Imran Khan's future?

(21 posts)
  1. sasherwani

This post is not to criticize or praise Imran Khan so try to refrain from doing so. Try to be specific and relative.

My questions are:

1.Ever since I was a kid, Ive been hearing about why Imran Khan would fail in politics because he’s nothing more than a cricketer, philanthropist and/or a playboy. Its been a decade and a half since then. Do people still have the same perception about him? Or have they moved on?
    2.Its always said that Imran Khan (Just like Musharraf) impresses only the elite, the educated and the non-resident Pakistanis. The fact is these Pakistanis rarely go to the polling stations to vote. This is the reason why its commonly assumed that Imran can never win the elections and that votes will always go to conventional politicians like Nawaz, Altaf, Chaudhrys, Zardaris etc Is the scenario any different today?
    3.Its no doubt that Imran’s party is a one-man show while other parties PML(N), MQM has more than a few known names. Can Imran win big without changing this strategy or is his name big enough to help him win big?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 5:42 #
  2. Fazooli

@ above
    You have asked quite open ended questions. What people think & What is the scenario? If you want specific numbers then you should look at quantitative results of "reliable" opinion polls. Otherwise, every person has a different environment and he interacts with different people. So whatever he "sees" will be different from any other person.
    I am only giving my opinion about what I think about what people are thinking.
    1. And ever since I was a kid, I have heard only "nara-baz" politics. Besides this there was no real politics in Pakistan. This "ravaiti siasat" about which all the people say that IK cannot do, actually does not exist in civilized and educated societies. IK is educating the masses about politics. He raised those issues which were never discussed by any politician before:
    *tax collection
    *declaration of assets
    *independent corruption bureau
    *independent election commission
    *independent judiciary
    *education emergency
    Those people who have understood this message have a different perception. And those who are still stuck on the "rivaiti pakistani siasat" do not want to and never will change their perception.
    2. The voters always go to conventional politicians because that is how the current Pakistani "system" works. In fact, there never has been any "system" here. So to deal with this "system-less-ness" and "thana-kecheri siasat" Pakistanis have developed the slavish attitude of compromising with the usurpers. They have this mentality of "which goon can save me from which thug?". And this should be the obvious consequence when there is no justice. That is why IK has been educating, educating & educating people about this core issue. IK has been going to public; educated and uneducated, different type of people are listening to him. If there is free and fair elections, I feel that people will vote for him.
    3. Obviously PTI has never been in power politics, how can people know the names of other leaders in PTI.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 6:43 #
  3. aayelleye

i am sure after getting some seats in NA pti will discover some other leaders to lead but i am sure that these big parties would never discover a second person to lead thier parties.
    who will lead pml N after NS,MQM after altaf,JUI after fazloo?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 10:48 #
  4. scandinavian

@All

All of IK's shortcomings aside. I consider IK's future as bright. He is on the right track to meet his creator! What about the rest? Are they ready to meet their creator? Have they taken the right steps to serve the people?

About bringing a change: It's not only the effort of a potential leader, which will bring a change. It's also the effort of the common man of Pakistan, which will bring change. Remember what Allah (swt) says......Not even Allah changes the condition of a people unless they themselves are proactively searching for a change!

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 10:55 #
  5. Bleak!

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 18:23 #
  6. Imran Khan's future is very bright in chanda collection and he will continue to get richer through chanda collection in Europe, Canada, America and Australia.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 20:38 #
  7. asif65

@Fazooli
    Exactly this the point. I will go one step further to say that Imran has already won without taking part in the election.

You even hear mature politician and these are mostly from Q-League (Humkhial, etc)who had realized these changes. They have also started doing politics issue related. If the other politicians missed to join this trend, then sooner or later they will be the loser because the people are getting mature through media. At the end they have no other choice aside from to adopt the issues Imran has raised.

You can’t win the heart of peoples with rivaiti siasat.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 21:12 #
  8. Anwer Kamal

Bad than Sheikh Rasheed.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jan 2011 21:27 #
  9. Brighter than a supernova.

Inshallah, Imran's future is the same as any honest, brave and visionary leader should have. He is destined to be the leader of Pakistan.

As God as your witness, please tell me how many of you wouldn't love to see Imran representing Pakistan in the international arena.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 2:43 #
  10. khanseena1

Imran Khan has dissapointed by not taking a clear stand against blasphemy law. If he calls for a rally against this law, thousands would join him. He needs to be more proactive and take a stand.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 2:48 #
  11. @khanseena1

Imran has clear stand against this, he wants this law to be amended so that no innocent person is persecuted. As far as rally's are concerned, legislation takes place in the parliament, not on the streets. That's what got Salman Taseer killed.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 2:51 #
  12. khanseena1

@Dell

"That's what got Salman Taseer killed. "

Are you saying leaders such as IK should be scared of leading rallies as they can get killed?

"Imran has clear stand against this, he wants this law to be amended so that no innocent person is persecuted."

Where is his proposal of how the law should be amended. He has said that such a law is needed as it exists even in England.

I blame other parties such as PPP and MQM too for not taking on the right wing nutjobs.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 2:56 #
  13. What I meant by reference to Salman Taseer was that this issue should have been resolved in the parliament not on the streets. The reason why Salman Taseer was killed was because we left it for the people to decide. I fully blame religious parties who thrive on creating difference amongst people.

But Imran's stand is clear, he said it on many interview. But at the moment this is not the biggest issue facing the nations when we heading towards hyper inflation, increased terrorism, insecurity and disparity amongst people.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 3:02 #
  14. aayelleye

salman taseer called the law as "kala kanoon" so he was killed but to ammend it in a shape that innocent ppl which are captured in our society can be protected is another issue and that's what IK is saying.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 19:12 #
  15. Imran Khan's future? Next election (whenever that is) will decide it/expose it once and for all....

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 19:24 #
  16. bsobaid

I can only tlk about next 3 years and in next election Imran Khan will get 10-15 seats (if he is really lucky) and an increased vote bank (number 4) in Punjab.

If Zardari's political reforms ordinance is implemented in FATA then he will get 50% of FATA seats as well.

He will mainly get seats from pukhtoonkhowa, mianwali and the areas adjoining pukhtoonkhowa and punjab, excluding hazara areas, where Q-League and N-League will win seats.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 19:30 #
  17. aayelleye

@ bsobaid
    and from lahore also see the results of pp-160 lhr.this is a constituency which on riwind road and pti got a good candidate there.2 or 3 Inshallah from lhr lhr say.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 20:24 #
  18. bsobaid

@aayelleye
    Good to know he ahs a good candidate in that area.

Generally speaking, it is extremely unlikely for PTI to gain seats in urban areas outside of Pukhtoonkhowa, it will definitely get more vots than last time but probably no seats yet. In pukhtoonkhowa, PTI will get seats because of ANP unpopularity and drone attacks etc.
    PML-N will be the biggest loser, relatively speaking. Both PTI , MMA and Q-League will hurt N-League in its strong hold and N-League has already lost most of Hazara, unless N-League succeeds in getting some Q-League's lota to run on its ticket.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 20:32 #
  19. Anwer Kamal

So technically no future.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jan 2011 21:14 #
  20. Anwer Kamal

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jan 2011 2:12 #
  21. @Anwer Kamal

tumhari cassette Imran pay hi aa kay kuyun pans jati hai??

Ager Imran peeta hai tou kya hua, Bhutto ki pervi ker raha hai jo app ka Qaid hai!!!;)

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jan 2011 4:38 #