or buried underground.
    An incredible amount of intelligence was recovered during the raid, but officials said this could be an opportunity to find out more about al-Qaeda.
    It could also help improve ties with Pakistan, they said.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-13570803

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 6:24 #
  2. she is gonna take class of security forces about Naval base attack.
    plus gonna hand over new sheet of orders to Mr.Zardari and Kiyani.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 6:30 #
  3. zoabkhan

Mr. Zardari signed on the dotted line before Mrs. Rodham Clinton arrived.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 7:21 #
  4. dotted line ka matlub ?
    mujhay bata do?

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 7:23 #
  5. scindian

Good morning all and happy Friday

Shah Mehmood Qureshi sahab kia kehte hain.

Is she gona meet shah sahab ?

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 7:41 #
  6. he he he
    Shah sahib se mulaqat ka agenda totally different hoga.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 7:43 #
  7. scandinavian

Daanth bhi parhe ge--> koi farq nahiN parhta--> mem sahiba haiN

Purey paise bhi nahiN milaiN g@y-->koi baat nahiN..dollar haiN aur apni jaib meiN hi jaiN g@y

be-izzati bhi ho gi -->goi baat nahiN in ki to pehley se izzat lut chuki hai - aghar koi izzat thi.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 8:50 #
  8. I'm sorry to say this ia a very sad state off affairs. The OBL farce goes on. The Pak government farce goes on. The army farce goes on.

Just imagine all that the CIA are going to find in that house. All that they are going to plant there to justify this or that act of murder and mayhem, How do we play along with them at every turn of the road?

Anyway, less than Afghanistan, the main reason for this arrival of State, I believe, are all these stories of coming closer to China and Russia. That might well have given all those high up people in US a few sleepless nights.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 9:34 #
  9. shriq

It could also help improve ties with Pakistan, they said..

Last thing on their mind as the last sentence.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 13:24 #
  10. Well spotted, Raavi, well spotted!

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 13:45 #
  11. bsobaid

"But Mrs Clinton has also been pressing the Pakistanis to do more and better on tax collection from Pakistan's elite to fill the coffers of the state."

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 16:36 #
  12. runaway

Surprise visit.

Did she just drop by unannounced on her way to India?

She got what she wanted
    1. Access to OBL house
    2. Few more demands
    3. Tighten the screws of Kiyani and Pasha, now that they down even within Pakistan

Although, one thing I do agree with her is that blaming USA for all the problem in Pakistan will not help Pakistan in any way.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 16:36 #
  13. bsobaid

Music to establishment ears:

"US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton has said there is no evidence senior people in Pakistan knew that Osama Bin Laden lived so close to Islamabad.

Mrs Clinton said any peace deal in Afghanistan would not succeed unless Pakistan was part of the process.

She expressed Washington's "strong commitment" to relations with Pakistan."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-13570803

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 17:41 #
  14. hypocrite

if the visit is so horrible, then what is stopping the defenders, custodians, rulers and the patriotic inhabitants of the land of pure to demonstrate against this visit. if Hillary got what she was looking for and we gave up what we should not have, then whose fault is it.

Pakistan has exposed itself too much by involving itself in issues that were beyond our capabilities and national interest. Neutrailty and maintaining strong position on its own interests, from 1947 onwards, shoul have been the right approach for us.

Now we are neither here nor there. We have hollow slogans for masses, we have empty coffers, we have no pride, we have no international standing of any kind, we have no moral support from any where in the world and everyone distrusts us as a nation and as individuals.

Who decided all this for a country so beautiful, so resourceful and with so much potential.

And who is still taking this country to the brink of extinction.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 19:44 #
  15. zenith

@ hypocrite

answer to your last question is the colletive hypocrisy of this nation. I believe Pakistan is a gift from nature and we were ruthless enough not to acknowledge it.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 21:30 #
  16. Abdul Rahman

Zenith,

What is this gift from nature crap? Don't think like the secularist western mentality? Nature is the creation of the Creator. Don't make a God out of nature as the Westerners believe. Pakistan was the result of blood of millions who sacrifised and perished for an Islami State and not a Banana rRpublic that it has now become.

Posted 12 months ago on 27 May 2011 23:24 #
  17. hypocrite

Zenith
    I agree.With everyone and specially me in Pakistan trying to take benefit out of every other Pakistani, in an unprecedented demonstration of hurrying, has brought the nation as a whole to this point.

Abdual Rahman sahib,

I wanted to reply to your post but I am very afraid to bring religion and the background of creation of Pakistan into the discussion.

I though respect your view points and beliefs.

Posted 12 months ago on 28 May 2011 1:01 #
  18. zenith

@ abdul Rehman

Secular - secularist, secularism. And thats the beginning of your discussion and thats the end.

I made a general statement, but considering your prochial mindset you failed to realize that message conveyed.

Its because of this vile mentality that now we have hundereds of intrepretations of a simple religion where it should have been one.

So now Hypocritistan we have become.

Posted 12 months ago on 28 May 2011 2:10 #