FATA delegation says no to scanning at US airport, returns home

(80 posts)
  1. FATA delegation says no to scanning at US airport, returns home

A six-member delegation of the National Assembly and Senate returned to Pakistan in protest after refusing a body scan at the Dulles International Airport, located 40 kilometres west of Washington, Geo news exclusively reported on Saturday.

Talking to the channel, head of the delegation Senator Abbas Khan Afridi said they were asked for a body-scan but they refused, as they considered it an insult to parliamentarians of a sovereign country.

He said they were informed before their arrival in the US that they would not face any such discrimination during their visit.

Point one: Oh so it was 'OK' for other Pakistanis to be scanned as long as they were promised not to have to go through it themselves.

Point 2: Now will these bayhayas have the 'guts' to ask the every American official that comes to Pakistan also be body-scanned? (I don't think so!!!)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 6:43 #
  2. Anonymous

They have taken a brave stand over this issue....hats of for them..

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 6:46 #
  3. Dear FATA parliamentarians,

It is an "insult" to all citizens "of a sovereign country" to go through "such discrimination", not just parliamentarians.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 6:47 #
  4. toamin

this is known as deportation, but media is careful to not use the actual term of deportation

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 6:55 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

People of FATA have FREEDOM. They live with FREEDOM. They die for safeguarding this FREEDOM. They have like this for centuries.

People of FATA know the price, and respect of FREEDOM.

Pakistani people don't. The slave mindset is still prevailing within Pakistani people.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 8:15 #
  6. @nota,
    I am trying not to lose my temper here but instead of appreciating their brave stand, you have to to talk rubbish! They took a stand against a country, who have been treating even high class official delegation like regular criminal. They never body search any of European delegations or Arabs but humilate mainly Asian countries. You should be proud of these people who belongs to one of the most underdeveloped areas of Pakistan with less then 10% literacy rate. Well done Afridi & co delegation! I am so proud of u.
    As regards to the rights of a common pakistanis,..... Your common Pakistani can't get their legal rights in their own country and they are treated like animals every day let alone "RIGHTS" on an American airport!!!!! If u need those rights anyways then ask these spineless PM & President of Pakistan or the leader of the opposition Mr Ganga Shareef of Punjsb!!!!!!

@Salam!
    Thank you for degrading their stance to "Deportation" ! Well Done!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 9:50 #
  7. toamin

khan sahib

i am not degrading their stance, i am protesting against the degraded act of deportation which media presented as "sent back" meaning trying to soften it up which in reality is a disgrace for pakistanis.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 9:58 #
  8. Musician

KHAN_Sahib

I agree with you. If a citizen of a country is not respected within his/her own country, no other country in the world will respect him/her. The delegation has taken a stand which should be a lesson to the Government and learn something from this (I hope)

As for Salam is concerned, you have to forgive him. I am sure it was not ill meant, it is just lack of understanding of English language. The delegation was refused entry not deported. Deportation is used only once a person is in the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:03 #
  9. It's not media's fault! Obviously the IDIOT and spineless PM want to down play this incident! Khood tou woh apney baap zardari kay samney sur nahee utta sakta tou Americans ko kaya kahey ga!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:04 #
  10. toamin

well, hill clinton's stance is clear "you don't have to accept our money"

so either we reject IMF/CSF funds and declare independence or keep on facing such treatments

@musician

thanks for unsolicited interceding :)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:12 #
  11. Thanks musician,
    that's wat I meant too!
    Salam brother,
    I don't think that our govt or even our nation is yet ready to say NO to IMF or American Zakat!!! We even don't protest on the human rights violation of our own citizen in Pakistan. Drone attacks is one of the example. Even our "Baghairat" opposition leader, Mian Nawaz aka Ganga shareef and recently bijli choar is an example of our leader who is a shame on human kind and spieces of political owls!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:20 #
  12. toamin

khan sahib

i thought you wouldn't agree with that scornful remark but sad to see you did that, but it is okay.

mr. musician was quick to say that "Deportation is used only once a person is in the country." but ignored the fact that people were deported from USA, may be the expulsion was not directly forced but it was indirectly forced -in my opinion

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:27 #
  13. Wahid Doyum

No, deportation only happens once the person is admitted inside the country. Technically, landing at the airport does not mean they have officially entered the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:31 #
  14. @salam..
    Which remark are u talking about? Clinton or deportation. I still don't think that they were deported. They took a stance and were denied entry. Although People who even don't enter into a country and are denied entry are also labelled quite often as a deported.... Waisey mayrey leeye dono aik hee jaisain hain, sirf alfaz ka ulath phair hay... Point here is the STANCE of those FATA parliamentarians though I am interested to know, about the purpose of their visit too. Historically FATA MNA's always join the govt except once or twice (their stand is that staying in govt can enable them to get more resources to upgrade their areas which i find it BS as they only are interested for their personal gain just like any MPA OR MNA of pakistan) While FATA is been bombarded by these DRONES, there was no point / Reason to visit USA anyway but I can understand the willingness of US govt officials to bring back these parliamentarians to US so that they can influence these MNA'S and may get some advantage in Afghanistan and in FATA areas.

I know some of the MNA'S personally and they don't give a toss about the people of FATA but will take stand if it comes to "Pukhtu" a term which only Pushtun will understand...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:52 #
  15. toamin

khan sahib

refering to musician's comment:

As for Salam is concerned, you have to forgive him. I am sure it was not ill meant, it is just lack of understanding of English language. The delegation was refused entry not deported. Deportation is used only once a person is in the country.

they were deported from dulles international airport

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 10:59 #
  16. Musician

Please allow me to explain my understanding behind my remark.

On arrival on an international airport if the arriving passenger has gone through the immigration proceduresm then he has technically entered in the country and if subsequently expelled, will be considered to have been deported.

If on the other hand the immigiration officers do not allow him in then he will be considered to have been refused entry.

I tried to explain this because as far as I am concerned, the delegation was required to go through the body scan and they (the delegtaion) opted not to go through this and instread return to base. It is important to understand that the decision was taken by the delegation and not by the Immigration officials.

Again in my opinion, it is not the same thing as Khan Sahib says. It is the delegation's decision not to submit to Immigration official's demands.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:17 #
  17. toamin

thanks for your elaboration, but you could have explained legal procedure without ridiculing a fellow member, right?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:21 #
  18. Cmon JJ...

Aab itnna tou dil pay na loe yaar..
    Musician has explained it nicely and we have now officially side tracked the thread.. lol
    I APOLOGIZE if I or Musician has hurt your feelings... It was all just a tiny misunderstanding..

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:30 #
  19. @KHAN_Sahib
    "I am trying not to lose my temper here..."

Oh go right ahead and show us your "manliness".

(That KHAN in all caps is revealing enough plus a 'sahib'! Wow!!! Americans are shaking at what they have done! ;-) )

"They took a stance and were denied entry"
    If they had to take that "stance", they should have not never bothered to go. Like I said, these <i>khasis KHANS</i> -- as they themselves state -- had NO problem with other Pakistanis being scanned as long as they were spared. But of course you will give them a medal. Go ahead! But like you yourself state, "they don't give a toss about the people of FATA" or anywhere else, so "Pukhtu" away!!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:33 #
  20. toamin

khan sahib

nahi dr sb.. dil pey nai ley rahay

sirf ehtejaj iss baat pey hay kay aap aik side na lein

i am sure you understand the game well :)

neutral rehain... bus yehi arz hay..
    app kee apology ka shukria

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:34 #
  21. Musician

@Salam

I offer my unrserved apologies. No offence was meant. I merely tried to explain so that delegation's stance should be understood in the right context.

Apologies again.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:35 #
  22. toamin

see above :)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:39 #
  23. Nota babu
    Lagta hay aap kee dum pay may nay na danistegee say pair rakh deeya!
    Khan ko tum jaisey log discredit nahee kur saktay!
    Apnay Aqqa Zardari, Nawaz gangay ko tou kucch keh nahee saktay kayoun kay app jaisey log un kay mureed hain lakin agar Khan nay stand leeya tou aap kayoun jalney lagey!
    Lagta hay aap ko bhee DRONE ka commission milta hay, aap kay spineless President aur PM kee tarha!
    and yes it is KHAN in CAPITAL! LIVE WITH IT!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:44 #
  24. pappu

so were they deported or sent back?:)
    @Musician
    bahie thank you for the angrazie lesson. Meray jaisa jahil bhie app ki meharbanie ki waja saie abb far far english bhol aur samaj sakta haie. Deported aur sent back ki mojhay samaj a gaiye.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:44 #
  25. pappu

"They took a stance and were denied entry"
    If the whole world is going through those body scanning machines why cant these fata people also go through them?? If a 60 year old grandmother can use that machine to get on a plane so can they.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:47 #
  26. RajputPuttar

new laws can't be made for anyone , whether he is parliamentarian or general.

I think US authorities stance was according to law and FATA MP's stance was according to their conscious although not-consistent with law.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:52 #
  27. LOL @PAPPU

The body scan was required to get entry into USA and not to get into the plane in this case. Though you are required to go through the scan if you want to board a plane.

For people like nota who can't see without their Bias! ... check this link

too!http://www.theaustralian.com.au/travel/news/muslim-women-refuse-airport-body-scan/story-e6frg8ro-1225837224641

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:55 #
  28. rajputter..
    Nicely put in words... Thx

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:55 #
  29. @KHAN_sahib
    lagta hai dum to app ki pay koi chara hay kay. App kay yay bhai bahadur Amreica say us ka saath daynay ka commission laynay gaay thay. Aap yay bhi bhool gai kay yay app ki KHAN_bhai sab zardari kay sath coalition mein hain.
    "yes it is KHAN in CAPITAL! LIVE WITH IT! "
    Oh what a proud pathan ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:56 #
  30. pappu

khan sahib If I get on a plane and go through a body scan I expect the rest of the passengers to also get a body scan. This way hopefully the plane would land. If the plane has some diplomat from Poland or Australia who does not want to go through a body scan than I should have an option to get off that plane as a passenger. 50000 feet is 2 much of a height and I don’t care if it is some diplomat or parliamentarian on that plane who wants special status. Everyone should get the same treatment. If they are so VVIP than they should charter a plane and not fly a commercial airline.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 11:59 #
  31. PAPPU: Everyone should get the same treatment. CORRECT! Yeah aqal kay andhay nota ko yeah nahee nazar atta kay not everyone is getting the same treatment. Diplomats and Parlimant members from Europe gets the diplomatic amnesity and they dont have to go through these body scanners and their luggage is not opened but gets diplomatic treatment as per Geneva convention. Inn ko sirf Desi logo say takleef hay aur woh bhee Muslims kay saath... Few weeks ago they stopped and detained shah rukh khan in USA for 2 hours just because his name is muslim and he has khan in his name. At-least these people took a stand and not unlike zardari and all these political leaders who go through this humiliation every time they visit USA unlike the Europeans!

@Nota.. Yes.. It's KHAN in capital and live with it LOL
    Sorry my friend... You really need to check your eye sight (should have gone to specsavers ;-) I have already raised the point of them being in the govt. But looks like your bias won't let u see the point PAPPU has made earlier in black n white.... oh well! Forget it... you won't understand but try to know the meaning of "Read between the lines" It may help u! duh!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:10 #
  32. pappu

Diplomats and Parlimant members from Europe gets the diplomatic amnesity and they dont have to go through these body scanners and their luggage is not opened but gets diplomatic treatment as per Geneva convention.

Khan Sahab my first cousion works for the United nations and has a diplomatic passport and goes through the same machines when he travels. His boss who is a director in united nations is IRish. He goes through the same machines. My cousion has a Pakistani name so he was getting held up on the airport with his diplomatic passport and needed a letter from homeland security dept to fix that.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:13 #
  33. Without going into an emotional and sentimental debate if the incident was insulting for Pakistan or not, my concern is how and why Pakistan, once a very respectable and dignified State, reached this status?
    Why Pakistani suffer from inferiority complex?
    Why Pakistanis feel proud on violation of Law?
    Respect is won not begged. It is not charity.
    In short,
    First Deserve Then Demand.

A nation must struggle to achieve a position where,

khuda bande se khood pooche, bata teri raza kiyya hai?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:16 #
  34. pappu

Indonesia has no visa for Indians but a visa requirement for Pakistan. Why?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:18 #
  35. Pappu... We are talking about body scanners!!! You are confusing them with the metal detector scanners.... These scanners are a totally new thing and recently have been installed in UK in few airports... They don't have these scanners in most of European countries and even as far as i Know, canada have none.... check the link above for the body scanners...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:19 #
  36. @KHAN_sahib,
    "oh well! Forget it... you won't understand"
    Indeed, For I have never understood stupidity...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:20 #
  37. JS Sahib...
    Very simple...
    We are as a nation responsible for this degradation.
    On top level... our corrupt leaders from past and present are responsible for this downfall as morally we are a corrupt nation. The only way it can be rectify by a change / revolution at every level... Not only politically but starting from our own homes. How many of us know some one who fiddles with his electricity meter to begin with and pay less bill despite running A/C every day? How many of Pakistanis pay income tax? How many of overseas Pakistanis contribute in anyway in Pakistan economy (by sending money through banks, by traveling by PIA, by buying Pakistani products) We need a change at grass root level... The BIG trees will be uprooted automatically!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:24 #
  38. RajputPuttar

nicely put JS.

And i don't think that parliamentairns in pakistan hold diplomatic passports.

Could somebody correct me ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:26 #
  39. nota..

If ignorance is bliss, you must be orgasmic........ LOL.......Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:29 #
  40. Once the same America was proud of her friendship with Pakistan.
    American President, Johnson invited Bashir Sarban, the Camel Cart Driver, to the White House with honor and respect.
    And now:

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:29 #
  41. @KHAN_sahib
    It is your kind that brings bad name to Pathans. No wonder we have so many Pathan jokes. The authors must have met you :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:36 #
  42. @javedsheikh
    Your link points to a Lata song...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:38 #
  43. Nota.... its called Pukhtoon not Pathan! And we have jokes about punjabis, muhajir, memons, makranis, irish, jews, sikhs, hindus, arabs, scots, welsh, australians..... So they bring bad name to their respective group? NO!
    Its the racist and Biased attitude of people like you who can not appreciate the GOOD things in other people just cuz they don't possess those qualities... Needs GUTS to day NO to Americans and for that u need B***S ... You won't understand... LOL

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:46 #
  44. My dear nota,
    It is not merely a song but the poetry is very much related to the existing Pakistan-American relationship.

'kabhi hum bhi tum bhi the ashna, tumehn yad ho keh na yad ho'

It is not wise to celebrate the insult of Pashtoons.
    They are very much Pakistanis.
    Please think about nation not ethnicity.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:47 #
  45. @javedsheikh
    Your link points to a Lata song...

I told you nota... U need to work on understanding the term "read between the lines"

Shall i give u the link?

http://www.thefreedictionary.com/read+between+the+lines

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:48 #
  46. @KHAN_sahib
    I know you'd go for a "free" dictionary. :-P

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:50 #
  47. Yes,,, cuz you can only deserve FREE stuff!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:55 #
  48. JS Sahib,

thanks for your kind words... Nota clearly is more focussed on them being Pushtuns rather then the different POINTS you or I raised here.

Khair chorain iss baat ko... I am Glad that you and your Mrs are back here.
    i did see a posting from Mulla (3 weeks old) but not sure if its him or is he still banned.,.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 12:57 #
  49. @JS
    It is not wise to celebrate the insult of Pashtoons.
    They are very much Pakistanis.
    Please think about nation not ethnicity."

I don't think it is me who brought in 'ethnicity'. Let's see who said "lakin agar Khan nay stand leeya tou aap kayoun jalney lagey!"

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 13:03 #
  50. For those forgetting under what conditions these guys chose to go to US, remember this old post from January 4:
    USA to welcome travelers from Pakistan with complete body search

US officials Sunday toughened security measures for all US-bound airline passengers, and warned those traveling from 14 targeted nations would have to undergo mandatory tight screening. In bound passengers will go through a complete body search and thorough inspection of hand carry items.

Duh!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Mar 2010 13:08 #