India to station all MiG-29s along Pak border

(18 posts)
  1. LAHORE: The Indian Air Force (IAF) has decided to station all its MiG-29 squadrons at Adampur to beef up air defence capabilities and react in the shortest possible time along the international border with Pakistan, the Indian Express has reported.
    “We consider ourselves to be a strategic air power establishment of the IAF in the western sector, ever ready for operations,” said Air Commodore HS Arora, Air Officer Commanding of the Adampur airbase.

Meanwhile, the Ministry of Defence has signed a contract with the RAC MiG aircraft corporation to extend the service life of the MiG-29 by 25 to 40 years. Arora said six MiG-29 fighters were being upgraded and flight-tested in Russia, adding the remaining aircraft would be overhauled in India with the aid of Russian experts. “The upgraded MiG-29 fighters will have better radar systems and avionics to help fighters, a new weapon control system and modernised RD-33 engines, which would increase the aircraft hitting capability from long ranges,” he added.
    Separately, the Indian army is planning to acquire 300 light tanks for deployment in the mountainous regions of the border with China and Pakistan, the Press Trust Of India has reported. It cited army sources as saying the tanks would be deployed in Jammu and Kashmir in the north and Arunachal Pradesh and Assam in the northeast.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 10:50 #
  2. Anonymous

I am afraid, there is lot more to come in near future.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 10:53 #
  3. amin1924

India is our friend and America is our protector, no worries.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 10:56 #
  4. Anonymous

or

Taliban are our friends and Al-Qaida is our protector ! What worries.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:07 #
  5. @ jj khan
    you rite india stationed MIG 29 to protect our eastern borders on the request of Zardari.

@ bebus
    'I am afraid, there is lot more to come in near future'

can you explain. why?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:07 #
  6. netengr

what is the source of this news

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:08 #
  7. netengr

Its Nawa-e-Waqt

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:17 #
  8. amin1924

iamsowise,

india stationed MIG 29 to protect our eastern borders on the request of Zardari

You added some new information that I didn't find in the news piece, can you tell me the sources of that -plz? What is the threat at eastern border?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:20 #
  9. After recent incursions by Chinese troops and firing of rockets into Indian territory allegedly by Pakistani soldiers, Indian army is planning to place all its MiG 29 squadrons along Pakistan border and contemplates to acquire 300 light tanks for deployment in the mountainous regions of frontiers with China.
    Air Commodore HS Arora, Air Officer Commanding of the Adampur air base, second largest air base in India, told media persons Air Force has decided to station all its MiG 29 squadrons at Adampur to beef up air defence capabilities and react in quickest possible time along the international border with Pakistan
    http://www.risingkashmir.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=17296&Itemid=1

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:23 #
  10. amin1924

So you just cooked up that information which I referred above?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:28 #
  11. “The indian army wants the tanks to be able to penetrate highly protected armoured vehicles and Main Battle Tanks of the enemy from a distance of more than two kilometres and also be able to fire high explosive anti-tank shells and guided missiles,” sources said.
    http://www.risingkashmir.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=17296&Itemid

yes jj khan

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 11:45 #
  12. amin1924

Thanks for the confirmation.

Zardari is good.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 12:01 #
  13. Migel9

It seems that another Mumbai type drama is being planned. Indians are ithcing for a war and By Allah, we are ready for it. They will start it and InshAllah, we shall finish it for them!!!

Pakistan should control, the rat eating urine drinking hindu
    population by getting the Ghauris ready.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 14:46 #
  14. Anonymous

Musharraf was pressured to give in to internaional demands to particpate in post 9-11 offensives by having India line up its forces along the border

Is this all also in preperation of a next big thing?

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?
    newsID=1100730188&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20091006

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 17:46 #
  15. expakistani

indian cant attack.... not for next 15 -20 yrs. yeah teeth dekhaney waley hain bas....those days are gone when india and pak forces cross LOC....

now in new gen there gona ba Ajmal kasab, Raw agents and mujhideen and proxy wars
    No more open wars... in fact we should sale our F 16s and just use atomic bomb if ever attacked by india....

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 19:31 #
  16. Don't look at your eastern borders. India is busy fiddling on our western borders now.They have established some 15-20 base camps which are working in close liaison wid Indian embassy in Kabul. But I agree with JJ... JUB Zardari president hoe aur america apna yaar tou fikar NOT! ( I will also add, Jub Kiyani armychief hoe aur Nawaz Opposition LEADER)

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Oct 2009 22:31 #
  17. amin1924

Khan Sahib,

You got it!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Oct 2009 0:35 #