Imran Khan will also support ARMY intervention

(77 posts)
  1. GOOGLE

Very disappointed by Imran stance. He should be patient and wait for 3 years. 2012-2013 in not far away. Seems he didn't learn any thing from supporting Musharraf in 1998 for which he is apologizing till now.

http://www.arynews.tv/english/newsdetail.asp?nid=36706

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

See for yourself what he said:
    http://pkpolitics.com/2010/08/23/views-on-news-23-august-2010/

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 5:08 #
  2. d0ct0r

Khan, however, said the army should not come into power and grab authorities of a civil and democratic government.

He regrets supporting Mush and he'll regret repeating the same mistake once again.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 5:22 #
  3. quaidkamazaar

IMran KHan is doing the right thing...

the nation is starving... they dont care who is in power, what they want is jobs economy boost investment.

I dont care if a general declaring martial law is Sindhi Punjabi Balochi Seraiki Pukhtoon Urduspeaking... as long as he is honest and making moves against corrupt money looters, qaum will finally get looted money back.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 5:26 #
  4. quaidkamazaar

Pakistan is in the ICU

Operation is needed to remove the brain tumor.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 5:29 #
  5. salaudin

I watched ViewsOnNews yesterday and IK repeatedly said that he would not support military rule even though Shahid Masood wanted IK to say that. When specifically asked how exactly this country can get rid of this anarchy, quoting Karachi killings where police is useless, IK supported the idea that army can come in to bring that "stability".
    I'd recommend members to watch 'Views on News' of Aug. 23 to come up with their own conclusion.

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/08/23/views-on-news-23-august-2010/

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 6:26 #
  6. insaftak

I didn't hear Imran Khan saying he would support Military Intervention.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 6:33 #
  7. siddiqi73

@quaidkamazar,

And bro, there are multiple tumors in Karachi as well which need to be eradicated with extreme prejudice...I hope you know what I'm talking about. Don't be repeating stuff of Mustafa Kamal as we all know that the guy's got $hit for brains.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 6:38 #
  8. wantinsaf

MQM has now started looking towards Imran's help in this regard.
    Imran has nowhere said that military inetrvention is the solution.
    The link mentioned above doesn't open.
    Imran clearly mentioned on NewsandViews that military inetrvention is unacceptable

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 7:34 #
  9. siddiqi73

@wantinsaf,

But he has not categorically condemned this ridiculous desire of Altaf Hussain either...is he trying to act like a conventional politician now?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 7:44 #
  10. wantinsaf

There are two parts of the statements:
    1-Corrupt politicians and Jageerdars and their cruelities and crimes
    2-Army intervention

We all Pakistanis agree with the first part,but not the second one.

What do you mean by he should categorically condemn this statement?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 8:11 #
  11. Respect where respect is due. In yesterday's Views on News (23.8.10), Imran Khan gave an extremely balanced performance. Do not distort his words for some misguided sense of political gain.

IK is one of the few political assets this country still possesses. Treat him with care. It might make all the difference for the future of Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 8:37 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

Poor performance of a democratic govt. is followed by a martial law. Imran's assessment is not incorrect. If the poor quality performance of the present govt. remains the same, then a martial law will definitely follow it.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:14 #
  13. "Imran Khan will also support ARMY intervention"

IK is a honest man but an amateur politician. He doesn't know what to say and when to say it. Let us all let this government complete it's tenure, (I know that is going to hurt Pakistan) but lets get rid of this PPP once for and all.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:14 #
  14. siddiqi73

@HF,

Fair enough and what will happen after the army intervention? A new breed of counterfeit political class will be created with the help of agencies, referendums, political expediencies and top off 10 or 11 years of ineptness,an NRO will be invoked to cut some slack to the politicians.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:24 #
  15. Hussain Farooqui

Brother Umer

The problem is that all are more or less alike in politics. Will ousting of PPP will follow any good govt.? Our previous national experience of politics show that one corrupt is followed by another corrupt. We have to reform our society from base root. In order to reform our society we have to bring an end to feudalism which is the main root cause of corruption.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:27 #
  16. junaid

dr shahid tried his best but imran didnt say that he actually favors another military intervention. although, the flop democratic drama is indeed proceeding towards another fauji adventure

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:27 #
  17. Hussain Farooqui

junaid

Whether Imran uttered in favor of martial or not, however, the poor performance of the present govt. can lead the nation to another martial law.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:31 #
  18. junaid

^
    wo bhi amerikee razamandee sai.
    i think this time the friendly and the puppet opposition pmln will play the lotta q league role.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:39 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

In my opinion Imran Khan said, that;

(1) Pak Army should function 'under' authority of Court of Law of this nation as per Article 190 of Constitution of Pakistan

for bringing 'stability'. That is not Marshal Law since the;

(a) Court of Law of this nation will be in-charge
    (b) Constitution of Pakistan will continue to apply

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 9:57 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Hussain Farooqui: Yaar, get this into your mind

(1) We the people of Pakistan will no longer accept Marshal Law, under 'any' 'circumstances', even if it is the worst of the worst

(2) We will not! allow 'law of the land' (Constitution of Pakistan) to be 'abrogated' again

If the worst happens, Army's job is to function as! per! 'law of the land'. Perhaps function under 'direction', 'supervision' of Court of Law of this nation.

If chaos comes, let it come. If bloody revolution comes, let it come. What we need to be worried about is, if the Court of Law of this nation is imparting justice or not. If it is, then there is no way this nation is going down.

Pak Army's job is to secure, to safeguard our country/nation's borders in this most sensitive of times.

Only when our 'national security' is at risk, is when Pak Army can 'intervene' to 'take appropriate measures' in order to 'secure' our borders. After that, their job is to go back! in to their barracks.

They have no role in 'running' politics of this nation. If they try to enter politics or 'run' politics again, people of Pakistan can sue! them in the court of law of this nation, and have them punished as per 'law of the land' (i.e., Islam) (Constitution of Pakistan that mirrors' Islam).

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:07 #
  21. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I accept, I grant the law of the land has 'serious' 'flaws', it has 'serious' 'loopholes'. Yet, it is the job of people of this nation to 'struggle' to fix them, or to 'get them fixed'.

It does not help us to call Pak Army to our help whenever 'the going gets tough'. Army's lawful job in this country is to 'safeguard' our country/nation/UMMAH's borders, to fight, to fight wars for this nation.

Pak Army is not tasked with 'resolution' of 'matters of politics'. That is the job of people of Pakistan.

We the people! have got! to;

(1) become tougher!
    (2) learn! to 'struggle'
    (3) fight the odds, ourselves!
    (4) do things on! our! own!
    (5) learn! to 'face' 'reality'
    (6) learn! to 'fight' to 'make!' 'reality' into 'what we want' it to be, as a nation, as a collective

Do you know it is allowed for Americans to take up arms against its government, if their government becomes 'tyrant' ?

Americans don't call Army for their help. Americans don't call this 'creating a state within a state'. They call it 'fighting back' for 'restoring' their constitutional rights.

You think Islam doesn't give us/Muslims standards, guidelines, principles, ways, rules, laws, to deal with the situation when government becomes the 'tyrant' ? Check! again.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:27 #
  22. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

I do not! support Marshal Law in this nation, in any case.

I'll accept chaos, I'll also accept bloody revolution. Let them come. Let the people of this nation decide on what they want to do, inside this nation.

We the people will no! longer accept Marshal Law in this nation. We will no! longer allow constitution of Pakistan to be abrogated, as it has been in the past.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:30 #
  23. Hussain Farooqui

hariskhan

W A Asslaam

Martial Law is not the favorite choice of the Pakistani public, but what I mean to express is that it will fall on the lap of the nation again, if the present govt. does not improve its performance.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:33 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Let the present Govt. fall. Let them come to their knees on their own. Let them go to hell. It is the job of people of this nation to 'struggle' to bring about a new government.

Only when our 'national security' is at risk, is when Army can 'intervene' and! can only! take 'appropriate measures', as per the situation.

ALL other stuff has to be taken care of by 'civilians'. 'Civilians' have a far far bigger role in this nation, than Pak Army. Pak Army, or people in Pak Army can never hope to reach the levels, the heights that 'civilians' can. It is our! 'prerogative', the prerogative of people of this nation.

We have to 'step forward' and 'take! charge' of it.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:39 #
  25. To what avail is democracy which turns the society into a ‘Saffaak’ brutal society; Sialkot incident is one such exapmle which shows the true face of our Society which is seen now lost in wilderness.

Mushawarat to elect government is true Islam where as Democracy is; where peoples are simply counted only and not weighed for their ability.

If by Mushawarat; it is decided that military which is highly organised organ of Pakistan may also be given the role to govern the people after forming the cabinets of able techno crates which may bring the peace and prosperity for the people of Pakistan; there may not be any hesitation to accept them as such by the masses.

Habib Jalib comes to mind where he remembers the old days and negates the European style democracy in his words:

Go keh zeeast Ba Piyada thi
    Magar Dhoop say chaoun tou Ziada Thi

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:43 #
  26. gv

@hk

"Only when our 'national security' is at risk, is when Army can 'intervene' and! can only! take 'appropriate measures', as per the situation.

ALL other stuff has to be taken care of by 'civilians'. 'Civilians' have a far far bigger role in this nation, than Pak Army. Pak Army, or people in Pak Army can never hope to reach the levels, the heights that 'civilians' can. It is our! 'prerogative', the prerogative of people of this nation."

Well said!

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:44 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

W Alekom Asslaam,

During the political movement of 1977 all the 9 political parties of PNA continually demanded martial law. When martial law was finally imposed, all the 9 political parities celebrated the occasion with happiness and welcomed Zia's martial law warmly.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 10:45 #
  28. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Hussain Farooqui: Why are you 'consistently' 'whining' about the 'past' ?

1977 is 'history'. Our fore-fathers, our ancestors were living their lives at that time. They made decisions, took actions at that! time.

This! is our! time. We! make decisions. We! take actions. Do you see no difference in the two eras' ?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 11:45 #
  29. Love it or Leave it.

Idealogically Pakistan is a security state which is surrounded by her enemies from all over the world that they are seen ready hovering on our borders to pounce; waiting in their wings that when they could get a chance to strike and disintegrate us.

Accordingly many evil forces are being funded, armed and trained/ supported to work in side Pakistan and lets us admit it that they are here; operating in Pakistan very successfully to create and wedge the cracks in the unity of Pakistan. Only morbid fools may not see these cracks. These cracks are very much showing.

Let’s forget----- about all sorts of the politics and the political parties. Presently politics may not be our cup of Tea. Political parties only create the divides.

Pakistanis needs unity and patriotism which is the need of the hours. Anything which may bring in the unity in the country and inculcates love of this country in the masses and leads them to put this country on the road to progress must be well come. `

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 12:05 #
  30. gv

There is a very simple procedure for getting rid of current govt:

We have 272 directly elected ministers in the National Assembly.

Pakistan Peoples Party 94
    Pakistan Muslim League (N) 71
    Pakistan Muslim League (Q) 42
    Muttahida Qaumi Movement 19
    Awami National Party 10
    Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal 5
    Pakistan Muslim League (F) 4
    Pakistan Peoples Party (S) 1
    National Peoples Party 1
    Balochistan National Party 1
    Independents 18

That means there are 172 non PPP seats which form a 63% majority.

We need a vote of no cofidence against the current establishment - a call for new elections and a change of the current government.

There is a system to deal with unpopular governments in our constitution we dont need an army coup or bloody revolution or whatever... we need to work within the system...

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 12:10 #
  31. Proxy martial law or parallel military and civil govt that have always existed in Pakistan and even now do, is what the statements are about, meaning that the civil govt continue on, but matters of strategic importance and operations in which civil bureaucracy has been miserable and does not appear to make any headway would be taken up by the army e.g. civil govt bring in the money from outside for flood and let army admin the relief effort. The army outline to the foreign ministry what to say to the Americans. Or else, after PPP leaves office coupled with flood devastation, Pakistan would be 15 years behind, perhaps even facing starvation and food shortages. Army does not want to come in power, but they can play a proactive role. I think this is an issue of army assistance to the civil administration in good governance, and about streamlining a disconnect between two bodies. Do nothing option is also on table, acknowledge the disconnect but keep working in own realm.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 12:10 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@barackosama: The current 'civilian' government, with their conduct has proved that it is they, who are 'give up' everything, who have 'left it onto' Army to deal with 'most' 'every' 'issue'.

If 'their' 'conduct' was worthy of a 'good' 'government', would they do that ? They would have rather exposed Army for what it is.

So, what now ?

I agree with 'gv' by the way. He's right. We do have lawful ways of dealing with the current predicament of our country/nation.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 12:52 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Those 5 men from MMA are destroying our credibility :|

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 13:17 #
  34. gv

35. shirazi

@gv

Loved it ...specially the start ...

"Did I hear someone support the next martial law to be imposed by “any patriotic general” who is willing to clean Pakistan’s political mess?

Pure genius! Why didn’t we think of this? Can patriotic general sahib also please fix the economy and increase the living standards of the people? While you’re at it, we would like to request you to uproot feudalism and fix democracy for us too. Oh oh… can we also have Kashmir? Once you clean the mess, you can hold elections and the politicians will take it from there.

By the way, since we are talking about patriotic generals, why on earth do we have unpatriotic generals in the army? Can the unpatriotic ones please leave?"

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 18:44 #
  36. expakistani

I will support Army Gen, Communist Guerrillas or even Taliban if they just come and wipe out corrupt people from pakistan with family, yes hang them with their families with street light pool.... i wouldn't be crying or making fuss.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 18:59 #
  37. @ HF

"We have to reform our society from base root. In order to reform our society we have to bring an end to feudalism which is the main root cause of corruption. "

I agree completely!

Posted 1 year ago on 24 Aug 2010 19:18 #
  38. i would like to clarify on the PTIs behalf the following is a prees statement of our central info sec:
    http://www.insaf.pk/News/tabid/60/articleType/ArticleView/articleId/4485/Imran-Khan-and-PTI-against-any-military-intervention-Omar-Cheema.aspx

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 1:05 #
  39. DR.SHAHID was trying to put words in KHAN sbs mouth to be honest

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 1:06 #
  40. i watched this program the other day and i didnt get this impression of him supporting or encouraging military rule...all he said was since at the moment Army is the only oraganized institute in terms of providing relief goods to flood victims so he would like to have their help in his task too...

Nobody is trusting the present Corrupt Government,lead by Thief Zardari(which is a big failure,shame nd insult for them),in case of sending donations to da victims etc so mostly ppl are either on personal basis delivering goods nd money to them or with the help of Army....

so if immy boy has urged to do so why its getting on our nerves?...

you ppl just love to make stories out of nothing...for the sake of arguments ofcourse!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 2:25 #
  41. azeem20

if IK has to ask army to interrupt into politics, then why he had bycott the election held by musharaf? again IK is confused and he is trying to hit on every ball with a hope that he will score 6 but unfortunately he could only score 1 max by such remarks like above.
    he has no sense of politics, he started to oppose the one whom he have supported ones and started supporting the one whom he has opposed.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 7:46 #
  42. wantinsaf

@azeem20

where has IK asked Army to interrupt in politics?
    IK said Army's help is required in matters like helping flood victims but we don't need Army in power.
    Is helping flood victims politics?
    But yes being in power is like interpting into politics which he is not welcoming.

Like your leader Altaf the don,you too are uneducated and resort on misinterpreting things.

Our first responsibilty is to educate ourselves after that we should come to discussion forums.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 8:43 #
  43. siddiqi73

@wantinsaf,

Bro, on a rather serious note here; why do you have to label an individual as being uneducated or an MQM supporter if he/she does not agree with you?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 9:17 #
  44. wantinsaf

You have got to call spade a spade.
    This is not about agreement or disagreement.It rather is about who understands the difference between right and wrong.
    And education is about that.If it had been just about agreement and disagreement,then no one in the world would have been uneducated.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 9:32 #
  45. siddiqi73

@wantinsaf,

Well bro, a lot of folks out here pretty much feel the same about as well, are you uneducated?

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 9:44 #
  46. kash01

Shahid Masood is a clever person and IK should have known how to handle his questions.But unfortuntely IK himself looked unsure of the army role in politics.Army job is to defend the borders and whenever it tries to govern the country disasters are bound to follow as is clear from the previous martial law rules.Instead of rejecting army role in politics in categorical terms at one stage of the interview he was heard saying that in case of instabilty the army should hold elections and then leave forgetting the fact that the constitution of Pakistan gives no such role to the army.After watching the interview one got the impression that despite being in politics for years IK is still politically immature.An aspiring politician who cant even handle a journalist questions is least qualified to govern a country

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 9:55 #
  47. salaudin

FOR ALL THOSE WHO ARE CLAIMING THE IMRAN KHAN SUPPORTS MILITARY TAKE-OVER, HERE IS THE CLARIFICATION

<

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 10:17 #
  48. The arrogance of present day government is very much evident, where most of the Supreme Court orders have totally been ignored. Supreme Court may always ask the Army to come and take charge; so that supreme court’s order are implemented.

Constitution of Pakistan authorises that:

“Article190. Action in aid of Supreme Court.
    All executive and judicial authorities throughout Pakistan shall act in aid of the Supreme Court.”

The defiant and cunning Zardari government is making a mockery of the present troubled situation in Pakistan. Any how this is matter of time that when and how Supreme Court may ask the Army to do the needful.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 10:29 #
  49. Hussain Farooqui

Whether Imran or Altaf supports or not, every democracy established by feudals will be followed by martial laws.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 10:56 #
  50. wantinsaf

@kash01

You yourself have no idea of what Imran Khan was talking about.Oh really Shahed Masood is a clever person.Little knowledge is always misleading.Imran Khan did not say anything new.Imran Khan has been saying this since last many months.

Imran Khan during a press conference in Islamabad three months ago asked Army to intervene in helping SC to implement its decision regarding NRO.had better watch that video.

Now coming back to the his recent comment,who would rule the country in case of anarchy?You did not bother to answer that as perhaps you had no answer.

Imran Khan very clearly said Imran's role in helping flood victim is welcome but Army in power is not welcome.Which one is martial law?Army in power?or Army helping flood victims?

You need to learn how to analyse the complex answer given under complex circumstances.

Army's main role is to defend undoubtedly,but who has got the responsibility to rule Pakistan in anarchy?According to constitution it lies on Army shoulders.

Shahed Masood has never been a clever person.This is how he always asks questions.He just like asking random questions and is never concerned about the answers.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Aug 2010 11:11 #