How Karachiite Punjabis are being treated after the rise of MQM?

(74 posts)
  1. How Karachiite Punjabis are being treated after the rise of MQM?

MQM is on the move toward Punjab. All indications are that many forces including the Bandooq Mafia are in support of this flow. I have heard many stories of prejudice and hate against the resident Punjabis allegedly by MQM. I also learned that due to a “gag order” on the media such stories do not see the light of the day. Can the non-Urdu speaking of Karachi comment on this. (I assume that top leadership of MQM is Urdu Speaking and majority of Urdu speaking people support MQM).

Hate and prejudice verses enticing people to rule them is a paradox which I fail to understand in the current scenario. On the other hand it would be a gross injustice if such accusations are untrue. Traditionally, the fertile land of Punjab is famous for extraordinary harvest returns. The hardworking bullocks of this bountiful land can be easily wheedled.

Take this as a legitimate discourse and do not turn it into a Punjabi vs. Urdu Native hate brawl. Remember, all Punjabis are primarily educated in Urdu and Punjabi used to be taught only in movies.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 17:12 #
  2. shriq

It is natural that people favor their ethnicity. As Urdu Speaking are in power so they naturally do it. I have heard many stories from my punjabi relatives living there. But would rather be silent on this, as
    زخم کریدنے سے ہرا ہی ہوگا

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 19:17 #
  3. freeman1

absolute non-sense. HAHAH.. I am a punjabi born and raised in Khi and i have seen no discrimination. MQM is probably the only party that accommodates people regardless of their ethnicity.

I guess azizi doesn't live in KHI. do u know there are more pathans in khi then in Peshawar???

If they felt discrimination why wouldn't they go back.

Do you know there are thirty lakhs punjabis in KHI. If we felt discriminated why wouldn't we go back to the paindo land...

Infact it is Punjab that discriminates against non punjabis. Recently my friend (urdu speaker) failed to find tenants in Lahore. He searched for 5 months. Reason given was that he is a bhaiya. Get your house in order before you throw stones at ours.

GEEEZ!!! Paindos!!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 21:21 #
  4. d0ct0r

freeman1
    Do you know how many Pathan lpg shop owners,truck,taxi,minibus,rickshaw drivers, Baluchi Quetta tea shop owners/Tandoor walas/peanut/dry fruit sellers(on pushcart)/rag pickers/mochis(coblers) have been killed and their businesses and livelihood burnt by MQM's unit/sector terrorists in last few months alone?

http://img168.imageshack.us/img168/2237/mqmburntpathanbusinesse.jpg

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 23:10 #
  5. freeman1

Oh so your source is ummat...hahaah! nice !!!

How did you infer from that clippings that MQM is involved?

hahaha typical paindoo reply.

Yes targetted killings are going on in Khi. But how do u know that MQM is behind the murders of those poor pathans????

Please provide evidence...not pictures of dead bodies.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 23:21 #
  6. tamaazkhan

Ask Babar Ghauri, he is a Punjabi.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 0:56 #
  7. expakistani

@tamaazkhan
    Baber Ghouri is not punjabi, he infact is pathan.... karachi ke garmi or laroosh resturant ke kitchen ney us ko etna kala ker dia.....

Ab to us ke ama bhi bolti hey.... hey merey lal ko kal hogia.

any how back to original topic, we having trust issue here
    Baloch vs pathan vs Mohajir vs punjab vs sindhi etc... there is need to build confidence building effort such as removal of quata system, resolve issues like kala bagh dam etc.
    move some sindhi haries to potohar area and give them some land.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 2:52 #
  8. @Azizi ,
    sorry ,your assumption is not correct .
    that majority of Urdu speaking support or vote MQM .
    i am an Urdu speaking and whole of my family ,far relatives are against MQM ...they never voted or supported MQM .
    many of my colleagues at office and my friends ,my sister's friends families are Urdu speaking ,but they does NOT support MQM ...due to its terrorist activities .

as long as Punjabis living in Karachi and treatment to them is concerned ,i can assure u ,that a common Karactie is not at all Biased .
    yes ,its the leadership of MQM ,who wants to create a big gape between the two communities ,in order to achieve their short term goals ........
    for that matter ,they are not creating hatred in Urdu and Punjabis but in Pathans and Urdu speaking too .

MQM strategy is hatred based .
    they want to be champs of Urdu speaking community rights .
    by creating a rift amongst Urdu speaking and the rest of the communities in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 6:03 #
  9. wantinsaf

MQM's politics since its inception has resorted on ethno nationalism.It promotes hatred and gun culture and doesn't see any problem in using weapon if it benefits MQM politically.
    Now as the media has progressed so it want to expand its base but their past comes forward and plays its role.Whenever MQM feels threatened it uses weapons.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 7:45 #
  10. wantinsaf

I have many urdu speaking friends and some of them do support MQM.All those urdu speakings who support MQM seem to be frustrated and victim of inferiority complex for many reasons.They are not sure whether creation of Pakistan was a nice step or blunder.Politically they seem to be only concerned about Karachi and are not much concerned about issues like inflation,American interference in our internal matter,load shedding,education issues and other important national issues.
    Goods and bads are everywhere.But as an individual we should not support those invloved in all kinds of misdeeds.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 7:51 #
  11. So far, the response is that Karachi people are very diversity tolerant and peace loving people. MQM is a reflection of such behavior.

But my observation is different. I am not aware of a single person in my social circle who has settled in Karachi for job or business purposes in the last twenty five years. Before that there was a steady stream of opportunity seeker from Punjab. In fact, three families have permanently moved from Karachi to Lahore and Islamabad in the recent years. Does anyone else have a similar experience?

Another paradox I see is that majority of Punjab-Allergic members on this forum are from Karachi.

Beenai, you are an exception to the norms. By the way, I was under the impression (from a past post of yours) that your parents or grandparents moved from East Punjab and your mother used to tell a story of brutal migration journey of 1947.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:41 #
  12. Anonymous

In Karachi Punjabis and Muhajirs get along very well as compare to other ethnicity and in case of Shia Punjabi then they never even have problems in getting along with Urdu speaking population because their way of thinking social class and other aspects are almost same as Urdu speaking even they speak Urdu much more clear then other ethnicity except Urdu speakings....Most Punjabis in Karachi are middle class urban residence which is not the case with other ethnicity due to that Punjabis in Karachi have even settled in locations like Nazimabad, Gulshan which is strong MQM constituencies very easily....
    Most people think that Karachiite especially Urdu speaking hates Pashtuns, Punjabi Sindhi etc but here case is different because mostly people from Khaibar Pakhtunkuwa came from tribal areas and their is hell of a difference between life in Karachi and tribal areas even our norms are different as well and many Sindhis coming from interior Sindh are also from rural areas and they face same kinds of problems but if their are many Pashtun from Peshawar Dera Ismail Khan and other cities as well and due to experience of living in cities they get settled down in Karachi easily as compare to their tribal counterparts so this is the major difference where people outside Karachi think that Karachiite hate people who came to Karachi...

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:46 #
  13. freeman1

Azizi:

did you really say that people from all over pakistan are not settling in KHI. hahahahaha

I think you havent been following news much..

Where did most of IDPs go? Why is the population of KHI now over 20mil? Why has khi become the 7 largest city in the world population wise.

It is ahsan frahmosh like you that can't see what KHI is doing for the country. Its is the only true cosmopolitan city in the country.

It has more pathans than peshawar. abt 30 lakhs punjabi.

I will ask you how many urdu speaking people there are in punjab or lahore???

People come from all over pakistan to suck KHI's blood and then go back and invest in their own cities...

I suggest you watch Haider abbas rizvi speech in NA: Karachi ka Muqadama. And see how a brilliant orator and master of urdu language speaks and not some paindu!!!!! Its on youtube.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 11:42 #
  14. shriq

freeman1,

Either you do not live in Karachi or you are hiding the truth. And sorry I do not believe you that for 5 months a karachiite did not get a house for rent. NO. I dont believe you.

Ok obviously you do not know Lahore as well! I was brought up in Rahman Pura Lahore. Check how many urdu speaking are there. Check Wahdat colony. Check Islam Pura. And all over Lahore they are scattered. My dear what sort of propaganda you are spreading here.

Now I shall give you two examples only from Karachi:
    1 - One of my uncle came back from Karachi after living there for 25+ years (he was living in Drigh Colony) I asked him why did you come back? "MQM wale dhamki dai kar gayai ke yahan se naheen jao ge to..."

2 - One of my cousin was living in Laandhi. Sharing a "quarter" with three other Punjabis. One evening he went late to his residence to find all dead. Same cousin then had to leave his business behind due to threat from (of course MQM).

But having said above. Urdu speaking Muhajirs generally are excellent, peace loving, educated, talented, brilliant people. I respect them and love them. Its only some element in MQM that....

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:41 #
  15. freeman1

First of I don't believe a word you say! Provide evidence!! not some made-up stories...

The topic is how punjabis are mistreated...provide evidence or else SHUT UP!!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:45 #
  16. tamaazkhan

shirq

There are some elemets in all parties that....

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:45 #
  17. shriq

Now I dont have a doubt that you r from MQM. This "SHUT UP!! " is their style only..

And my uncle and cousin did not have tape recorder when they were threatened. So no evidence. MQM is clear of all the charges. Love you sir!

The originator asked about the experiences. So I am sharing experiences.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:50 #
  18. freeman1

the originator gave his own view not backed up any evidence, then you gave your views without evidence.

That is why it infuriates me because making statement without any evidence is very easy.... I can also do that!! But it fulfils no purpose other than spreading hatred. So all you and the originator is doing is spreading hatred.

What if i spread a threat titled "How Punjabis are not giving Karachiites their fair share keeping in mind Karachi provides 67% of pakistan's revenue?" How would you feel?

and yes I AM PROUD TO BE A MEMBER OF MQM!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:59 #
  19. LiberalKarachi

@Azizi,

" I have heard many stories of prejudice and hate against the resident Punjabis allegedly by MQM"

There are more punjabis living in Karachi than there are pathans in Karachi (according to 1998 population census). Just to give you an idea, Karachi has the highest number of Pathans living in any city of the world - more than peshawar and kabul. If there was serious prejudice then that would no longer be the case. Clearly, you havn't lived in Karachi otherwise you know there is virtually no friction between Mujahir-Punjabis in Khi generally. Can you name one major incident involving Mujahir-Punjabis clash in Karachi, in the past 10 years? I personally whilst growing up had some very close friends who were Pathan and Punjabi, and I had absolutely no problem with them.

As for any odd incident - then that can happen anywhere in the world, and is insignificant to consider here. Otherwise, every ethnicity in Pak can claim the same. For instance, Urdu Speaking have been even told to go back to india, amongst other things, that you know as well as i do. As for killing, then 15000 Karachiites (mostly Muhajir) have been slaughtered by the army itself in the past 2 decades. Also, if you are really interested in ensuring innocent punjabis are not killed then keep an eye on Balochistan's nationalists, who are unfortunetly mistreating punjabi settlers there. So its better not to start this blame game, for Pakistan's sake.

I also learned that due to a “gag order” on the media such stories do not see the light of the day."

The media in Pakistan is too strong to be subsided by any political party. Karachi, the city where most of Pakistani and foreign media is centred, is under particularly keen scrutiny. Secondly, now there is internet and youtube and every phone has a camera, and almost every person in Khi has a phone. Even if media was gagged, you cannot gag the internet - Iran's election and protest is an example of this.

"(I assume that top leadership of MQM is Urdu Speaking and majority of Urdu speaking people support MQM)"

Actually no. MQM has punjabi MPAs and Senators. It also has Pubjabis in Rabita Committe (party's top elected leadership). MQM even has a special Pathan-Punjabi wing, which takes cares of the needs of punjabis and pathans in Khi. Here is an example of a punjabi Rabita Committe member giving interview to a Punjabi news channel:

and an example of MQM's punjabi senator

Both are from a day or two ago. MQM has been enrolling Sindhis, Pathans, Punjabis, Seraikis, Kashmiris into its rank since a long time - and is becoming entire Karachi's (and therefore entire Pakistan's) ethnicities representative.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 20:39 #
  20. freeman1

Brilliant posts liberal karachi!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 21:56 #
  21. LiberalKarachi

thank you freeman1 :)

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 22:20 #
  22. asif86

LiberalKarachi,"There are more punjabis living in Karachi than there are pathans in Karachi (according to 1998 population census)."
    Well i think its other way round.According to some recent estimates the pukhtuns are 7 million in karachi.

http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/rough/2009/07/karachis_invisi.html

"Karachi, a city of 17 million people, is Pakistan's commercial capital. It is dominated by the ethnic group the "Mohajirs," who migrated from India at the time of partition in 1947.

Traditionally, the city has always welcomed migrants from across the region who come here for work. Pathans or Pashtuns as they are more commonly known, the ethnic group that dominates the North West Frontier Province, began migrating in large numbers to Karachi from the Pakistan-Afghanistan tribal belt in the 1950s, seeking economic security.

Today, they are the city's second-largest ethnic group, after the Mohajirs, dominating the transport and clothing retail industry. By some estimates, there are close to 7 million Pashtuns in Karachi."

Also orangi towns population according 1998 census was shown as 700,000 whereas according to nazim abdul haq its 2.5 million.

http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/oct2009-weekly/nos-18-10-2009/kol.htm#1

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 17:07 #
  23. shriq

"Recently my friend (urdu speaker) failed to find tenants in Lahore. He searched for 5 months. Reason given was that he is a bhaiya."

Any proof

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 17:24 #
  24. freeman1

Shriq thread is How karachites mistreat Punjabies....Not how punjabis mistreat mohajirs.

Stick with the topic and provide proof of how karachites mistreat punjabis.

If you manage to do so then I shall provide proof to how punjabis mistreat muhajirs.

STOP BEING A PAINDOO AND PROVIDE PROOF OR ELSE SHUT IT!

Learn to understand english...read again the title of thread is how karachites mistreat punjabis...so i ask again you got any proof??? if not then keep your mouth shut!

HAHAH Paindo

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 18:21 #
  25. Anonymous

I think their is a reason behind MQM coming to Punjab and Gilgit-Baltistan as Karachiite are observing that PPP and ANP loading up their supporters and trying to settle them in Karachi by using Land Mafia, drug mafia and arms so MQM in the sense doing counteroffensive of that by getting supporters from Gilgit and also from Punjab so that they not only won more support of those ethnic group in Karachi as both of them are mostly neutral in voting in Karachi and also if needed then loading them and settle them in Karachi just like ANP and PPP to counter the weight if they couoldnt able to succeed but if they able to succeed in Punjab then this would be a jackpot for them as they not only become stronger in Federation but also they would be able to retain their traditional seats in Karachi...So what ever the reason is but MQM's entry in Punjab is a great strategy for both Punjab politics as well as Karachi and Hyderabad politics as well....

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 19:44 #
  26. siddiqi73

@freeman,

You freaking troll....quit messing around with erudite and educated folks. Aren't you not suppose to be on your daily rounds of bhatta collection...oh how many people you target killed yesterday or how many haqiqi guys you plan to knee drill today?

Munna Bhai, yaha par badmashi nahee chalay gee.....yeh Azizabad nahee

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 6:27 #
  27. LalBichoo

The real racists in Karachi !!!!
    Shahi Syed is using abusive language against Mohajirs, shame on ANP's racist leadership !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 6:36 #
  28. there is a racist politics going on in Karachi from both sides .
    ANP tries to create hatred in Pathans against Urdu speaking .
    and MQM is doing the same by creating hatred in Urdu speaking ppl against Pathans .

both parties are equally responsible for the rift .
    nobody is innocent .

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 6:46 #
  29. LalBichoo

Beenai,

""""and MQM is doing the same by creating hatred in Urdu speaking ppl against Pathans ."""

Could you please substantiate your claim by providing us some links or refernce to any MQM leader's statement or speech directed against Pukhtoons !!!!!
    Plzzzz come up with some proofs and avoid levelling baseless
    allegations !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 6:51 #
  30. everybody knows ,what MQM is all about ?
    only u seems like ignorant about the fact .

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 7:16 #
  31. LalBichoo

Beenai,

"""everybody knows ,what MQM is all about ?""""

hmmmm
    So you are shying away from the discussion and it seems you don't have proof to substantiate your claim that """"and MQM is doing the same by creating hatred in Urdu speaking ppl against Pathans .""" ????

Plzzzz come up with some proofs and avoid levelling baseless
    allegations !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 7:21 #
  32. Hussain Farooqui

The Punabis in Karachi are admired as good workers. There may be hardly any factory, office, hospital and other work places where you may not find some Punjabis. There have been hundreds of inter-marriages between Punjabis and Mohajirs. There may hardly be any Mohajir family in which there are not some Punjabi relatives as results of inter-marriages. Even in my own family, I have some Punjabi relativws. We all are brethren-in-Islam. Islamic Unity Zindabad!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 9:34 #
  33. the leaders of ANP/PPP and MQM use common people to fight eachother, spread the hatreds, use them as tool for their financial and political interests.

All the leaders of these 3 parties are now big land holders, billions of wealth and membership of parliament.

The common people either urdu speaking, sindhi speaking , pashto speaking or even punjabi speaking are still as poor as they were 30 years before.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 10:10 #
  34. Hussain Farooqui

truepakistani sb.

You are aboslultely right, most of our politicians are wicked people. There is no fight among our brethern of 4 provinces. It is indeed a fight among the political parites for their self-interests.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 10:52 #
  35. freeman1

At beenai please prove your baseless allegations..

same goes for true pakistani please provide links for "leaders of 3 parties (only concerned with MQM) are now big land holders, billions of wealth..." Please provide evidence,

Guys we can't have a debate without evidences, we can talk all night long but it will be no use so provide evidence or just shut up!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 13:27 #
  36. freeman1

All people who share my view have provided evidences for all claims...we have shown how anp is racist, how mqm has brought forward punjabi leadership through a senator and MPA.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 13:28 #
  37. NNL

Punjabi as usual beecharay opalay paa paa ke thak gaye hain and they believe they are innocent.

Well i cant believe what punjabi usually says its not that i dont trust them its just that i dont trust their main export to the country and entire world. They provinical capital is even known for this attribute and is also named appropriately and they are very proud of it too.

Ofcourse every Punjabi will deny this but in secret they love to brag about that lone centre of attraction in their city. Mandi as they call it.

We do know the city as french word La- 'Hore.

And i m just saying.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 13:44 #
  38. freeman1

haha NNL bhai app ne to inke jaan hi le li.

Yes BTW how is heera mandi....I have heard most of lahore goes there to enjoy mujras

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 13:53 #
  39. shriq

My english is week, please translate it for me and then provide a proof:

And tell me why this gentleman freeman1 put it in this thread with the topic:"How Karachiite Punjabis are being treated after the rise of MQM?"

"Recently my friend (urdu speaker) failed to find tenants in Lahore. He searched for 5 months. Reason given was that he is a bhaiya."

Sir whatever you write, please provide proof to satisfy this paindoo.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 14:55 #
  40. shriq

"I have heard most of lahore goes there to enjoy mujras"

Whatever you write, please provide proof and stick to the topic please!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:02 #
  41. the language being used by MQM followers is evident that no gentlman will like to support MQM.

and MQM expects the support from other provinces, no way.

People hate MQM culture which is evident from above posts.

There is hera mandi in Lahore and karachi mohajirs are clean.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:08 #
  42. freeman1

The topic is how karachiite punjabis are being mistreated. I don't need to provide proof of what i said cos the thread is on karachi and not how punjabis mistreat karachites.

I made that statement to show how ridiculous your statement was when you said you have heard many stories about karachite punjabis being mistreated.

So pls for the umpteenth time provide proof or else concede defeat..

Topic is How Karachiite Punjabis are being treated after the rise of MQM?"

And your evidence is???..............................

As far as heera mandi goes heres the link:

http://www.nytimes.com/2005/07/20/books/20grim.html?_r=1

I know its off topic but since you kept on making baseless claims without any evidence I had to amuse myself with something

Khuda Ka naam lo Lahore ko ghairat mand logo, Badshahi Masjid ke peeche ese Kaam!!! If such place existed in Karachi it would have been abolished long time back!!

You don't want me to post videos right? cos i find the stuff extremely disgusting but i can understand if you are into that kind of s**t

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:16 #
  43. freeman1

@true pakistani:

you are being a bit to over sensitive haha...this is internet GROW UP!1

I didn't claim that karachiites are clean but atleast we don't have a heera mandi...atleast accept that or do u still want to debate? :P

BTW You still haven't provided any evidences on other threads,....I am waiting yaar!!! hahaha SISSY!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:18 #
  44. freeman1,

i can not argue the people carrying MQM culture.

yes, MQM is most popular and most sincere praty of pakistan serving the nation.

All the workers and leaders of MQM are very very gentlemen, nobel, sincere pakistanis, true muslims and well trained in all fields.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:23 #
  45. freeman1

Thanks now was it that difficult....hahahaha/.

P.S. I am always ready for a debate round 2 whenever you want!!! But next time you will have to bring evidence hahaha

Cheers mate: Its in all good fun...Sorry if you got offended but take it easy. Its politics sometimes you have to go a bit tough...I am preparing for my journey in elections very soon!!! You better start you never know we might be rival opponents of tomorrow. But I am confident i will kick ur **** even then hahahaha j/k

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:40 #
  46. one thing i admit that JI wle are the biggest criminals of pakistan society even more than MQM.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:44 #
  47. freeman1

FINALLY we agree on one thing hahaahah!!! Yes there is HOPE!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:46 #
  48. childeren are always known by their fathers.
    MQM is known by JI.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:49 #
  49. freeman1

MQM - JI haha seriously.

This has to be your worst comment to date and trust me you have posted many ridiculous comments.

MQM:
    Liberal, progressive, secular, centre-left

JI:
    Conservative, traditionalists, theocratic, right wing

MQM and JI are poles apart!!!! An you know what I am going to say next provide evidence of how MQM is JI's children or got any links with them..

You r again starting a baseless allegation that you wodnt have any evidence to back it up with then you would say i am using a harsh tone hahaha

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 15:54 #
  50. siddiqi73

@truepakistani,

Please don't insult Jamat-e-Islami.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 17:05 #