Is MQM a status Quo or Anti Status Party?

(158 posts)
  1. intelligentpakistani

I would like to get some comments from the memebers specially the Day Dreamers of Pakistan Lota Tehreek. MQM has been in power more than any other political party has been, since their formation they have been in every government whether civilian or army. They have taken bribes,perks,corruption(BABAR GHORI- PORTS and Shipping) and black mailed the governments.They always oppose the governemnt but never resign. So are they Status Quo or anti status quo?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 7:47 #
  2. Adonis

Come on. You can not seriously ask this question.

If MQM is anti status-quo, then Pope Benedict leads Taraweeh prayers in Haram Shareef.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 9:34 #
  3. siddiqi73

Or Josep Stalin and Adolf Hitler were joint receipents of Noble Prize for peace.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 9:39 #
  4. expakistani

you didnt ask the question... you just passing remarks.

but still you will accept one thing, MQM is only party who pick someone from lower middle class and send then in Assemblies.
    if Baber Ghori is corrupt then you still need to look at Dr Farooq satar... who is still living in PIB colony. You still need to see Dr Kanwar Khalid Younus, Elected MNA 5 times but still living in same house and same way before his first election.

How about Faisal Sabzwari, His uncle and dad used to own news paper stall in Nazimabad area. Any credit to Mustafa Kamal, with all the criticism he was stand out young leader mayor... Since 1947 that was only period when lots of projects completed in Karachi.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 13:25 #
  5. siddiqi73

@Expakistani Bhai,

Pardon me but one cannot equalize Farooq Sattar living in PIB Colony with the wealth which is amassed by Babar Ghouri and Waseem Akhtar. Besides this, you have still not addressed some of the other critical observations of the original poster regarding MQM.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 13:42 #
  6. NNL

MQM is a self interest serving party. whoever and whatever serves their interests for that particular day they will be there.

Anything else is pure fiction.

Rest of the parties have Waderas and Chaudharies ppl who have been robbing the soil and manpower of the country blind. MQM is the only party that brought the same fruits to the common middle class man a point which the local chaudharies and waderas cant handle.

It irks them that a common man can sit on the table with the slaves of British Aristocrats and demand for the share of the pie.

We all know to these **** ( the waderas and Chaudharies ) country and people dont matter. their status.

And i salute MQM for doing that. Even IK couldnt pull that one off.

Hats off MQM.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 13:52 #
  7. siddiqi73

@NNL,

Buddy, the only fruits which MQM extended to the common middle class man came in different calibre sizes and have resulted in the massacre of thousands of those poor middle class souls. MQM being a counterweight to waderaism is a myth which has been shattered to pieces since it first voted for a wadera as president in the form of Farooq Leghari and then openly lobbying and ultimately voting Zardari into the presidency.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 14:04 #
  8. NNL

hmm Siddiqi

that is your personal opinion i have seen first hand what was done in the name of Pakistan and its integral security by the very people who are safeguarding under the directives of these Waderas and Chaudries.

I dont blame the Army the regulars for they did.

What you call a myth or fantasy is a reality that very same wadera and chaudry cant reclaim a city on they used to claim their powers. They can have the rest of the Country but one city where all their influence could and would have been seen is now not under their control Hence the massive killings of the Citizens of Karachi.

So they can do whatever the he11 they desire in the rest of the country but one city in which they really have to work hard very hard and go to thru extreme lengths is Karachi which these ba$****$ dont like.

Call it what you may but the Wadera feels the pain in having to beg for votes and boy thats the main accomplishment.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 14:26 #
  9. Ghost Protocol

So called intelligent? Your racist mentality cant allow you to see the reality. For your loose memory, let me list down the facts:
    1) MQM joined PPP govrnment in 1988 after BB's yatra of 90 but resigned from government in 1990 and joined COP and struggled against government.
    2)in 1990 after formation of Nawaz sharif's government, MQM was the part of the government till 19th Jun 1992 when nawaz sharif stabbed the MQM and started ethnic cleansing.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 15:57 #
  10. MQM is very smart party and they know how to do politics in Pakistan. They have learnt their lessons after the Karachi operation of early 1990s and now they are always with the Govt of the day and enjoy very good relations with all-powerful army establishment.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 15:58 #
  11. Ghost Protocol

3)Since 1992, MQM was subjected to worst military cum civil operations, thousands of innocent members,people were slaughtered. So many Changez khans came and gone but MQM survived. This situation continued till sacking of coward,incompetent,corrupt and mass murderer Nawaz sharif's government in 1999 when he tried to assasinate his own COAS alongwith >200 passengers.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:01 #
  12. Ghost Protocol

4)MQM won general election in 2002 and joined Qleague government and turned around Karachi in their tenure.
    It is not MQM's fault if rest of Pakistan votes to corrupt jagir dar, waderas,capitalist. MQM have to develop working relationship to serve own vote bank.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:06 #
  13. bsobaid

I have not heard a single time or saw them making an effort towards the goals they repeat day in and day out. Starting from stranded Pakistanis in Bangladesh camps to jageerdarana nizaam I have not seen them presenting a serious plan and working towards it.

Their only goal is to be in power and maintain that power at all costs though all means possible. MQM is a non-serious party and political steps should be taken to reduce their illegitimate representation from Karachi.

This non-stop rhetoric of middle class party is meaningless. Yes, they dont have wadairas and jaeerdaras in their party because Karachi is not a feudal society. You dont have a wadera in Karachi that owns, say, Landhi area or North Nazimabad area.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:13 #
  14. Ghost Protocol

@BSOBAID, name any party you consider serious?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:20 #
  15. bsobaid

Ghost, this is not a valid argument.

If every other party is non-serious then please dont bring arguments to prove MQM is a non-status quo party.

hammam mein sab nangay hein tou MQM ko aap kapray pehnanay pay kion zidd karr rahay hein?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:22 #
  16. Ghost Protocol

@BS OBAid,
    Still I repeat the question, name any party you consider serious?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:26 #
  17. bsobaid

All others parties may also be non-serious laikin MQM ne khoof-o-dehshatt aur black mailing kaa bazaar garam karr rakha hai, aisaa kisi aur political party ne nahi kiaa..

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:33 #
  18. bsobaid

mazdoor kisaan party is a serious party..haa haa haa

aur mein waisay bhi alla nazar baloch kaa fan hoon.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:34 #
  19. Ghost Protocol

@BS OBAID, your selection has exposed about your seriousness. God forbid, if you loose any close relative in the hand of state institution or state sponsored changez khans, you would have different views.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 16:44 #
  20. bsobaid

Ghost sahab, you are steering the discussion in another direction.

Yes military operation took place but right now we talking about politics and MQM's political role.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:03 #
  21. Dusky

@intelligent Pakistani... who doesn't seems very intelligent by his writings...

"MQM has been in power more than any other political party has been,"

That's one BIG FAT LIE.

Lets put the total number of PPP in power (one complete tenure by ZAB, two BB governments and now Zardari), PML in power(including their service under ZIA with multiple flavors and provincial governments they held), ANP in power and then compare this with MQM.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:05 #
  22. NNL

Yeah MQM's main objective was to give power to the common and remove the feudal system. It acomplished it in Karachi pretty effectively and is quite effective in Hyderabad.

Now tell me one party that has delivered its core agenda consistently and effectively and yet has remained in power whenever they feel like it.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:07 #
  23. Ghost Protocol

@BSOBAID, Karachi operation cant be seperated from psyche of MQM, its policies,its politics. For you,it might be a news only, we lived through those terrible times. Nobody would have understood it if Balchistan issue was not alive. Atleast in Balochistan, majority is talking about seperation however in Karachi nobody demnded before or after operation.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:14 #
  24. bsobaid

@NNL
    "Yeah MQM's main objective was to give power to the common and remove the feudal system. It acomplished it in Karachi pretty effectively and is quite effective in Hyderabad."

Sir, did Karachi ever have a feudal system?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:22 #
  25. NNL

it was run by feudals who had a huge disconnect from the people of karachi.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:31 #
  26. Dusky

@bsobaid: Like you can not take out per-partition hindu hatred for muslims from the reason list of creation of Pakistan even after 65 years, you can not take out what MQM gone through from 1992 to 1999 at the expense of Punjab establishment. This will always play a vital role in MQM politics.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:34 #
  27. bsobaid

NNL, sir karachi mein MQM se pehlay konsay feudals thayy?

Jamat and JUI never had any feudals among its ranks neither did PPP's local organisation.

Yes, there was a disconnect.

If anything, MQM introduced feudal mindset in Karachi.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:37 #
  28. Dusky

Religions parties like JI, JUP hate MQM for a reason, they use to get seats from Karachi and Hyderabad, since inception of MQM they lose their grounds... now for them its more of "Bugz- Mawya then Hube-Ali".

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:39 #
  29. bsobaid

@dusky, NNL, Ghost,

True. Operation left lasting effects on MQM but the question is despite all their naaray baazi and tall claims they have done nothing against feudal system or other basic demands on which MQM (both mahajir and muttahidda) was found. They are establishment's apply of eye and yet all they did was to do a re-zoning of Karachi to get maximum representation in assemblies.

Question was if they are status-quo party or not. Answer is, yes they are status-quo party and their false slogans are a total fraud.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:42 #
  30. Ghost Protocol

@BS OBAID, you can call moon sun and sun as mercury without supporting your statement with facts.
    Question is if they are or were status quo party, why forces of status que did conduct the operation against pro status quo party?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:51 #
  31. Ghost Protocol

MQM cant change the mentality of pakistan alone till it gets decisive power in assemblies or like minded people come into assemblies.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 17:53 #
  32. Dusky

MQM knows very well that in current Pakistani politics with all the past and current propaganda against them they would not be able to make inroads in rest of the Pakistan. So their main focus is to strengthen what they have in hand. So is the local politics.
    Though I do agree that they should be more aggressive about their initial demands and should have delivered on those. To say all they talked about is fraud, as "Karachitee" even as of today "if" I vote, I will vote for them. In my experience they have delivered more for Karachi comparing to any other party claim to represented Karachi and they have more local roots then any other political party.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:02 #
  33. bsobaid

@ghost,
    "MQM cant change the mentality of pakistan alone till it gets decisive power in assemblies or like minded people come into assemblies."

I firmly believe if a person can not make a good use of 1000 rupees he will most likely waste 100 million rupees also.

Question is, what is your performance with available resources and opportunities. If a party has acted contrary to the values it claims to stand up for when it has limited power then I am not optimistic about them even if they ever get over two thirds majority in national assemblies.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:11 #
  34. aliasghar

inqlabis can get a politics 101 lesson from mqm supporters dusky and GP... on that matter even leagees should also learn from them...

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:14 #
  35. bsobaid

MQM can do a favor to itself by allowing other political parties to operate in Karachi.
    Jamat and PTI should aggressively campaign in Karachi. Some political competition is useful for MQM itself.

laikin PTI ne daddy pasha kay orders pay establishment kee daashta MQM se pakki dosti karr lee hai.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:28 #
  36. Ghost Protocol

@BSObaid, this is world of relativity, you need to compare MQm with exisitng available options. Un-bias analysis would reveal you below facts about MQM,
    1) All of its members are common middle class eduucated citizens.
    2)Its leader did not /does not seek an office of profit for himself.
    3)No nepotism in the party.
    4)Extremely disciplined party. Just compare MQM jalsas with any other party, except MQM, all parties demonstrate keotic scene.
    5)No Jaali degree member.
    6)No acusition of financial embezzelment
    7)Took principle stance when it came to difference with government like NRO

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:33 #
  37. Ghost Protocol

Thre reality is, MQM live in different paratime compared to any other party. MQM cant be held responsible for farsoodah system prevalent in rest of the country.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:34 #
  38. bsobaid

@Ghost,
    (1) Parially agreed.
    (2) is irrelevant.
    (3,4,5) agreed.
    6 and 7, disagree.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:37 #
  39. Ghost Protocol

@BSObaid, had you disagreed with all of 7, what could have I done? By the way,can you mention your choice in politicis or who did you vote earlier or intend to vote in next election?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:41 #
  40. Dusky

@Ali Asghar: Bhai is zara nawazi ka shukriya, lekin main na asa kia kiya?

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:43 #
  41. Dusky

@bsobaid: "Jamat and PTI should aggressively campaign in Karachi. Some political competition is useful for MQM itself."

Jamat is history all around Pakistan let alone Karachi. They lose most of their strategist to MQM and ever since all they talk about is their glorious past during the afghan war days but no program for future.

PTI need to grow organically if they want to compete in Karachi. As of now I can guarantee you on their own they can not win a general councilor election in urban sindh let alone a seat in Provencal or federal assembly no matter who they put on ticket.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 18:51 #
  42. bsobaid

Even doing relative comparison, no other party has done same badmashi and qabza group politics in its strong hold than MQM.

PTI can operate in N-League strong hold of Lahore.
    ANP and MMA can carry out political activities in each other's areas.

Yes, you can say they are disciplined and has lesser degree of nepotism.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:04 #
  43. Ghost Protocol

@BSOBAID, pls visit Karachi in your next visit from lala land. Karachi is the only city where everybody is having massive jalsas from PTI,to Molana to Qadri to Difai Pakistan. Pls get a reality check.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:14 #
  44. bsobaid

@dusky,I agree, PTI has zero representation in Karachi.

I named PTI and jamat because PTI has some growth potential in Karachi and Jamat is the second largest party in Karachi with grass-root level representation. Both these parties and political challenge they impose on MQM is far better than the badmashi challenge posed by Sunni Tayreek and Lyari gang.

PPP and N-League has no chance in Karachi whatsoever.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:15 #
  45. bsobaid

one-time jalsa is not same as carrying out political activities.

waisay bhi difa-e-pakistan aur PTI, yeh donoo MQM kee doodh shareek sisters hein... haa haa haa..if you know what I mean..

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:17 #
  46. bsobaid

I do agree this much that some badmashi was needed on Urdu speaking part to control the badmashi of Afghan immigrants and pathan from KP moving to Karachi and pre-MQM leadership in Karachi was entirely unable to do so.

However, badmashi is not a sustainable solution. It is only a temporary fix. MQM with all its claim of educated middle-class leadership should have come up with an institutional solution of the problem but they adhered with their badmash mentality. Infact, they took it to another level by using violence as a mean to meet its political demands. No other major political party has done this.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:26 #
  47. salaudin

jab NOON apnay aap ko "anti establishment" keh sakti ha to MQMers bhi apnay aap ko "anti status quo" keh saktay hain !!!

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 19:45 #
  48. siddiqi73

Aur bullet proof Land Crusier mein charain baazi karnay walay, private aircraft mein jet setting karnay walay, 300 kanal kay palatial abode mein rahnay walay aur hur 15 days kay baad international chanda jaunts par janay walay ko PTI walay REVOLUTIONARY keh saktay hain :D

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 20:02 #
  49. bsobaid

yaar waqisay yeh IK kee private jet mein sawariaan is a big question mark.

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 20:06 #
  50. siddiqi73

^^^^ Aur jub hum yeh baat bolain:

TU SALLA CHARACTER DHEELA HAI!!

Posted 3 months ago on 23 Feb 2012 20:07 #