I want Jinnah's Pakistan by tariq ali

(30 posts)
  1. amirbutt

I Want Jinnah’s Pakistan
    November 21, 2009 · 6 Comments
    By: Tariq Ali

Suicide bombings, death, destruction and carnage on a monumental scale. Murder and mayhem across the length and breadth of the country with no sign of let up or relief. Senior army officers targeted in broad daylight in the heart of the federal capital.The audacity, vicious nature and cruelty of the onslaught increasing with each passing day. Is this the Muslim homeland envisaged by the founding fathers? Certainly not! Jinnah’s vision of his creation was negated and nullified with the adoption of the Objectives Resolution shortly after his death in 1949.
    Who can deny the immortal words of our Quaid-i-Azam, when he made it crystal clear on 11th of August 1947 “You may belong to any religion, caste or creed that has nothing to do with the business of state” and again in February 1948 when he reiterated “Pakistan is not going to be a theocratic state to be ruled by priests with a divine mission. We have many non-Muslims-Hindus, Christians and Parsis – but they are all Pakistanis. They will enjoy the same rights and privileges as any other citizens and will play their rightful part in the affairs of Pakistan.” Contrary to all the advice of the Quaid, sixty two years later we are being told that Pakistan is to be a theocracy governed by the madrassa elite on a utopian concept that they call the Nizam-l-Sharia as dictated by the likes of Sufi Mohammed and his numerous supporters and sympathizers in the country. Today we are held in the vicious grip of religious bigotry, and the country has been held hostage by the forces of religious intolerance, fanaticism and obscurantism.

What exactly did the “Sole Spokesman” of the Muslims of the sub-continent want for the country he created after tremendous sacrifice and struggle? An interesting consequence of the deliberate state-organized campaign of misinformation and disinformation was that Our younger generation and ordinary Pakistanis were bombarded with the false propaganda that Jinnah was in fact in favor of a theocracy! Many of Jinnah’s quotations and speeches denouncing the concept of a theocratic state had been very cleverly distorted or concealed from the public during the Zia regime. Vile dictator, that Zia was, even had the audacity to change the famous motto of Jinnah from “Unity, Faith, and Discipline” to “Faith, Unity and Discipline” Any student of our freedom movement cannot deny the fact that Jinnah had envisioned Pakistan as a secular but Muslim majority country.

All the frontline leaders of the freedom movement were British educated secular Muslims. Jinnah, Liaquat, Nazim-ud-Din, Suhrwardy, Bogra, Raja Sahab Mehmudabad, Qazi Isa, Khaliq-uz-zaman and many more who were in the vanguard of the freedom movement never ever mentioned or even hinted that Pakistan is going to be theocracy to be ruled by the Mullahs. Fundamentalist Muslim leaders of the era were staunchly opposed to the concept of Pakistan. Deobandi scholars and leaders of the Jamat-i-Islami went to the extent of giving the title of Kafir-i-Azam to the Quaid-i-Azam. Religious forces opposed Jinnah and his colleagues they fought tooth and nail to prevent the establishment of Pakistan yet today they want to own this country and impose their own brand of Sharia and enslave this country in the cruel grip of a religious dictatorship.

No Muslim can deny the supremacy of the Quran and Sunnah but let us not forget that the people of Pakistan have been fooled and taken for a ride many a times in the past, in the name of religion. Bhutto made use of the slogan of Islamic Socialism and General Zia-ul-Haque hoodwinked the people with his personal brand of Pristine Islam in order to prolong his questionable dictatorship. Now we have the creeping menace of the Taliban tightening their grip on the country with each passing day. Our leaders need to be reminded that the immediate threat to the very existence of our country is from the religious fanatics and all patriotic forces need to unite to combat this approaching horror. Those of our leaders who intentionally or unintentionally are aiding and abetting the Taliban need a refresher course in recent history. They need to be reminded that since the Taliban took control of Afghanistan in 1996 (ironically with the blessings of the Pakistani establishment) they became a potent and lethal threat to women, democracy, tolerance, education and human rights. They have now extended their cruel and insidious tentacles into Pakistan. They have mercilessly slaughtered people opposed to their version of Islam. Turned the fair valley of Swat into a living hell. Women and journalists have borne the brunt of their oppressive and brutal rule. Simply announcing the rule of Sharia will not bring about any miracles. Different Islamic sects have their own version of Sharia. What version are these Islamic zealots proposing to impose upon us?

Time is here for all patriotic forces to band together and demand the return of Jinnah’s Pakistan. This country has to be rescued from the insidious conspiracy of trying to turn this state into a land of religious bigotry and fanaticism. Jinnah’s Pakistan is a country full of hope, optimism, and security. It is the land of our dreams. Jinnah’s Pakistan was created to enable all its citizens to live in peace, harmony and religious tolerance. Jinnah struggled to protect and nurture the cultural values of the Muslims of the sub-continent and not for imported values of an archaic and alien Arabic culture. Jinnah’s Pakistan was created to protect the lives, properties and culture of the Muslims. Jinnah dedicated his life for the preservation of equal rights of men and women, so that they could live in a land free of prejudice and discrimination. Jinnah’s Pakistan was not created to be a safe haven for terrorists. Never in his wildest dreams did the father of the nation thought of creating “Strategic assets” that have now became strategic liabilities or rather strategic horrors.

Pakistani society of today is in desperate need of social justice and elimination of corruption. A modern, progressive, vibrant and welfare society is one which allows the individual to breathe, develops its human resources, lays emphasis on morality and ethics, stresses the importance of education and removes the impediments to individual progress and prosperity. This was the dream and objective of the Quaid-i-Azam. He wanted Pakistan to be developed as a modern, progressive, secular democracy adhering to the principles of fairplay and social justice. Unfortunately immediately after the demise of Mohammed Ali Jinnah Pakistan became a victim of intolerant and fundamentalist religious forces who disowned the principles of secular democracy. Our very own religious fanatics misinterpreted secularism as a principle that was opposed to religion. They very conveniently forgot that it defined the separation of the state and religion but fully respected and protected the freedom to practice one’s beliefs. Our National leaders and those in authority need to wake up and realize the gravity of the situation and save this country from becoming another failed state ending up on the dust heap of history.

If Pakistan has to survive it just cannot do without upholding the lofty principles and guidelines provided to us by that giant of an intellectual, a great visionary and our founding father Quaid-i-Azam Mohammed Ali Jinnah. The need of the hour is that every Pakistani should demand: I want Jinnah’s Pakistan!
    http://ahraza.wordpress.com/2009/11/21/i-want-jinnah%e2%80%99s-pakistan/
    for the viewing pleasure of Shehzada and oriel.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Dec 2009 23:06 #
  2. Anonymous

Idiots like Tariq Ali mislead and confuse awam through their nicely worded pseudo-intellectual writings. We should all be careful of these idiots who live abroad and write essays like these to look "cool".

Objective resolution do not make Pakistan a theocracy. Only an idiot like Tariq Ali can say such a thing. The speech he quoted in his article is quoted many times by other idiots like him to mislead awam. They shamelessly misuse Quaid's words to further their non-sense agenda which is a non-issue.

Please be reminded, although Quaid wanted Pakistan not to become a theocracy, he also did not want Pakistani to become a secular state that had nothing to do with the religion. There is a difference between a theocratic state and a Muslim state envisaged by Quaid. Idiots like Tariq Ali fail to understand the difference or atleast pretend they do not.

Unfortuantely, when we talk of religion or Islam, first thing that comes in people's mind is either a village moulvi sahab or Taliban or Europe under Pope during dark ages. None of them is true. The idea of a tolerant and moderate religion is alien to many, therefore whenever they hear of religion they start finding quotes and present them to awam to become a self-proclaimed survivor of Pakistanis. Quaid's idea of Pakistani state and constitution is crystal clear from the excerpt below from a Quaid's speech
    http://www.pakistan.gov.pk/Quaid/speech25.htm

"The constitution of Pakistan has yet to be framed by the Pakistan Constituent Assembly. I do not know what the ultimate shape of this constitution is going to be, but I am sure that it will be of a democratic type, embodying the essential principle of Islam. Today, they are as applicable in actual life as they were 1,300 years ago. Islam and its idealism have taught us democracy. It has taught equality of man, justice and fairplay to everybody. We are the inheritors of these glorious traditions and are fully alive to our responsibilities and obligations as framers of the future constitution of Pakistan. In any case Pakistan is not going to be a theocratic State to be ruled by priests with a divine mission. We have many non-Muslims --Hindus, Christians, and Parsis --but they are all Pakistanis. They will enjoy the same rights and privileges as any other citizens and will play their rightful part in the affairs of Pakistan."

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Dec 2009 23:42 #
  3. quaidkamazaar

hmmm, a state with an essential principle of Islam and democracy, yet not theocratic...

mullahs of back then were against Jinnah.
    but our real Quaid had guts to tear out a whole country.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Dec 2009 23:50 #
  4. zia m

Here is an observation made by professor Ralph Russell.

The sophisticated Muslim case underlying the separatist demands that ultimately became the demand for Pakistan rested on the secular or quasi-secular concept of the Muslims of the subcontinent as a separate nationality; in the years preceding independence it was this concept that was always stressed by the authoritative spokesmen of the movement for the creation of Pakistan. To such a concept religious orthodoxy was irrelevant. ‘Muslim’ meant anyone who called himself a Muslim, anyone who was born into the Muslim community, even if he were a militant atheist. Jinnah himself, the Qaid e Azam (Great Leader) of the Muslim League, was anything but an orthodox Muslim of the old-fashioned kind. For him, the concept of a Muslim nationhood implied even an onslaught on the conservative Muslin divines, and an effort, as he wrote in 1942, ‘to free our people from the most undesirable reactionary elements.’

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Dec 2009 1:41 #
  5. amirbutt

Zia m good post, we need to make a post sooner or later about the great contributions of Indian and Bengali Muslims in the creation of Pakistan and analyze it thoroughly. I would recommend this great book "The idea of Pakistan" by Stephen P Cohen on this subject.
    http://www.amazon.com/Idea-Pakistan-Stephen-P-Cohen/dp/0815715021
    Found easily in a good library.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Dec 2009 4:21 #
  6. get rid of mulla+military+america ittehad and you will get Jinah's pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Dec 2009 11:36 #
  7. in Jinnah ka Pakistan ,there was no feudal lord ,no military dictator and no politically motivated mulla ...

we have to get rid off these three characters .

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Dec 2009 13:03 #
  8. Amirbutt sahib:

Thanks for the read.

In amongst the mountainous nonsense prevelant in Pak, Tariq Ali's analysis is always as refreshing as crisp-fresh water drawn from a well mid-summer.

Apart from Ali Sahib's views on religion, I agree with his every word in the article above.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 14:57 #
  9. Migel9

According to Lord curzon, a zionist terrorist his views on Khilafah Osmania.

A few months after the destruction of the Khilafah on 24th July, Turkey’s independence was officially recognised with the signing of the Lausanne Treaty. Britain and its allies withdrew all their troops that had occupied Turkey since the end of the First World War. In response to this, protests were made in the House of Commons to the British Foreign Secretary Lord Curzon, for recognising Turkey’s independence. Lord Curzon replied, “The situation now is that Turkey is dead and will never rise again, because we have destroyed its moral strength, the Caliphate and Islam.”

Ohh the love for mohammadans by the colonialist.

The first attempt at destroying the unity of Islam came in the 11th century when Pope Urban II launched the first crusade to occupy Al-Quds. After 200 years of occupation the crusaders were finally defeated at the hands of Salahudeen Ayyubi.

Just some historical facts for my people..Tariq Ali comments
    are always intellectually stimulating to say the least.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 15:25 #
  10. Anonymous

Anyone who agrees with every single word of Tariq Ali's article should explain to me how
    "Jinnah’s vision of his creation was negated and nullified with the adoption of the Objectives Resolution shortly after his death in 1949."
    ???

How does objective resolution negates Quaid's vision?

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 16:52 #
  11. ucsher

@bs
    I think many people criticize objective resolution for being that first real juncture where the actual involvement of religion in the state affairs started from and of course after that there was no looking back!
    So I think it is mainly criticized for its ceremonial, academic and ground breaking value rather than anything else!

Besides, I think it was also the first time when pakistanis were actually divided in to two groups i.e a more privileged group of majority i.e muslims and some what less privileged group of minority i.e any one who wasn't lucky enough to be born in muslims ;)

Lastly I think when it comes to the matters of state one has to lay down every thing in balck & white & with much clarity & purity i.e Either you have to be a theocracy or a secular state or else you would end up being as confused as pakistan is right now!

I know although all this talk of taking the best things from the democracy and islam and then making some sort of "Cocktail State" from it sounds very "politically correct" & sweet to one's ears (especially in a country like pakistan)but i am afraid practically speaking they are a failed formula at least when it comes to running huge & complex machineries called states!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 18:31 #
  12. It is not Tariq Ali only, there are 97.5 % Pakistani Muslims who want to live a democratic life and enjoy the human achievements, free of Mulla's Dictatorship and unwanted interference in all the fields of life through unconstitutional practice.

Religious Leaders have equal Right to preach, promote, patronize, protect and popularize their vision and they enjoyed freedom for doing that for the last 62 years.

People of Pakistan should not be blamed where some of the Religious Leaders failed to convince them.

Unfortunately, some of the the Religious Leaders became the symbol of 'lethal threat to women, democracy, tolerance, education and human rights.'
    They need to improve or change their strategy to deliver the message.
    I don't believe that our Religion is so horrible as these some of the religious leaders define.
    People want to inhale fresh oxygen to live.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 18:59 #
  13. shimatoree

Tariq Ali's writings and what he might or might not want are of no matter in the present situation.

Singing songs or praying 15 times a day will not change anything.
    You have thieves ruling and stealing. You have a sort of people's armed rebellion in certain areas aganist the govt. which does not exists.
    You have an army which has been rented to foreign political entities and forces to fight and kill it's own people

And we are seriously debating what someone living in England wants.

Get real guys.

The dynamics of the military and political forces active today in Pakistan are immense and I doubt very much if the likes of Tariq Ali have any idea as to what is going on.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 19:19 #
  14. ucsher

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 19:41 #
  15. ucsher

@shimatoree

I tell you what is going on ..
    what really going on is that despite all the bloody havoc that these barbarians have wreaked in our country, our establishment still wants to protect at least elements of talibans (now call them afghan taliban or whatever taliban you may like but the hidden desire can still very well be seen)
    Now you tell me, had any of us ever stood such creatures let alone be apologists for them if our state had decided not to meddle in to any kind of religious mumbo jumbo right in the beginning? i.e strategic depth in the name of religion or whatever?

Don't forget that it was just the continuous glorification of religious rhetoric like Pakistan "Islam ka Qilla" and all that which encouraged us to create petty creatures like talibans in the first place!

Posted 2 years ago on 09 Dec 2009 19:51 #
  16. zia m

Shimatoree,let's not forget Tariq Ali left the country to save his life and most of us left for monetary gains.
    Are you suggesting we should grab our guns or buy suicide jackets and join the Taliban to get rid of the corrupt lesdership?

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Dec 2009 0:18 #
  17. shimatoree

I had said - quote

"The dynamics of the military and political forces active today in Pakistan are immense "

If that is too difficult to understand- then let me explain in what can best be described as clinical terms without any bias either in favour or against-

The political and military force of the USA in Afghanistan with it's own agenda which is well known-

The Pakistan Armed Forces and those that rule Pakistan today who are mere pawns in the hands of the West( USA)-

The insurgents of Taliban movement of Afghanistan-

The TTP which is simply a hodge podge of different groups local and otherwise with their own local agendas.

All these forces are the main actors with their own plans and their own strategy both for short term and long term.

It is they who will decide what happens in the future to Pakistan- not some arm chair" thinker, philosopher" from England.

The situation is very fluid and I can only think of two possibilities-

1. The Taliban decide to quit .It is their land. They have the funds and they have the determination and the grit.
    The chance of that happening is zero.

2. The Americans quit. The chances of something like this will take place perhaps not in a form that we can think of but some form of it.

As to the bad mouthing about Taliban that is in fashion here- I will repeat what I have been saying for sometime.
    Get used to it.
    They are and are going to be a political force to be reckoned with for the next 100 years and they are here to stay.
    The best you can hope for is to reach some sort of agreement with them if you want peace and quiet in the country.
    If you wish to confront them and their political force- well then you are going to have more of the same that you have now.

It is ironic that the cowardice of one man( Musharraf) and the whole nation of Pakistan which has caused the problem in the first place might and I say might sink an entire country.
    The only ray of light I can see is that an honest leader replaces the present lot-( Zardari, Nawaz Shareef etc) and stands up for Pakistan.

If that does not happen- well you know the answer.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Dec 2009 1:08 #
  18. zia m

Shimatoree,
    You are trying to equate Afghani Taliban with TTP.Afghans have every right to defend themselves against the foreign invaders it is their right.
    I'm all for a political solution and think that US will eventually have to negotiate with them.
    TTP is a different story,they want to create a state within a state that can't be tolerated by any country.They are playing in the hands of enemies of Pakistan.
    I won't go as far to call the whole nation coward.We need unity and a clear vision.It is the same nation that restored CJ against all odds.
    It is people like you who are trying to muddy the waters.We need to unite the whole country against these savages.
    I never was a fan of Altaf but he is the lone leader to call for public protest against these barbaric attacks.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Dec 2009 1:49 #
  19. ased

I accept the point about the mullahisum in Pakistan. And I'm not talking about Taliban here. I'm talking about Mullahs in general. But the question is who made them really so strong, many people say that the politicians brought the mullahs on this strong but I personally think, that were Pakistani citizen " aam admi". Because someone who has to spread peace is standing in the mosque and incite people to kill or to damage people from any other sect, has to stop by the audience, but everyone every "aam admi" became motivate to help those men. There is the fact that the citizens are in this case the debtors. Which the citizens have to stop now by themselves, the accepting of a coming hero is just a dream; Pakistanis have to work by their own. Thank you

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Dec 2009 1:52 #
  20. shimatoree

Zia m-

I think I have stated my case.

If you have a problem with the facts, then I really do not have to muddy the waters anymore than I already have done.

Posted 2 years ago on 10 Dec 2009 2:01 #
  21. shimatoree
    Do u really thin that

TTP is a political force ?

They are not sir . I recognize them as a group but not as a political group. They have never been in politics .

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 3:16 #
  22. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

" Success of Jinnah and Zia in Pakistan and Failure of Others."

In view of present scenario, when Pakistan is suffering from violent conflict between Pakistan army and Islamic Fighters and both are cutting throats of each other and killing each other mercilessly, and no one is there to stop them from this bloody madeness,infact some ethnocentric parties and India are enjoying this bloody film continuously, and are trying to pour more fuel on this fire. In such condition it is the responsibility of Intellectuals of Pakistan to try to stop this blood shed and to analyze the past history of Pakistan and find out that why Pakistan was stable in the era of Quaid-e-Azam and General Zia, and was a most stable and strong country of the region in spite of all adversaries and enemity of British Empire, India and Soviet Union and why it has become so much unstable in the era of General Musharaf and Mr.Zardari in spite of support of World Super power USA,NATO and other nations..
    Pakistan Needs Leader Like Quaid-e-Azam.
    Quaid-e-Azam was a leader who united whole the populations of Muslims of subcontinent on one platform in spite of all their weaknesses due to illiteracy, ethnocentrism, regionalism, provincialism and conspiracies of Indian National Congress and British rulers, From each sentence of his speeches it is evident that he was the most caring and sincere leader for Muslims and for their interests. His speeches are full of words like Muslims, Musalamans and Islam, He very strongly proved that he is a well wisher of Muslims and will never compromise against the best interests of Muslims.
    This was the reason that Muslims of subcontinent have thrown all their differences and were united under his leader ship without any reservation. For the cause of Muslims his family life was destroyed, his sister never married, her daughter was separated from him, For the cause of Muslims he lost his personnel home in Bombay, India, For the cause of Muslims he refused to accept the Premier ship of India and due to his hard work for the Muslims his health was destroyed but till his death he continued to work for welfare of his peoples. These were the characteristics of Quaid-e-Azam due to which even his enemies like him and have praise for him.
    Pakistan Needs Leader Like General Zia-ul-Haq.
    After separation of East Pakistan in 1971 a critical change occurred in the demography of Pakistan and ratio of Muslims Population increased from 85% to 98%.General Zia was the first leader who comprehended this change and used this phenomena for the strength and stability of Pakistan. Due to his apparent commitment with Islam and Muslims, he was able to rule the country like an Iron Man till his death. During his era Pakistan was the Island of piece in whole region, his devotion for Islam and Pakistan made him the most successful ruler of Pakistan, Although he was a military dictator he was having a very effective influence both socially and religiously on people of Pakistan, and people were having trust on him, due to his policies there was no anti state or separation activities except that of Al-Zulfiqar by brother of Mrs. Benazir Bhutto.
    Afghan Jihad: Although General Zia was supporting Afghan Jihad against Soviet Union his relations with Soviet Union were surprisingly good, and Pakistan Steel Mill in Karachi was completed with the help of Soviet Union.

Collapse of Super Power Soviet Union:
    Due to General Zia support for Afghan Jihad Soviet Union was broken into pieces of more than dozen countries and Pakistan was able to take the revenge of separation of East Pakistan from Soviet Union in which Soviet Union was nakedly involved .
    Due to General Zia policies so many countries of Eastern Europe and Central Asia were liberated from the claws of Soviet Union and both East and West Germany were reunited.
    He refused to accept any pressure with reference to Nuclear Program from USA.
    India:
    In the era of General Zia ,India was highly frightened from stability and progress of Pakistan and lost all its credibility and diplomatic respect due to support for Soviet Union for invasion in Afghanistan and Indira Gandhi a foolish leader of India who was involved in aggression and terrorism for taking the advantage of foolish acts of General Yahya Khan in 1971 in East Pakistan , was totally failed in controlling the affairs of East Punjab due to her foolish policies and in fact lost her life in that crisis.

By:M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 5:12 #
  23. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Both pro-Islamic leader ruled the country till their death and also mysteriously Qaid-e-Azam defeated to British Empire and United India,Another pro-Islamic leader Zia-ul-Haq defeated world Super power Soviet Union where as non-religious leaders like Zardari and Pervez Musharaf were evenh struggling to control and safeguard the capital Islamabad and GHQ in Rawalpindi.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 5:14 #
  24. Niazi Sahib,

Jinnah was never a hypocrate like Zia. He was a democrat who believed in equal rights for all the citizens of pakistan.

So, please don't compare these two opposite extremes.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 5:24 #
  25. Agar Jinnh ka Pakistan chayie, to in so called politicans ko Country se nikalna ho ga.
    Jo ke hame loot rahe hain.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 5:30 #
  26. Shahid sahib,

These so-called politicians have got less than half of pakistan's history and even that in short terms with ARMY acting as monitor.

Whats about 33 years of ARMY RULE ? Whats about the DHA's ? And billion'r generals?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 5:34 #
  27. Asif Brother agar ye politican theek hote to kisi army cheif ko pakistan ka "ayin" torne ki himat na hoti.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 7:01 #
  28. Dectator to ate hai Mulak per kabza karne ke lye, Lakin ye so called leader vote lete waqta awam ke lye kaam karne ka promiss karte hain.
    Lakin hakoomat main aa kar sirf apne lye kaam karte hain.
    Phir inhen Mulak ke gareeb awam aur Mulak ka mufaad nazar nahi ata.
    Ye he waja hai, ke ye public main apne jagha kho dete hain, aur phir dectator apne lye rasta nikalta hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 7:03 #
  29. Shock

@M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Where do you learn history from? Quaid-e-Azam blasted the Islamist for criticizing him for being outsoken of equal rights and freedom. Defeating this country, and defeating that country is one thing, how many countries have we made peace with? If we have defeated the super power in the past, then Pakistan and Pakistanis or muslims should be respected around the world right! But why aren't they? It wasn't like Pakistan Army was engaging head on with the soviets. How come Zia-ul Haq's own son never did Jihad against the soviets? Why was Ijaz-ul-Haq part of a government of non-religous leader?

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 7:29 #
  30. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

Pakistan Steel Mills:
    Although General Zia was supporting Afghan Jihad against Soviet Union his relations with Soviet Union were surprisingly good, and Pakistan Steel Mill in Karachi was completed with the help of Soviet Union.
    While NON RELGIOUS Zulficar Ali Bhutto was using that project as a job bank for members of his party,and other two secular leaders Pervez Musharaf and Zardari were found by courts of Pakistan guilty of abusing and selling this mill less than the price of land of this Mill.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 Dec 2009 9:36 #