PKPolitics Discuss » Political Parties

Is Hina Rabbani Khar Qualified For FM Position?

(36 posts)
  1. Hussain Farooqui

Foreign Minister in a country is considered to be the second most important personality after the state head. The requirements for the position of a Foreign Minister in terms of qualities, capabilities and experience are supposed to be very high.Hina Rabbani Khar hardly qualifies on the standards required for such an important position.

What can be the reasons behind her appointment as the FM?

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 6:54 #
  2. shafiq12

In this godforsaken land, head of state is hyena, who knows a hyena will let a lion in Pack ---

What can be the reasons behind her appointment as the FM?

Her advertisement ---

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 7:00 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

oblivion

'Her advertisement'. Yes I agree with you.

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 7:01 #
  4. sochopakistani

Like so many, I did not take HRK seriously and thought, she is joke with nation however, hearing her with likes of H.clinton and Krishna, I have a feeling she is not bad choice. She defended Pakistani stance strongly. I dont mind giving her opportunity to prove herself.

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 7:04 #
  5. stingingnettle

The biggest problem with HRK apart from her very low tax bill, is that she lacks any original thinking and can only be described as a follower and not a leader. She could not in her wildest dreams challenge Zardari, Gillani or her political party on any issue of foreign affairs. Here is a thought experiment; imagine the Raymond Davis affair had happened when HRK was the foreign minister. Dare I say how quickly and in what manner the camel would have sat. Can you see her doing what her conscience dictates rather than Zardari?

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 11:06 #
  6. Mashal Rahat

@ Farroqi Sb.

Whats ur openion about the others who are posessing the offices deserved those..........They all are stupids.........."Har Sakha py Ullo Betha hea....Anjam e Gulistan kia ho ga..

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 11:12 #
  7. scandinavian

Why only single out HRK? This is the case for all the ministers. They are all corrupt and incompetent - also all the ministers in the provinces!

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 11:14 #
  8. stingingnettle

Scadinavian;

I know but this thread is about HRK.

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 11:29 #
  9. Dusky

In Pakistan Foreign policy is not protege of politically elected government. Like defense and finance this is in indirect control of "muhab-wattans".

I guess she is installed by "muhab-wattans" to present a softer side. Her qualifications, I assume she is a good host after all she got a degree in hospitality.

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 15:10 #
  10. runaway

Agreed with @Dusky

All the heavy lifting is done by the Khakis.

She is a 'good face', 'soft image', skinny jeans wearing , duppatta taking , foreign educated, hospitable woman.

When she is on stage, people talk about handbags and sunglasses..not the falied policies of Palistani state

Perfect for our FM.

Posted 7 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 15:57 #
  11. TVIRUS

Who is?
    mochi ko defence ministery di hai
    sohni boothi, kamakal ko most important portfolio.
    koi kahta hai degree, degree hooti hai
    koi kahta hai corruption humara haq hai
    sadar kahta hai bujli, cheeni mera masla nahen hai
    PM ko maheenay main kaam az kaam eik dafa topi pahnaye jati hai
    Tax daitay waqat inn ko ultiyan ati hain
    Inn saab ko bad-dua hai..yeh loog Doller kay neechay aa kay marain gai.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 21:45 #
  12. expakistani

Who voted for Zardari's PPPP ( pakistani awam )
    who voted for Nawz's PML N ( Pakistani awam )
    who voted for MQM ( Pakistani awam )
    who voted for ANP ( Pakistani awam )

Heena Rabni Khar is not smart enough to run some 3 star hotel forget about running as head of foreign office...I even ask people how she got elected as MNA ?? most she can run a tourism ministry ...which has nothing to do thanks to mess in Khyber Pakhtoon Kawa.

So ab kion rotey ho... jesey log wesey hukumran

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 21:53 #
  13. TVIRUS

3 star hotel.....bohat bari cheez hoota hai
    bhai jan... tandoor nahen chalna iss mai saay

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:17 #
  14. saladin89

No she is not, because the ones's that appointed her are not worthy of making that decision. In fact non of our ruling elite, whether it is Nawaz Sharif, Altaf Hussain or Zaedari saab are qualified to lead.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:23 #
  15. stingingnettle

I saw in the news today that HRK's husband owns a textile mill which owes WAPDA a sickening amount of money in electricity bills. Did anyone else see it too? On Geo.

She has kept that very quiet making us believe butter won't melt in her mouth. Some tens of crore of Rupees in unpaid bills, what is the fuss all about? Often during load-shedding, I sit in the dark in Lahore wondering exactly that?

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:41 #
  16. pirbodla

Voice horrible, personality poor and experience nil. To say the truth, she is not even fit to be a private secretary of any astute boss.

As regards her handbags and sunglasses, I would only quote Waris Shah who says that no donkey becomes a Houri of Paradise, just by wearing tinsel festoons and garlands.

Her selection as FM shows utmost lack of administrative abilities of PPP Govt.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:46 #
  17. stingingnettle

She does belong to a highly influential and rich political family of the land which in keeping with our great tradition of nepotism have sent her to Parliament without the need for doing any useless work for her constituents and winning them over first.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:53 #
  18. stingingnettle

Someone needs to explain to me why Pakistanis cannot see the breath-taking unfairness with nepotism? Why can't they see that Bilawal has done f--k all for Pakistan and he has not right to co-chair a national party? Most of these young pretenders to the thrones of their parents don't even deserve to a job, any job because they are so incompetent.

Who is going to explain this to me?

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 22:59 #
  19. pirbodla

Rich and influential family is no gauge to evaliate the merits of a person. There are countless examples where individuals brought up in mishmash rags grew up as rear gems.
    This woman does not deserve to be our FM. Unfortunately, our country is rife with nepotism; there is no doubt about it.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 23:09 #
  20. stingingnettle

I think we may just be genetically nepotistic. So it's not really our fault that we elect the baby idiot when the older daddy or mummy idiot tells us to do so.

Something that is manifestly obvious to me and I am sure to the rest of you, seems completely beyond the comprehension of those that suffer incredible neglect at the hands of their elected leaders?

It is official. It is genetic.

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 23:17 #
  21. saladin89

bheer bakriyan that's sums up Pakistani awam!

Posted 6 months ago on 28 Oct 2011 23:49 #
  22. hypocrite

In my opinion following needs to be established first

a) What is out Foreign Policy
    b) Who works out / develops / dictates our Foreign Policy
    c) What is the role / responsibilities / expectations of a Foreign Minister of Pakistan
    d) What are the requirements to be considered as qualified person to run Foreign Ministry based on the role/responsibilities/expectations determined in (c) above

The qualification of the current Foreign Minister can then be established and guaged.

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 1:27 #
  23. Rizwan Qaimkhani

As long as ditz can keep Zardari & co happy. Have we forget the mutual happiness among Sheri Rehman and HH President. I mean "wink""wink:). No offence to anyone.

@hypocrite
    we can come up with a thesis, a book but truely who is listening to you and me. Seriously! what is missing from the picture is sincerity.

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 5:03 #
  24. Hussain Farooqui

Our President is a matriculate. Our PM is a graduate of some unknown university. Our FM is an inexperienced Masters of Hospitality Sciences. These are the standards of our politics.

Compared to our PM, the Indian PM is a Phd. Doctor in Economics with vast experience in his relevant field and politics.

Don't we need highly qualified & experienced people for important portfolios?

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 6:07 #
  25. stingingnettle

Ministers serving on high profile and critical positions, should be required to impale themselves on a sword if they screw up on the job on account of dishonesty or incompetence. They should me made to sign a contract to this effect. A contract written in blood.

So who is up for the jobs of foreign minister and interior minster? What about the minster for power? Law minister?

I will eat my shorts the day Pakistan successfully holds any politician accountable for theft, corruption and ineptitude. For extra drama, I won't wash them for a week before I eat them.

Who says Pakistanis don't gamble!

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 15:34 #
  26. No she is not and never will be . Hotelling (F&B) suits her more than a venture into FA!

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 15:39 #
  27. stingingnettle

S.E.Mirza

You mean I do not ever have to eat my shorts?

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 15:46 #
  28. hypocrite

stingingnettle

The ministries are not allocated on the basis of merit but as a reward for the support the candidates extend to the government. It is more of a political bribe.

I still believe that unless their is an expectation, it is very difficult to determine the criteria to measure eligibility and performance.

As far as accountability is concerned, it only comes when there is an expectation. If the expectation is to just to be a figurehead, my accountability starts and ends at how I am doing as a figurehead.

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 15:55 #
  29. hypocrite

Hotelling (F&B) suits her more

Mirza sahib

I respect your opinion and with respect may I ask what is the basis of this assumption or opinion (if you dont mind)

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 15:57 #
  30. Sharif Aadmi

People who r criticizing HRK , may i ask what they were doing when during Zia regime

Shahabzada Yaqub (Ex Lt.Gen) was FM. What he had to do with FA ?

Similarly , Khursahid Kasuri (although i m persoanlly a fan of Mr.Kasuri) was FM and although a barrister by education ,what he had to do with FA.

In parliamentary democracy , i haven't seen many technocrats taking over ministerial roles and thats the norm throughout the world.

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 16:37 #
  31. stingingnettle

Hypocrite;

I think it is the worst form of political tribalism;

It's political "bribebalsim".

And we think they are going to bring us a better day eh!

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 17:35 #
  32. shriq

BHOLA was saying "Ae kuri angrezi changee bol laindi ae"

Posted 6 months ago on 29 Oct 2011 17:59 #
  33. Hussain Farooqui

Being masters in Hotel Industry, she could be suitable for 'Ministry of Sports & Tourism'. The portfolio of FM is considered to be the most important portfolio after State Head. A highly educated and experienced person of the relevant field can only be fit for the position of FM portfolio.

Posted 6 months ago on 31 Oct 2011 5:14 #
  34. Hussain Farooqui

In this critical situation when America is pressurising Pakistan for resumption of NATO supplies, our FM does seem to be anybody more than a dictation girl.

Posted 6 days ago on 19 May 2012 6:39 #
  35. Sharif Aadmi

HF,

What say our political governemtns have in foriegn policy ? Its all done in the GHQ. Isn't ?

Posted 6 days ago on 19 May 2012 9:17 #
  36. shafiq12

sharif aadmi.

GHQ, there are many sahib zada yaqoob there... Chief of Army staff. Where is resign.

Posted 6 days ago on 19 May 2012 13:05 #