Income of differenct anchors

(34 posts)
  1. thedude

Talat Hussain in his recent program claimed that he paid Rs. 22,50,000 income tax

i am dumbfounded ... that means he earned around 1,12,50,000 (1 crore 12 lakh and 50 thousand) or Rs 9,37,500 per month !!!! 8|

does any body have any idea how that is happening ... is ARY (and now DAWN) are making so much money that they can give 1 millions Rs salary per month to its top anchor ... i thought economy of pakistan is in dire straits ...

does anybody have any idea about income of other anchors and/or media company profits?

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 2:44 #
  2. Shahid Masood was getting around £5000 to £6000 per month from ARY Group in 2003-2004 when they were based in London before moving to Dubai.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 2:48 #
  3. shriq

A correction! Well paid (beautiful) pros... It makes your screen more pleasant does not it?

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 4:02 #
  4. actually our anchors has been treated like stars .

popularity is the commodity , they bargain their package against with.

an anchor will get as much of money , as much he is popular and getting higher viewer-ship ranking , anchor's show rating and GRPs.
    if Talat Hussain has made Dawn News viewer-ship level increased than he has to demand a huge package , includes handsome take home plus a zero meter car with fuel expenses plus high tech mobile with billing on company and some security at his house .

and thats a reality that Talat has moved Aaj Viewers of Live With Talat to Dawn News .

Hamid Mir and Shahid Masood are in the same package level as Talat ....
    Kashif Abbasi has to strive hard for reaching their pay scale yet .
    Mehar Bukhari is the female anchor of political shows , who is earning more than any other female anchor of political shows like Jasmeen , Aasma Sherazi and Asma Chudhari.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 5:45 #
  5. expakistani

how much saleem safi is making........ i like his show on Geo TV... very simple informatics and free of any blame game and breaking stuff...

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 6:12 #
  6. ajhons

The other day Nusrat Javaid of Duya Today while doing a programme on Tax told one of the traders he was takling that he and Mustaq Minhas pay 3,000,000/= tax annauly (each of them)
    One thing more I would like to add is that Kamran Khan beside his huge pay also get a share from the whatever Add his prgramme fetches.Sort of partnership deal.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 10:20 #
  7. Are we going to start hating our anchors, too? They keep us informed, they keep us alive, more often than not they do not lie to us and they give us hope in very dark times, indeed.

Why is it any of our business how much they earn? Are we trying to claim they are also corrupt? Or is it simply envy on our part that is talking?

Pakistan, you have the strangest bunch of citizens a country could ever have imagined.

In ancient Athens, the home of democracy as the west likes to tell it, legislators had made it a crime for citizens to avoid controversy. In that respect at least, I must say the Athenian leaders of old would have been delighted with the Pakistani middle class.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 10:34 #
  8. ajhons

MG sir. that's why I rated you so high.You always comeup with a very different yet positive approach.I learned alot from you.Yeah I sounded like what you mentioned towards these anchors.I praised TH and NJ but somehow mislead my opinion only because they earn more then me.

Thanks for wakeup call

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 10:42 #
  9. ajhons, you are that rare person, the soul of honesty. We've missed you these past weeks. Glad you're back.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 10:51 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: Brother, you think anchors are giving us the real picture of what is going on in real life ?

Are they broadcasting the big picture as it really is ?

As far as 'earnings' go, all are welcome to 'earn' what they can, and pay taxes with respect to what they earn. As long as they are 'honest', and within the bounds of the law of the land (i.e., Islam), I have no problems with them.

I pray, ALLAH ALMIGHTY grant them even more of the honest earnings, and make it easy and more easier for the common man to earn money with honesty.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 10:58 #
  11. ajhons

MG sir
    infact I was visting this site daily and read all your posting.I follow this routine somhow religiously.Just couldn't manage my thoughts meticulously to write something after your posts.
    You, shimatoree,Nota,BO,KhanSab all seems to have intellect of high stature and I enjoy the luxury of free learning of diversified knowledge.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 11:01 #
  12. HK, no. I'm not that naive. Our anchors do not give us the bigger picture of what's really going on. It would be more than their life was worth to do so. But they give us hints. For us to piece together some semblance of the behind-the-scenes story.

I liked your attitude towards the earnings of others. Let each of us do our best and Allah gives us the livelihood he holds right for us.

And absolutely Ameen to your last prayer. Allah Talha, may the common man of Pakistan, and we along with him, earn enough to cover our needs and come by our gains without any hint of dishonesty.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 11:28 #
  13. Excellent ajhons. I wondered occasionally whether you'd simply got fed up and abandoned us and our occasional quarrels of an unending nature.

Not to be overmodest about your own talent for the telling remark. You manage without even trying to put your finger on many a truth. We'll be learning more from one another as the New Year dawns and we all settle into its folds again.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 11:32 #
  14. Thanks to MG from my side too for bringing up the suppressed positive side of anchors. But this is what we are now, we can see the poverty levels very well. Anyone having too much money will surely pinch us. This is the (increasing )hate we have for all rich people.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 16:24 #
  15. shimatoree

lifeH2O

quote- " suppressed positive side of anchors. "

Are you serious or just joking ?

The anchors sell the Ads.
    And they get their commission from the owners of the networks.

To somehow imagine that they actually have some ethical imperative is to dream of non- existent things.

My comment above about " PROSTITUTES" was erased by the moderators.

Perhaps it got too close to the truth.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 19:46 #
  16. SufiSoul

That is good to save anchors from govt offers.Anchors should earn that much money to avoid any kind of offers.
    Others e-g police should also be given enough salaries to stop them exploiting people finacially.
    In Pakistan these days income levels are really very down but Inflation is at peak making many of the people vulnerable to committ fraud or make illegal money.
    I would like to congrat TV channel management for Paying such a handsome amounts of money to their anchors.
    Tax evasion should not be allowed in any case....

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 20:03 #
  17. Shimatoree
    No, I was just joking :)
    All the **** works done be our politicians are exposed by these anchors and their fame. They are popular because they expose who we want to see exposed.
    If they are bad because of those personal benefits that they get from that exposure and if they do not exposed someone after getting sold, you are totally right.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 20:03 #
  18. I liked SufiSoul's comment above. Yery apt. Now, shimatoree, we could say doctors the world over were in the pay of the pharma companies. Teachers ware known defenders of the status quo, and lawyers, let's not even talk about them, justice is no concern of theirs. Only who pays the most is.

Another way of looking at it: the doctor in attendance tells a bedridden patient daily: you're very ill, you're very ill, you're going to die within no time at all. Any hope of that recovering even a semlance of health?

That is what we seem to be doing with Pakistan. That's not the most constructive approach I can imagine to a bedridden patient. That's not what the anchors do. They do not conceal from us the seriousness of the illness. And then they hold out a faint glimmer of hope that perhaps the patient can mend after all.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 20:48 #
  19. shirazi

Rush Limbaugh, the right wing radio talk show hist, couple of years ago signed 400 million dollars deal for 8 years to continue his 3 hour Monday to Friday political talk show.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2008/07/02/AR2008070202063.html

He got that deal because of ratings, approximately 70 million listeners listen to his crap every week.

Those who are objecting that why anchors make so much need to realize big industrialists don't pay them this much because they like their faces. They pay them because anchors earn much more for these industrialists. And anchors bring that kind of hefty profits because we the viewers watch their programs, the infamous ratings.

If we don't like anyone we the people have the power to bring them down in this open market by not providing them high ratings.

Anchors are entertainers world wide. At time they sell the stuff that they are not sold on but they still do it for ratings and as true professionals they should.

Mirza Ghalib sb. with all due respect please do not make anchors another sacred cow. We already have enough in Pakistan. We have so much corruption in media, like every other sphere, we need to scrutinize these anchors as much as possible.

Who can overlook Talat's role as embedded journalist in this war against terror. I watched all his anti-Taliban programs and liked every bit of them. He was a trend setter and lead the efforts in changing pro Taliban sympathies. But let's not forget he worked for ISPR then and I have no doubt he still works for them. Do you think he will ever be able to work against ISPR? Will he ever be able to go after Generals as he goes after others who ISPR wants him to target. Having said that he isa talented journalist and his pro or anti GHQ stance can't take that away from him. In this market he is earning as per his potential, absolutely no grudges there.

Let's appreciate our anchors for half truth that they present and not make them torch bearer of absolute truth. That job was done by prophets and everyone else is here for one kind of business or another using their God given potentials.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 21:45 #
  20. shimatoree

Let the Anchors get their own pound of flesh if they can but-

We must keep in mind who they are and what they do.

Day after day after day- again and again you see the same stupid mouth pieces of PPP , PML-N, PML-Q . MQM , ANP etc etc presented as
    " Guests" by these very same anchors .

Let Mirza Ghalib write " Qaseedeh" and odes of adulation if he so wishes like the so-called great poets of the by gone era in the Golden period-( pretend)- of the Muslim Kings and Emperors-.

And when these anchors do not do that- they invite each other and try to bamboozle us that they are trying to expose the evils of the govt and other politicians.
    I often wonder if they and the politicians are in bed together

No they do not do any of that.

What they do is to sell Ads for the owners.
    That is all.
    No more.

And any **** can do that.

Posted 1 year ago on 31 Dec 2010 22:07 #
  21. Well, at least the camps are clearly drawn now, thank God for that. Me against the rest. Give you full licence to the sanctity of your views. Therefore the rest win by default. Me is to weary to insist on objectivity. Me is off to bed. Nothing so head-clearing and soul-cheering as a few hours of undisturbed rest.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 0:14 #
  22. @shimatoree

The anchors sell the Ads.
    And they get their commission from the owners of the networks.

To somehow imagine that they actually have some ethical imperative is to dream of non- existent things.

I agree with you ST. Anchors are just working for their livelihood. They are neither fair nor unbiased and balanced.

Yesterday I saw a program of Faisal Qureshi and Mazhar Abbas discussing the very problem. Despite arrogant behaviour of Faisal Qureshi I like him. I can rate both Mazhar Abbas and Faisal Qureshi higher in this whole lot. They are different and better but not the best.

MG,

I am teacher in a university and you said that teachers are defenders of status quo. I agree with you on this point to some extent but there are some exceptions.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 6:52 #
  23. shimatoree

paksitani47

We are living in a make believe La La land where we contrive to say-

- That Pakistan is a Muslim country and
    - -We create a masquerade and a façade that we have a legal system based on some basis called a constitution.
    We also tell anyone who will hear it that our “ constitution”
    Is comes under to the Islamic Shari at council.

But if we observe what we have in an objective manner- the following become apparent.

1.The administrative structure of our society is based on a corrupted version of the British Colonial system which was imposed on Combined India in 1860’s.Believe me when I say this. The Custom Tariff Manuals still are the very same- not even a word has been changed and neither the “ numbering of the rule”.

2. The capitalistic- Wadera-land owner- industrialist economic structure remains- once again based on the profit based British system which was used by the Colonizers 100 plus years ago or by the Central Asian Muslim invaders before that.

3. The creation of the news media is not some reformist’s idea of educating the society or improving the intellectual evolution of children- no- it is again a bad copy of what the worst News Media are like in those despised Western countries. The bottom line is to sell Ads and sell as many Ads as you can- bamboozle the viewers to the N-th degree.
    Actually in Pakistan it seems that the Ads are the program and the rest is Ads.
    Whatever sells- goes.

We started out as a nation based on an idea but we have been high jacked by us who are a large clique of people whose idea of this nation is that it is a cow who needs to be milked as much as possible and once it runs out of milk- kill it and get another cow.

There simply are no redeeming values.

Everything is counterfeit, bogus.

The TV anchors are no exception.
    They provide what sells the Ads.
    The Ad makers make garbage.
    The Ad sellers sell garbage in the form of gossip.
    The politicians are garbage but do not wish to be called that they are garbage.

And then there are what are called religious political parties led by thieves , crooks and charlatans with Beards- Big Beards which are shampooed and conditioned and hair dried to make them appear bigger than they are. They are the self proclaimed" Ulama" which is supposed to mean scholars but which does not mean that here.
    Here it means that they have hegemony over the religious doctrine to the exclusion of everyone else.
    What is important to them ?
    First of course Money and more money- gotten by the " islmaic" way and it is they who will define
    what is or
    is not " islamic".
    They apparently do not wish to be bothered by the word called " HONESTY" which is the basis of Islam, the religion brought forth by the Holy Prophet(PBUH).

They are not bothered by the inflation, cost of food, flood or other such mundane things for which they have done nothing in political terms.
    No their concern is " Namoos E Risalat"

I wonder sometimes what the Holy Prophet would think of such crooks using his name to advance their political ends.

That is all.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 9:27 #
  24. Great day! Someone actually picked up on something I wrote myself. I am grateful.

Indeed, pakistani 47, exceptions there always are among any group of people, professional, ethnic or within the social classes.

I was just using rough generalisations to make my point. Plese to excuse me. Indeed there are exceptions. And there have been many great teachers, famous and obscure, who've done a world of good for their students and humanity in general. Just as there have been great doctors, lawyers, etc.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 9:30 #
  25. shimatoree

MG

For starting 2011 I have fired my first " TOPE"

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 9:40 #
  26. ajhons

And I had My first stick of other brand.Philips Morris Sucks :)

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 9:47 #
  27. wantinsaf

They are making lots of money and most of them are very dishonest and blackmailer.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 10:34 #
  28. Bravo, shimatoree! Stay true to your inner self. And keep firing "TOPE" (what's that BTW?) throughout the year. We shouldn^t want you any different, I assure you.

Ajhons, best advice: go back to your former brand. No need to ruinyour throat as well and lose your voice in the process.

Wantinsaf: Who's the anchor you hate most?

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 10:48 #
  29. pakistan1st

اللہ ہر ایک کو اپنا رزق دیتا ہے اپنے محنت کے مطابق..جس نے زیادہ محنت کیا اسکو اتنا ملےگا..حسد کی کوئی ضرورت نہیں.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 11:31 #
  30. shimatoree

MG-

TOPE is what we use for cannon or artillery.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 14:42 #
  31. thanks, ST, shall bear the word in mind.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 14:57 #
  32. jaypk

i think this is the reason tht kashif and talat knew that one day we will talk abt thr income levels so to make it pious they have donated a lot in the flood relief and with all honesty(as far as the looks of it..we as a nation are so biten now tht now we dont even trust ourselves may it be the right thing)..doodh ka jala..chaach bhee phoonk phoonk kar peeta hay..! after edhi sahab and IK..they were the only ones credible in my appraoch..!

if they are earning tht much thn i dnt see thrs any point of jealousy in it as i think they have earned this position cz of their hardwork and they are far far better thn those ppl who earned 4 times this money but with wrong sources..cricket players n celebrities i guess!

whether they earn it the right way or nt...i think they are the show sellers..i agree..and show stoppers as well..ppl like to see kashif and talat as they are blunt in thr approacch and hit the govt more often thn others..but yes...thr owners earn more sponsors fr them just because their viewership is more...and is getting more...so the equation is..

more critique= more viewership= higher rate of the anchor.

are they biased or nt...i cant say much..i hope nt...as media is the only entity which is the root fr a possible revolution in my country ( i always say)...but tht ppl are the same..who knows....in this country whr frm president till the doodhwala and chowkidar...all are involved in some sort of corruption..may it be bigger or smaller....these anchors must lie somewhr in the middle..come on..they are human beings as well!!

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 18:34 #
  33. Good post, jaypk. Enjoyed reading it.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 19:44 #
  34. jaypk

^^..sir...likewise..!!

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 20:33 #