How is natural gas, electricity availability these days ?

(35 posts)
  1. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

How is natural gas, CNG, plus electricity availability in your city, in your part of the city inside Pakistan these days ?

I'm in Lahore.

I hear there is no load shedding in natural gas service in WAPDA town, Lahore. Electricity outage is 5 hrs daily even in WAPDA town, Lahore.

In Gulshan-e-Ravi, Lahore, there is near complete outage of natural gas service throughout the day, CNG is not available on most pumps, and electricity goes out for at least 5 hrs a day.

Even Internet service these days has gone bad since the past couple of days.

How are conditions in your city, in your part of the city, inside Pakistan ?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 18:39 #
  2. toamin

hello khan

how is it going in lahore?

CNG is wasting a lot of time, long queues, weak pressure and if electricity goes down whole effort is wasted, come back again and join new queue-

now commercial transport is also running on CNG which is increasing CNG demand everyday

govt is increasing frustration in peoples lives by making them struggle for BASIC LIFE NECESSITIES

some people are wasting hours for sugar queues, some people are wasting hours & days in pursuit of watan card, some people are wasting hours in CNG queues, generally everyone is affected one way or the other-

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 14:25 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Salam: Mr. Salam, there should be no shortage of natural gas, that is if Pakistan would have accepted Iran's offer. Iran offered Pakistan supply of natural gas. What happened of that deal ?

Those who run Pakistan, the so-called 'elite' bowed down to something called 'pressure' of USA. And the masses living in Pakistan who 'handed over' power to this so-called 'elite', they 'accepted' 'bowing down' of this elite to pressure from USA. Just another example of hypocr|cy of people of this nation, isn't it ?

As for long queues in Lahore, I personally have a solution. When there's queues in Gulshan-e-Ravi, I skip to Shahdra, where the pumps are all but without customers. I live close to 'band road', 'sagian pull', I can get my car's tank filled and be back with a max loss of Rs. 25 at most. In short, long queues are a problem for the fools lining up at pumps inside the city.

People should look for CNG pumps 'around' the borders of the city, or those just outside borders of the city, for fast/easy access.

Thirdly, I personally think the shortage of gas is because of unjust belligerence of Pakistan Army in Baluchistan. I think those in Baluchistan cut off gas supply in retaliation.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 14:49 #
  4. toamin

i thought you wanted to know about the availability situation of CNG so i just shared experience from another city-

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 16:09 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Salam: I'm sorry for my harsh words.

I tend to be blunt, and straight-forward. I need to work on being more 'diplomatic'.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 17:11 #
  6. shriq

My house is on Ghazi road (airport road) Lahore! And Haris bhai, 6 to 8 hours load shedding, 22 hours gas shedding (or whatever you call it!) and life is (literally) h_ell!

Admin bhai, what is wrong with the word h_ell? It also appears as ****. You know bhai, we in Pakistan are living what type of life... You know na???

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 17:53 #
  7. h@ll should be ok.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 18:53 #
  8. I am in Multan, Gas is not available from 2 hours electricity has gone as well just 20 minutes ago.
    Electricity failure average is 6 hours in this area, not sure about gas (but pressure is damnn low).

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 19:20 #
  9. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

The EurAsian nation states are also rich in oil and natural gas. The people living there are also Muslims, even if their knowledge of Islam is little. And, they are also close to Pakistan.

With all the energy rich neighbour Muslim nation states that Pakistan has, if Pakistan is still facing oil & gas problems, that means the people who are administering/managing our nation state are 'failing' us all, 'badly'.

*sigh*.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 19:58 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

How is the situation at other places/locations in Pakistan ?

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 20:20 #
  11. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Petrol prices were spiked up Rs. 7 in one day, a few days ago. Now petrol is selling at Rs. 79.92 (i.e., Rs. 80).

Natural gas is not available. LPG price is at Rs. 105/kg.

I am going to see if I can get off my 'complacency' and call SUI, the natural gas service provider for an explanation on why gas outage is persisting. I think I already know the answer. The gas is going to electricity generation + running the industry. But it stands to reason for me to ask them what alternatives are they working on to resolve this issue of natural gas outage. Perhaps when they see the common man rise in revolt, it will make them re-think their want to succumb to US pressure for not accepting Iran's offer of natural gas supply.

Even then, if they do accept the offer, the gas pipeline route will have to come through Baluchistan. The situation/condition being 'artificially' 'created' in Baluchistan will make it harder for us to get this supply of natural gas. That is, unless we the people of Pakistan unite, and rise in revolt against the oppressor(s) who are ruling over us.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jan 2011 9:10 #
  12. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Internet service is still slow. Whenever there's rain or cloudy weather, PTCL's service gets disturbed, and the so-called 'brilliant' people they have at their offices are unable to do anything about it.

I know why. Its because they don't have;

(1) decision making power
    (2) budget setting power
    (3) the power to plan the organization's strategy to run the business effectively

The less-literate, money hungry managers above them, who only know one thing i.e., to pocket as much money as they can, they don't allow the engineers to do a good job (i.e., provide a great service).

*sigh*

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jan 2011 9:16 #
  13. ajhons

Haris Bhai, In Karachi there is no Gas loadshedding as we don't have that rise in consumption because of Mild cold weather.For electricity its a three hrs loadshedding.In my area its 11:00 am to 12:00 noon then 4:30pm to 5:30 pm and lastly 9pm to 10pm.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jan 2011 11:03 #
  14. nsdap

For the very first time in Pakistan's history, the rightful owners of natural gas are able to fulfill their needs while those who used to usurp this resource are getting what they deserve.

According to article 158 of the constitution, natural gas can only be provided to another province only after the gas producing province has fulfilled its needs.

Punjab is getting gas from the other 3 provinces after their needs have been fulfilled, therefore, Punjab is RIGHTFULLY bearing gas load shedding.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 14:56 #
  15. nsdap

Now nobody praises the JUSTICE that is being done. Because, justice is not in their favor this time.

All the whining about gas loadshedding has exposed how hypocritical and double-faced these people are.
    ----------

I will only give someone only after I have fulfilled my needs. The same goes for gas.

Where are the proponents of justice, fair play and constitution?

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 15:00 #
  16. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@nsdap: How did you come to the conclusion that this is what is happening ?

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 16:18 #
  17. nsdap

@ hariskhan

Well, the high courts of the 3 provinces ordered this in the light of Article 158.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 16:20 #
  18. nsdap

Apart from the constitution, natural justice also favors such arrangement.

Why should the 3 provinces share the shortfall with punjab when punjab has no (or very little) natural gas of its own.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 16:22 #
  19. nsdap

One can critisize the government for not exploring or importing new gas resources but DISTRIBUTION is fair.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 16:23 #
  20. nsdap

Beware of those who will shamelessly use the Holy Verses and the SEDUCTIVE slogans of PATRIOTISM for their UNJUST materialistic demands from those who in minority.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 16:32 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@nsdap: I'v heard of no such news.

There is plenty more of this natural resource. I can't believe it is only available to cater to a small amount of people of this nation.

Posted 1 year ago on 04 Jan 2011 17:17 #
  22. shriq

So you are happy that Punjab is getting what it deserves?

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jan 2011 0:22 #
  23. shriq

So the whole Punjab is criminal? Love you sir!!

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Jan 2011 0:23 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

At least PTCL people have resolved my complaint regarding my phone line's condition.

But SUI Gas or Pakistan Govt. hasn't resolved our collective problem of gas service. It seems they have accepted bribe from USA to;

(1) continue military operations against citizens of Pakistan in Baluchistan
    (2) not take gas from Iran

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Jan 2011 14:15 #
  25. shriq

My family is using gas cylinder these days in Lahore!

Pathar ka zamana qareeb aa gya hai

I thought Musharraf had bowed to their demands then why.....?

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Jan 2011 15:59 #
  26. hum karachi walon ko gas ki tou Allah ka shukar koi problem nahi hay magar electricity din mein 3 baar aik aik ghunaty ko jati hay roz .
    koi chutti nahi load shedding ki .
    he he he

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Jan 2011 16:03 #
  27. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

A couple of days ago, my sister was criticizing the increase in tax from her salary.

She's going to be taxed at 15% from her salary as a lecturer. That's insane!, especially since the money is never spent on welfare the people of Pakistan. Its always pocketed by the crooks.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 8:04 #
  28. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Just now, I received the following sms message from Ufone;

Ufone (13:00):
    Dear Customer, as per the Income Tax (Amendment) Ordinance 2011, the withholding tax on your bill is increased from 10% to 11.5% from 16-Mar-11 onwards.

I was already getting charged more by Ufone when Mr. Zardari came to power. Now the tax I pay has increased another fold.

How long are we, the people of Pakistan, going to take this silently ?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 8:07 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Natural gas service is still not ok in Gulshan-e-Ravi, Lahore.

CNG availability is also worsening as time moves on into the future. At times its not available on pumps. When it is available, its available at low pressure, which means I spend more money on buying CNG which gives me far lower mileage than normal.

That means, I (the common man) am getting ripped off.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 8:09 #
  30. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

This winter, I saw at least 5 hrs of load shedding in Gulshan-e-Ravi, Lahore.

I wonder what will be the situation with electricity during summer that has already started.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Mar 2011 8:11 #
  31. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

(1) I'm going through 8-10 hour load shedding in Lahore

(2) price at the pump for;

(a) Petrol is Rs. 88.90
    (b) CNG is 48.99 - 56.xx
    (c) Diesel is above petrol

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:53 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Are people of Pakistan still "willing" to allow those who "rule" over Pakistan to "accept" "loan/aid" money from IMF ?

How long is the common man of Pakistan going to accept being slaughtered by IMF so those who rule over us, live a life of luxury, at our expense ?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:57 #
  33. shafiq12

Haris Khan

Are people of Pakistan still "willing" to allow those who "rule" over Pakistan to "accept" "loan/aid" money from IMF ?

Empty words you have!!!!

How long is the common man of Pakistan going to accept being slaughtered by IMF so those who rule over us, live a life of luxury, at our expense ?

As long as people remain hypocrite!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:27 #
  34. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@oblivion: That was a question, from the common man of Pakistan. Not a comment/statement.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:36 #
  35. 5 hours a day in our area of Multan.
    Someone from layari, karachi told that there was no electricity in their area for 10 days due to Hartaal of KESC workers

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:46 #