Imran Khan meets Baloch leader Harbiyar Marri

(35 posts)
  1. qaisernadeem

PTI chief meets Akhtar Mengal, Harbiyar Marri.

LAHORE:

There’s an increasing sense of urgency about Balochistan on the political stage, and as the violence continues, the conditions for negotiations continue to get more stringent.

In a recent meeting with Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairperson Imran Khan, Baloch nationalist leaders sent out a clear message. It’s a zero sum game now: Unless the military is kicked out of the province and abductions of Baloch people allegedly by the intelligence agencies come to an end, all other measures to address the province’s concerns will fall flat.

The PTI chief met former Balochistan Chief Minister Sardar Akhtar Mengal and exiled Baloch nationalist Harbiyar Marri in a bid to appease the province’s leaders and formulate a strategy to address Balochistan’s grievances. After the meeting, Khan said such a strategy would be outlined soon.
    The nationalist leaders, however, remain understandably cautious.

“Baloch leaders told Imran Khan that, in the presence of military and intelligence agencies on the soil of Balochistan, there cannot be any meaningful dialogue or discussion on the issue,” said a source privy to the meetings.

On the other hand, it appears that Imran remains one of the few political leaders that the nationalist leaders are still willing to talk to.

“Mengal, Marri and other leaders conveyed to Imran that … the PTI chairman was amongst those leaders where the trust deficit was at a minimum,” the source added.

The meeting also seems to have spurred Imran to switch his party’s focus from corruption to the Balochistan issue. It is important to note that PTI’s next rally is scheduled to take place in Quetta. Taking his party members into confidence over his meeting with the Baloch leaders, Imran is quoted to have said that the matter should become the number one priority for PTI, adding that the issue is seriously threatening national integrity.

He directed the party’s think-tank to come up with meaningful proposals on Balochistan, which will be made part of the PTI’s upcoming manifesto. One of the more radical proposals on the table is to shift the federal capital and government to Quetta in order to enable massive and quick development.

However, the source added a caveat. According to the source, Imran could not assure the Baloch leaders if he could a play a role in addressing the grievances raised by them at the meeting.

In April, the source added, the PTI will hold a public meeting in Quetta where it will announce “complete solidarity with the Baloch people and unveil their strategy on the issue of Balochistan”.
    “The party is gearing up for the rally and it will be a symbol of national integration as many Baloch leaders will be invited,” said the source.

Imran, however, will be addressing a crowd tough to please. “At the moment, even moderate Baloch like Mahmood Achakzai are hard to convince. (The leaders) want to talk to Imran Khan but only if he can guarantee the withdrawal of troops from Balochistan,” the source emphasised once again.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 19th, 2012.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/338623/meeting-with-imran-khan-no-talks-unless-military-kicked-out-say-baloch-leaders/

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 7:13 #
  2. qaisernadeem

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 9:53 #
  3. Sharif Aadmi

nice . Politicains should talk talk to each other .

At the same time , the only solution to Balochistan issue is giving the baloch's their right and i don't think thats possible in current goegraphy.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 12:56 #
  4. pakstar

Soon Imran Khan will take U-Turn. Just wait :)

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 14:20 #
  5. bsobaid

Good work imran khan.

Harbiyaar and bramdagh are the most popular baloch leaders at the moment. Political forces should reach out to both of them.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 16:14 #
  6. Ghost Protocol

We all want solidarity with Balochistan. All want their miseries to end however , have few question?
    1) How can somebody tolerate anti-state activities carried out by baloch liberation army or separatist?

2)According to which law, kilings of non-balochs will be pardoned in Baluchistan?

3)Why nobody approach common baluch but the corrupt Sardars only who are part of problem?

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 17:05 #
  7. Anwer Kamal

KOi ghairatmand Baloch ya Sindhi leader Lota naheen banay ga.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 17:07 #
  8. pacemaker

Imran is the best leader of Pakistan!

Imran Khan & PTI zindabaad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 18:37 #
  9. pacemaker

sood ka karobar karnay wala ghairatmand kaisay hosakta hay?

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 18:39 #
  10. Anwer Kamal

Whom you are referring as "sood ka karobar karnay wala" ?
    Brave Baluchis and Bahadar Sindhis have no concern with this business .

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 19:27 #
  11. Nawaz Sharif and Imran Khan are just trying to pose, to be big leaders and betraying peoples. In current situation, no leadership, including Imran and Nawaz have ability to deal with Balochistan issue.

Their leadership does not have Z.A Bhutto level stature who can bring this establishment under civilian control.

We should just pray and hope that Military establishment understand seriousness of Balochistan situation and make some realistic and urgent changes in their policies.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 20:28 #
  12. pacemaker

Nawaz Sharif ka saara karobar soodi qarzay say chalta hay, ghairat kahan hay?

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 21:05 #
  13. Anwer Kamal

عمران خان کی ساری سیاست شوکت خانم کے کینسر کے مریضوں، زلزلہ زدگان ،سیلاب کے تباہ شدہ انسانوں کے لیے ملنے والے چندے اور اسٹبلشمنٹ کی غلامی کی کمائی سے چلتی ہے .

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 21:46 #
  14. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Oh the wisdom of great ZAB, well to burst that bubble, he had a wisdom of a possum! Should I remind, he crushed the liberation movement with iron fist ruthlessly. Of course the iron fist was the borrowed one from another great leader of the past time, Shah-e-Iran who lended the gunship helicopters used to kill fighters and the innocents alike mercilessly.

Neither ZAB nor Shah died an honourable death; one died like a rat among not-loved ones, oh well the other did go that way as well. Thae great ZAB had too much blood on his hands: Bengalis, Baluchis etc. Definitely a legacy to care for!!

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:00 #
  15. Anwer Kamal

زرداری اور الطاف کامظبوط اتحاد قائم رہے

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:18 #
  16. pirbodla

The wisdom of ZAB had cost the nation half of its assets, and permanent blackmailing from the agents of evil- What a precedent he has set for us. May Allah save this battered nation from any so-called wise leader.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:34 #
  17. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Zardari is living on splinter, he may as well wishing in leaving in 4 foot box so his kids have a better chances ruling Pakistan and fooling Pakistanis, so don't kid yourself, an incompetent &%&%)&%_% at best. To best say it, agay kunwan pechay khayee!

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:48 #
  18. Anwer Kamal

زرداری اور الطاف کامظبوط اتحاد قائم رہے
    You said about Zardari . Please say something about his partner Altaf too.

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:52 #
  19. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Shall I say MQM is that splinter that keeping this conniving fella alive, if MQM is taken away his life would be over literally. nobody needs this limping puppy with horse teeth:) Did it sooth your mind?

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:56 #
  20. Anwer Kamal

مزید جناب قائد تحریک کی بابت ارشاد فرمائیے

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 22:59 #
  21. pacemaker

who made & funded IJI? who got benefits from ISI & IJI?

who looted, plundered & did money laundering?

who invested looted money of poor Pakistanis in London property worth £1.2 billion (Rs.210 billion)

well the answer is Nawaz Sharif

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 23:04 #
  22. qaisernadeem

Let's stay on topic guys.

Anwer bhai jazakallah for very informative posts as usual. Sometimes I wonder how can so much wisdom fit in to one head.

Obsidian bhai tassali ho gayi hai? Ab kya aap ka vote PTI Kay lie pakka samjhoon?

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 23:11 #
  23. Anwer Kamal

Khush raho Mian
    Magar is gunah e azim ki twaqa mujh say na rakhiay .

Posted 3 months ago on 19 Feb 2012 23:23 #
  24. qaisernadeem

I was talking to bsobaid bhai and spell check ruined it but Anwer bhai aap bhi vote dey inshallah mayoos nahi karain gae

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 0:17 #
  25. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@AK
    A bahadur sindhi (ZAB) killed lots of bahadur baluchis in 70s.

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 0:26 #
  26. bsobaid

Abhi pti ko maabadoolat kaa vote laynay kay liyay bohot kuch karna paray gaa...

Waisay qaiser bhi, election day kay liyay polling booth takk sawari aur saath mein qeemay walay naan kay baray mein pti kee kiaa policy hai..haa haa haa ...

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 0:27 #
  27. mosid

Ha! Ha! Big LOL, IK meeting Baluch leaders in imitation of NS!!PTI walo yeh kiya hogaya :)

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 0:58 #
  28. Bhutto was not saint,May be he did some mistakes. Bhutto was great leader for his overall performance ,He fought in courts like a brave man, for justice and gave his life against worst dictatorship, for the peoples of Pakistan. That is why, his PPP won 4 elections after his death.

At least peoples whom belong to this piggy Altaf hussain, should not open their ugly and dirty mouths against leader like Bhutto stature. Your leader was professional taxi driver and now he became leader with racial slogans, who is hiding in UK like a rat. His criminal mafia and terrorists, whom turn this Karachi city as a graveyard.

This MQM criminal mafia is sticking with PPP to protect their criminals and to save their looted money in past 11 years. PPP really does not need this criminal mafia. PPP just keeping this criminal mafia in government to save lives of innocent Karachi Peoples from this gang mafia. Because, if PPP kicked them out of government, then this criminal mafia will be more violent against these poor Karachians.

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 5:29 #
  29. siddiqi73

Copy Cat Tehreek!

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 5:52 #
  30. zingaro

@msyedh . Did you check with your leadership before uttering a word against MQM? How did you say that MQM is killer mafia? Ask your president, CM Sindh, A.Rehman malik, who are continuously busy in polishing the boots of MQM. So do not say which you will regret later. If MQM is a criminal mafia, why don't you guys get rid of them? Just kick them out of your coalition but if they are your partners, what does it mean? I tell you the answer. It means your PPP is the same level criminal and partner in their crimes because it is your government who is protecting the criminals.

RizwanQK .. you are correct. It was the great ZAB who launched an operation in Baluchistan and killed many. Unfortunately as these days PPP is in government, hence the foolish stalwarts are busy in preaching ZAB like a saint or prophet. We all know about him.

@bsobaid .. lols .. you brought smile on my face by asking PTI workers about "Sawaari" and "Qeemay waalay naan" .. Lets see what PTI fans will reply but Obaid bhai you have raised the issue which may attract others to demand the same :)

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 5:55 #
  31. zingaro

Now on a serious note, I personally feel that on the issue of Balochistan, we should favor whoever can bring our Balochi brothers back to us. Whether it is Nawaz Sharif, Zardari, or Imran Khan. The sensitivity of the matter requires us to show solidarity with Balochis and try to provide them of their due rights. So I would request to all to please refrain from criticizing (On Balochistan Issue) Nawaz sharif or Imran Khan who are talking to Baloch leaders for peace and unity.

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 5:59 #
  32. bsobaid

Qaiser bhai, i Dont not hesitate to acknowledge good work done by anyone be it ns, ik, zardari, bobby....
    But pti supporters are just too jazbaati... Noon walay bhi pakistani hein, inn pay itni ghussa nahi kia keejeay...
    Baqi vote ka sawal...abhi election mein kaafi din hein...abhi se faislaa naa karein kion kay bohot se tabdeeli aanay ko hai.

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 6:20 #
  33. zingaro@

I have nothing to do with PPP leadership. I don't belong to PPP. However i believe that PPP is only genuine political party, because it is only political party which was not founded any dictator and it was grown in all Pakistan without government help.

But I already told in my previous post that PPP does not need MQM to keep their government. They are keeping MQM in government to save lives of Karachi Peoples. If they kicked out MQM then this criminal mafia will be more violent.

I mentioned in my previous post that Bhutto was not saint. He did many mistakes. But he is great and better leader than others for his overall performances. I don't know, why you blame that peoples are treating him like saint.

Most Bhutto dushmans just pick one point to criticize him and they ignore his other achievements. Perhaps, most peoples are trying to prove themselves as intelligent person as criticizing bigger and greater leaders. For example, lowly Haroon-ur-Rasheed most time attacking Bhutto for one and other thing to get more attention. This is very cheap way to get attention.

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 17:56 #
  34. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Although we are derailing the thread, but if PPP does not need MQM than throw the crutches but the lowlife Zardari and its shitload MNAs would drown like a rock. Besides, why one hides his affiliations, accept like a man. Saaf chuptay bhi nahee samnay aatay bhi nahee:) or should quote: parday main rehnay do parda na uthao:)

Posted 3 months ago on 20 Feb 2012 22:34 #
  35. Dusky

@AK: "KOi ghairatmand Baloch ya Sindhi leader Lota naheen banay ga."

Yeah konsay Sindhi Baloch leaders hain?? Pakistan may to nahee pay jatay.

Posted 3 months ago on 21 Feb 2012 3:00 #